Beyond the Mountain

Author: Steve House
Publisher: Patagonia
ISBN: 9781938340055
Release Date: 2013-10-06
Genre: Sports & Recreation

What does it take to be one of the world's best high-altitude mountain climbers? A lot of fundraising; traveling in some of the world's most dangerous countries; enduring cold bivouacs, searing lungs, and a cloudy mind when you can least afford one. It means learning the hard lessons the mountains teach. Steve House built his reputation on ascents throughout the Alps, Canada, Alaska, the Karakoram and the Himalaya that have expanded possibilities of style, speed, and difficulty. In 2005 Steve and alpinist Vince Anderson pioneered a direct new route on the Rupal Face of 26,600-foot Nanga Parbat, which had never before been climbed in alpine style. It was the third ascent of the face and the achievement earned Steveand Vince the first Piolet d"or (Golden Ice Axe) awarded to North Americans. Steve is an accomplished and spellbinding storyteller in the tradition of Maurice Herzog and Lionel Terray. Beyond the Mountain is a gripping read destined to be a mountain classic. And it

Grass Beyond the Mountains

Author: Richmond P. Hobson
Publisher: Seal Books
ISBN: 9781400026623
Release Date: 2015-04-14
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The first in a trilogy, Grass Beyond the Mountains is a story of discovery and endurance on North America's western frontier by three good old-fashioned cowboys. In the fall of 1934, three cowhands with a dream of owning a cattle ranch made their way from peaceful Wyoming to the harsh, uncharted territory of the British Columbian interior. In conditions as challenging as any encountered by the western frontier pioneers of a hundred years earlier, the three men and their equipment-laden horses conquered the tortuous miles over narrow passes and mountain summits, hewed their first cabin from virgin timber, and attempted to carve out a space for themselves on the unforgiving landscape.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Sarah Phelps Stokes Halkett
Publisher:
ISBN: NYPL:33433082539606
Release Date: 1917
Genre: Children's poetry, American


Beyond the Mountains

Author: Kenneth Rexroth
Publisher: W W Norton & Company Incorporated
ISBN: 0811205525
Release Date: 1974
Genre: Literary Criticism

""Phaedra" and "Iphigenia at Aulis," set in the Greek heroic age, are recastings of old familiar myths, while "Hermaios" and "Berenike" (collectively called "Beyond the Mountains") take place at the start of the Christian era, in Hellenized Bactria, in the foothills of the present-day Hindu Kush. In substance, the plays are Rexroth's personal interperation of the elemental values of Greek civilization ..."--Publisher description.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Elaine C. Mount
Publisher: Xulon Press
ISBN: 9781606475287
Release Date: 2008-08-01
Genre: Religion

Do you ever wonder why you are so afraid? What happened that made you afraid for many years? Did you feel scared or doubt God's love for you even though you tried so hard to please him? Have you suffered severe depression, panic attacks, low self esteem, feelings that made you feel unworthy? Have you been housebound; afraid to go out? Are you being controlled by scary thoughts of doom? Do you allow others to control you? Do you need other's approval to make you feel good about yourself? This book takes you on one woman's journey to search for answers to all these questions and more. But she soon discovered, while reaching out for help in overcoming panic attacks and depression that God was allowing her to be set free from those things that had her bound. Read how Elaine overcame victoriously, after many years of panic attacks and depression, but how she discovered something in her journey that she had been searching for all her life! Elaine Mount has always loved writing in her journals and writing poetry. She is retired from the Wilson County Schools where she held jobs as Bookkeeper, Secretary, and Registrar. She is a member of the Lebanon/Wilson County Chamber of Commerce where she is on the Ambassadors Committee. She is a member of Wilson One, an organization for enablement of working woman paid and non - paid to provide networking opportunities, as well as a volunteer at UMC Hospital. She was facilitator at Counseling Services of Tennessee in Domestic Violence, Issues in Honest, Anger Management and Parenting classes. Elaine has been married to her husband, Glen for 38 years and they have two grown married children and three grandchildren. She has been an active member at Hillcrest Baptist Church in Lebanon for many years. She has taught Sunday school for many years, to children and adults alike.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Elizabeth Arthur
Publisher: Graywolf Pr
ISBN: 1555971717
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Fiction

Accomplished mountaineer Artemis Phillips joins a woman's expedition in Nepal following the death of her husband Nicholas in an avalanche, and the new expedition becomes for her a series of confrontations, with the people of Nepal, with nature, and with h

Home Is Beyond the Mountains

Author: Celia Barker Lottridge
Publisher: Groundwood Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780888999498
Release Date: 2011-08
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Samira and her brother flee when the Turkish army invades northwestern Persia in 1918, but the director of the orphanage where they end up decides to lead the refugee children on the three-hundred-mile journey back to their homes.

The Mountain Beyond

Author: Terry Miller
Publisher: Xulon Press
ISBN: 9781607912514
Release Date: 2008-12
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

"Hoppy is gone! What will we do?" My father replied. "Well, we just have to search for him." "Well, I'm sure he'll turn up in due time." There it was, the final anticipation that he would come home! However, I didn't buy it! Off to my room I went - dejected and devoid of all hope. The tears came quickly in the quiet of my room. Emotion, especially tears, was an expression of feelings that were not allowed in our household. As a matter of fact, this era did not support the outward showing of emotion period! It was the philosophy that, "Grown men don't cry!" Why not? Men were supposed to be strong, masculine and reserved. Showing other emotions diminished that role. Tears were not to be shown. Hugs and saying "I love you" were rarely seen nor were they acceptable. Terry Miller was born on August 25, 1939 in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. He grew up in the small town of Thurmont, Maryland during the 1940s and 50s. He was inspired to share this memoir dealing with the struggles of climbing life's mountains; more importantly, the victories achieved along the way. It takes the reader through life's experiences that evolve into personal growth lessons and lasting spiritual strengths. Terry resides with his wife on a five acre country setting in Waxahachie, Texas with their horses and a "free range" dog named Smokey. Terry and his wife have four grown children and six grandchildren. He retired from a career in banking and is the Director of Pastoral Care in Waxahachie Bible Church.

The Land Beyond the Mountains

Author: Janice Holt Giles
Publisher: University Press of Kentucky
ISBN: 0813108489
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Fiction

In her fourth novel of the Kentucky frontier, Giles combines her fascination for the past with her gift for storytelling. Had it not been for the loyalty of men like Giles's fictional hero, Major Cassius Cartwright, General James Wilkinson's 1783 attempt to create a Spanish empire in the West might have succeeded. Interwoven with the Spanish Conspiracy are tales of struggles with Indians, of the birth of a Green River Valley town, and of the two women Cass loves: Rachel, a gentle Quaker, and Tattie, a fiery waif he rescues from Philadelphia slums. Like Giles's earlier historical novels, The Land Beyond the Mountains is an engaging story of adventure and romance. First published in 1958, this reprint gives Giles fans another lively piece of Kentucky's frontier history. Janice Holt Giles (1905-1979), author of nineteen books, lived and wrote near Knifley, Kentucky, for thirty-four years. Her biography is told in Janice Holt Giles: A Writer's Life.

Looking Beyond the Mountains

Author: Steven Hammond
Publisher:
ISBN: 1893239713
Release Date: 2007-01-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

"Labeled female at birth, Steven Hammond lived for 25 years as a female--a boy imprisoned in the trappings of a girl"--P. [4] of cover.

Moving the Mountain

Author: Imam Feisal Abdul Rauf
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781451656015
Release Date: 2013-03-05
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The Muslim leader best known for his contributions to the establishment of an interfaith community center near Manhattan's Ground Zero offers insight into his progressive beliefs, ambassador service and advocacy of tolerance and equal rights. Reprint.

Beyond the mountain beyond the forest

Author: Dennis B. Fradin
Publisher: Childrens Pr
ISBN: 0516038532
Release Date: 1978-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In the face of the unrelenting cold, a young cave boy decides to go beyond the forest and find a warmer place for his people to live.

Mountains Beyond Mountains Adapted for Young People

Author: Tracy Kidder
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780307980885
Release Date: 2013-04-09
Genre: Young Adult Nonfiction

Tracy Kidder's critically acclaimed adult nonfiction work, Mountains Beyond Mountains has been adapted for young people by Michael French. In this young adult edition, readers are introduced to Dr. Paul Farmer, a Harvard-educated doctor with a self-proclaimed mission to transform healthcare on a global scale. Farmer focuses his attention on some of the world's most impoverished people and uses unconventional ways in which to provide healthcare, to achieve real results and save lives. From the Hardcover edition.

Beyond the Mountains of the Damned

Author: Matthew McAllester
Publisher: NYU Press
ISBN: 9780814756614
Release Date: 2003-11-01
Genre: History

Tells the story of Kosovo's most war-devastated city through the lives of two neighbors, one a Serb and the other a Kosovar, who viewed the conflict respectively as a desperate struggle for survival and an exercise of power.

Beyond the Mountain

Author: Kalli Deschamps
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781524514457
Release Date: 2016-06-30
Genre: Fiction

Shadows of the past return to blanket the lives of the family who live in the ranch below the mountain. One tragedy after another threatens not only their lives but their lifestyle as well. The two young officers from the sheriffs department assigned to guard their lives cast a ray of light through the clouds to let the brilliance of the mountain shine through.