Churchill Plays 1

Author: Caryl Churchill
Publisher: Bloomsbury Methuen Drama
ISBN: 0413566706
Release Date: 1985-05-09
Genre: Drama

In Traps, a set of characters meet themselves and their pasts to create "plenty of sinewy lines and joyous juxtapostions"—Plays and Players Vinegar Tom "is set in the world of seventeenth-century witchcraft, but it speaks, through its striking images and its plethora of ironic contradictions, of and to this century..."—Tribune Light Shining in Buckinghamshire is set during the Civil War and "unflinchingly shows the intolerance that was the obverse side of the demand for common justice. Deftly, it sketches in the kind of social conditions.. that led to hunger for revolution...The play has an austere eloquence that precisely matches its subject."—The Guardian Cloud Nine sheds light on some of the British Empire's repressed dark side and is "a marvelous play - sometimes scurrilous, always observed with wicked accuracy, and ultimately, surprisingly, rather moving. It plunges straight to the heart of the endless convolutions of sexual mores...and does so with acrobatic wit."—Guardian Owners:"I was in an old woman's flat when a young man offering her money to move came round, that was one of the starting points of the play"—Caryl Churchill The plays in this volume represent the best of Churchill's writing up to and including her emergence onto the international theatre scene with Cloud Nine.

Churchill

Author: Caryl Churchill
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781136797736
Release Date: 2013-08-21
Genre: Drama

First Published in 1985.

Light Shining in Buckinghamshire Revised Tcg Edition

Author: Caryl Churchill
Publisher: Theatre Communications Group
ISBN: 1559365951
Release Date: 2018-05-15
Genre: Drama

A revised version of Churchill's provocative play about the revolutionaries who went into battle for the soul of England in 1647, and the legacy they left behind

Plays Four

Author: Caryl Churchill
Publisher: Nick Hern Books
ISBN: 1854595407
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Drama


Caryl Churchill

Author: Mary Luckhurst
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781134281930
Release Date: 2014-11-27
Genre: Drama

One of Europe's greatest playwrights, Caryl Churchill has been internationally celebrated for four decades. She has exploded the narrow definitions of political theatre to write consistently hard-edged and innovative work. Always unpredictable in her stage experiments, her plays have stretched the relationships between form and content, actor and spectator to their limits. This new critical introduction to Churchill examines her political agendas, her collaborations with other practitioners, and looks at specific production histories of her plays. Churchill's work continues to have profound resonances with her audiences and this book explores her preoccupation with representing such phenomena as capitalism, genocide, environmental issues, identity, psychiatry and mental illness, parenting, violence and terrorism. It includes new interviews with actors and directors of her work, and gathers together source material from her wide-ranging career.

Vinegar Tom

Author: Caryl Churchill
Publisher: Samuel French, Inc.
ISBN: 0573619735
Release Date: 1982
Genre: One-act plays, English


A Man s World

Author: Rachel Crothers
Publisher:
ISBN: NYPL:33433112002146
Release Date: 1915
Genre: American drama


Traps

Author: Caryl Churchill
Publisher: MIT Press
ISBN: 1854590952
Release Date: 1989
Genre: Drama

An early play by one of our leading dramatists, written before her breakthrough successes with Cloud Nine and Top Girls. Like a painting by Escher 'where the objects can exist on paper, but would be impossible in life', Traps is a mindbending dramatic concoction in which the characters can be thought of as living all their possibilities at once.

Making a Spectacle

Author: Lynda Hart
Publisher: University of Michigan Press
ISBN: 0472063898
Release Date: 1989
Genre: Social Science

The first scholarly collection to discuss the intersection of feminism and dramatic theory

Information for Foreigners

Author: Griselda Gambaro
Publisher: Northwestern University Press
ISBN: 9780810133051
Release Date: 1992-03-01
Genre: Drama

One of Latin America's most important and prolific writers, Griselda Gambaro has focused on the dynamics of repression, complicity, and violence--specifically, the terror of violent regimes and their devastating effects on the moral framework of society. Information for Foreigners is a drama of disappearance, an experimental work dealing with the theme of random and meaningless punishment in which the audience is led through darkened passageways to a series of nightmarish tableaux. The collection also includes The Walls and Antigona Furiosa.

Postmodern Theater and the Void of Conceptions

Author: William S. Haney II
Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing
ISBN: 9781443806350
Release Date: 2009-03-26
Genre: Performing Arts

Different symbolic traditions have different ways of describing the shift of awareness toward sacred events. While not conforming to familiar states of phenomenality, this shift of awareness corresponds to Turner's liminal phase, Artaud's metaphysical embodiment, Grotowski's “translumination,” Brook's “holy theater,” and Barba's “transcendent” theater—all of which are linked to the Advaitan taste of a void of conceptions. This book argues that, by allowing to come what Derrida calls the unsayable, the theater of Tom Stoppard, David Henry Hwang, Caryl Churchill, Sam Shepard, Derek Walcott and Girish Karnad induces characters and spectators to deconstruct habitual patterns of perception, attenuate the content of consciousness, and taste the void of conceptions. As the nine plays discussed in this book suggest, the internal observer lies behind all cultural constructs as a silent beyond-ness, and immanently within knowledge as its generative condition of unknowingness. The unsayable (and the language used to convey it) that Derrida finds in literature has clear affinities with the Brahman-Atman of Advaita Vedanta. Derridean deconstruction contains as a subtext the structure of consciousness that it both veils with the undecidable trappings of the mind and allows to come as an unsayable secret through a play of difference. Although Derrida views theater and the text as mutually deconstructing and claims that presence or unity “has always already begun to represent itself,” the six playwrights discussed here show that cultural performance indeed points through its universally ambiguous and symbolic types toward a trans-verbal, trans-cultural wholeness.

Coram Boy

Author: Jamila Gavin
Publisher:
ISBN: 1405277033
Release Date: 2015-01-01
Genre: London (England)

The Whitbread 2000 Book of the Year is a haunting and captivating work of historical fiction for children. The Coram man takes babies and money from desperate mothers, promising to deliver them safely to a Foundling Hospital in London. Instead, he murders them and buries them by the roadside, to the helpless horror of his mentally ill son, Mish. Mish saves one, Aaron, who grows up happily unaware of his history, proving himself a promising musician. As Aaron's new life takes him closer to his real family, the watchful Mish makes a terrible mistake, delivering Aaron and his best friend Toby back into the hands of the Coram man. It tells the story of a dark time in English history. Fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Goodnight Mr Tom will love this. A great read for children aged 10+. Look out for Jamilla's other titles: The Eye of the Horse The Robber Baron's Daughter The Track of the Wind Wheel of Surya Coram Boy won the 2000 Whitbread Children's Book of the Year, was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and has been adapted into a highly acclaimed stage play. Jamila Gavin was born in Mussoorie, India, in the foothills of the Himalayas. With an Indian father and an English mother, she inherited two rich cultures which ran side by side throughout her life, and which always made her feel she belonged to both countries. The family finally settled in England where Jamila completed her schooling, was a music student, worked for the BBC and became a mother of two children. It was then that she began writing children's books, and felt a need to reflect the multi-cultural world in which she and her children now lived.

I Gelosi

Author: David Bridel
Publisher: Original Works Publishing
ISBN: 9781934962398
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Drama

Synopsis: I Gelosi (The Zealous Ones) lovingly recreates the world of the commedia dell'arte and tells the story of Italy's first great traveling theatre troupe. In the late 16th Century the Gelosi company takes the provinces by storm, thanks to the beauty, wit and charm of Isabella Andreini, one of the very first women ever to play on the stage. Invited to perform at the Court of King Charles IX of France, the Gelosi become the toast of Europe - until they risk the wrath of the Pope with a virulent theatrical satire. Hounded from the French Court, the company's fortunes sink, despite the increasing brilliance of Isabella's talents. Jealousy, madness, and selfishness tear the company apart. Finally, the Gelosi return to the poverty from whence they came. Cast Size: 6 Males, 4 Females

Churchill Plays 2

Author: Caryl Churchill
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781408177495
Release Date: 2013-12-04
Genre: Drama

Softcops renders the philosophy of Foucault as a music-hall turn and Victorian freakshow "theatre and history combine to give such intelligent fun" (TLS); Top Girls brings five great and less-than-great women from history together for a dinner party and "has a combination of directness and complexity which keeps you both emotionally and intellectually alert" (Sunday Times); Fen scrutinises the lives of the low-paid women potato pickers of the fens (in Eastern England) and "the playwright pins down her poetic subject matter in dialogue of impressive vigour and economy" (Financial Times) while Serious Money is a satirical study of the effects of the Big Bang - "Pure genius...the first play about the city to capture the authentic atmosphere of the place." (Daily Telegraph)