Cash

Author: Johnny Cash
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780060727536
Release Date: 2003-10-07
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

He was the "Man in Black," a country music legend, and the quintessential American troubadour. He was an icon of rugged individualism who had been to hell and back, telling the tale as never before. In his unforgettable autobiography, Johnny Cash tells the truth about the highs and lows, the struggles and hard-won triumphs, and the people who shaped him. In his own words, Cash set the record straight -- and dispelled a few myths -- as he looked unsparingly at his remarkable life: from the joys of his boyhood in Dyess, Arkansas to superstardom in Nashville, Tennessee, the road of Cash's life has been anything but smooth. Cash writes of the thrill of playing with Elvis, the comfort of praying with Billy Graham; of his battles with addiction and of the devotion of his wife, June; of his gratitude for life, and of his thoughts on what the afterlife may bring. Here, too, are the friends of a lifetime, including Willie Nelson, Roy Orbison, Bob Dylan, and Kris Kristofferson. As powerful and memorable as one of his classic songs, Cash is filled with the candor, wit, and wisdom of a man who truly "walked the line."

Cash

Author: Johnny Cash
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 0061013579
Release Date: 1998-08-05
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The country singer looks back over his life from his childhood on an Arkansas cotton farm, to his battle with drugs, to his myriad musical successes

Cash

Author: Johnny Cash
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780002740807
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Country musicians

This fascinating autobiography of the country music legend recounts the highs and lows, the struggles and hard-won triumphs of his remarkable life. The story takes us from Johnny Cash's childhood on an Arkansas cotton farm to his early years at Sun Records. We read of his life on the road and meetings with, and performances for, world leaders. There is also the darker side of his life: the years of addiction to amphetamines and pain killers, a suicide attempt and the spiritual awakening that pulled him through. He looks unsparingly at his turbulent past, but remains a man of honesty, humility and humour. His memoir reveals his friendships with Roy Orbison, Willie Nelson, Bob Dylan and Billy Graham.

Johnny Cash

Author: Robert Hilburn
Publisher: Little, Brown
ISBN: 9780316248693
Release Date: 2013-10-29
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The national bestseller celebrated as "the ultimate Johnny Cash biography....Rock writer great Robert Hilburn goes deep." -- Rolling Stone In this, the definitive biography of an American legend, Robert Hilburn conveys the unvarnished truth about a musical superstar. Johnny Cash's extraordinary career stretched from his days at Sun Records with Elvis Presley and Jerry Lee Lewis to the remarkable creative last hurrah, at age 69, that resulted in the brave, moving "Hurt" video. As music critic for the Los Angeles Times, Hilburn knew Cash throughout his life: he was the only music journalist at the legendary Folsom Prison concert in 1968, and he interviewed both Cash and his wife June Carter just months before their deaths. Drawing upon a trove of never-before-seen material from the singer's inner circle, Hilburn creates an utterly compelling, deeply human portrait of a towering figure in country music, a seminal influence in rock, and an icon of American popular culture. Hilburn's reporting shows the astonishing highs and deep lows that marked the journey of a man of great faith and humbling addiction who throughout his life strove to use his music to lift people's spirits.

Cash

Author: Johnny Cash
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 0002740257
Release Date: 1999-03-01
Genre: Country musicians

This autobiography of the country music legend, Johnny Cash, recounts the highs and lows, the struggles and hard won triumphs of his life.

I Walked the Line

Author: Vivian Cash
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781847395955
Release Date: 2008-09-04
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

When Johnny Cash died in September 2003, the world mourned the loss of the greatest country music star of all time. I Walked the Line is the life story of Vivian Cash, Johnny's first wife and the mother of his four daughters. It is a tale of long-kept secrets, lies revealed, betrayal and, at last, the truth. Johnny and Vivian were married for nearly fourteen years. These years spanned Johnny's military service in Germany, his earliest musical inclinations, their struggling newlywed years, Johnny's first record deal with Sun Records (alongside Elvis Presley), his astounding rise to stardom, and his well-known battles with pills and the law. Vivian decided that, near the end of her life and with backing from Johnny, she should tell the whole story, even the parts at odds with the iconic Cash family image such as Johnny's drug problems; Vivian's confrontation with June Carter about her affair with Johnny and, most sensationally, the Cash family secret of June's lifelong addiction to drugs and the events leading up to her death. Also revealed are unpublished love letters between the couple, family photographs and artefacts. I Walked the Line is a powerful memoir of joy and happiness, injustice and triumph and is an essential read for all Cash fans.

Composed

Author: Rosanne Cash
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101457696
Release Date: 2010-08-10
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A candid and moving memoir from the critically acclaimed singer and songwriter For thirty years as a musician, Rosanne Cash has enjoyed both critical and commercial success, releasing a series of albums that are as notable for their lyrical intelligence as for their musical excellence. Now, in her memoir, Cash writes compellingly about her upbringing in Southern California as the child of country legend Johnny Cash, and of her relationships with her mother and her famous stepmother, June Carter Cash. In her account of her development as an artist she shares memories of a hilarious stint as a twenty-year-old working for Columbia Records in London, recording her own first album on a German label, working her way to success, her marriage to Rodney Crowell, a union that made them Nashville's premier couple, her relationship with the country music establishment, taking a new direction in her music and leaving Nashville to move to New York. As well as motherhood, dealing with the deaths of her parents, in part through music, the process of songwriting, and the fulfillment she has found with her current husband and musical collaborator, John Leventhal. Cash has written an unconventional and compelling memoir that, in the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher's The Gastronomical Me and Frank Conroy's Stop-Time, is a series of linked pieces that combine to form a luminous and brilliant whole.

Waylon

Author: Waylon Jennings
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 0446562378
Release Date: 2009-06-27
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Waylon Jennings relates the story of his life as a country music star. His beginnings were poor but he became Buddy Holly's protege before sinking into drug abuse and 3 failed marriages. His success came when he met his present wife, Jessi Colter.

Man in White

Author: Johnny Cash
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: 9781418555566
Release Date: 2008-12-24
Genre: Fiction

Johnny Cash. The Apostle Paul. Passionate. Controversial. Fiery. Destructive. Redeemed. Two legendary men. Two thousand years apart-yet remarkably similar. Both struggled with a "thorn in the flesh." And both had powerful visions from God. Paul's encounter with the Man in White knocked him to the ground and struck him blind. It also turned him into one of the most influential men in history. Johnny Cash's vision was of another man entirely-his recently deceased father-a vision that helped spark his imagination to write this historical novel about the amazing life of the intriguing figure with whom Cash identified so deeply-the Apostle Paul. See Paul as you've never seen him before--through the creative imagination of one of the greatest singer-songwriters America has ever known. Subsequently see Johnny Cash, the man in Black, as you've never seen him before--as a passionist novelist consumed with the Man In White.

Anchored In Love

Author: John Carter Cash
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: 9781418567668
Release Date: 2007-06-10
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

June Carter was born in the rugged mountains of Maces Springs, Virginia, to Ezra and Maybelle Carter, pioneers of country music. On stage from a very young age, June found her niche in the spotlight with her vivacious personality and down-home sense of humor. Her confidence and spirit were what attracted Johnny Cash to her in the late 1950s. On the road together, they quickly bonded. June was his helpmate and closest companion. They were married for forty years, through addiction and success, tragedy and triumph. Anchored in Love is an inside look into the life of June Carter Cash, through the eyes of her only child with Johnny Cash-John Carter Cash. With skillful prose, he reveals new information about the legendary woman through his tender memories and heartwarming stories.

Eric Bischoff

Author: Eric Bischoff
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416528548
Release Date: 2007-06-05
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Bischoff, one of the most controversial figures in the world of wrestling, takes a no-holds-barred look at his career and life. He discusses what he did right as WCW president--and what failed--as he helped shape the sports entertainment industry into the billion-dollar business it is today.

The Autobiography of Gucci Mane

Author: Gucci Mane
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781501165320
Release Date: 2017-09-19
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Rapper Gucci Mane takes us to his roots in Alabama, the streets of East Atlanta, the trap house, and the studio where he found his voice as a peerless rapper. He reflects on his inimitable career and in the process confronts his dark past -- the murder charge, years behind bars, addiction, career highs and lows -- the making of the Trap God. It is one of the greatest comeback stories in the history of music. -- Adapted from book jacket.

The Man Who Carried Cash

Author: Julie Chadwick
Publisher: Dundurn
ISBN: 9781459737242
Release Date: 2017-05-27
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

How did Saul Holiff, a serious-minded Canadian businessman, get hooked up with Johnny Cash at his most wild? The Cash–Holiff partnership explores the dizzying success and rock-bottom depths the two shared, and reveals the secrets that eventually pulled them apart.