A Grief Observed

Author: C.S. Lewis
Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571265794
Release Date: 2012-10-04
Genre: Religion

A Grief Observed comprises the reflections of the great scholar and Christian on the death of his wife after only a few short years of marriage. Painfully honest in its dissection of his thoughts and feelings, this is a book that details his paralysing grief, bewilderment and sense of loss in simple and moving prose. Invaluable as an insight into the grieving process just as much as it is as an exploration of religious doubt, A Grief Observed will continue to offer its consoling insights to a huge range of readers, as it has for over fifty years. 'A classic of the genre, a literary answer to the pain of loss.' Robert McCrum

Grief Observed

Author: C. S. Lewis
Publisher: Zondervan
ISBN: 9780060652388
Release Date: 2001-02-06
Genre: Religion

Written after his wife's tragic death as a way of surviving the "mad midnight moment," A Grief Observed is C.S. Lewis's honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. This work contains his concise, genuine reflections on that period: "Nothing will shake a man -- or at any rate a man like me -- out of his merely verbal thinking and his merely notional beliefs. He has to be knocked silly before he comes to his senses. Only torture will bring out the truth. Only under torture does he discover it himself." This is a beautiful and unflinchingly homest record of how even a stalwart believer can lose all sense of meaning in the universe, and how he can gradually regain his bearings.

A Grief Observed Readers Edition

Author: C.S. Lewis
Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571310883
Release Date: 2014-12-30
Genre: Religion

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

A Grief Observed

Author: R. B. Taylor
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780557381838
Release Date: 2010-05-09
Genre:

A Grief Observed is an intensely personal journey through loss, mourning, and ultimately recovery told in emotionally raw yet lushly literate poetry and art.

Discuss Grief A Discussion Guide for a Grief Observed by C S Lewis

Author: Tom Morris
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780557170951
Release Date: 2010-03
Genre: Self-Help

Lewis' feelings and musings about his wife's death were first published in 1961. Since then it has helped thousands and thousands of people who have read it or have spoken of its contents. This study is to encourage you to read the book in its entirety. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that Lewis and all mankind struggles with in grief. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that everyone faces in loss. Each page is designed to be a discussion session for a group or 5-12 students. Discuss the passage of A Grief Observed prior to delving into the questions. Allow each student to respond to the first question before going on to the next. Allow for more time if some student has difficulty understanding or answering the question. It is my hope that these will assist you in helping young people make sense of death(s) in their lives. This book was written to help teens in grief support groups. It is my hope it can be a help to you and others.

A Grief Observed

Author: C. Lewis
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1534898409
Release Date: 2016-06-25
Genre:

No one ever told me that grief felt so like fear. I am not afraid, but the sensation is like being afraid. The same fluttering in the stomach, the same restlessness, the yawning. I keep on swallowing. At other times it feels like being mildly drunk, or concussed. There is a sort of invisible blanket between the world and me. I find it hard to take in what anyone says. Or perhaps, hard to want to take it in. It is so uninteresting. Yet I want the others to be about me. I dread the moments when the house is empty. If only they would talk to one another and not to me.

A Buddhist Grief Observed

Author: Guy Newland
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781614293019
Release Date: 2016-08-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Zen stories and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

Another Grief Observed

Author: Keith Seddon
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1519612613
Release Date: 2016-01-23
Genre:

Inspired by C. S. Lewis's book A Grief Observed, and at intervals responding to Lewis's thoughts, in this intimate and personal series of journal entries written in the three months after the sudden death of his wife, philosopher and writer Keith Seddon observes his own grief and how it impacts on his life. The exploration of grief is the exploration of the human condition and how self-conscious, sentient beings can face the inevitability of suffering. The author's writings are supported by two essays written by his wife, Jocelyn Almond, that also seek responses and solutions to the problem of evil.

Das Jahr magischen Denkens

Author: Joan Didion
Publisher: Ullstein eBooks
ISBN: 9783843710091
Release Date: 2014-06-16
Genre: Fiction

Die große amerikanische Schriftstellerin Joan Didion schreibt über die Trauer nach dem Tod ihres Ehemannes und über ihren Versuch, das Unfassbare begreiflich zu machen. Ein sehr offenes, sehr persönliches Buch, das zugleich von beeindruckender Allgemeingültigkeit ist. Joan Didion wurde dafür in den USA mit dem National Book Award ausgezeichnet. Entdecken Sie auch das Hörbuch zu diesem Titel!

A Mother s Grief Observed

Author: Rebecca Faber
Publisher: Tyndale House Pub
ISBN: 0842339957
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Religion

A Mother's Grief Observed is a powerful true story and personal journal which chronicles a mother's grief after the tragic drowning of her young child. Through it, she expresses her intense pain and the comfort only God can give in these times. After her 18-month-old son William drowned in the family pool, Faber opened her heart and soul in a deeply personal journal that chronicles her passages through the various stages of grief. In psalm-like honesty, she pours out to God her struggles with guilt, doubt, fear, longing, trust, disappointment with people, and her own inability to handle the unrelenting pain of her loss. In the midst of the upheavel of grief, she does the only thing she knows to do -- hold on to what she knows to be true about God. Readers see the author move through confusion, shock, and pain toward acceptance and healing. Also written with children in mind since they had to explain the situation to two siblings (three and six years old at time of the tragedy).-- Riveting story, extremely thought-provoking-- Psalm-like in its honesty and moving, poetic style-- Validates bereaved emotions as normal-- Provides healing as reader walks with the author through the first year of bereavement-- Section on how children deal with grief.-- Extensive resources for bereaved and their friends-- Section on forgiveness following a tragedy (forgiving oneself and others who share the blame, forgiving God for allowing it happen).-- Suggested reading lists for children and adults.-- Many poems and classic quotes (Army Carmichael, C. S. Lewis, Elisabeth Elliot, Joseph Bayley, etc.)

Companionship in Grief

Author: Jeffrey Berman
Publisher: Univ of Massachusetts Press
ISBN: 9781558498044
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Family & Relationships

An insightful analysis of how five prominent writers coped with the death of a beloved spouse

The C S Lewis Collection Signature Classics and Other Major Works

Author: C. S. Lewis
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062663283
Release Date: 2017-03-14
Genre: Religion

Eight of C. S. Lewis’s timeless signature classics together in one volume. Includes: • Mere Christianity • The Screwtape Letters • The Great Divorce • The Problem of Pain • Miracles • A Grief Observed • The Abolition of Man • The Four Loves • Reflections on the Psalms • Surprised by Joy • Letters to Malcolm

Nora Webster

Author: Colm Tóibín
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446254213
Release Date: 2016-08-22
Genre: Fiction

Als ihr Mann viel zu früh stirbt, verfällt Nora Webster in einen Schockzustand. Es ist das provinzielle Irland der 60er Jahre, in dem sie nun versuchen muss, sich in einem selbstbestimmten Leben als Frau und Mutter von vier Kindern zurechtzufinden. Jeder kennt jeden in der kleinen Stadt, das macht all die Entscheidungen, die sie nun alleine fällen muss, nicht einfacher. Nora ist katholisch und unkonventionell, mit grimmiger Intelligenz sucht sie neue Wege für sich und ihre Kinder. In seinem großen Roman gelingt Colm Tóibín das Porträt einer Frau, die die Unabhängigkeit ihrer Gefühle bewahrt. Nora Webster ist eine der bleibenden Frauenfiguren der Literatur.