Confessions of a Mask

Author: Yukio Mishima
Publisher: New Directions Publishing
ISBN: 081120118X
Release Date: 1958
Genre: Fiction

When a Japanese youth discovers he has homosexual tendencies he hides himself behind conventional behavior

Confessions of a Mask

Author: Yukio Mishima
Publisher: Penguin Classics
ISBN: 024130119X
Release Date: 2017-09-07
Genre:

'There is in this world a kind of desire like stinging pain' A Japanese teenager is overcome with longing for his male classmate. He imagines his body punctured with arrows, like the body of St Sebastian in the painting that obsesses him. Over and over again, each night in his private fantasies, the objects of his lust are tortured, killed and maimed. But, in the rigid world of imperial wartime Japan there is no place for such transgressive desires. He must wear a false mask and hide his true nature, whatever the cost. 'A terrific and astringent work of beauty' The Times Literary Supplement 'Mishima is lucid in the midst of emotional confusion, funny in the midst of despair' Christopher Isherwood 'Never has a "confession" been freer from self-pity' Sunday Times

Salz im Haar

Author: Avi,
Publisher: CARLSEN Verlag
ISBN: 9783646921700
Release Date: 2010-12-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Als die 13-jährige Charlotte Doyle im Sommer des Jahres 1832 an Bord der „Seahawk“ geht, ahnt sie nicht, dass diese Reise ihr Leben von Grund auf verändern wird. Lediglich etwas aufgeregt ist die wohlerzogene Tochter aus gutem Hause - schließlich tritt sie die Fahrt nach Amerika ohne ihre Eltern an und muss für mehrere Wochen eine enge, muffige Kabine beziehen. Doch das harte Leben auf See fordert Charlotte schon bald heraus, Mut zu beweisen und Dinge zu tun, die sie nie für möglich gehalten hätte.

Translating Mount Fuji

Author: Dennis Washburn
Publisher: Columbia University Press
ISBN: 9780231511155
Release Date: 2006-12-18
Genre: Literary Criticism

Dennis Washburn traces the changing character of Japanese national identity in the works of six major authors: Ueda Akinari, Natsume S?seki, Mori ?gai, Yokomitsu Riichi, ?oka Shohei, and Mishima Yukio. By focusing on certain interconnected themes, Washburn illuminates the contradictory desires of a nation trapped between emulating the West and preserving the traditions of Asia. Washburn begins with Ueda's Ugetsu monogatari ( Tales of Moonlight and Rain) and its preoccupation with the distant past, a sense of loss, and the connection between values and identity. He then considers the use of narrative realism and the metaphor of translation in Soseki's Sanshiro; the relationship between ideology and selfhood in Ogai's Seinen; Yokomitsu Riichi's attempt to synthesize the national and the cosmopolitan; Ooka Shohei's post-World War II representations of the ethical and spiritual crises confronting his age; and Mishima's innovative play with the aesthetics of the inauthentic and the artistry of kitsch. Washburn's brilliant analysis teases out common themes concerning the illustration of moral and aesthetic values, the crucial role of autonomy and authenticity in defining notions of culture, the impact of cultural translation on ideas of nation and subjectivity, the ethics of identity, and the hybrid quality of modern Japanese society. He pinpoints the persistent anxiety that influenced these authors' writings, a struggle to translate rhetorical forms of Western literature while preserving elements of the pre-Meiji tradition. A unique combination of intellectual history and critical literary analysis, Translating Mount Fuji recounts the evolution of a conflict that inspired remarkable literary experimentation and achievement.

Frontalknutschen

Author: Louise Rennison
Publisher:
ISBN: 3570301435
Release Date: 2004
Genre:

Wie soll die 14-jährige Georgia nur an Robbie herankommen - der Traumprinz schlechthin und doch so unerreichbar, weil in festen Händen. Doch Georgia hat einen Plan ...

Blood Alex Cross 12

Author: James Patterson
Publisher: Blanvalet Taschenbuch Verlag
ISBN: 9783641062712
Release Date: 2011-04-21
Genre: Fiction

Nie vergeben, nie vergessen: Alex Cross jagt den Killer seiner Frau! Scharf wie ein Skalpell! - Der neue spektakuläre Fall für den genialen Kriminalpsychologen Alex Cross. Trotz all seiner Erfolge hat Profiler Alex Cross nie vergessen, dass der Heckenschütze, der vor Jahren seine Frau Maria tötete, niemals gefasst wurde. Jetzt treibt ein Serienvergewaltiger sein Unwesen in Washington, D.C. Und seine Fährte führt direkt zu Marias Tod. Rücksichtslos und vor Wut fast wahnsinnig, setzt sich Cross auf die Spur des Mannes. Noch nie war es Cross so wichtig, Erfolg zu haben – und wenn er dafür durch die Hölle geht! Denn diesmal zielt der Mörder mitten in sein Herz ...

Persona

Author: Naoki Inose
Publisher: Stone Bridge Press
ISBN: 9781611720082
Release Date: 2013-01-01
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Traces the life of the Japanese author who went from sickly youth to dedicated student of the martial arts, looking at his family life, the wartime years, and his career as a writer who advocated for traditional values.

Beichte eines M rders erz hlt in einer Nacht

Author: Joseph Roth
Publisher: Kiepenheuer & Witsch
ISBN: 9783462300444
Release Date: 2009-09-21
Genre: Fiction

Joseph Roth, einer der bedeutendsten Schriftsteller des 20. Jahrhunderts, erlangte Weltruhm mit seinen Romanen Hiob und Radetzkymarsch. Von der Vielfalt, dem Reichtum und der Kraft seines Erzählens zeugt auch: Beichte eines Mörders, erzählt in einer Nacht, geschrieben im französischen Exil, ist eine Parabel auf die Macht des Bösen. Eine ganze Nacht hindurch lauschen die Gäste des russischen Emigrantenlokals ›Tari-Bari‹ in Paris der Lebensbeichte Semjon Golubtschiks, der sich selbst einen Mörder nennt.

China Pop

Author: Jianying Zha
Publisher: The New Press
ISBN: 9781595587565
Release Date: 2011-07-26
Genre: Social Science

China Pop is a highly original and lively look at the ways that contemporary China is changing by Jianying Zha, a critic hailed in The Nation as "incisive, witty and eloquent all at once--a sort of female, Chinese Jonathan Spence." From her constant contact (and, in many cases, friendships) with a dynamic group of young novelists, filmmakers, and artists in China, Zha examines a wide range of developments largely unknown to Western readers: the careful planning of television soap operas to placate popular unrest after Tianamen, the growth of the sex tabloid and pornographic industries, the new generation of entrepreneurs successfully bringing to the mainland techniques of Hong Kong and the West, and the politics behind the censorship and commercial success of the film director Chen Kaige (Farewell My Concubine) and Zhang Yimou (Ju Dou and Raise the Red Lantern). Praise for China Pop: "One of the twenty-five best books of 1995." —Voice Literary Supplement "[A] photographic, a freeze-frame, of a country in rapid motion... [Zha is] a young writer with many arresting ideas and, from the evidence of China Pop, a bright literary future as well." —New York Times "Perceptive... What China Pop so brilliantly chronicles is the commercialization of China's cultural world and the anxiety that change is causing in China's intellectuals." —Christian Science Monitor "By far the best book on Chinese urban culture after the 1989 Beijing massacre. [Zha] brilliantly combines the eye for detail of an insider with the detached perspective of an outsider. Her lively and graceful style make the book as enjoyable as it is edifying." —Perry Link, author of Evening Chats in Beijing "An absorbing and revealing book. With the familiarity of an insider and the ability of an outsider to step back and reflect, Zha... captures the fundamental paradoxes lying at the root of this mutant 'people's republic' in the throes of reform." —Orville Schell, author of Mandate of Heaven

Deadly Dialectics

Author: Roy Starrs
Publisher: University of Hawaii Press
ISBN: 0824816315
Release Date: 1994
Genre: History

Although Mishima's main literary ambition was to write philosophical novels in the tradition of Goethe and Thomas Mann, Deadly Dialectics is the first critical study to take this objective seriously: it also provides the first adequate account of Mishima's intellectual background and characteristic modes of thought and it is the first book to show the intimate and integral relation between his thought and his psychology and militant politics - or, more specifically, between his nihilism, his sexuality and his propensity to violence.

Sayonara Amerika Sayonara Nippon

Author: Michael Bourdaghs
Publisher: Columbia University Press
ISBN: 9780231530262
Release Date: 2011-10-18
Genre: Social Science

From the beginning of the American occupation in 1945 to the post-bubble period of the early 1990s, popular music provided Japanese listeners with a much-needed release, channeling their desires, fears, and frustrations over an ever-shifting geopolitical reality into a pleasurable and fluid art. Pop music allowed Japanese artists and audiences to assume various identities, reflecting the country's uncomfortable position under American hegemony. Michael Bourdaghs composes the first English-language study of this phenomenon, considering genres as diverse as boogie-woogie, rockabilly, enka, 1960s rock and roll, 1970s New Music, folk, and technopop. Reading these forms and their cultural import through music, literary, and cultural theory, he introduces a range of readers to the sensual moods and meanings of modern Japan. As he unpacks the complexities of Japanese pop production and consumption, Bourdaghs interprets a country as it worked through (or tried to forget) its imperial past. These efforts grew even murkier as Japanese pop migrated to the nation's former colonies. In postwar Japan, pop music both accelerated and protested the commodification of everyday life, challenged and reproduced gender hierarchies, and insisted on the uniqueness of a national culture, even as it participated in an increasingly integrated global marketplace. Each chapter examines a single genre through a particular theoretical lens: the relation of music to liberation; the influence of cultural mapping on musical appreciation; the role of translation in transmitting musical genres across the globe; the place of noise in music and its relation to historical change; the tenuous connection between ideologies of authenticity and imitation; the link between commercial success and artistic integrity; and the function of melodrama. Bourdaghs concludes with a look at recent Japanese pop music culture.