A Grief Observed

Author: C. S. Lewis
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780061949296
Release Date: 2009-06-09
Genre: Religion

A classic work on grief, A Grief Observed is C.S. Lewis’s honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. Written after his wife’s tragic death as a way of surviving the “mad midnight moments,” A Grief Observed an unflinchingly truthful account of how loss can lead even a stalwart believer to lose all sense of meaning in the universe, and the inspirational tale of how he can possibly regain his bearings.

A Grief Observed

Author: C. S. Lewis
Publisher: Zondervan
ISBN: 9780060652739
Release Date: 1989-03-29
Genre: Religion

Written with love, humility, and faith, this brief but poignant volume was first published in 1961 and concerns the death of C. S. Lewis's wife, the American-born poet Joy Davidman. In her introduction to this new edition, Madeleine L'Engle writes: "I am grateful to Lewis for having the courage to yell, to doubt, to kick at God in angry violence. This is a part of a healthy grief which is not often encouraged. It is helpful indeed that C. S. Lewis, who has been such a successful apologist for Christianity, should have the courage to admit doubt about what he has so superbly proclaimed. It gives us permission to admit our own doubts, our own angers and anguishes, and to know that they are part of the soul's growth." Written in longhand in notebooks that Lewis found in his home, A Grief Observed probes the "mad midnight moments" of Lewis's mourning and loss, moments in which he questioned what he had previously believed about life and death, marriage, and even God. Indecision and self-pity assailed Lewis. "We are under the harrow and can't escape," he writes. "I know that the thing I want is exactly the thing I can never get. The old life, the jokes, the drinks, the arguments, the lovemaking, the tiny, heartbreaking commonplace." Writing A Grief Observed as "a defense against total collapse, a safety valve," he came to recognize that "bereavement is a universal and integral part of our experience of love." Lewis writes his statement of faith with precision, humor, and grace. Yet neither is Lewis reluctant to confess his continuing doubts and his awareness of his own human frailty. This is precisely the quality which suggests that A Grief Observed may become "among the great devotional books of our age."

A Buddhist Grief Observed

Author: Guy Newland
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781614293019
Release Date: 2016-08-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Amid the world-shattering pain of loss, what helps? “After the death of his beloved partner from cancer, Newland finds himself asking how effective his long years of Buddhist practice have been in helping him come to terms with overwhelming grief. This finely written book offers a lucid meditation on what it means to practice the Dharma when everything falls apart.” —Stephen Batchelor, author of Buddhism without Beliefs and After Buddhism In the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s A Grief Observed, Guy Newland offers this brave record of falling to pieces and then learning to make sense of his pain and grief within his spiritual tradition. Drawing inspiration from all corners of the Buddhist world—from Zen stories and the Dalai Lama, to Pema Chödrön and ancient Pali texts—this book reverberates with honesty, kindness, and deep humanity. Newland shows us the power of responding fully and authentically to the death of a loved one. “A sad, beautiful, and necessary book—and a map waiting for many who will need it.” —James Ishmael Ford, author of If You’re Lucky Your Heart Will Break “Guy Newland faces squarely the pain of death and the pain of grief and offers a work of uncommon power, insight, and honesty—and extraordinary compassion.” —Jay L. Garfield, author of Engaging Buddhism

A GRIEF OBSERVED A Book that Questions the Nature of Grief Based on a Personal Journal

Author: C. S. Lewis
Publisher: e-artnow
ISBN: 9788026851943
Release Date: 2016-05-03
Genre: Self-Help

This carefully crafted ebook: äóìA GRIEF OBSERVED: A Book that Questions the Nature of Grief (Based on a Personal Journal)äó� is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents. A Grief Observed is a collection of Lewis's reflections on the experience of bereavement following the death of his wife, Joy Davidman, in 1960. The book was first published under the pseudonym N.W. Clerk as Lewis wished to avoid identification as the author. Though republished in 1963 after his death under his own name, the text still refers to his wife as äóìHäó� (her first name, which she rarely used, was Helen). The book is compiled from the four notebooks which Lewis used to vent and explore his grief. He illustrates the everyday trials of his life without Joy and explores fundamental questions of faith and theodicy. Lewisäó»s step-son (Joyäó»s son) Douglas Gresham points out in his 1994 introduction that the indefinite article 'a' in the title makes it clear that Lewis's grief is not the quintessential grief experience at the loss of a loved one, but one individual's perspective among countless others. The book helped inspire a 1985 television movie Shadowlands, as well as a 1993 film of the same name. Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was a British novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, lay theologian and Christian apologist. He is best known for his fictional work, especially The Screwtape Letters, The Chronicles of Narnia, and The Space Trilogy, and for his non-fiction Christian apologetics, such as Mere Christianity, Miracles, and The Problem of Pain.

C S Lewis on Grief

Author: Clive Staples Lewis
Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publishers
ISBN: 0785270965
Release Date: 1998
Genre: Religion

Grief: From losing his mother as a small boy to losing his beloved wife to cancer after only a few years of marriage, C. S. Lewis was well acquainted with grief. The insights in this book will help those struggling with sorrow to come through with hope and dignity.

A Grief Observed Readers Edition

Author: C.S. Lewis
Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571310883
Release Date: 2014-12-30
Genre: Religion

In April 1956, C.S. Lewis, author of The Chronicles of Narnia, married Joy Davidman, an American poet with two small children. After four intensely happy years, Davidman died of cancer and Lewis found himself alone again, and inconsolable. In response, he wrote this journal, freely confessing his pain, rage, and struggle to sustain his faith. In it he finds the way back to life. Now a modern classic, A Grief Observed has offered solace and insight to countless readers worldwide. This new edition includes the original text of A Grief Observed alongside specially commissioned responses to the book and its themes from respected contemporary writers and thinkers: Hilary Mantel, Jessica Martin, Jenna Bailey, Rowan Williams, Kate Saunders, Francis Spufford and Maureen Freely.

A Grief Observed

Author: R. B. Taylor
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780557381838
Release Date: 2010-05-09
Genre:

A Grief Observed is an intensely personal journey through loss, mourning, and ultimately recovery told in emotionally raw yet lushly literate poetry and art.

The Beginner s Goodbye

Author: Anne Tyler
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781448113125
Release Date: 2012-04-05
Genre: Fiction

When Dorothy came back from the dead, it seemed to Aaron that some people simply didn’t notice. The accident that killed Dorothy – involving an oak tree, a sun porch and some elusive biscuits – leaves Aaron bereft and the house a wreck. As those around him fuss and flap and bring him casserole after casserole, Aaron ploughs on. But then Dorothy starts to materialize in the oddest places. At first, she only comes for a short while, leaving Aaron longing for more. Gradually she stays for longer, and as they talk, they also bicker and the cracks that were present in their perfectly ordinary marriage start to reappear... OVER A MILLION ANNE TYLER BOOKS SOLD ‘She’s changed my perception on life’ Anna Chancellor ‘One of my favourite authors ’ Liane Moriarty ‘She spins gold' Elizabeth Buchan ‘Anne Tyler has no peer’ Anita Shreve ‘My favourite writer, and the best line-and-length novelist in the world’ Nick Hornby ‘A masterly author’ Sebastian Faulks ‘Tyler is not merely good, she is wickedly good’ John Updike ‘I love Anne Tyler’ Anita Brookner ‘Her fiction has strength of vision, originality, freshness, unconquerable humour’ Eudora Welty

A Grief Observed

Author: C. Lewis
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1534898409
Release Date: 2016-06-25
Genre:

No one ever told me that grief felt so like fear. I am not afraid, but the sensation is like being afraid. The same fluttering in the stomach, the same restlessness, the yawning. I keep on swallowing. At other times it feels like being mildly drunk, or concussed. There is a sort of invisible blanket between the world and me. I find it hard to take in what anyone says. Or perhaps, hard to want to take it in. It is so uninteresting. Yet I want the others to be about me. I dread the moments when the house is empty. If only they would talk to one another and not to me.

Discuss Grief A Discussion Guide for a Grief Observed by C S Lewis

Author: Tom Morris
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780557170951
Release Date: 2010-03
Genre: Self-Help

Lewis' feelings and musings about his wife's death were first published in 1961. Since then it has helped thousands and thousands of people who have read it or have spoken of its contents. This study is to encourage you to read the book in its entirety. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that Lewis and all mankind struggles with in grief. It is to help you grapple with issues of grief that everyone faces in loss. Each page is designed to be a discussion session for a group or 5-12 students. Discuss the passage of A Grief Observed prior to delving into the questions. Allow each student to respond to the first question before going on to the next. Allow for more time if some student has difficulty understanding or answering the question. It is my hope that these will assist you in helping young people make sense of death(s) in their lives. This book was written to help teens in grief support groups. It is my hope it can be a help to you and others.

American Widow

Author: Alissa Torres
Publisher: Villard Books
ISBN: UTEXAS:059173025218032
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Presents, in graphic novel format, the story of Alissa Torres, whose husband was killed in the September 11 terrorist attack on the World Trade Center, and her legal and psychological battles over his death.

Companionship in Grief

Author: Jeffrey Berman
Publisher: Univ of Massachusetts Press
ISBN: 9781558498044
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Family & Relationships

An insightful analysis of how five prominent writers coped with the death of a beloved spouse