British Hit Singles Albums

Author: David Roberts
Publisher:
ISBN: 1904994105
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Popular music

This reference guide to both singles and albums in the UK pop charts lists titles, artists, labels, catalogue numbers, highest positions attained, number of weeks on chart and US no.1 information, as well as selected biographies and pop news.

The Complete Book of the British Charts

Author: Neil Warwick
Publisher: Omnibus Press
ISBN: 1844490580
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Music

The updated third edition of the only chart book that lists singles, EPs, and albums in one volume.The official UK chart began in 1952 and this epic work of reference includes absolutely every charting album, single and EP up to December 2003. The hits are arranged by artist and are identified by country of origin, label, chart position, and number of weeks in the chart. Also includes a †̃Statistics' section.

Complete Book of the British Charts

Author: Tony Brown
Publisher: Omnibus Press& Schirmer Trade Books
ISBN: 0711976708
Release Date: 2000-01-01
Genre: Music

This volume provides an alphabetical listing of every artist who has reached the UK singles and/or album charts from when they began in the early 1950s to the late 1990s. Each entry features a brief biography of the performer.

The Complete Book of the British Charts

Author: Tony Brown
Publisher:
ISBN: 0711990751
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Popular music

The updated edition of the only chart book that lists both singles and albums in one volume. A new 'statistics' section has been added to include most number ones, most top ten hits, most weeks at number one, most weeks in the chart, one hit wonders and much more.

Diskrete Zeugen

Author: Dorothy L. Sayers
Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH
ISBN: 9783644555914
Release Date: 2016-01-22
Genre: Fiction

Lord Peter Wimseys schwerster Fall: Morgens um drei Uhr wird Captain Cathcart tot aufgefunden. Für den Amateurdetektiv eine besonders heikle Angelegenheit, denn Cathcart hätte sein zukünftiger Schwager sein sollen. Des Mordes verdächtigt wird der Herzog von Denver, Wimseys Bruder, der zu den Vorwürfen schweigt. Indes behauptet Wimseys Schwester, ihren Verlobten umgebracht zu haben. Und die überaus diskreten Zeugen tragen mehr zur Vernebelung als zur Aufklärung der merkwürdigen Affäre bei ...

Collins Complete British Hit Albums

Author: Graham Betts
Publisher: Collins
ISBN: 0007195516
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Music

Every album and artist that has charted since the UK Album Chart started in 1958.From a Top Ten in 1958, the album chart has grown in both size and stature over the years. Increased to a Top Twenty in 1960, the chart grew to a Top 30 by 1966, a Top 40 later that year, a Top 50 in 1971, a Top 75 in 1978 and a Top 100 in 1981. By 1989, when compilation albums and soundtracks were a major factor in the chart, a decision was taken to produce two charts; a Top 75 artist chart and a Top 20 compilation chart. Every single entry on all these charts is included in Collins Complete UK Hit Albums.3,180 acts have registered just over 11,300 hit albums; also listed are the approximately 3,500 soundtracks and compilation albums that have also hit the charts. The layout of UK Hit Albums follows exactly that of its companion volume UK Hit Singles: a brief biography of each of the 3,180 or so artists who have had hit albums, details of BPI awards, Platinum Europe awards and RIAA Diamond awards and details of BRIT, Grammy awards and US Number Ones.Just as with the single chart, the album chart is not without its peculiarities and so you will learn of the album that took nearly four years to hit the

The Virgin Book of British Hit Singles

Author: Dave McAleer
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9780753522455
Release Date: 2010-11-04
Genre: Music

Includes all the British hit singles since 1956, as well as artist biographies, side notes, label and catalogue numbers, peak positions, number of weeks on the charts, weeks at #1 and much more. Original.

Complete UK Hit Singles 1952 2006

Author: Graham Betts
Publisher: Harper Uk
ISBN: STANFORD:36105122703627
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Music

This is a detailed guide to every single and artist that has ever appeared in the UK chart. It includes details on when the song was released, top position, weeks in chart, awards, track title, label and catalogue number.

Over the Top and Back

Author: Tom Jones
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 9783641189891
Release Date: 2016-02-22
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Über einen Zeitraum von sechs Jahrzehnten hat sich Sir Tom Jones in einem Geschäft über Wasser gehalten, das für seine Kurzlebigkeit berüchtigt ist. Mit einer Wucht, die aus seiner tiefen Liebe für die Musik stammt, gelang ihm der Durchbruch in der unberechenbaren Musikindustrie - er wurde zum Megastar und nahm eine ungeheure Fülle an Songs auf. Im Laufe seiner Karriere spielte Jones mit Künstlern aus allen musikalischen Genres, von Rock, Pop und Dancemusik bis hin zu Country, Blues und Soul, darunter Größen wie Elvis, Frank Sinatra, Ray Charles, Jerry Lee Lewis, Ella Fitzgerald, Stevie Wonder, Robbie Williams und Portishead. So unterschiedlich die Stile, so unverwechselbar war immer seine Stimme.

Isle of Noises

Author: Daniel Rachel
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447226802
Release Date: 2013-09-12
Genre: Music

Isle of Noises features brand-new, exclusive, in-depth conversations with twenty-seven of the UK's greatest living musicians. Artists discuss their individual approach to writing, the inspiration behind their most successful songs, and the techniques and methods they have independently developed. It is an incredible musical journey spanning fifty years, from 'Waterloo Sunset' by Ray Davies to 'The Beast' by Laura Marling, with many lyrical and melodic secrets revealed along the way. Original handwritten lyrics from personal archives and notebooks (many never-before-seen) offer a unique glimpse into the heart of the creative process, and some of the greatest names in photography, including Jill Furmanovsky, Pennie Smith and Sheila Rock, have contributed stunning portraits of each artist. The combination of individual personal insights and the breadth and depth of knowledge in their collected experience makes Isle of Noises the essential word on classic British songwriting - as told by the songwriters themselves.

The Girl in the Letter

Author: Emily Gunnis
Publisher: Headline Review
ISBN: 1472255100
Release Date: 2018-09-11
Genre:

Read her letter. Remember her story... Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once you've heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever. In the winter of 1956 pregnant young Ivy is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a home for unmarried mothers in the south of England, run by nuns, to have her child. Her baby daughter is adopted. Ivy will never leave. Sixty years later, journalist Samantha stumbles upon a series of letters from Ivy to her lover, pleading with him to rescue her from St Margaret's before it is too late. As Sam pieces together Ivy's tragic story, terrible secrets about St Margaret's dark past begin to emerge. What happened to Ivy, to her baby, and to the hundreds of children born in the home? What links a number of mysterious, sudden deaths in the area? And why are those who once worked at St Margaret's so keen that the truth should never be told? As Sam unpicks the sinister web of lies surrounding St Margaret's, she also looks deep within - to confront some unwelcome truths of her own...

The Top 40 Annual 1988

Author: James Masterton
Publisher: James Masterton
ISBN:
Release Date: 2015-04-04
Genre: Music

This was the year that several new eras in music began. The year of the first ever home-grown house music hits, the year Kylie Minogue made her musical debut and the year some of the dominant sounds of the next decade began to make their mark. The echoes of 1988 still resonate in the background of many of today's biggest chart hits. Now you can read the full story behind every one of the biggest hits of 1988. Leading chart historian James Masterton takes you through a detailed account of every act and every hit single to reach the UK Top 40 during the course of the year. Inside you will learn: Who Pete Waterman described as "my favourite idea for a pop group ever"; Which Belgian was the brains behind two of the biggest 'British' house music hits of the year; Just who was New Order's Bernard Sumner imitating on "Fine Time"; Who first performed the biggest selling single of the year on television; Which Dutchman dragged a famous 1960s hit kicking and screaming back into the Top 10 and in the process its singer back from Spanish retirement; Who was the first person to record Kylie's second hit; Which acid house hit ended up using footage filmed for another hit single as its hastily produced video. All this and much more can be found in this essential guide for any music fan of the 1980s.