Beowulf

Author: Seamus Heaney
Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571250721
Release Date: 2009-02-19
Genre: Poetry

Composed towards the end of the first millennium, the Anglo-Saxon poem Beowulf is one of the great Northern epics and a classic of European literature. In his new translation, Seamus Heaney has produced a work which is both true, line by line, to the original poem, and an expression, in its language and music, of something fundamental to his own creative gift. The poem is about encountering the monstrous, defeating it, and then having to live on, physically and psychically exposed, in that exhausted aftermath. It is not hard to draw parallels between this story and the history of the twentieth century, nor can Heaney's Beowulf fail to be read partly in the light of his Northern Irish upbringing. But it also transcends such considerations, telling us psychological and spiritual truths that are permanent and liberating.

Beowulf Bilingual Edition

Author: Seamus Heaney
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393069754
Release Date: 2001-02-17
Genre: Poetry

New York Times bestseller and winner of the Whitbread Award. Composed toward the end of the first millennium, Beowulf is the elegiac narrative of the adventures of Beowulf, a Scandinavian hero who saves the Danes from the seemingly invincible monster Grendel and, later, from Grendel's mother. He then returns to his own country and dies in old age in a vivid fight against a dragon. The poem is about encountering the monstrous, defeating it, and then having to live on in the exhausted aftermath. In the contours of this story, at once remote and uncannily familiar at the beginning of the twenty-first century, Nobel laureate Seamus Heaney finds a resonance that summons power to the poetry from deep beneath its surface. Drawn to what he has called the "four-squareness of the utterance" in ?Beowulf? and its immense emotional credibility, Heaney gives these epic qualities new and convincing reality for the contemporary reader.

Beowulf

Author: Frederick Rebsamen
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062303912
Release Date: 2013-06-04
Genre: Fiction

A verse translation of the first great narrative poem in the English language that captures the feeling and tone of the original.

The Selected Canterbury Tales A New Verse Translation

Author: Geoffrey Chaucer
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393084184
Release Date: 2012-04-09
Genre: Poetry

"A truly remarkable achievement." —Barry Unsworth In the tradition of Seamus Heaney’s Beowulf and Marie Borroff’s Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, Sheila Fisher’s The Selected Canterbury Tales is a vivid, lively, and readable translation of the most famous work of England’s premier medieval poet. Preserving Chaucer’s rhyme and meter, Fisher makes these tales accessible to a contemporary ear while inviting readers to the Middle English original on facing pages. Her informative introduction highlights Chaucer’s artistic originality in his memorable portrayals of surprisingly modern women and men from across the spectrum of medieval society.

Beowulf

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: 0571203426
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Beowulf

Vertaling in hedendaags Engels van het Oud-Engelse heldendicht.

Aeneid Book VI

Author: Seamus Heaney
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 0374537046
Release Date: 2017-05-16
Genre: Poetry

A masterpiece from one of the greatest poets of the century In a momentous publication, Seamus Heaney’s translation of Book VI of the Aeneid, Virgil’s epic poem composed sometime between 29 and 19 BC, follows the hero, Aeneas, on his descent into the underworld. In Stepping Stones, a book of interviews conducted by Dennis O’Driscoll, Heaney acknowledged the significance of the poem to his writing, noting that “there’s one Virgilian journey that has indeed been a constant presence, and that is Aeneas’s venture into the underworld. The motifs in Book VI have been in my head for years—the golden bough, Charon’s barge, the quest to meet the shade of the father.” In this new translation, Heaney employs the same deft handling of the original combined with the immediacy of language and the sophisticated poetic voice that were on show in his translation of Beowulf, a reimagining which, in the words of James Wood, “created something imperishable and great that is stainless—stainless, because its force as poetry makes it untouchable by the claw of literalism: it lives singly, as an English-language poem.”

Gilgamesh

Author: Stephen Mitchell
Publisher: Profile Books
ISBN: 9781847653833
Release Date: 2014-02-27
Genre: Poetry

Vivid, enjoyable and comprehensible, the poet and pre-eminent translator Stephen Mitchell makes the oldest epic poem in the world accessible for the first time. Gilgamesh is a born leader, but in an attempt to control his growing arrogance, the Gods create Enkidu, a wild man, his equal in strength and courage. Enkidu is trapped by a temple prostitute, civilised through sexual experience and brought to Gilgamesh. They become best friends and battle evil together. After Enkidu's death the distraught Gilgamesh sets out on a journey to find Utnapishtim, the survivor of the Great Flood, made immortal by the Gods to ask him the secret of life and death. Gilgamesh is the first and remains one of the most important works of world literature. Written in ancient Mesopotamia in the second millennium B.C., it predates the Iliad by roughly 1,000 years. Gilgamesh is extraordinarily modern in its emotional power but also provides an insight into the values of an ancient culture and civilisation.

Beowulf

Author: Howell D. Chickering
Publisher: Anchor Canada
ISBN: 9781400096220
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Fiction

A bilingual edition of the Old English epic poem features the Old English and modern translation of facing pages and chronicles the exploits of the great hero Beowulf in his battles with supernatural monsters. Reprint.

Beowulf

Author: Seamus Heaney
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393330109
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Literary Criticism

A best-selling translation of the classic epic is complemented by lavish photographs and illustrations of period relics, from Viking warships and chain mail suits to spearheads and a reconstruction of the Great Hall. Original. 30,000 first printing.

Beowulf

Author: Roy Liuzza
Publisher: Broadview Press
ISBN: 1551111896
Release Date: 1999-12-06
Genre: Fiction

The classic story of Beowulf, hero and dragon-slayer, appears here in a new translation accompanied by genealogical charts, historical summaries, and a glossary of proper names. These and other documents sketching some of the cultural forces behind the poem's final creation will help readers see Beowulf as an exploration of the politics of kingship and the psychology of heroism, and as an early English meditation on the bridges and chasms between the pagan past and the Christian present. A generous sample of other modern versions of Beowulf sheds light on the process of translating the poem.

Beowulf

Author:
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780141902937
Release Date: 2003-02-27
Genre: Poetry

Beowulf is the greatest surviving work of literature in Old English, unparalleled in its epic grandeur and scope. It tells the story of the heroic Beowulf and of his battles, first with the monster Grendel, who has laid waste to the great hall of the Danish king Hrothgar, then with Grendel's avenging mother, and finally with a dragon that threatens to devastate his homeland. Through its blend of myth and history, Beowulf vividly evokes a twilight world in which men and supernatural forces live side by side. And it celebrates the endurance of the human spirit in a transient world. "Alexander's translation is marked by a conviction that it is possible to be both ambitious and faithful [and] ...communicates the poem with a care which goes beyond fidelity-to-meaning and reaches fidelity of implication. May it go on ... to another half-million copies." - Tom Shippey, Bulletin of the International Association of University Professors of English

Beowulf

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: 1543169236
Release Date: 2017-02-21
Genre:

Beowulf by Anonymous. Worldwide literature classic, among top 100 literary novels of all time. A must read for everybody.In the 1980s, Italo Calvino (the most-translated contemporary Italian writer at the time of his death) said in his essay "Why Read the Classics?" that "a classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say", without any doubt this book can be considered a ClassicThis book is also a Bestseller because as Steinberg defined: "a bestseller as a book for which demand, within a short time of that book's initial publication, vastly exceeds what is then considered to be big sales".

Metaphysical Dog

Author: Frank Bidart
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
ISBN: 9780374713386
Release Date: 2014-07-08
Genre: Poetry

National Book Critics Circle Award Winner A National Book Award Finalist A vital, searching new collection from one of finest American poets at work today In "Those Nights," Frank Bidart writes: "We who could get / somewhere through / words through / sex could not." Words and sex, art and flesh: In Metaphysical Dog, Bidart explores their nexus. The result stands among this deeply adventurous poet's most powerful and achieved work, an emotionally naked, fearlessly candid journey through many of the central axes, the central conflicts, of his life, and ours. Near the end of the book, Bidart writes: In adolescence, you thought your work ancient work: to decipher at last human beings' relation to God. Decipher love. To make what was once whole whole again: or to see why it never should have been thought whole. This "ancient work" reflects what the poet sees as fundamental in human feeling, what psychologists and mystics have called the "hunger for the Absolute"—a hunger as fundamental as any physical hunger. This hunger must confront the elusiveness of the Absolute, our self-deluding, failed glimpses of it. The third section of the book is titled "History is a series of failed revelations." The result is one of the most fascinating and ambitious books of poetry in many years. One of Publishers Weekly's Best Poetry Books of 2013 A New York Times Notable Book of 2013 An NPR Best Book of 2013

Narrative Pulse of Beowulf

Author: John M Hill
Publisher: University of Toronto Press
ISBN: 9781442691940
Release Date: 2009-10-14
Genre: Literary Criticism

One of the most consistent critiques levelled against Beowulf is that it lacks a steady narrative advance and that its numerous digressions tend to complicate if not halt the poem's movement. As those passages often look backward or far ahead in narrative time, they seem to transform the poem into a meditative pastiche. The Narrative Pulse of Beowulf counters this assertion, examining Beowulf as a social drama with a strong, forward-moving narrative momentum. John M. Hill discerns a distinctive 'narrative pulse' arising out of the poem's many scenes of arrival and departure. He argues that such scenes, far from being fixed or 'type' scenes, are socially dramatic and a key to understanding the structural density of the poem. Bolstering his analysis with a strong understanding of the epic, Hill looks at Beowulf in relation to other stories such as The Odyssey and The Iliad, epics that, though they may appear to have a certain narrative elasticity, use scenes of arrival and departure to create a cohesive social world in which stories unfold. As a new and comprehensive study of one of the most important Old English texts, The Narrative Pulse of Beowulf sheds new light on this famous poem and the epic tradition itself.