ARE 5 Review Manual for the Architect Registration Exam

Author: David Kent Ballast, FAIA, NCARB, CSI
Publisher: www.ppi2pass.com
ISBN: 9781591265153
Release Date: 2016-09-26
Genre: Architecture

Comprehensive Architect Registration Exam 5.0 Coverage The ARE 5 Review Manual is the most comprehensive textbook for the Architect Registration Exam 5.0 (ARE 5.0). All six exam divisions are covered with thorough explanations for each of the division’s sections. Over 150 example problems demonstrate how to apply key architectural concepts, codes, and standards. Cross references to more than 100 tables and nearly 400 figures will point you to additional support material when you need it. The extensive index contains thousands of entries so you can prepare for the exam by easily finding division sections and concepts. This book features • thorough coverage of all divisions and their sections • over 150 clarifying examples • industry-standard terminology and nomenclature • exam advice, tips, and strategies After you pass your exam, the ARE 5 Review Manual will continue to serve as an invaluable reference throughout your architectural career.

ARE Review Manual Second Edition

Author: David Kent Ballast, FAIA, CSI, NCIDQ Certification No. 9425
Publisher: www.ppi2pass.com
ISBN: 9781591263210
Release Date: 2010-12-08
Genre: Architecture

Updated to the 2007 AIA Documents and the 2009 International Building Code Successful exam preparation requires the best resources, and the ARE Review Manual gives you the power to pass all seven divisions of the ARE. This one book, updated to the 2007 AIA documents and the 2009 International Building Code, provides you with a complete and comprehensive review of the content areas covered on the ARE divisions. Additional chapters covering basic mathematics, important building regulations, and barrier-free design supplement your preparation regime. ARE Divisions Covered Building Systems Building Design & Construction Systems Construction Documents & Services Programming, Planning, & Practice Schematic Design Site Planning & Design Structural Systems Prepare to Pass All Seven Divisions of the ARE with a thorough review of all the content areas covered hundreds of tables and figures exam advice to help you avoid common mistakes guidelines to effectively focus your preparation a revised edition with updated codes and standards

ARE 5 Practice Exam for the Architect Registration Exam

Author: David Kent Ballast
Publisher: Professional Publications Incorporated
ISBN: 1591265177
Release Date: 2016-10-19
Genre: Architecture

ARE 5 Practice Exam contains six practice exams consistent with the NCARB Architect Registration Exam (ARE 5.0) format and divisions. All exam divisions are covered, with one practice exam for each ARE 5.0 division. The problem formats in this book mimic those on the exam and include multiple choice, check-all-that-apply, fill-in-the-blank, drag-and-place, and hot spot formats. Short, realistic problems focus on individual architecture concepts, while longer, more complex case study problems challenge your skills in identifying and applying related architecture concepts. Enhance your time-management skills by taking each exam within the same time limit as the actual exam. Then, evaluate your performance using the six individual answer keys. Comprehensive and clear solutions demonstrate accurate and efficient problem-solving approaches. ARE 5 Practice Exam will help you effectively familiarize yourself with the exam scope and format quickly identify accurate and efficient problem-solving approaches successfully connect relevant theory to exam-like problems efficiently navigate through exam-adopted codes and standards confidently solve problems under timed conditions Topics Covered Practice Management Project Management Programming & Analysis Project Planning & Design Project Development & Documentation Construction & Evaluation

Construction Documents Services

Author: Holly Williams Leppo
Publisher: Professional Publications Incorporated
ISBN: 1591263239
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Architecture

Updated to the 2007 AIA Documents Get the realistic practice you need to successfully prepare for the Construction Documents & Services division of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) with Construction Documents & Services: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam. 123 challenging sample problems are presented in the same formats as the problems on the exam, including multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, and fill-in-the-blank. A sample vignette prepares you for the graphic portion of the exam. Clearly explained solutions, are provided to supplement your review. Also included is a realistic 100-problem practice exam that simulates the actual exam experience through content areas covered, length, level of difficulty, format, and the use of logical distractors. The practice exam includes a building section vignette just like the actual exam. Coverage of the Construction Documents & Services Content Areas Bidding Procedures and Documents Codes and Regulations Construction Administration Services Construction Drawings Contractual Documents Project and Practice Management Project Manual and Specifications Building Section Vignette Features and Benefits Challenging sample problems in the same format as the exam provide the realistic practice you need to successfully prepare for the Construction Documents & Services division of the ARE. Downloadable PDF files, which can be can be imported into your drafting software, allow you to practice creating graphic vignette solutions. Practical tips for approaching the multiple choice sections, solving the vignettes, and using the vignette software help you avoid common mistakes. Updated codes and standards provide you with the most current ARE review materials.

Are Secrets Study Guide

Author: Mometrix Media
Publisher: Mometrix Media LLC
ISBN: 1609712013
Release Date: 2015-02-25
Genre: Architecture

***Includes Practice Test Questions*** ARE Secrets helps you ace the Architect Registration Examination, without weeks and months of endless studying. Our comprehensive ARE Secrets study guide is written by our exam experts, who painstakingly researched every topic and concept that you need to know to ace your test. Our original research reveals specific weaknesses that you can exploit to increase your exam score more than you've ever imagined. ARE Secrets includes: The 5 Secret Keys to ARE Success: Time is Your Greatest Enemy, Guessing is Not Guesswork, Practice Smarter, Not Harder, Prepare, Don't Procrastinate, Test Yourself; A comprehensive General Strategy review including: Make Predictions, Answer the Question, Benchmark, Valid Information, Avoid Fact Traps, Milk the Question, The Trap of Familiarity, Eliminate Answers, Tough Questions, Brainstorm, Read Carefully, Face Value, Prefixes, Hedge Phrases, Switchback Words, New Information, Time Management, Contextual Clues, Don't Panic, Pace Yourself, Answer Selection, Check Your Work, Beware of Directly Quoted Answers, Slang, Extreme Statements, Answer Choice Families; A comprehensive Pre-Design review including: Traffic Noise, Contour lines, Design Development Phase, On-Site Utility Studies, Dynamic compaction, Floor Area Ratio (FAR), Asbestos, Travel Distance to Exits, Permeability, International Building Code, Vegetated swales, Right of way, Esthetic zoning, Down zoning, Special use permits; A comprehensive General Structures review including: Flat Plate Floor System, Types of Loads, Proctor test, One-Way Joist Floor System, Advantages of Concrete Structures, Post-tensioned concrete, Roof Loads, Progressive Collapse, Flexure Theory, Columns, Fillet weld, Howe truss, Shear Stress versus Shear Strain, Modulus of Rigidity, Arch, Compressive (or tensile) Stress; A comprehensive Lateral Forces review including: Design wind pressure, Liquefaction, Seismic waves, Snow loading, and much more...

The Architect s Handbook of Professional Practice

Author: American Institute of Architects
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 9781118667132
Release Date: 2013-01-11
Genre: Architecture

Authored by The American Institute of Architects (AIA), this guide is the updated architecture profession's standard on practice issues. This indispensable resource covers all aspects of architectural practice, including legal, financial, marketing, management, and administrative issues. Content is significantly revised to reflect the changing nature of the business of architecture related to the impact of integrated practice. An accompanying web site contains samples of the latest AIA Contract Documents in PDF format.

Structural Systems

Author: Rima Taher
Publisher: Professional Publications Incorporated
ISBN: 159126331X
Release Date: 2010-12
Genre: Architecture

Updated to the 2009 International Building Code Get the realistic practice you need to successfully prepare for the Structural Systems division of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) with Structural Systems: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam. 125 challenging sample problems are presented in the same formats as the problems on the exam, including multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, and fill-in-the-blank. A sample vignette prepares you for the graphic portion of the exam. Clearly explained solutions, are provided to supplement your review. Also included is a realistic 125-problem practice exam that simulates the actual exam experience through content areas covered, length, level of difficulty, format, and the use of logical distractors. The practice exam includes a vignette covering structural layout just like the actual exam. Coverage of the Structural Systems Content Areas Concrete Structures Connections Foundation Systems Lateral Forces: Principles Notable Structures and Engineers Seismic Design Statics and Strength of Materials Steel Structures Structural Analysis Truss Analysis Walls and Retaining Walls Wind Design Wood Structures Structural Layout Vignette Features and Benefits Challenging sample problems in the same format as the exam provide the realistic practice you need to successfully prepare for the Structural Systems division of the ARE. Downloadable PDF files, which can be can be imported into your drafting software, allow you to practice creating graphic vignette solutions. Practical tips for approaching the multiple choice sections, solving the vignettes, and using the vignette software help you avoid common mistakes. Updated codes and standards provide you with the most current ARE review materials.

Site Planning Design

Author: David Kent Ballast
Publisher: Professional Publications Incorporated
ISBN: 1591261546
Release Date: 2008-11
Genre: Architecture

Successfully Prepare for the Site Planning & Design Division of the ARE Get the realistic problem-solving practice you need to pass the Site Planning & Design division of the ARE with Site Planning & Design: ARE Sample Problems and Practice Exam. 63 challenging sample problems are presented in the same formats as the problems on the exam, including multiple choice, check all that apply, and fill in the blank. Two sample vignettes in Site Design and Site Grading are designed to help build your confidence and prepare you for the exam. Clearly explained solutions, many of which are enhanced with study notes, are provided to supplement your review. After completing the sample problems, make sure you are fully prepared for the exam by taking the realistic practice exam. Designed to help you manage your study time effectively by identifying your areas of strength and weakness, the practice exam includes 65 multiple-choice problems as well as Site Grading and Site Design vignettes. This practice exam mirrors the actual exam through the topics covered, length, level of difficulty, format, and the use of logical distractors. Coverage of the Site Planning & Design Topics Circulation and Parking Urban Development and Community Influences Climate and Sustainable Design Other Site Design Influences Legal and Economic Influences Site Design Site Analysis Site Grading Transportation and Utilities _____________________________ Since 1975 more than 2 million people preparing for their engineering, surveying, architecture, LEED®, interior design, and landscape architecture exams have entrusted their exam prep to PPI. For more information, visit us at www.ppi2pass.com.

Are 5 Practice Problems for the Architect Registration Exam

Author: David Kent Ballast
Publisher: Professional Publications Incorporated
ISBN: 1591265169
Release Date: 2016-11-16
Genre: Architecture

ARE 5 Practice Problems contains more than 600 problems designed to reinforce your knowledge of the topics presented in the ARE 5 Review Manual. Problems are organized according to the ARE 5.0 exam divisions. All the exam-problem formats are presented, including multiple choice, case study, check-all-that-apply, fill-in-the-blank, drag-and-place, and hot spot formats. Clearly explained solutions are provided for all problems to supplement your review. ARE 5 Practice Problems will help you to effectively familiarize yourself with the exam scope and problem formats successfully connect relevant theory to exam-like problems quickly identify accurate and efficient problem-solving approaches assess essential knowledge, skills, and analytical abilities ARE Divisions Covered Practice Management Project Management Programming & Analysis Project Planning & Design Project Development & Documentation Construction & Evaluation

How to Pass the Architecture Registration Exam

Author: Michael Riscica
Publisher: CreateSpace
ISBN: 1517475376
Release Date: 2015-04-21
Genre:

No matter where you are in the ARE process, you will benefit from this book. From deciding if taking the ARE is the right path for you to figuring out what to do after you've passed, How to Pass the ARE will give valuable information to help you move through the AREs towards becoming a Licensed Architect. In 120 pages, How to Pass the Architecture Registration Exam, takes a thorough look at the following topics: What the ARE is and how to wrap your head around it. Is taking the ARE even right for you? How to use all the study material. Dealing with failure. How to mentally think about the ARE. Understanding how you learn. How to break down multiple choice questions. Things to consider on testing day. How to survive the long-haul commitment of getting through 7 exams. Finishing the process and becoming licensed. If you're working full-time and trying to figure out how to fit the exam into your busy schedule, this book is DEFINITELY for you. Not only does How to Pass the ARE provide a realistic approach to taking and completing the ARE while working full-time, it also serves as a one-stop resource for real-life, practical guidance. Best of all, your investment in "How to Pass the ARE" will pay for itself many times over. Sure, there is a ton of free ARE information available out there. Halfway through my ARE's I started to realize that my time would be my most valuable resource. I guarantee that no other single resource will save you as much time as getting the comprehensive, experienced-based knowledge you need-all written by someone who has actually taken the exam and all in one place! But, you don't have to take my word for it. If you purchase How to Pass the ARE and feel that it provided you no value, I will issue a full refund-and apologize for wasting your time. Good luck on your journey toward becoming a Licensed Architect.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect Official Study Guide

Author: Joe Baron
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
ISBN: 9781119139553
Release Date: 2016-09-28
Genre: Computers

Validate your AWS skills. This is your opportunity to take the next step in your career by expanding and validating your skills on the AWS cloud. AWS has been the frontrunner in cloud computing products and services, and the AWS Certified Solutions Architect Official Study Guide for the Associate exam will get you fully prepared through expert content, and real-world knowledge, key exam essentials, chapter review questions, access to Sybex’s interactive online learning environment, and much more. This official study guide, written by AWS experts, covers exam concepts, and provides key review on exam topics, including: Mapping Multi-Tier Architectures to AWS Services, such as web/app servers, firewalls, caches and load balancers Understanding managed RDBMS through AWS RDS (MySQL, Oracle, SQL Server, Postgres, Aurora) Understanding Loose Coupling and Stateless Systems Comparing Different Consistency Models in AWS Services Understanding how AWS CloudFront can make your application more cost efficient, faster and secure Implementing Route tables, Access Control Lists, Firewalls, NAT, and DNS Applying AWS Security Features along with traditional Information and Application Security Using Compute, Networking, Storage, and Database AWS services Architecting Large Scale Distributed Systems Understanding of Elasticity and Scalability Concepts Understanding of Network Technologies Relating to AWS Deploying and Managing Services with tools such as CloudFormation, OpsWorks and Elastic Beanstalk. Learn from the AWS subject-matter experts, review with proven study tools, and apply real-world scenarios. If you are looking to take the AWS Certified Solutions Architect Associate exam, this guide is what you need for comprehensive content and robust study tools that will help you gain the edge on exam day and throughout your career.

Are Sketches

Author: Lora Nicole Teagarden Aia
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1542338603
Release Date: 2017-01-07
Genre:

The ARE Sketches(tm) were born out of my journey to become a licensed architect and the study process I used by turning written verbiage into sketches for visual understanding. They have been shared online with others testing for their license as well as with those who simply enjoy learning about architecture. This book is whatever you want it to be. A flipbook of cool sketches. A visual study guide. A way for you to learn more about architecture. Each sketch provides a nugget of information in bite-size form, perfect for reading at your own pace with your own breaks. Write in the margins. Sketch in the blank space (there's purposefully room for that). Sketch on top of my sketches. Share it with a friend. Most of all, enjoy this wonderful world of architecture.This is the second in what will be a six part series of visual study materials for the ARE (Architect Registration Exams), covering mainly Site Planning & Design - with overlap to other tests.I get a handful of emails each week from people just like you, working hard towards getting their license. I love hearing from them and I love being able to help. That is the root of where this book was born - because a young licensed architect empowered to make the world better is a positive in my book.

Project Development Documentation PDD ARE 5 0 Mock Exam Architect Registration Exam

Author: Gang Chen
Publisher: ArchiteG, Inc.
ISBN: 9781612650258
Release Date: 2017-06-02
Genre: Technology & Engineering

A Practical Guide & Mock Exam for the ARE 5.0 Project Development & Documentation (PDD) Division! NCARB launched ARE 5.0 on November 1, 2016. We always incorporate the latest information into our books. To become a licensed architect, you need to have a proper combination of education and/or experience, meet your Board of Architecture’s special requirements, and pass the ARE exams. This book provides an ARE 5.0 exam overview, suggested reference and resource links, exam prep and exam taking techniques, tips and guides, and a realistic and complete mock exam with solutions and explanations for the ARE 5 Project Development & Documentation (PDD) Division. More specifically this book covers the following subjects: · ARE 5.0, AXP, and education requirements · ARE 5.0 exam content, format, and prep strategies · ARE 5.0 credit model and the easiest way to pass ARE exams by taking only 5 ARE divisions · Allocation of your time and scheduling · Timing of review: the 3016 rule; memorization methods, tips, suggestions, and mnemonics · Integration of Building Materials & Systems · Construction Documentation · Project Manual & Specifications · Codes & Regulations · Construction Cost Estimates This book includes 120 challenging questions of the same difficulty level and format as the real exam (multiple-choice, check-all-that-apply, fill-in-the-blank, hot spots, case studies, and drag-and-place), including a case study. It will help you pass the PDD division of the ARE 5.0 and become a licensed architect! Can you study and pass the ARE 5.0 Project Development & Documentation (PDD) in 2 weeks? The answer is yes: IF you study the right materials, you can pass with 2 weeks of prep. If you study our book, “Project Development & Documentation (PDD) ARE 5.0 Mock Exam (Architect Registration Exam)," you have an excellent chance of studying and passing the ARE 5.0 Project Development & Documentation (PDD)in 2 weeks. We have added many tips and tricks that WILL help you pass the exam on your first try. Our goal is to take a very complicated subject and make it simple. "Project Development & Documentation (PDD) ARE 5.0 Mock Exam (Architect Registration Exam)" will save you time and money and help you pass the exam on the first try! What others are saying about ARE Mock Exam series … “Great study guide…” “This was a great resource supplement to my other study resources. I appreciated the mock exam questions the most, and the solutions offer an explanation as to why the answer is correct. I will definitely check out his other ARE exam resources! UPDATE: Got my PASS Letter!” —Sean Primeaux “Tried everything 4 times before reading this book and PASSED!” “I had failed this exam 4 times prior to getting this book…I had zero clue as to what I was doing wrong. I read Ballast, Kaplan and random things on the forum but for the life of me couldn't pin point where I was missing it until I read THIS BOOK! Gang did an excellent job…I remember going through the ramp and reading Gang's book and saying Ohhhh like 4 or 5 times. I read his book several times until I became comfortable with the information. I went in on test day and it was a breeze. I remember walking out of there thinking I couldn't believe I struggled so much before. The tips in here are priceless! I strongly recommend this book…” —hendea1 “Add this to your ARE study” “This was a very helpful practice exam and discussion. I really appreciated the step-by-step review of the author's approach... As I studied it last before taking the test, Gang Chen's book probably made the difference for me.” —Dan Clowes (“XLine”) “Good supplemental mock exam” “I found the mock exam to be very helpful, all of the answers are explained thoroughly and really help you understand why it is correct...Also the introduction and test taking tips are very helpful for new candidates just starting the ARE process.” —Bgrueb01 “Essential Study Tool” “I have read the book and found it to be a great study guide for myself. Mr. Gang Chen does such a great job of helping you get into the right frame of mind for the content of the exam. Mr. Chen breaks down the points on what should be studied and how to improve your chances of a pass with his knowledge and tips for the exam and practice vignettes. I highly recommend this book to anyone…it is an invaluable tool in the preparation for the exam as Mr. Chen provides a vast amount of knowledge in a very clear, concise, and logical matter.” —Luke Giaccio “Wish I had this book earlier” “...The questions are written like the NCARB questions, with various types...check all that apply, fill in the blank, best answer, etc. The answer key helpfully describes why the correct answer is correct, and why the incorrect answers are not. Take it from my experience, at half the cost of other mock exams, this is a must buy if you want to pass...” —Domiane Forte (“Vitruvian Duck”) “This book did exactly like the others said.” “This book did exactly like the others said. It is immensely helpful with the explanation... There are so many codes to incorporate, but Chen simplifies it into a methodical process. Bought it and just found out I passed. I would recommend.” —Dustin “It was the reason I passed.” “This book was a huge help. I passed the AREs recently and I felt this book gave me really good explanations for each answer. It was the reason I passed.” —Amazon Customer “Great Practice Exam” “… For me, it was difficult to not be overwhelmed by the amount of content covered by the Exam. This Mock Exam is the perfect tool to keep you focused on the content that matters and to evaluate what you know and what you need to study. It definitely helped me pass the exam!!” —Michael Harvey (“Harv”) “One of the best practice exams” “Excellent study guide with study tips, general test info, and recommended study resources. Hands down one of the best practice exams that I have come across for this exam. Most importantly, the practice exam includes in depth explanations of answers. Definitely recommended.” —Taylor Cupp “Great Supplement!!” “This publication was very helpful in my preparation for my BS exam. It contained a mock exam, followed by the answers and brief explanations to the answers. I would recommend this as an additional study material for this exam.” —Cynthia Zorrilla-Canteros (“czcante”) “Fantastic! ” “When I first began to prepare for this exam; the number of content areas seemed overwhelming and daunting at best. However, this guide clearly dissected each content area into small management components. Of all the study guides currently available for this test - this exam not only included numerous resources (web links, you tube clips, etc..), but also the sample test was extremely helpful. The sample test incorporated a nice balance of diagrams, calculations and general concepts - this book allowed me to highlight any "weak" content areas I had prior to the real exam. In short - this is an awesome book!” —Rachel Casey (RC) ArchiteG®, Green Associate Exam Guide®, GA Study®, and GreenExamEducation® are registered trademarks owned by Gang Chen. ARE®, Architect Registration Examination® are registered trademarks owned by NCARB.