A Fire in the Bones

Author: Albert J. Raboteau
Publisher: Beacon Press (MA)
ISBN: UOM:39015034383292
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Religion

Traces the history of the African American religious experience and shows how the active faith of African Americans empowered the struggle for social justice throughout history

Roman Honor

Author: Carlin A. Barton
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 0520925645
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Literary Criticism

This book is an attempt to coax Roman history closer to the bone, to the breath and matter of the living being. Drawing from a remarkable array of ancient and modern sources, Carlin Barton offers the most complex understanding to date of the emotional and spiritual life of the ancient Romans. Her provocative and original inquiry focuses on the sentiments of honor that shaped the Romans' sense of themselves and their society. Speaking directly to the concerns and curiosities of the contemporary reader, Barton brings Roman society to life, elucidating the complex relation between the inner life of its citizens and its social fabric.Though thoroughly grounded in the ancient writings especially the work of Seneca, Cicero, and Livy this book also draws from contemporary theories of the self and social theory to deepen our understanding of ancient Rome. Barton explores the relation between inner desires and social behavior through an evocative analysis of the operation, in Roman society, of contests and ordeals, acts of supplication and confession, and the sense of shame. As she fleshes out Roman physical and psychological life, she particularly sheds new light on the consequential transition from republic to empire as a watershed of Roman social relations.Barton's ability to build productively on both old and new scholarship on Roman history, society, and culture and her imaginative use of a wide range of work in such fields as anthropology, sociology, psychology, modern history, and popular culture will make this book appealing for readers interested in many subjects. This beautifully written work not only generates insight into Roman history, but also uses that insight to bring us to a new understanding of ourselves, our modern codes of honor, and why it is that we think and act the way we do."

Fire In The Bones

Author: James Raffan
Publisher: HarperCollins Canada
ISBN: 9781443402613
Release Date: 2010-11-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

When Bill Mason set off alone into the wilderness in his red canoe, many people went with him, if only in their imaginations. Now, James Raffan leads us into the heart of the vast landscape that was Bill Mason's own brilliant imagination, on a biographical journey that is entertaining, enriching and inspiring. Bill Mason was a filmmaker who gave us classics such as Cry of the Wild and Paddle to the Sea; he was author of the canoeist's bible, Path of the Paddle; he was the consummate outdoorsman. But few Canadians know that his gentleness and rugged self-sufficiency masked a life of great physical struggles. James Raffan reveals the private, sometimes anguished, man behind the legend.

Like Fire in the Bones

Author: Walter Brueggemann
Publisher: Fortress Press
ISBN: 9781451419672
Release Date: 2006-08-15
Genre: Religion

These landmark essays on the prophet Jeremiah allow us to hear the prophet's voice as an urgent message in our own day. The contents include: Listening for the Prophetic Word Jeremiah: Portrait of the Prophet The Book of Jeremiah: Meditation upon the Abyss Recent Scholarship: Intense Criticism, Thin Interpretation Jeremiah's Use of Rhetorical Questions An Ending That Does Not End Theology in Jeremiah: Creatio in extremis Next Steps in Jeremiah Studies Hearing the Word in Exile The Prophetic Word of God and History A Second Reading of Jeremiah after the Dismantling A Shattered Transcendence: Exile and Restoration A "Characteristic" Reflection on What Comes Next Haunting Book--Haunted People Carrying Forward the Prophetic Task Prophetic Ministry A World Available for Peace God's Relentless "If" When Jerusalem Gloats over Shiloh Why Prophets Won't Leave Well Enough Alone.

Fire Shut Up in My Bones

Author: Charles M. Blow
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544302587
Release Date: 2014-09-23
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A New York Times Notable Book | Lambda Literary Award Winner | Long-listed for the PEN Open Book Award “Charles Blow is the James Baldwin of our age.” — Washington Blade “[An] exquisite memoir . . . Delicately wrought and arresting.” — New York Times Universally praised on its publication, Fire Shut Up in My Bones is a pioneering journalist’s indelible coming-of-age tale. Charles M. Blow’s mother was a fiercely driven woman with five sons, brass knuckles in her glove box, and a job plucking poultry at a factory near their segregated Louisiana town, where slavery's legacy felt close. When her philandering husband finally pushed her over the edge, she fired a pistol at his fleeing back, missing every shot, thanks to “love that blurred her vision and bent the barrel.” Charles was the baby of the family, fiercely attached to his “do-right” mother. Until one day that divided his life into Before and After—the day an older cousin took advantage of the young boy. The story of how Charles escaped that world to become one of America’s most innovative and respected public figures is a stirring, redemptive journey that works its way into the deepest chambers of the heart. “Stunning . . . Blow’s words grab hold of you . . . [and] lead you to a place of healing.” — Essence “The memoir of the year.” — A. V. Club

Fire in My Bones

Author: Glenn Hinson
Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press
ISBN: 9780812203011
Release Date: 2010-11-24
Genre: Religion

Glenn Hinson focuses on a single gospel program and offers a major contribution to our understanding not just of gospel but of the nature of religious experience. A key feature of African American performance is the layering of performative voices and the constant shifting of performative focus. To capture this layering, Hinson demonstrates how all the parts of the gospel program work together to shape a single whole, joining speech and song, performer and audience, testimony, prayer, preaching, and singing into a seamless and multifaceted service of worship. Personal stories ground the discussion at every turn, while experiential testimony fuels the unfolding arguments. Fire in My Bones is an original exploration of experience and belief in a community of African American Christians, but it is also an exploration of African American aesthetics, the study of belief, and the ethnographic enterprise.

Fire in the Bones

Author: Irma Ned Bailey
Publisher:
ISBN: 0974783935
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Burkburnett (Tex.)

In search of her husband, who has come to work in the oil field in 1918, a young woman and her baby arrive in a boomtown in north Texas.

The Bone Season

Author: Samantha Shannon
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781408836446
Release Date: 2013-08-20
Genre: Fiction

A dreamer who can start a revolution For the past two hundred years the Scion government has led an oppressive campaign against unnaturalness in London. Clairvoyance in all its forms has been decreed a criminal offence, and those who practise it viciously punished. Forced underground, a clairvoyant underworld has developed, combating persecution and evading capture. Paige Mahoney, a powerful dreamwalker operating in the Seven Dials district of London, leads a double life, using her unnaturalness illegally while hiding her gift from her father, who works for the Scion regime... This beautiful new edition includes the prequel novella, The Pale Dreamer

Salvage the Bones

Author: Jesmyn Ward
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781408827000
Release Date: 2012-04-12
Genre: African American children

WINNER OF THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD 2011

The Bone Witch

Author: Rin Chupeco
Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.
ISBN: 9781492635833
Release Date: 2017-03-07
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017! In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price... Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there's anything I've learned from him in the years since, it's that the dead hide truths as well as the living. When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she's a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training. In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles...and make a powerful choice. Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!

Fire Bed and Bone

Author: Henrietta Branford
Publisher: Candlewick Press
ISBN: 9780763629922
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In 1381 in England, a hunting dog recounts what happens to his beloved master Rufus and his family when they are arrested on suspicion of being part of the peasants' rebellion led by Wat Tyler and the preacher John Ball.

The Map of Bones

Author: Francesca Haig
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781476767260
Release Date: 2016-05-03
Genre: Fiction

Book Two in the critically acclaimed Fire Sermon post-apocalyptic trilogy, “with its well-built world, vivid characters and suspenseful plot” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), is an exciting and thought-provoking continuation of this epic social commentary written by award-winning poet Francesca Haig. Four hundred years after a nuclear apocalypse, all humans are born in pairs: the Alphas, and their deformed Omega twins, who are ruthlessly oppressed. But despite their claims of superiority, the Alphas cannot escape one harsh fact: Whenever one twin dies, so does the other. Following the events of The Fire Sermon, the Omega resistance has been brutally attacked, its members dead or in hiding. The Alpha Council’s plan for permanently containing the Omegas has begun. But all is not entirely lost: the Council’s seer, the Confessor, is dead, killed by her twin’s sacrifice. Cass is left haunted by visions of the past, while her brother Zach’s cruelty and obsession push her to the edge and threaten to destroy everything she hopes for. As the country moves closer to all-out civil war, Cass will learn that to change the future she will need to uncover the past. But nothing can prepare her for what she discovers: a deeply buried secret that raises the stakes higher than ever before.

Servant of the Bones

Author: Anne Rice
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780307575906
Release Date: 2010-11-17
Genre: Fiction

In a new and major novel, the creator of fantastic universes o vampires and witches takes us now into the world of Isaiah and Jeremiah, and the destruction of Solomon's Temple, to tell the story of Azriel, Servant of the Bones. He is ghost, genii, demon, angel--pure spirit made visible. He pours his heart out to us as he journeys from an ancient Babylon of royal plottings and religious upheavals to Europe of the Black Death and on to the modern world. There he finds himself, amidst the towers of Manhattan, in confrontation with his own human origins and the dark forces that have sought to condemn him to a life of evil and destruction. From the Hardcover edition.