Beyond the Mountain

Author: Steve House
Publisher: Patagonia
ISBN: 9781938340055
Release Date: 2013-10-06
Genre: Sports & Recreation

What does it take to be one of the world's best high-altitude mountain climbers? A lot of fundraising; traveling in some of the world's most dangerous countries; enduring cold bivouacs, searing lungs, and a cloudy mind when you can least afford one. It means learning the hard lessons the mountains teach. Steve House built his reputation on ascents throughout the Alps, Canada, Alaska, the Karakoram and the Himalaya that have expanded possibilities of style, speed, and difficulty. In 2005 Steve and alpinist Vince Anderson pioneered a direct new route on the Rupal Face of 26,600-foot Nanga Parbat, which had never before been climbed in alpine style. It was the third ascent of the face and the achievement earned Steveand Vince the first Piolet d"or (Golden Ice Axe) awarded to North Americans. Steve is an accomplished and spellbinding storyteller in the tradition of Maurice Herzog and Lionel Terray. Beyond the Mountain is a gripping read destined to be a mountain classic. And it

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Elizabeth Arthur
Publisher: Graywolf Pr
ISBN: 1555971717
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Fiction

Accomplished mountaineer Artemis Phillips joins a woman's expedition in Nepal following the death of her husband Nicholas in an avalanche, and the new expedition becomes for her a series of confrontations, with the people of Nepal, with nature, and with h

Beyond the Mountain Road

Author: Francisco Quintero
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595513611
Release Date: 2009-03
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

In the memoir Beyond the Mountain Road the author shares his compelling life story beginning with his birth in a city nestled in the Colombian Andes and continuing with the fascinating details of his journey through a life built on hope, faith, dreams, ambition, and love. With a warm, narrative style, Francisco Quintero vividly describes the events that shaped his character and personality. He reminisces about his childhood and recounts the difficult years he suffered as a young student following the persecution and destruction of his family due to political reasons. As he advances chronologically through his life, Dr. Quintero offers insight into his adventures in medical school, his initial encounters with patients during his hospital training, his introduction to the love of his life, and the creation of his family. His anecdotes some humorous, some tragic include details of the family's eventual voyage to the United States, where they live the American dream. Beyond the Mountain Road is the remarkable true story of a family that was able to overcome obstacles and hardship through courage and determination. Above all, it is a captivating love story.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Elaine C. Mount
Publisher: Xulon Press
ISBN: 9781606475294
Release Date: 2008-08-01
Genre: Religion

Do you ever wonder why you are so afraid? What happened that made you afraid for many years? Did you feel scared or doubt God's love for you even though you tried so hard to please him? Have you suffered severe depression, panic attacks, low self esteem, feelings that made you feel unworthy? Have you been housebound; afraid to go out? Are you being controlled by scary thoughts of doom? Do you allow others to control you? Do you need other's approval to make you feel good about yourself? This book takes you on one woman's journey to search for answers to all these questions and more. But she soon discovered, while reaching out for help in overcoming panic attacks and depression that God was allowing her to be set free from those things that had her bound. Read how Elaine overcame victoriously, after many years of panic attacks and depression, but how she discovered something in her journey that she had been searching for all her life! Elaine Mount has always loved writing in her journals and writing poetry. She is retired from the Wilson County Schools where she held jobs as Bookkeeper, Secretary, and Registrar. She is a member of the Lebanon/Wilson County Chamber of Commerce where she is on the Ambassadors Committee. She is a member of Wilson One, an organization for enablement of working woman paid and non - paid to provide networking opportunities, as well as a volunteer at UMC Hospital. She was facilitator at Counseling Services of Tennessee in Domestic Violence, Issues in Honest, Anger Management and Parenting classes. Elaine has been married to her husband, Glen for 38 years and they have two grown married children and three grandchildren. She has been an active member at Hillcrest Baptist Church in Lebanon for many years. She has taught Sunday school for many years, to children and adults alike.

Beyond a Mountain Valley

Author: Paula Brown
Publisher: University of Hawaii Press
ISBN: 082481701X
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Social Science

Beyond a Mountain Valley focuses on Simbu memories, performance, and conceptions over the last sixty years, particularly those relating to interactions with newcomers and other island peoples. Simbu speak of their awakening, their transitions, their heroes, and their future.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Stuart Nulman
Publisher: Callawind Publications Incorporated
ISBN: 1896511198
Release Date: 2002
Genre: History

If you think you know everything about Montreal, think again! Which English governess, who inspired a popular Broadway musical and several movies, spent her final years in Montreal and is buried in Mount Royal Cemetery? What tragic circumstances in 1919 caused the only undecided Stanley Cup final in history -- between the Montreal Canadiens and the Seattle Metropolitans? Who was the first Montreal-based singer -- more than 100 years before CZline Dion -- to become an international superstar? These are just a few of the intriguing questions answered in BEYOND THE MOUNTAIN: True Tales About Montreal. This book reveals some of the most interesting stories and lesser-known facts about this great city in a Ostory behind the answerO format, accompanied with rarely seen photos and illustrations.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Kalli Deschamps
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781524514457
Release Date: 2016-06-30
Genre: Fiction

Shadows of the past return to blanket the lives of the family who live in the ranch below the mountain. One tragedy after another threatens not only their lives but their lifestyle as well. The two young officers from the sheriffs department assigned to guard their lives cast a ray of light through the clouds to let the brilliance of the mountain shine through.

Daniel Boone

Author: Patricia Calvert
Publisher: Cavendish Square Publishing
ISBN: 0761412433
Release Date: 2001-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Covers the life and explorations of Daniel Boone, highlighting his experiences through Kentucky and Missouri using maps, text, and illustrations.

Beyond the Mountains

Author: Drew A. Swanson
Publisher: University of Georgia Press
ISBN: 9780820353975
Release Date: 2018-11-15
Genre: Social Science

Beyond the Mountains explores the ways in which Appalachia often served as a laboratory for the exploration and practice of American conceptions of nature. The region operated alternately as frontier, wilderness, rural hinterland, region of subsistence agriculture, bastion of yeoman farmers, and place to experiment with modernization. In these various takes on the southern mountains, scattered across time and space, both mountain residents and outsiders consistently believed that the region’s environment made Appalachia distinctive, for better or worse. With chapters dedicated to microhistories focused on particular commodities, Drew A. Swanson builds upon recent Appalachian studies scholarship, emphasizing the diversity of a region so long considered a homogenous backwater. While Appalachia has a recognizable and real coherence rooted in folkways, agriculture, and politics (among other things), it is also a region of varied environments, people, and histories. These discrete stories are, however, linked through the power of conceptualizing nature and work together to reveal the ways in which ideas and uses of nature often created a sense of identity in Appalachia. Delving into the environmental history of the region reveals that Appalachian environments, rather than separating the mountains from the broader world, often served to connect the region to outside places.

Everest Solo

Author: Reinhold Messner
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 9783104908311
Release Date: 2018-06-06
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Als Reinhold Messner 1979 in Kathmandu erfährt, dass der japanische Bergsteiger Naomi Uemura die Erlaubnis erhalten hat, den Mount Everest im Winter 1980/81 im Alleingang zu besteigen, kennt er nur ein Ziel: Er muss ihm zuvorkommen. Seit seinem Alleingang zum 8125 Meter hohen Nanga Parbat weiß Messner, dass auch die Besteigung des Everest, des mit 8848 Metern höchsten Gipfels der Erde, allein möglich ist. Messner handelt sofort, und es gelingt ihm, eine Expeditionsgenehmigung für die Zeit von Juni bis Ende August 1980 zu bekommen. Schon einmal stand Reinhold Messner auf dem Everest. Das war 1978. Nun wird er ein zweites Mal gehen, wieder ohne künstlichen Sauerstoff, aber diesmal auch ohne Kletterpartner, ohne feste Lagerkette, ohne Träger und über eine neue Route auf der tibetischen Seite. Messners Bericht über die alpinistische Sensation seiner Solobesteigung schildert nicht nur den Kampf ums Überleben angesichts der gewaltigen Herausforderungen der Natur, wie Monsunstürme, Gletscherspalten und die sauerstoffarme Luft in achttausend Meter Höhe, sondern vor allem auch die Abenteuer der Psyche an den Grenzen menschlicher Belastbarkeit und das mystische Erleben der Einsamkeit in eisiger Natur.

Mein Leben am Limit

Author: Reinhold Messner
Publisher: Piper Verlag
ISBN: 9783492956338
Release Date: 2012-09-19
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Schon immer ist Reinhold Messner weiter gegangen als alle anderen. Früh ließ er das Tal seiner Südtiroler Kindheit hinter sich, bestieg alle 14Achttausender und durchquerte zu Fuß die größten Sand- und Eiswüsten der Erde. Was aber beflügelt diesen Erfolgsmenschen? Und woher schöpft er Kraft und Phantasie, sich immer wieder neu zu erfinden? Kritisch und offen stellt der »Spiegel«-Reporter Thomas Hüetlin ihm die entscheidenden Fragen zu einem »Leben am Limit«.

The Land Beyond the Mountains

Author: Janice Holt Giles
Publisher: University Press of Kentucky
ISBN: 0813108489
Release Date: 1995-10-12
Genre: Fiction

In her fourth novel of the Kentucky frontier, Giles combines her fascination for the past with her gift for storytelling. Had it not been for the loyalty of men like Giles's fictional hero, Major Cassius Cartwright, General James Wilkinson's 1783 attempt to create a Spanish empire in the West might have succeeded. Interwoven with the Spanish Conspiracy are tales of struggles with Indians, of the birth of a Green River Valley town, and of the two women Cass loves: Rachel, a gentle Quaker, and Tattie, a fiery waif he rescues from Philadelphia slums. Like Giles's earlier historical novels, The Land Beyond the Mountains is an engaging story of adventure and romance. First published in 1958, this reprint gives Giles fans another lively piece of Kentucky's frontier history. Janice Holt Giles (1905-1979), author of nineteen books, lived and wrote near Knifley, Kentucky, for thirty-four years. Her biography is told in Janice Holt Giles: A Writer's Life.

Grass Beyond the Mountains

Author: Richmond Pearson Hobson
Publisher: Philadelphia : Lippincott
ISBN: UOM:39015027929887
Release Date: 1951
Genre: British Columbia

Experiences in setting up a cattle ranch in central British Columbia.