Dandelion Wine

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Turtleback Books
ISBN: 0808520717
Release Date: 1985-03-01
Genre: Fiction

In the unusual world of Green Town, Illinois, a twelve-year-old discovers the wonders of reality and the power of imagination during the summer of 1928.

Farewell Summer

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780061830013
Release Date: 2013-05-21
Genre: Fiction

In a summer that refuses to end, in the deceiving warmth of earliest October, civil war has come to Green Town, Illinois. It is the age-old conflict: the young against the elderly, for control of the clock that ticks their lives ever forward. The first cap-pistol shot heard 'round the town is dead accurate, felling an old man in his tracks, compelling town elder and school board despot Mr. Calvin C. Quartermain to marshal his graying forces and declare total war on the assassin, thirteen-year-old Douglas Spaulding, and his downy-cheeked cohorts. Doug and his cronies, however, are most worthy adversaries who should not be underestimated, as they plan and execute daring campaigns—matching old Quartermain's experience and cunning with their youthful enthusiasm and devil-may-care determination to hold on forever to childhood's summer. Yet time must ultimately be the victor, with valuable revelations for those on both sides of the conflict. And life waits in ambush to assail Doug Spaulding with its powerful mysteries—the irresistible ascent of manhood, the sweet surrender to a first kiss . . . One of the most acclaimed and beloved of American storytellers, Ray Bradbury has come home, revisiting the verdant landscape of one of his most adored works, Dandelion Wine. More than fifty years in the making, the long-awaited sequel, Farewell Summer, is a treasure—beautiful, poignant, wistful, hilarious, sad, evocative, profound, and unforgettable . . . and proof positive that the flame of wonder still burns brightly within the irrepressible imagination of the incomparable Bradbury.

A Study Guide for Ray Bradbury s Dandelion Wine

Author: Gale, Cengage Learning
Publisher: Gale, Cengage Learning
ISBN: 9781410343642
Release Date: 2016-06-29
Genre: Literary Criticism

A Study Guide for Ray Bradbury's "Dandelion Wine," excerpted from Gale's acclaimed Novels for Students. This concise study guide includes plot summary; character analysis; author biography; study questions; historical context; suggestions for further reading; and much more. For any literature project, trust Novels for Students for all of your research needs.

Something Wicked This Way Comes

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781501167713
Release Date: 2017-10-24
Genre: Fiction

Two boys' lives are changed forever when a sinister travelling carnival stops at their Illinois town.

One More for the Road

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062242150
Release Date: 2013-04-16
Genre: Fiction

From Ray Bradbury, the recipient of the National Book Foundation's 2000 Medal comes a magical collection of short fiction. Ray Bradbury is one of the most celebrated fiction writers of the 20th century. He is the author of such classics as Fahrenheit 451, The Martian Chronicles, The Illustrated Man, Dandelion Wine, and Something Wicked This Way Comes. Bradbury has once again pulled together a stellar group of stories sure to delight readers young and old, old and new. In One More For The Road we are treated to the best this talented writer has to offer : the eerie and strange, nostalgic and bittersweet, searching and speculative. Here are a father's regrets, a lover's last embrace, a child's dreams of the future 栬l delivered with the trademark Bradbury wit and style.

Let s All Kill Constance

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062242341
Release Date: 2013-04-30
Genre: Fiction

On a dismal evening in the previous century, an unnamed writer in Venice, California, answers a furious pounding at his beachfront bungalow door and again admits Constance Rattigan into his life. An aging, once-glamorous Hollywood star, Constance is running in fear from something she dares not acknowledge -- and vanishes as suddenly as she appeared, leaving the narrator two macabre books: twin listings of the Tinseltown dead and soon to be dead, with Constance's name included among them. And so begins an odyssey as dark as it is wondrous, as the writer sets off in a broken-down jalopy with his irascible sidekick Crumley to sift through the ashes of a bygone Hollywood -- a graveyard of ghosts and secrets where each twisted road leads to grim shrines and shattered dreams ... and, all too often, to death.

Death Is a Lonely Business

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062242129
Release Date: 2013-04-16
Genre: Fiction

Ray Bradbury, the undisputed Dean of American storytelling, dips his accomplished pen into the cryptic inkwell of noir and creates a stylish and slightly fantastical tale of mayhem and murder set among the shadows and the murky canals of Venice, California, in the early 1950s. Toiling away amid the looming palm trees and decaying bungalows, a struggling young writer (who bears a resemblance to the author) spins fantastic stories from his fertile imagination upon his clacking typewriter. Trying not to miss his girlfriend (away studying in Mexico), the nameless writer steadily crafts his literary effort--until strange things begin happening around him. Starting with a series of peculiar phone calls, the writer then finds clumps of seaweed on his doorstep. But as the incidents escalate, his friends fall victim to a series of mysterious "accidents"--some of them fatal. Aided by Elmo Crumley, a savvy, street-smart detective, and a reclusive actress of yesteryear with an intense hunger for life, the wordsmith sets out to find the connection between the bizarre events, and in doing so, uncovers the truth about his own creative abilities.

The Martian Chronicles

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781451678192
Release Date: 2012-04-17
Genre: Fiction

The tranquility of Mars is disrupted by humans who want to conquer space, colonize the planet, and escape a doomed Earth.

A Graveyard for Lunatics

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062242136
Release Date: 2013-04-16
Genre: Fiction

Halloween Night, 1954. A young, film-obsessed scriptwriter has just been hired at one of the great studios. An anonymous investigation leads from the giant Maximus Films backlot to an eerie graveyard separated from the studio by a single wall. There he makes a terrifying discovery that thrusts him into a maelstrom of intrigue and mystery—and into the dizzy exhilaration of the movie industry at the height of its glittering power.

The New York Trilogy

Author: Paul Auster
Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571246120
Release Date: 2008-09-04
Genre: Fiction

The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. 'Marks a new departure for the American novel.' Observer 'A shatteringly clever piece of work . . . Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.' Sunday Telegraph 'The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.' Guardian

The Stories of Ray Bradbury

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Everyman's Library
ISBN: 0307269051
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Fiction

A volume of 100 top-selected stories by the iconic writer includes Martian tales, pieces inspired by life in Mexico and offbeat reminiscences of a childhood in Green Town, Illinois. By the National Medal of Arts-winning author of Fahrenheit 451.

Medicine for Melancholy

Author: Ray Bradbury
Publisher: Spectra
ISBN: 0553286382
Release Date: 1990
Genre: Fiction

A collection of thirty-one classic stories of fantasy and science fiction

Get Off the Unicorn

Author: Anne McCaffrey
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345457479
Release Date: 2002-04-09
Genre: Fiction

Open these pages and discover 14 remarkable stories of fantasy by a grand master of the genre. A wonderful writer, as well as successful and beloved by fans across the world, Anne McCaffrey has created an exciting collection of telepaths, secret gifts, dangerous missions, dragonriders, and more. From the Paperback edition.

White Oleander

Author: Janet Fitch
Publisher: Little, Brown
ISBN: 0759568170
Release Date: 2006-09-01
Genre: Fiction

Astrid is the only child of a single mother, Ingrid, a brilliant, obsessed poet who wields her luminous beauty to intimidate and manipulate men. Astrid worships her mother and cherishes their private world full of ritual and mystery - but their idyll is shattered when Astrid's mother falls apart over a lover. Deranged by rejection, Ingrid murders the man, and is sentenced to life in prison. White Oleander is the unforgettable story of Astrid's journey through a series of foster homes and her efforts to find a place for herself in impossible circumstances. Each home is its own universe, with a new set of laws and lessons to be learned. With determination and humor, Astrid confronts the challenges of loneliness and poverty, and strives to learn who a motherless child in an indifferent world can become. Oprah Winfrey enjoyed this gripping first novel so much that she not only made it her book club pick, she asked if she could narrate the audio release.