Call the Midwife Farewell to the East End

Author: Jennifer Worth
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062270078
Release Date: 2013-03-12
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances. Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community. A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Call the Midwife Ruf des Lebens

Author: Jennifer Worth
Publisher: Edel:Books
ISBN: 9783841902351
Release Date:
Genre: Fiction

London, East End in den späten 50er-Jahren: Ein Arbeiterviertel voller gescheiterter Existenzen und Großfamilien auf viel zu engem Wohnraum. Der jungen Hebamme Jennifer ist diese Welt fremd – sie muss lernen, Geburten unter schwierigsten Bedingungen, durchzuführen. Doch das Viertel und die Menschen, die sie trifft wachsen ihr ans Herz. Jeder Tag bringt ein neues Abenteuer. Jede Familie, der sie beisteht, hat eine andere Geschichte. Unterhaltsam, bewegend und zutiefst herzerwärmend sind die Erzählungen der Hebamme, die eine fast vergessene Zeit wieder lebendig werden lassen. "Call The Midwife - Ruf des Lebens" ist der erste Band der erfolgreichen Trilogie, in der die Londoner Hebamme Jennifer Worth ihre Erlebnisse als junge Geburtshelferin im East End der 50er-Jahre beschreibt. Der Stoff ist Grundlage der gleichnamigen BBC-Serie, die zu einer der erfolgreichsten TV-Serien in Großbritannien überhaupt zählt.

Farewell To The East End

Author: Jennifer Worth
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780297857792
Release Date: 2009-04-16
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The third and final book in the bestselling CALL THE MIDWIFE series, soon to be a major BBC TV series. This final book in Jennifer Worth's memories of her time as a midwife in London's East end brings her story full circle. As always there are heartbreaking stories such as the family devastated by tuberculosis and a ship's woman who 'serviced' the entire crew, as well as plenty of humour and warmth, such as the tale of two women who shared the same husband! Other stories cover backstreet abortions, the changing life of the docklands, infanticide, as well as the lives of the inhabitants of Nonnatus House. We discover what happens with the gauche debutant Chummy and her equally gauche policeman; will Sister Monica Joan continue her life of crime? Will Sister Evangelina ever crack a smile? And what of Jennifer herself? The book not only details the final years of the tenements but also of Jennifer's journey as she moves on from the close community of nuns, and her life takes a new path.

Call The Midwife

Author: Jennifer Worth
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780297859666
Release Date: 2009-05-14
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A fascinating slice of social history - Jennifer Worth's tales of being a midwife in 1950s London, now a major BBC TV series. Jennifer Worth came from a sheltered background when she became a midwife in the Docklands in the 1950s. The conditions in which many women gave birth just half a century ago were horrifying, not only because of their grimly impoverished surroundings, but also because of what they were expected to endure. But while Jennifer witnessed brutality and tragedy, she also met with amazing kindness and understanding, tempered by a great deal of Cockney humour. She also earned the confidences of some whose lives were truly stranger, more poignant and more terrifying than could ever be recounted in fiction. Attached to an order of nuns who had been working in the slums since the 1870s, Jennifer tells the story not only of the women she treated, but also of the community of nuns (including one who was accused of stealing jewels from Hatton Garden) and the camaraderie of the midwives with whom she trained. Funny, disturbing and incredibly moving, Jennifer's stories bring to life the colourful world of the East End in the 1950s.

Die Nightingale Schwestern

Author: Donna Douglas
Publisher: BASTEI LÜBBE
ISBN: 9783732533978
Release Date: 2016-05-02
Genre: Fiction

London, 1934. Das berühmte Nightingale Hospital sucht neue Krankenschwestern. Unter den Kandidatinnen sind drei junge Frauen, die unterschiedlicher kaum sein könnten: Während Dora aus ärmlichen Verhältnissen stammt, ist Millie eine waschechte Aristokratin, die lieber etwas Sinnvolles tut, als sich einen Ehemann zu suchen. Helen dagegen leidet unter ihrer dominanten Mutter, vor der sie ein Geheimnis verbirgt. Doch welche von ihnen hat das Zeug dazu, eine echte Nightingale-Schwester zu werden?

The Midwife Trilogy

Author: Jennifer Worth
Publisher: George Weidenfeld & Nicholson
ISBN: 0297859641
Release Date: 2010-01
Genre: Childbirth

This omnibus edition of Call the Midwife, Shadows of the Workhouse and Farewell to the East End chronicles Jennifer Worth's career as a midwife from start to finish, from her arrival in the war-scarred Docklands as a wide-eyed trainee, to the demolition of the tenements and subsequent closure of Nonnatus House. It provides a fascinating snapshot of social history, documenting the East End in the days when there was a real sense of community, when times were tough but there was plenty of good humour and neighbourly support to help the inhabitants through the harsh econonic climate. The book also enables readers to follow Jennifer's personal story, as she discovers the amazing resilience of a population still bearing the scars of war, and the vibrant community of nuns with whom she lives and who teach her the skills of midwifery. In stories that are funny, disturbing and moving in equal measure, we meet prostitutes and abortionists, bigamists and mischievous nuns, and see Jennifer earn the confidence of people whose lives are often stranger than fiction.

Sommerl gen

Author: Bernhard Schlink
Publisher: Diogenes Verlag AG
ISBN: 9783257600414
Release Date: 2012-04-24
Genre: Fiction

Lebensentwürfe, Liebeshoffnungen, Alterseinsichten – was ist Illusion, und was stimmt? Was bleibt, wenn eine Illusion zerplatzt? Die Flucht in eine andere? Weil das Leben ohne Lebenslügen nicht zu bewältigen ist? Sieben irritierend-bewegende Geschichten von Bernhard Schlink.

Die weite Welt des Daniel Ascher

Author: Déborah Lévy-Bertherat
Publisher: btb Verlag
ISBN: 9783641183028
Release Date: 2016-09-12
Genre: Fiction

Für ihr Archäologiestudium lässt die zielstrebige Hélène die Provinz hinter sich und zieht nach Paris. Dort kommt sie unter bei ihrem Großonkel Daniel, einem exzentrischen alten Weltenbummler und Schriftsteller – mit dem sie allerdings nie besonders viel verband: Seine Bücher hat sie nicht gelesen und für die Mitbringsel aus den entlegensten Winkeln der Welt hat sie sich auch nie interessiert. Ihr neuer Freund Guillaume ist jedoch Feuer und Flamme, als er erfährt, dass Hélènes Großonkel der berühmte Autor der erfolgreichen Die schwarze Marke-Romane ist. Ihm zuliebe lässt sie sich auf seine Bücher ein – und entdeckt die Geschichte eines verlorenen Jungen und einer aussichtslosen Liebe: die Geschichte ihrer Familie.

Wie ein Stern in der Nacht

Author: Kristin Hannah
Publisher: Ullstein eBooks
ISBN: 9783843707299
Release Date: 2014-07-11
Genre: Fiction

Die Fernsehmoderatorin Tully Hart versucht mit aller Kraft, den letzten Wunsch ihrer besten Freundin zu erfüllen: Sie kümmert sich liebevoll um deren Tochter Marah. Bis ein tragischer Autounfall alles ändert – Tully liegt im Koma. Ihre Mutter Dorothy steht Tully tapfer bei. Doch auch die Erinnerung an Kate bleibt für Tully lebendig und gibt ihr Kraft weiterzuleben.

The Complete Call the Midwife Stories

Author: Jennifer Worth
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781780225104
Release Date: 2012-11-08
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The East-End stories that inspired the BBC TV series, CALL THE MIDWIFE, in a gorgeous gift box. London's East End in the 1950s was a tough place: the struggles of post-war life - bombsites, overcrowded tenements, crime, brothels - bred a culture of tight-knit family communities, larger-than-life characters and a lively social scene. It was into this world that Jennifer Worth entered as a trainee midwife. But docklands life was tough, and babies were often born in slum conditions. In funny, disturbing and heartbreaking stories, Jennifer Worth recounts her time among nuns, prostitutes, abortionists, bigamists, gangsters and expectant mothers, portraying East Enders' amazing resilience - and their warmth and humour in the face of hardship. Written with affection and nostalgia, her midwife stories chronicle the lives, traditions and tales of a bygone era.

Das Geheimnis von Wishtide Manor

Author: Kate Saunders
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 9783104902784
Release Date: 2017-12-14
Genre: Fiction

Großer Auftritt für eine unwiderstehliche Ermittlerin, die alles sieht und keinem auffällt: Laetitia Rodd ist die Frau für diskrete Ermittlungen. Sie sieht, was anderen verborgen bleibt. Man vertraut ihr, denn sie gehört dazu. Sie erfährt Geheimnisse, weil sie als Witwe in der Gesellschaft so unauffällig ist. Ihr Auftrag führt sie 1851 von London auf den Landsitz des reichen Sir James Calderstone. Sein Sohn Charles will eine junge Frau heiraten, der Sir James misstraut. Was verheimlicht sie? Laetitia soll dunkle Flecken in Helens Vergangenheit aufspüren. Doch da wird Helen ermordet, und ihr Verlobter Charles gilt als der Täter. Die Suche nach dem wahren Mörder bringt Laetitia selbst in größte Gefahr...

Ein irischer Landarzt

Author: Patrick Taylor
Publisher: Rowohlt Verlag GmbH
ISBN: 9783688108701
Release Date: 2018-01-24
Genre: Fiction

Wo in aller Welt liegt Ballybucklebo? Endlich ist Barry Laverty fertig mit seinem Medizinstudium. Voller Elan tritt der frischgebackene Arzt seine erste Stelle an. Doch Ballybucklebo ist nicht Belfast, die Uhren ticken etwas anders in dem abgeschiedenen Dorf in Nordirland. Und auch an seinen neuen Chef muss Barry sich erst gewöhnen. Dr. O’Reillys oberste Regel: Sich niemals von einem Patienten etwas sagen lassen! Statt Schmerztabletten verordnet er lieber Vitaminpillen. Bald lernt Barry auch den Rest des Dorfes kennen: darunter einen simulierenden Bürgermeister, eine unorthodoxe Haushälterin und einen Hund namens Arthur Guinness. Ungeahnte Lektionen warten auf ihn – über das Leben und über die Liebe ...