Black Wolves

Author: Kate Elliott
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780356503219
Release Date: 2015-11-03
Genre: Fiction

SOME CHOICES CAN NEVER BE UNDONE. The Hundred, once ruled by a tainted religion and demon court, is now a place of peace and prosperity. The Black Wolves, once the king's most trusted guard, are disbanded and shamed with treason. Their captain, Kellas, finds himself standing at a crossroads where he must decide whom to serve and whom to betray. Faithful to the king's memory but shut out from his legacy, Lady Dannarah fights for the rank she was denied, while three young outcasts leave their homes to find their own destiny. As broken alliances are guardedly rekindled and old friendships put to the test, the Hundred's past is called into question - and its very future is put at stake.

Black Wolves

Author: Kate Elliott
Publisher: Orbit
ISBN: 9780316368704
Release Date: 2015-11-03
Genre: Fiction

An exiled captain returns to help the son of the king who died under his protection in this rich and multi-layered first book in an action-packed new series. Twenty two years have passed since Kellas, once Captain of the legendary Black Wolves, lost his King and with him his honor. With the King murdered and the Black Wolves disbanded, Kellas lives as an exile far from the palace he once guarded with his life. Until Marshal Dannarah, sister to the dead King, comes to him with a plea-rejoin the palace guard and save her nephew, King Jehosh, before he meets his father's fate. Combining the best of Shogun and Vikings, Black Wolves is an unmissable treat for epic fantasy lovers everywhere.

The Rise of the Black Wolf

Author: Derek Benz
Publisher: Orchard Books (NY)
ISBN: PSU:000061113336
Release Date: 2007-01-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Aided by the Knights Templar, the four young Grey Griffins face a host of evil forces, including Morgan LaFey's Black Wolves, who kidnap Max's father while the quartet is spending what at first seemed a fairytale Christmas break at the Sumner's castle inScotland.

The Dead Empire

Author: Kate Elliott
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 0356503194
Release Date: 2018-09-04
Genre: Fiction

An ambitious woman seeks to carve out a great destiny in an empire in turmoil in this rich and multi-layered sequel to Black Wolves. Marshal Dannarah devoted her life to her father's legacy of stable rule in the Hundred, only to find it betrayed by people she thought she could trust. As Captain Kellas and his rebel Black Wolves struggle to overthrow the last heirs of the palace regime she was once part of, Dannarah abandons her homeland to fight for the throne of the Sirniakan Empire. But the fates of the Hundred and the Empire are linked in a way no one, not even Dannarah and Kellas, could ever expect, when stolen magic rouses an enemy long ago left for dead.

Prague Nights

Author: Benjamin Black
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780241197394
Release Date: 2017-06-01
Genre: Fiction

'The emperor's mistress had been murdered, and the world had been taken hold of and turned upon its head' Prague, 1599. Christian Stern, a young doctor, has just arrived in the city. On his first evening, he finds a young woman's body half-buried in the snow. The dead woman is none other than the emperor's mistress, and there's no shortage of suspects. Stern is employed by the emperor himself to investigate the murder. In the search to find the culprit, Stern finds himself drawn into the shadowy world of the emperor's court - unspoken affairs, letters written in code, and bitter rivalries. But there's no turning back now...

Lamp Black Wolf Grey

Author: Paula Brackston
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 9781466859869
Release Date: 2015-08-04
Genre: Fiction

Artist Laura Matthews finds her new home in the Welsh mountains to be a place so charged with tales and legends that she is able to reach through the gossamer-fine veil that separates her own world from that of myth and fable. She and her husband Dan have given up their city life and moved to Blaencwm, an ancient longhouse high in the hills. Here she hopes that the wild beauty will inspire her to produce her best art and will give her the baby they have longed for. But this high valley is also home to others, such as Rhys the charismatic loner who pursues Laura with fervor. And Anwen, the wise old woman from the neighboring farm who seems to know so much but talks in riddles. And then there is Merlin. Lamp Black, Wolf Grey tells both Laura's story and Merlin's. For once he too walked these hills, with his faithful grey wolf at his heel. It was here he fell in love with Megan, nurse-maid to the children of the hated local noble, Lord Geraint. Merlin was young, at the start of his renowned career as a magician, but when he refuses to help Lord Geraint it is Megan who may pay the price. From New York Times bestselling author Paula Brackston, Lamp Black, Wolf Grey is an enchanting tale of love and magic featuring her signature blend of gorgeous writing, an intriguing historical backdrop, and a relatable heroine that readers are sure to fall in love with.

Silver Wolf Black Falcon

Author: Dennis L. McKiernan
Publisher: Roc
ISBN: 0451458036
Release Date: 2001-05-31
Genre: Fiction

Bair, the child of an Elf and a Baeran shape-shifter, and his friend Aravan embark on a quest to discover the whereabouts of the demon Ydral, but the oracle they consult warns them of a coming time of chaos and death and of Bair's prophesied role as the Hope of the World. Reprint.

Cold Magic

Author: Kate Elliott
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780748125395
Release Date: 2010-09-02
Genre: Fiction

The Wild Hunt is stirring and the dragons are finally waking from their long sleep ... Cat Barahal was the only survivor of the flood that took her parents. Raised by her extended family, she and her cousin, Bee, are unaware of the dangers that threaten them both. And although they are poised on the brink of an Industrial Age - magic - and the power of the Cold Mages, still holds sway. Now, betrayed by her family and forced to marry a powerful Cold Mage, Cat will be drawn into a labyrinth of politics. There she will learn the full ruthlessness of the Cold Mage rule. What do they want from her? And who will help Cat in her struggle against their powerful magic?

Cold Fire

Author: Kate Elliott
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780748125418
Release Date: 2011-09-01
Genre: Fiction

Cat and her cousin are key players in a drama of dragons and politics. Everyone wants something from them - including the warlord who's conquering all Europa and the Cold Mages who dare defy him. But the Master of the Wild Hunt is most dangerous of all. He will command Cat's loyalty using what she holds most dear. In a world where science and magic are at war, one girl must save those she loves, or lose everything.

Promise of the Wolves

Author: Dorothy Hearst
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416570219
Release Date: 2008-06-03
Genre: Fiction

The first in The Wolf Chronicles trilogy, brilliantly weaving together original research, lovable characters and a dynamic, thoroughly engaging plot, Promise of the Wolves is a historical adventure story in the tradition of Clan of the Cave Bear and Watership Down. Set 14,000 years ago in what is now Southern Europe, Promise of the Wolves is told from the point of view of Kaala, a young wolf born of a forbidden, mixed-blood litter. An outcast after her mother is exiled, Kaala struggles to earn her place in her pack. But her world is turned upside down when she rescues a human girl from drowning. Kaala and her young packmates begin hunting and playing with humans—risking expulsion from their pack and banishment from their home in the Wide Valley. When war between humans and wolves threatens, Kaala learns that she is the last in a long line of wolves charged with keeping watch over humans in order to prevent them from losing touch with nature and thus destroying the world. But to do so she must solve the great paradox of wolfkind: though wolves must always be with humans, humans cannot abide the presence of wolves, and every time the two come together, war ensues. Kaala must choose between safety for herself, her friends, and their human companions and the survival of her pack—and perhaps all of wolf and humankind.

Wolf Hall

Author: Hilary Mantel
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007322749
Release Date: 2009-04-30
Genre: Fiction

The greatest literary sensation of recent times – and now the inspiration for a major BBC series, starring Mark Rylance and Damian Lewis and directed by Peter Kosminsky.

Julie s Wolf Pack

Author: Jean Craighead George
Publisher: Paw Prints
ISBN: 1442017058
Release Date: 2009-07-10
Genre:

Julie finally finds the pack and is reunited with the family of wolves with which she had lived, but all is not safe and secure for them as the new pack leader, Kapu, is inexperienced in leading the family to food and safety

Julie of the Wolves

Author: Jean Craighead George
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062429742
Release Date: 2016-01-05
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Jean Craighead George’s Newbery Medal–winning classic about an Eskimo girl lost on the Alaskan tundra now features bonus content. This edition, perfect for classroom or home use, includes John Schoenherr’s original scratchboard illustrations throughout, as well as extra materials such as an introduction written by Jean Craighead George’s children, the author’s Newbery acceptance speech, selections from her field notebooks, a discussion guide, and a further reading guide. Julie of the Wolves is a staple in the canon of children’s literature and the first in the Julie trilogy. The survival theme makes it a good pick for readers of other wilderness stories such as My Side of the Mountain, Hatchet, or Island of the Blue Dolphins. To her small Eskimo village, she is known as Miyax; to her friend in San Francisco, she is Julie. When her life in the village becomes dangerous, Miyax runs away, only to find herself lost in the Alaskan wilderness. Miyax tries to survive by copying the ways of a pack of wolves and soon grows to love her new wolf family. Life in the wilderness is a struggle, but when she finds her way back to civilization, Miyax is torn between her old and new lives. Is she Miyax of the Eskimos—or Julie of the wolves?

Through the dark mist

Author: Marsha Canham
Publisher: Dell Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780440206118
Release Date: 1991
Genre: Fiction

Traveling across medieval England to meet her future husband, the lovely Lady Servanne de Briscourt meets the notorious bandit, Black Wolf, and falls for the outlaw, discovering in the process that he is the rightful heir to her fiance's title

Court of Fives

Author: Kate Elliott
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780316364249
Release Date: 2015-08-18
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

A New York Times bestseller! In this imaginative escape into enthralling new lands, World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's first young adult novel weaves an epic story of a girl struggling to do what she loves in a society suffocated by rules of class and privilege. Jessamy's life is a balance between acting like an upper-class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But away from her family she can be whoever she wants when she sneaks out to train for The Fives, an intricate, multilevel athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom's best contenders. Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an unlikely friendship between two Fives competitors--one of mixed race and the other a Patron boy--causes heads to turn. When Kal's powerful, scheming uncle tears Jes's family apart, she'll have to test her new friend's loyalty and risk the vengeance of a royal clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.