Counting by 7s

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101591352
Release Date: 2013-08-29
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read. “Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back "Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette

Mit Worten kann ich fliegen

Author: Sharon Draper
Publisher: Ueberreuter Verlag
ISBN: 9783764190385
Release Date: 2014-02-11
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Melody ist eine unerschütterlich positive Person, die sich von keiner Härte des Schicksals kleinkriegen lässt. Sie ist elf Jahre alt, hat ein fotografisches Gedächtnis und ist die cleverste Schülerin auf der ganzen Schule. Doch niemand weiß es. Die meisten Menschen glauben, dass sie unfähig ist zu lernen. Melody ist durch eine zerebrale Kinderlähmung schwerstbehindert und kann weder sprechen noch laufen noch schreiben. Es ist zum Wahnsinnigwerden, dass sie sich nicht verständigen kann - bis sie eines Tages doch einen Weg findet, sich auszudrücken. Leider ist nicht jeder dazu bereit, sie anzuhören.

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan Student Workbook

Author: John Pennington
Publisher:
ISBN: 1544891504
Release Date: 2017-03-23
Genre:

The Quick Student Workbooks are designed to get students thinking critically about the text they read and providing a guided study format to facilitate in improved learning and retention. Teachers and Homeschool Instructors may use them to improve student learning and organization. What students will construct and identify the following areas of knowledge. Character IdentificationEventsLocationVocabularyMain IdeaConflictAnd more as appropriate to the text.

Counting by 7s

Author: Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Publisher: Novels
ISBN:
Release Date: 2013-01-01
Genre:

An Amazon Best Book of the Month September 2013. A Kids' Indie Next Top Ten List -- #4, Best Books of Autumn 2013. B.E.A. Buzz Book Award 2013. In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

Wunder

Author: Raquel J. Palacio
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446242845
Release Date: 2013-01-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

August ist anders. Dennoch wünscht er sich, wie alle Jungen in seinem Alter, kein Außenseiter zu sein. Weil er seit seiner Geburt so oft am Gesicht operiert werden musste, ist er noch nie auf eine richtige Schule gegangen. Aber jetzt soll er in die fünfte Klasse kommen. Er weiß, dass die meisten Kinder nicht absichtlich gemein zu ihm sind. Am liebsten würde er gar nicht auffallen. Doch nicht aufzufallen ist nicht leicht, wenn man so viel Mut und Kraft besitzt, so witzig, klug und großzügig ist - wie August.

Counting by 7s

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher:
ISBN: 0545674018
Release Date: 2014
Genre: Eccentrics and eccentricities

Twelve-year-old genius and outsider Willow Chance must figure out how to connect with other people and find a surrogate family for herself after her parents are killed in a car accident.

Gl ck ist eine Gleichung mit 7

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446250277
Release Date: 2015-07-27
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Willow ist ein Energiebündel, denkt immer positiv und interessiert sich für alles: Sie studiert das Verhalten von Fledermäusen, züchtet Zitrusfrüchte im Garten und begeistert sich für die Schönheit der Zahl 7. Ihr größter Wunsch ist es, gleichaltrige Freunde zu finden. Dafür lernt sie sogar Vietnamesisch. Doch dann verunglücken ihre Adoptiveltern bei einem Autounfall. Es ist wie ein Wunder, wie Willow mit ihrer Art zu denken – ihrer Hochbegabung – und ihrem ungebrochenen Charme ihre Welt zusammenhält. Dabei verändert sie das Leben aller, die sie trifft, und jeder Einzelne entdeckt, welche Kräfte in ihm stecken.

Ich gebe dir die Sonne

Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: cbt Verlag
ISBN: 9783641190408
Release Date: 2016-11-21
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Am Anfang sind Jude und ihr Zwillingsbruder Noah unzertrennlich. Noah malt ununterbrochen und verliebt sich Hals über Kopf in den neuen, faszinierenden Jungen von nebenan, während Draufgängerin Jude knallroten Lippenstift entdeckt, in ihrer Freizeit Kopfsprünge von den Klippen macht und für zwei redet. Ein paar Jahre später sprechen die Zwillinge kaum ein Wort miteinander. Etwas ist passiert, das die beiden auf unterschiedliche Art verändert und ihre Welt zerstört hat. Doch dann trifft Jude einen wilden, unwiderstehlichen Jungen und einen geheimnisvollen, charismatischen Künstler ...

Short

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399186233
Release Date: 2017-01-31
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In this heartwarming and funny middle-grade novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s, Julia grows into herself while playing a Munchkin in The Wizard of Oz Julia is very short for her age, but by the end of the summer run of The Wizard of Oz, she’ll realize how big she is inside, where it counts. She hasn’t ever thought of herself as a performer, but when the wonderful director of Oz casts her as a Munchkin, she begins to see herself in a new way. As Julia becomes friendly with the poised and wise Olive—one of the adults with dwarfism who’ve joined the production’s motley crew of Munchkins—and with her deeply artistic neighbor, Mrs. Chang, Julia’s own sense of self as an artist grows. Soon, she doesn’t want to fade into the background—and it’s a good thing, because her director has more big plans for Julia! Bubbling over with humor and tenderness, this is an irresistible story of self-discovery and of the role models who forever change us.

Appleblossom the Possum

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698155008
Release Date: 2015-08-11
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of Counting by 7s Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it’s time for all of them—even little Appleblossom—to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family—and accidentally falls down their chimney! The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers—who launch a hilarious rescue mission—and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinating the big world can be. But they're about to find out! With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making.

Counting Thyme

Author: Melanie Conklin
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698411739
Release Date: 2016-04-12
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Newbery-winning Rules meets Counting by 7s in this affecting story of a girl’s devotion to her brother and what it means to be home When eleven-year-old Thyme Owens’ little brother, Val, is accepted into a new cancer drug trial, it’s just the second chance that he needs. But it also means the Owens family has to move to New York, thousands of miles away from Thyme’s best friend and everything she knows and loves. The island of Manhattan doesn’t exactly inspire new beginnings, but Thyme tries to embrace the change for what it is: temporary. After Val’s treatment shows real promise and Mr. Owens accepts a full-time position in the city, Thyme has to face the frightening possibility that the move to New York is permanent. Thyme loves her brother, and knows the trial could save his life—she’d give anything for him to be well—but she still wants to go home, although the guilt of not wanting to stay is agonizing. She finds herself even more mixed up when her heart feels the tug of new friends, a first crush, and even a crotchety neighbor and his sweet whistling bird. All Thyme can do is count the minutes, the hours, and days, and hope time can bring both a miracle for Val and a way back home. With equal parts heart and humor, Melanie Conklin’s debut is a courageous and charming story of love and family—and what it means to be counted. From the Hardcover edition.

New Jersey ASK3 Math Test

Author: Dan Nale
Publisher: Barron's Educational Series
ISBN: 0764139231
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Mathematics

Presents an overview of the ASK3 test, a review of math test topics, practice questions and answers, and two full-length practice tests.

The War That Saved My Life

Author: Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780147510488
Release Date: 2016-05-31
Genre: Book clubs (Discussion groups)

A young disabled girl and her brother are evacuated from London to the English countryside during World War II, where they find life to be much sweeter away from their abusive mother.