Chernobyl 01

Author: Andrew Leatherbarrow
Publisher:
ISBN: 0993597505
Release Date: 2016-04-26
Genre:

Chernobyl, the world's worst nuclear disaster, forced the permanent evacuation of a city, killed thousands and crippled the Soviet Union. This book, the result of 5 years of research, presents an accessible but comprehensive account. The historical narrative is interwoven with the author's own journey to Ukraine's abandoned city of Pripyat.

Atomic Accidents

Author: James Mahaffey
Publisher: Open Road Media
ISBN: 9781480447745
Release Date: 2014-02-04
Genre: Science

A “delightfully astute” and “entertaining” history of the mishaps and meltdowns that have marked the path of scientific progress (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). Radiation: What could go wrong? In short, plenty. From Marie Curie carrying around a vial of radium salt because she liked the pretty blue glow to the large-scale disasters at Chernobyl and Fukushima, dating back to the late nineteenth century, nuclear science has had a rich history of innovative exploration and discovery, coupled with mistakes, accidents, and downright disasters. In this lively book, long-time advocate of continued nuclear research and nuclear energy James Mahaffey looks at each incident in turn and analyzes what happened and why, often discovering where scientists went wrong when analyzing past meltdowns. Every incident, while taking its toll, has led to new understanding of the mighty atom—and the fascinating frontier of science that still holds both incredible risk and great promise.

The Truth about Chernobyl

Author: Grigori Medvedev
Publisher: I.B.Tauris
ISBN: 1850433313
Release Date: 1991
Genre: Chernobyl Nuclear Accident, Chornobylʹ, Ukraine, 1986

This is an account of the events leading up to the worst nuclear disaster in history. It also examines the subsequent cover-up at which both politicians and technicians connived.

3D Programming for Windows

Author: Charles Petzold
Publisher: "O'Reilly Media, Inc."
ISBN: 9780735645820
Release Date: 2010-04-19
Genre: Computers

Get a focused introduction to programming 3D graphics with the Windows Presentation Foundation 3D API. Complementing his book Applications = Code + Markup, award-winning author Charles Petzold builds on XAML essentials, teaching you how to display and animate 3D graphics under the Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 and Windows Vista. You’ll get expert guidance and code samples in XAML and Microsoft Visual C#— helping you master the skills you need to create high-fidelity user interfaces. Discover how to: Define complex 3D objects with triangle meshes Enhance the illumination of 3D surfaces with light and shading effects Color 3D figures with gradients, bitmaps, and drawings Add animation with transforms and vertex manipulation Represent linear, affine, and camera transforms by using matrices Calculate vector angles, angles of rotation, and axes of rotation Generate triangle meshes efficiently by using C# code Express rotation by using quaternion computation Provide a user interface for manipulating and drawing 3D figures PLUS—Get Visual C# and XAML code samples on the Web

MINITAB Handbook Update for Release

Author: Barbara F. Ryan
Publisher: Cengage Learning
ISBN: 9781285528588
Release Date: 2012-08-28
Genre: Mathematics

Master MINITAB, the leading software package used in industry for quality and process improvement with the MINITAB HANDBOOK: UPDATED FOR RELEASE 16. This book illustrates by example and step-by-step instruction how to use MINITAB 16 to explore and analyze data and uses examples to illustrates how statistical concepts apply to data analysis. More than 4,000 colleges, universities, and high schools rely on MINITAB, making this software the educational standard. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Where Dead Men Meet

Author: Mark Mills
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
ISBN: 9781504736596
Release Date: 2017-05-30
Genre: Fiction

A return to the period adventure thriller in Where Dead Men Meet reestablishes Mark Mills as a master storyteller for fans of William Boyd, Charles Cumming, or Robert Harris Paris, 1937. Luke Hamilton—a junior air intelligence officer at the British Embassy—finds himself the target of an assassination attempt. A clear case of mistaken identity—or so it first appears. As Luke is hunted across a continent sliding toward war, he comes to learn that the answers lie deep in a past that predates his abandonment as a baby on the steps of an orphanage twenty-five years ago. From the author of the bestselling The Savage Garden, and set against a terrific backdrop of Europe on the cusp of the Second World War, this is a compelling novel, rich in adventure, espionage, secrets, and lies.

Laban for All

Author: Jean Newlove
Publisher: Taylor & Francis US
ISBN: 0878301801
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Performing Arts

Maurice Ravel: A Research and Information Guide is an annotated bibliography concerning both the nature of primary sources related to the composer and the scope and significance of the secondary sources which deal with him, his compositions, and his influence as a composer and theorist.

Voices from Chernobyl

Author: Svetlana Alexievich
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 0312425848
Release Date: 2006-04-18
Genre: History

The people of Chernobyl talk about their lives before, during, and after the worst nuclear reactor accident in history, which occurred on April 26, 1986 in the Soviet Union in Chernobyl, a disaster that spread radioactive contamination across much of Europe. Reprint. 25,000 first printing.

Secrets of the Weird

Author: Chad Stroup
Publisher:
ISBN: 1940658802
Release Date: 2017-07-11
Genre: Fiction

A dangerous new designer drug that promises to fulfill every desire threatens to ignite the powder keg that is the community of club kids, neo-Nazis, drag queens, prostitutes and punks who populate the mean streets of Sweetville. But could an enigmatic back-alley surgeon and his partnership with a mysterious cult be the spark that lights the fuse?

Sick House

Author: Jeff Strand
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1985576546
Release Date: 2018-02-14
Genre:

It's a home invasion from beyond the grave in this novel of unrelenting terror from the Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of PRESSURE, DWELLER, and WOLF HUNT. It doesn't seem like the perfect house, but screw it, it's good enough to rent for a year. Unfortunately for Boyd, Adeline, and their two young daughters, it's immediately clear that they chose the wrong place. The nightmare begins with violent coughs and headaches. Food starts to rot almost as soon as they take it inside. A pet tarantula goes missing. Some family members begin to exhibit creepy behavior. Then the ghosts arrive, and all Hell breaks loose...

The Road to Chernobyl

Author: Conor Farrell
Publisher:
ISBN: 1534666044
Release Date: 2016-11-02
Genre:

On 26 April 1986, an explosion took place at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant which would shake the world and accelerate the demise of the Soviet Union. Following that fateful night, tens of thousands of people were evacuated from their homes, never to return again.Today, the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant is at the heart of the Exclusion Zone, a 30km radius area in northern Ukraine, near the border with Belarus, in which all activity and entry is strictly controlled.Join Farrell as he takes you on a visual tour of his journey into the Exclusion Zone in April 2016 three decades after the world's worst nuclear accident, where he recalls the story of Chernobyl and how it unfolded.

Chernobyl

Author: Serhii Plokhy
Publisher: Basic Books
ISBN: 9781541617087
Release Date: 2018-05-15
Genre: History

From a preeminent historian of Eastern Europe, the definitive history of the Chernobyl nuclear disaster On the morning of April 26, 1986, Europe witnessed the worst nuclear disaster in history: the explosion of a reactor at the Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant in Soviet Ukraine. Dozens died of radiation poisoning, fallout contaminated half the continent, and thousands fell ill. In Chernobyl, Serhii Plokhy draws on new sources to tell the dramatic stories of the firefighters, scientists, and soldiers who heroically extinguished the nuclear inferno. He lays bare the flaws of the Soviet nuclear industry, tracing the disaster to the authoritarian character of Communist party rule, the regime's control of scientific information, and its emphasis on economic development over all else. Today, the risk of another Chernobyl looms in the mismanagement of nuclear power in the developing world. A moving and definitive account, Chernobyl is also an urgent call to action.

Zinky Boys Soviet Voices from the Afghanistan War

Author: Svetlana Alexievich
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393254457
Release Date: 1992-09-30
Genre: History

Winner of the Nobel Prize: “For her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time.” —Swedish Academy, Nobel Prize citation From 1979 to 1989 a million Soviet troops engaged in a devastating war in Afghanistan that claimed 50,000 casualties—and the youth and humanity of many tens of thousands more. Creating controversy and outrage when it was first published in the USSR—it was called by reviewers there a “slanderous piece of fantasy” and part of a “hysterical chorus of malign attacks”—Zinky Boys presents the candid and affecting testimony of the officers and grunts, nurses and prostitutes, mothers, sons, and daughters who describe the war and its lasting effects. What emerges is a story that is shocking in its brutality and revelatory in its similarities to the American experience in Vietnam. The Soviet dead were shipped back in sealed zinc coffins (hence the term “Zinky Boys”), while the state denied the very existence of the conflict. Svetlana Alexievich brings us the truth of the Soviet-Afghan War: the beauty of the country and the savage Army bullying, the killing and the mutilation, the profusion of Western goods, the shame and shattered lives of returned veterans. Zinky Boys offers a unique, harrowing, and unforgettably powerful insight into the realities of war. The introduction has been omitted due to rights issues.

Ravel According to Ravel

Author: Vlado Perlemuter
Publisher: Kahn & Averill Pub
ISBN: 1871082781
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Music

In 1927, Vlado Perlemuter studied the whole of Ravel's solo piano music with the composer himself. Originating as a series of broadcasts by Radio Francaise, in which Perlemuter played all of Ravel's compositions for solo piano and discussed them with Hélène Jourdan-Morhange, this fascinating look at Ravel's oeuvre discusses numerous examples of Ravel's works and two piano concertos.