Counting by 7s

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
ISBN: 9781848124073
Release Date: 2014-05-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In the tradition of WONDER and TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD this award-winning New York Times bestseller is an intensely moving, lyrically-written novel. COUNTING BY 7S tells the story of Willow Chance, a twelve-year-old genius who is obsessed with diagnosing medical conditions and finds comfort in counting by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

Counting by 7s

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780803738553
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Twelve-year-old genius and outsider Willow Chance must figure out how to connect with other people and find a surrogate family for herself after her parents are killed in a car accident.

Counting by 7s

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101591352
Release Date: 2013-08-29
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow’s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read. “Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I’ve never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I’ll never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back "Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that’s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Where’d You Go, Bernadette

Short

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399186219
Release Date: 2017-01-31
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

"Very short for her age, Julia grows into her sense of self while playing a munchkin in a summer regional theater production of The Wizard of Oz"--

Appleblossom the Possum

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780147512802
Release Date: 2016-08-02
Genre:

A young possum strikes out on her own and winds up trapped in a human house before her brothers can rescue her.

Counting Thyme

Author: Melanie Conklin
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780399173301
Release Date: 2016-04-12
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

"Thyme Owens moves across the country with her family so her younger brother can take part in a promising cancer drug trial, and though all she wants is for him to get better, adjusting to life in Manhattan is anything but easy."--

One for the Murphys

Author: Lynda Mullaly Hunt
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101572122
Release Date: 2012-05-10
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A moving debut novel about a foster child learning to open her heart to a family's love. Carley uses humor and street smarts to keep her emotional walls high and thick. But the day she becomes a foster child, and moves in with the Murphys, she's blindsided. This loving, bustling family shows Carley the stable family life she never thought existed, and she feels like an alien in their cookie-cutter-perfect household. Despite her resistance, the Murphys eventually show her what it feels like to belong--until her mother wants her back and Carley has to decide where and how to live. She's not really a Murphy, but the gifts they've given her have opened up a new future. "Hunt's writing is fearless and One For The Murphys is a story that is at once compassionate, thought-provoking and beautifully told. From the first page, I was drawn into Carley's story. She is a character not to be missed or forgotten." —Jacqueline Woodson, three-time Newbery Honor author of After Tupac and D Foster Winner of the Tassy Walden Award for New Voice in Children's Literature From the Trade Paperback edition.

Counting by 7s

Author: Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Publisher: Novels
ISBN:
Release Date: 2013-01-01
Genre:

An Amazon Best Book of the Month September 2013. A Kids' Indie Next Top Ten List -- #4, Best Books of Autumn 2013. B.E.A. Buzz Book Award 2013. In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now. Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

Just Call My Name

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780316203135
Release Date: 2014-08-05
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

The happily-ever-after of Holly Goldberg Sloan's acclaimed debut, I'll Be There, is turned on its head in this riveting, emotional sequel about friends, enemies, and how those roles can shift in a matter of moments. Emily Bell has it all. She's in love with a boy named Sam Border, and his little brother has become part of her family. This summer is destined to be the best time of their lives--until a charismatic new girl in town sets her sights on Sam. Now Emily finds herself questioning the loyalty of the person she thought she could trust most. But the biggest threat to her happiness is someone she never saw coming. Sam's criminally insane father, whom everyone thought they'd finally left behind, is planning a jailbreak. And he knows exactly where to find Emily and his sons when he escapes...and takes his revenge.

Counting by 7s

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher:
ISBN: 0545674018
Release Date: 2014
Genre: Eccentrics and eccentricities

Twelve-year-old genius and outsider Willow Chance must figure out how to connect with other people and find a surrogate family for herself after her parents are killed in a car accident.

I Emma Freke

Author: Elizabeth Atkinson
Publisher: Carolrhoda Books
ISBN: 9780761362197
Release Date: 2010-11-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Growing up near Boston with her free-spirited mother and old-world grandfather, twelve-year-old Emma has always felt out of place but when she attends the family reunion her father's family holds annually in Wisconsin, she is in for some surprises.

Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan Student Workbook

Author: John Pennington
Publisher:
ISBN: 1544891504
Release Date: 2017-03-23
Genre:

The Quick Student Workbooks are designed to get students thinking critically about the text they read and providing a guided study format to facilitate in improved learning and retention. Teachers and Homeschool Instructors may use them to improve student learning and organization. What students will construct and identify the following areas of knowledge. Character IdentificationEventsLocationVocabularyMain IdeaConflictAnd more as appropriate to the text.

Rules

Author: Cynthia Lord
Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
ISBN: 9780545666206
Release Date: 2013-09-24
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

This 2007 Newbery Honor Book is a humorous and heartwarming debut about feeling different and finding acceptance. Now in After Words paperback! Twelve-year-old Catherine just wants a normal life. Which is near impossible when you have a brother with autism and a family that revolves around his disability. She's spent years trying to teach David the rules from "a peach is not a funny-looking apple" to "keep your pants on in public"---in order to head off David's embarrassing behaviors. But the summer Catherine meets Jason, a surprising, new sort-of friend, and Kristi, the next-door friend she's always wished for, it's her own shocking behavior that turns everything upside down and forces her to ask: What is normal?

I ll Be There

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780316180207
Release Date: 2011-05-17
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Emily Bell believes in destiny. To her, being forced to sing a solo in the church choir--despite her average voice--is fate: because it's while she's singing that she first sees Sam. At first sight, they are connected. Sam Border wishes he could escape, but there's nowhere for him to run. He and his little brother, Riddle, have spent their entire lives constantly uprooted by their unstable father. That is, until Sam sees Emily. That's when everything changes. As Sam and Riddle are welcomed into the Bells' lives, they witness the warmth and protection of a family for the first time. But when tragedy strikes, they're left fighting for survival in the desolate wilderness, and wondering if they'll ever find a place where they can belong. Beautifully written and emotionally profound, I'll Be There is a gripping story that explores the complexities of teenage passions, friendships, and loyalties.

Mockingbird

Author: Kathryn Erskine
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781409541677
Release Date: 2018-01-01
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Caitlin misses her brother every day. Since his death in a school shooting, she has no one to explain the world to her. And for Caitlin, the world is a confusing place. She hates it when colours get mixed up, prefers everything to be black-and-white, and needs to check her Facial Expressions Chart to understand emotions. So when Caitlin reads the definition of “closure”, she decides that’s what she needs. And as she struggles to find it, a world of colour begins to enter her black-and-white life...