Deep South Dish

Author: Mary Foreman
Publisher: Quail Ridge Press
ISBN: 1938879139
Release Date: 2015-04
Genre: Cooking

MARY FOREMAN is a home cook and the publisher of the wildly popular southern recipe website, DeepSouth- Dish.com, drawing millions of readers a month from all across the world, who find a reconnection to their own memories and heritage through her childhood stories, and the classic, homespun recipes connected to them. A multi-generational southerner whose ancestors have found home in at least four southeast states, Mary lives with her husband "The Cajun," and multiple four-legged rescue children, on the Mississippi Gulf Coast, where except for several years living in New Orleans, she has spent her entire life. She is mother to Chris and grandmother to Brian, Sydney and Hugh, each of whom she draws into the kitchen every chance she gets.

South Your Mouth

Author: Mandy Rivers
Publisher:
ISBN: 1938879015
Release Date: 2014-07-01
Genre: Cooking

Shares two hundred classic Southern recipes, including such options as baked pimento cheese dip, crispy baked chicken wings, country fried pork chops and gravy, and peanut butter cream pie.

Southern Plate

Author: Christy Jordan
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062009746
Release Date: 2010-10-05
Genre: Cooking

“The recipes in Southern Plate made my mouth water!...This wonderful cookbook made me feel like I was reading something of my own.” —Paula Deen, author of Paula Deen’s Savannah Style “I’ve been testing these recipes in my own kitchen and every single one turns out to be better than anything my grandmother ever made.” —Dorothea Benton Frank, author of Return to Sullivans Island and Lowcountry Summer Christy Jordan, the creator of SouthernPlate.com, serves up a collection of delicious recipes for “classic comfort foods that makes everyone feel like family.” Featuring scrumptious dishes passed down for generations through Jordan’s family, Southern Plate highlights the very best in southern cooking—for fans of Paula Deen and Ree Drummond’s The Pioneer Woman Cooks.

Mama Dip s Family Cookbook

Author: Mildred Council
Publisher: Univ of North Carolina Press
ISBN: 9780807889527
Release Date: 2009-11-30
Genre: Cooking

In this much-anticipated follow-up to her bestselling Mama Dip's Kitchen, Mildred "Mama Dip" Council serves up an abundance of new recipes for home-style Southern cooking that is sure to please. From catfish gumbo to breakfast pizza and peach upside-down cake, Mama Dip's Family Cookbook offers recipes for more than three hundred dishes, including many Council family favorites. Also featured are party and celebration foods for family and community gatherings--a reflection of Council's belief that friends and family are essential to a rewarding life. To help novice cooks, Council includes basic information about staple ingredients, kitchen utensils, and important measurements, as well as diagrams for setting up a buffet. In a charming introductory essay, Council intertwines food-related reminiscences of her rural North Carolina upbringing with a wry recounting of her experiences since the remarkable success of her first book. With this book she passes along to new generations the practical advice and wisdom that have made her a treasure to her family and her community.

Mama Dip s Kitchen

Author: Mildred Council
Publisher: Univ of North Carolina Press
ISBN: 0807847909
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Cooking

A collection of more than 250 traditional Southern recipes from Mama Dip's Kitchen, a restaurant in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

The Southern Bite Cookbook

Author: Stacey Little
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
ISBN: 9781401605445
Release Date: 2014-03-18
Genre: Cooking

In the South, a conversation among home cooks can be just about as illuminating as any culinary education. Luckily for Stacey Little, home cooks run in the family. Whether it’s fried chicken or pimento cheese, fruit salad or meatloaf, everybody’s family does it a little differently. The Southern Bite is a celebration of those traditions and recipes every Southern family is proud to own. It’s the Pecan Chicken Salad that’s mandatory for every family reunion and the hearty Goulash, so comforting after a long day. It’s the Glazed Ham that makes its way to the Easter table every year. If you’re lucky enough to hail from the South, you’ll no doubt find some familiar favorites from your own family recipe archives, along with a whole slew of surprises from Southern families a lot like yours! There’s Turnip Green Dip for your next party, Chicken Corn Chowder for those chilly fall nights, and Cornbread Salad for when you really need to make an impression. No matter what’s cooking, Little’s goal is the same: to revel in the culinary tradition all Southerners share. These are the recipes that bring us together and the meals our families will cherish for generations to come.

Deep South

Author: Brad McDonald
Publisher: Quadrille Publishing
ISBN: 1849497206
Release Date: 2016-09-06
Genre: Cooking

The soul food of America's Deep South is celebrated in this ground-breaking new cookbook. Chef Brad McDonald takes the food of his native Mississippi and from it extracts a world of fresh flavors, new spices, and dazzling colors. From cornbread to smothered catfish, pimento cheese to lemon icebox pie, from Cajun and Creole to the BBQ and smoking techniques of rural communities, this classic food has been given a contemporary edge—a neat spin on traditional soul food. With 100 recipes, stunning photography on location in Louisiana and Mississippi, and insights into the meaning of 'Southernness', Deep South provides a glimpse into a unique way of life—and a new take on a cuisine that has been so influential and yet relatively unchanged for generations.

Sweetness

Author: Christy Jordan
Publisher: Workman Publishing
ISBN: 9780761189688
Release Date: 2016-11-07
Genre: Cooking

Celebrate the sweet spirit and taste of Southern hospitality with Christy Jordan, the voice of Southern cooking for a new generation. Sweetness is a memory made in our grandmother’s kitchen. Sweetness is nights on the porch, listening to the old stories. Sweetness is welcoming guests with an open heart. And food: sustaining those same guests with Peach Buttermilk Pie. Greeting the kids and their friends after school with Chocolate Chip Dream Bars. Sitting in the shade with neighbors and cooling down with Blushing Apple Juleps. (Pour some for the little ones, too—there’s no alcohol.) Or ending dinner on the high note of a Chocolate Chess Pie, because you always need a little something sweet to finish it off, whether a meal or a day. In Sweetness, Christy Jordan shares 197 recipes for sweet things to eat and drink—recipes that are deeply delicious, rich with tradition, often reaching through generations, and designed with today’s hectic schedules in mind. Because life is just better when you add a little sweetness.

Best of the Best from the Deep South Cookbook

Author: Gwen McKee
Publisher:
ISBN: 1934193410
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Cooking

"Best of the Best from the Deep South Cookbook" features: - More than 400 of the Deep South's most popular recipes. - Recipes that are easy to follow and edited for clarity. - Photographs and illustrations showcasing places and attractions in the Deep South. - Fascinating history and trivia about the region scattered throughout. - A cross-referenced index, making it easy to find your favorite recipes.

The Crown of Southern Cooking

Author: Evelyn Roughton
Publisher: Quail Ridge Press
ISBN: 1938879155
Release Date: 2015-08-01
Genre: Cooking

For thirty-nine amazing years, The Crown Restaurant has served lunch to international travelers, nationwide visitors, and local customers and friends. The Crown has been host to the Food Network, Turner South, CNN, and the Travel Channel, as well as writers and journalists from The New York Times, Southern Living, Bon Appetit, and Saveur magazine. Located in downtown Indianola, Mississippi- the very heart of the Mississippi Delta-The Crown continues to garner accolades as the quintessential eatery for fans of traditional southern cuisine with a taste of gourmet. Thanks to proprietors Evelyn and Tony Roughton, as well as their families and friends, you can now re-create delectable dishes that have been passed down for generations, adapted and enhanced throughout the years, and collected for everyone to enjoy in this much-anticipated cookbook. The Crown of Southern Cooking features more than 170 easy-to-prepare classic southern recipes with a touch of added elegance, such as: Hot Vidalia Onion Dip, Crawfish Beignets, Gourmet Cheese Grits, Old-Fashioned Fried Peach Pies, Mississippi Delta Fried Catfish, Chocolate Bread Pudding Book jacket.

A Real Southern Cook

Author: Dora Charles
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544387683
Release Date: 2015-09-08
Genre: Cooking

In her first cookbook, a revered former cook at Savannah's most renowned restaurant divulges her locally famous Savannah recipes many of them never written down before and those of her family and friends"

Black People Can Really Cook

Author: Cookbook King
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1539134172
Release Date: 2016-09-28
Genre:

Black People can Really Cook! A Favorite Homemade Recipes Cookbook that has some of the best recipes you will love! The Cookbook King publishes "the world's greatest cookbooks"(tm) with simple, easy to follow instructional directions, delicious, and mouthwatering recipes!

Melissa s Southern Cookbook Tried and True Family Recipes

Author: Melissa Sperka
Publisher: The Countryman Press
ISBN: 9781581575224
Release Date: 2016-05-24
Genre: Cooking

The long-awaited cookbook from an immensely popular cooking blog. Melissa Sperka learned to cook, like many people, from her mother and her grandmothers. For generations, her family made gathering around the kitchen table for meals an important part of every day—something to look forward to and cherish. She’s passing these values on to her own children, and to the many readers of her blog, Melissa’s Southern Style Kitchen. Sperka’s grandparents lived on the food they grew and harvested on their Virginia farmland. Her mother continued this tradition as her mother did before her, canning, freezing, and cooking fresh produce from her backyard garden. Everyone was welcome at the supper table: family, neighbors, and friends alike. Pull up a chair, encourages Sperka, and become inspired to cook with recipes such as these: Puff Pastry-Wrapped Smokies Sweet-Tomato Glazed Meat Loaf Cheesy Bacon Ranch Chicken Spaghetti Granma's Famous Blueberry Icebox Pie Jalapeno Jepper Jack Corn Bread This cookbook is a labor of love, paying homage to those who instilled in her a love for cooking and baking Southern-style.

South Your Mouth some More

Author: Mandy Rivers
Publisher: Quail Ridge Press
ISBN: 193887918X
Release Date: 2016-07
Genre: Cooking

More Southern Recipes & Down-Home Humor from your Favorite Southern Cook!

The Everything Southern Cookbook

Author: Diana Rattray
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781440585371
Release Date: 2014-12-12
Genre: Cooking

Learn the basic techniques and tried-and-true secrets of making authentic Southern foods from down-home cook Diana Rattray. Featuring recipes for everything from classic comfort food to French-influenced Cajun fare, this wide-ranging cookbook offers an inviting introduction to America's favorite cuisine. Recipes include: Perfect Buttermilk Biscuits Shrimp Creole Southern Fried Chicken with Cream Gravy Glazed Cola Ham Remoulade Sauce Praline Cheesecake with Pecan Crust With 300 delicious recipes, The Everything Southern Cookbook is all you need for your next big bash or home-cooked family dinner.