Anthony Bourdain s Les Halles Cookbook

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 9781582341804
Release Date: 2004-10-15
Genre: Cooking

Provides a collection of French bistro style recipes, including lobster bisque, coq au vin, and a warm potato and goat cheese tart.

Bistro Cooking

Author: Patricia Wells
Publisher: Workman Publishing
ISBN: 9780761185123
Release Date: 2017-10-10
Genre: Cooking

Bistro is warm. Bistro is family. Bistro is simple, hearty, generous cuisine-robust soups and country omelets, wine-scented stews and bubbling gratins, and desserts from a grandmother's kitchen. Researched and written by Patricia Wells, author of The Food Lover's Guide to Paris and The Food Lover's Guide to France, together with over 220,000 copies in print, here is a celebration of the no-nonsense, inexpensive, soul-satisfying cuisine of the neighborhood restaurants of France. BISTRO COOKING contains over 200 scrumptious bistro recipes made lighter and quicker for the way we cook today. Warm Poached Sausage with Potato Salad. Benoit's Mussel Soup. Guy Savoy's Fall Leg of Lamb. Beef Stew with Wild Mushrooms and Orange, Chicken Basquaise, Pasta with Lemon, Ham, and Black Olives, L'Ami Louis' Potato Cake, Provencal Roast Tomatoes, Pears in Red Wine, and Golden Cream and Apple Tart. Throughout, lively notes and sidebars capture the world of bistro owners in the kitchen, les grands chefs, and more. Selection of the Book-of-the-Month Club. Winner of the 1989 IACP Seagram Food and Beverage Award. Over 166,000 copies in print.

The Bobby Gold Stories

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 1596917229
Release Date: 2008-12-10
Genre: Fiction

Bobby Gold is a lovable criminal. After nearly ten years in prison, he's no sooner out than he's back to work breaking bones for tough guys. His turf: the club scene and restaurant business. It's not that he enjoys the job-Bobby has real heart-but he's good at it, and a guy has to make a living. Things change when he meets Nikki, the cook at a club most definitely not in his territory. Smitten, he can't stay away. Bobby Gold has known trouble before, but with Nikki the sauté bitch in his life, things take a turn for life or death. A fast, furious, pitch-perfect story of food, sex, crime, and mayhem, The Bobby Gold Stories is Bourdain at his best.

No Reservations

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 9781596914476
Release Date: 2007-10-30
Genre: Travel

The host of the Travel Channel series "No Reservations" provides a behind-the-scenes account of his global culinary adventures, from New Jersey to New Zealand, offering commentary on food in every corner of the globe.

Provincetown Seafood Cookbook

Author: Howard Mitcham
Publisher: Seven Stories Press
ISBN: 9781609808402
Release Date: 2018-06-26
Genre: Cooking

A delightful collection of classic recipes, folk history, and original drawings by Cape Cod's most-admired chef. With a new Introduction by Anthony Bourdain "It's a true classic, one of the most influential of my life." --Anthony Bourdain, from the new introduction "Provincetown ... is the seafood capital of the universe, the fishiest town in the world. Cities like Gloucester, Boston, New Bedford, and San Diego may have bigger fleets, but they just feed the canneries. Provincetown supplies fresh fish for the tables of gourmets everywhere." --Howard Mitcham Provincetown's best-known and most-admired chef combines delectable recipes and delightful folklore to serve up a classic in seafood cookbooks. Read about the famous (and infamous!) Provincetown fishing fleet, the adventures of the fish and shellfish that roam Cape Cod waters, and the people of Provincetown--like John J. Glaspie, Lord Protector of the Quahaugs. Then treat yourself to Cape Cod Gumbo, Provincetown Paella, Portuguese Clam Chowder, Lobster Fra Diavolo, Zarzuela, and dozens of other Portuguese, Creole, and Cape Cod favorites. A list of fresh and frozen seafood substitutes for use anywhere in the country is a unique feature of this lively book. You'll learn the right way to eat broiled crab and the safe way to open oysters. You'll even learn how to cook a sea serpent!

Appetites

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062409966
Release Date: 2016-10-25
Genre: Cooking

Anthony Bourdain is a man of many appetites. And for many years, first as a chef, later as a world-traveling chronicler of food and culture on his CNN series Parts Unknown, he has made a profession of understanding the appetites of others. These days, however, if he’s cooking, it’s for family and friends. Appetites, his first cookbook in more than ten years, boils down forty-plus years of professional cooking and globe-trotting to a tight repertoire of personal favorites—dishes that everyone should (at least in Mr. Bourdain’s opinion) know how to cook. Once the supposed "bad boy" of cooking, Mr. Bourdain has, in recent years, become the father of a little girl—a role he has embraced with enthusiasm. After years of traveling more than 200 days a year, he now enjoys entertaining at home. Years of prep lists and the hyper-organization necessary for a restaurant kitchen, however, have caused him, in his words, to have "morphed into a psychotic, anally retentive, bad-tempered Ina Garten." The result is a home-cooking, home-entertaining cookbook like no other, with personal favorites from his own kitchen and from his travels, translated into an effective battle plan that will help you terrify your guests with your breathtaking efficiency.

A Cook s Tour

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 9781608195176
Release Date: 2010-09-17
Genre: Cooking

Dodging minefields in Cambodia, diving into the icy waters outside a Russian bath, Chef Bourdain travels the world over in search of the ultimate meal. The only thing Anthony Bourdain loves as much as cooking is traveling, and A Cook's Tour is the shotgun marriage of his two greatest passions. Inspired by the question, 'What would be the perfect meal?', Anthony sets out on a quest for his culinary holy grail. Our adventurous chef starts out in Japan, where he eats traditional Fugu, a poisonous blowfish which can be prepared only by specially licensed chefs. He then travels to Cambodia, up the mine-studded road to Pailin into autonomous Khmer Rouge territory and to Phnom Penh's Gun Club, where local fare is served up alongside a menu of available firearms. In Saigon, he's treated to a sustaining meal of live Cobra heart before moving on to savor a snack with the Viet Cong in the Mecong Delta. Further west, Kitchen Confidential fans will recognize the Gironde of Tony's youth, the first stop on his European itinerary. And from France, it's on to Portugal, where an entire village has been fattening a pig for months in anticipation of his arrival. And we're only halfway around the globe. . . A Cook's Tour recounts, in Bourdain's inimitable style, the adventures and misadventures of America's favorite chef.

Typhoid Mary

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 9781582341330
Release Date: 2001-05-04
Genre: Medical

Recounts the story of Mary Mallon, an immigrant cook considered responsible for the 1904 outbreak of typhoid fever in Oyster Bay, Long Island, and describes her attempts to escape capture and institutionalization.

The Nasty Bits

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 1596917210
Release Date: 2008-12-10
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

New York Times Bestseller The good, the bad, and the ugly, served up Bourdain-style. Bestselling chef and Parts Unknown host Anthony Bourdain has never been one to pull punches. In The Nasty Bits, he serves up a well-seasoned hellbroth of candid, often outrageous stories from his worldwide misadventures. Whether scrounging for eel in the backstreets of Hanoi, revealing what you didn't want to know about the more unglamorous aspects of making television, calling for the head of raw food activist Woody Harrelson, or confessing to lobster-killing guilt, Bourdain is as entertaining as ever. Bringing together the best of his previously uncollected nonfiction--and including new, never-before-published material--The Nasty Bits is a rude, funny, brutal and passionate stew for fans and the uninitiated alike.

Bone in the Throat

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
ISBN: 1596917237
Release Date: 2008-12-01
Genre: Fiction

When up-and-coming chef Tommy Pagana settles for a less than glamorous stint at his uncle's restaurant in Manhattan's Little Italy, he unwittingly finds himself a partner in big-time crime. And when the mob decides to use the kitchen for a murder, nothing Tommy learned in cooking school has prepared him for what happens next. With the FBI on one side, and his eccentric wise guy superiors on the other, Tommy has to struggle to do right by his conscience, and to avoid getting killed in the meantime. In the vein of Prizzi's Honor, Bone in the Throat is a thrilling Mafia caper laced with entertaining characters and wry humor. This first novel is a must-have for fans of Anthony Bourdain's nonfiction. "A prodigiously self-assured first novel. . . the author's comic vision goes beyond original. It is deliciously depraved."-The New York Times Book Review

A Tuscan in the Kitchen

Author: Pino Luongo
Publisher: Clarkson Potter
ISBN: 0517569167
Release Date: 1988
Genre: Cooking

Reminiscences and anecdotes enhance a personal collection of recipes from the author's native Tuscany

A Moveable Feast

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Lonely Planet
ISBN: 9781742205960
Release Date: 2011-04-01
Genre: Cooking

From bat on the island of Fais to chicken on a Russian train to barbecue in the American heartland, from mutton in Mongolia to couscous in Morocco to tacos in Tijuana - on the road, food nourishes us not only physically, but intellectually, emotionally,and spiritually too. It can be a gift that enables a traveler to survive, a doorway into the heart of a tribe, or a thread that weaves an indelible tie; it can be awful or ambrosial - and sometimes both at the same time. Celebrate the riches andrevelations of food with this 38-course feast of true tales set around the world. Edited by Don George

The Escoffier Cook Book

Author: Auguste Escoffier
Publisher: Clarkson Potter
ISBN: 9780517506622
Release Date: 1969
Genre: Cooking

An American adaptation of a standard guide to the French culinary arts

Kitchen Confidential

Author: Anthony Bourdain
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN: 9781408820858
Release Date: 2010-12-20
Genre: Cooking

After twenty-five years of 'sex, drugs, bad behaviour and haute cuisine', chef and novelist Anthony Bourdain has decided to tell all. From his first oyster in the Gironde to his lowly position as a dishwasher in a honky-tonk fish restaurant in Provincetown; from the kitchen of the Rainbow Room atop the Rockefeller Center to drug dealers in the East Village, from Tokyo to Paris and back to New York again, Bourdain's tales of the kitchen are as passionate as they are unpredictable, as shocking as they are funny.