Deerproofing Your Yard Garden

Author: Rhonda Massingham Hart
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781603421881
Release Date: 2011-09-01
Genre: Gardening

From nibbling on fruit bushes to destroying flower beds, unwanted deer pose a frustrating and challenging obstacle to even the most patient gardeners. Rhonda Massingham Hart provides insights into deer behavior and offers a variety of proven techniques to keep your deer problem under control. Learn how to choose the best fence types, landscape with plants deer detest, make effective homemade repellents, and much more. You’ll have all the information you need to maintain a pristine, deer-free landscape.

Deer Resistant Landscaping

Author: Neil Soderstrom
Publisher: Rodale Books
ISBN: 9781605296678
Release Date: 2009-02-03
Genre: Gardening

Every year, before they decide to take defensive action, vulnerable homeowners throughout North America suffer expensive damage as deer and various other pesky mammals devour their gardens and landscape plants. Deer-Resistant Landscaping by Neil Soderstrom arms homeowners with the proven strategies they need to repel and combat deer and 21 other troubling pests, from armadillos, chipmunks, and gophers to rabbits, raccoons, skunks, and squirrels. Outstanding features include: • strategies for every season and every size pest—from simple, low-cost home remedies, scare tactics, and deterrents to live trapping, barriers, and community action procedures suitable for more intense problems • interviews with and tips from regional gardening and wildlife control experts from coast to coast • encyclopedic coverage of more than 1,000 resistant plants—especially those least likely to be grazed upon or destroyed by deer, based on scientific studies and a consensus of gardening authorities throughout the continent • stunning full-color wildlife photography featuring deer and pest behaviors as well as solutions and deterrents With more than 400 of the author's own gorgeous wildlife photos as well as ones by the legendary naturalist Dr. Leonard Lee Rue III, the most published wildlife photographer in North America, Deer-Resistant Landscaping provides the most wide-ranging, authoritative, and helpful information on this topic ever assembled in one volume.

Gardening in Deer Country

Author: Vincent Drzewucki
Publisher:
ISBN: 1883283450
Release Date: 2013-06-14
Genre:

Deer -- you love them or you hate them, but deer have an appetite for delicious plants we plant in our garden and around out home. Youve seen residue in the morning: spiked hostas, chomped impatiens, mangled hydrangea. How can an animal that cute be so hungry? Fences and sprays and dogs do not go far enough and most people stop short of venison surprise for dinner. What is a serious gardener to do? This book answers this question by presenting descriptions of trees, shrubs, annuals, perennials, ground covers, herbs, bulbs and vines that deer do not like to eat. Drzewucki presents over 130 detailed plant descriptions including size, texture, habit, culture and hardiness for each plant with accompanying illustrations showing full size, flower and stem. An additional 100 plants are included in a list, rated by their level of deer attractiveness from "best" to "forget it". The 23 page introduction discusses the problems, possible solutions and planting techniques that every gardener who lives with deer should know.

50 Beautiful Deer Resistant Plants

Author: Ruth Rogers Clausen
Publisher: Timber Press
ISBN: 9781604693201
Release Date: 2011-05-31
Genre: Gardening

Keeping your beautiful garden safe from deer is as simple as choosing the right plants. Are deer destroying your garden? There is a solution, and it doesn’t involve fencing, barriers, or chemicals. In 50 Beautiful Deer-Resistant Plants perennial expert Ruth Rogers Clausen highlights the best, most versatile plants that deer simply don’t eat. The plant choices include annuals and perennials, shrubs, ferns, bulbs, grasses, and herbs; for each Clausen shares helpful growing and design tips. This practical, authoritative, full-color guide is a must-have solution to a must-stop problem.

Grasses

Author: Nancy J. Ondra
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781580174237
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Gardening

From spring green to winter gold, the drama of grasses is nonstop. One of the few books available that advises the gardener on how to uses grasses in the garden, "Grasses" features plans and practical advice for more than 24 unique gardens. The book includes an identification guide to the plants and features more than 150 color photos, illustrations, and landscape plans.

The Humane Gardener

Author: Nancy Lawson
Publisher: Chronicle Books
ISBN: 9781616896171
Release Date: 2017-04-18
Genre: Gardening

In this eloquent plea for compassion and respect for all species, journalist and gardener Nancy Lawson describes why and how to welcome wildlife to our backyards. Through engaging anecdotes and inspired advice, profiles of home gardeners throughout the country, and interviews with scientists and horticulturalists, Lawson applies the broader lessons of ecology to our own outdoor spaces. Detailed chapters address planting for wildlife by choosing native species; providing habitats that shelter baby animals, as well as birds, bees, and butterflies; creating safe zones in the garden; cohabiting with creatures often regarded as pests; letting nature be your garden designer; and encouraging natural processes and evolution in the garden. The Humane Gardener fills a unique niche in describing simple principles for both attracting wildlife and peacefully resolving conflicts with all the creatures that share our world.

Creating A Deer Proof Garden

Author: Peter Derano
Publisher: Creating A Deer Proof Garden
ISBN: 1425771343
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Deer

This book will be the last reference you will ever need to create and maintain a deer-proof garden! Much more than a simple list of deer-proof and deer resistant plants, this guide will give you all the information you need to select, plant, and care for your deer-proof garden. With information on over 103 deep proof/deer-resistant plant species and with 255 full-color photographs, you will now be able to create a deer-proof garden that is uniquely yours. No more cross-referencing of multiple books simply to find out information about a single plant! My book will tell you exactly what each plant needs in terms of the type of exposure to sun or shade, the soil requirements, the ultimate height, and spread of each plant. In addition, I suggest the best use for each plant!--COVER.

Garden Renovation

Author: Bobbie Schwartz
Publisher: Timber Press
ISBN: 9781604698329
Release Date: 2017-11-01
Genre: Gardening

A do-it-yourself guide to a complete garden rehab Gardens, just like houses, sometimes need makeovers. The changes can be as minor as replacing a shrub or as major as pulling everything up and starting from scratch. No matter the size of your space or the scope of the project, the sage advice in Garden Renovation will help you turn a problem-filled yard into a paradise. Bobbie Schwartz draws on her years of experience as a garden designer to teach gardeners how to evaluate their yards, determine what to keep and what to remove, choose the right plants and design plans for successful remodels, and know when to hire help. A gallery of before-and-after photos provides ideas and inspiration for turning a tired garden into an enlivening retreat.

Continuous Container Gardens

Author: Roanne Robbins
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781603428309
Release Date: 2012-03-30
Genre: Gardening

Extend the life of your container garden beyond the summer months with an innovative system created by Sara Begg Townsend and Roanne Robbins. Beginning with a central woody plant, garden ornament, or eye-catching perennial, you’ll learn how to swap in seasonal plants for a dynamic display that looks great year-round. This inventive guide presents 48 tried-and-true designs that yield endless variations. No matter the season, your container garden will be glowing with bursts of color and varied textures that are in tune with nature.

Taylor s Master Guide to Gardening

Author: Rita Buchanan
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780618159079
Release Date: 2001-10-18
Genre: Gardening

Provides information on growing trees, perennials, annuals, grasses, herbs, and bulbs, features the basics of garden design, and talks about environmentally sound controls of pests and diseases

Outwitting Deer

Author: Bill Adler
Publisher: Globe Pequot
ISBN: 1558216294
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Gardening

Discusses ways to keep gardens and shrubbery safe from deer and includes strategies to protect yourself from Lyme disease and avoid collisions with deer while driving

Northwest Gardener s Handbook

Author: Pat Munts
Publisher:
ISBN: 9781591866060
Release Date: 2014-12-16
Genre: Gardening

"Oregon, Washington, northern California, British Columbia."

Kiss My Aster

Author: Amanda Thomsen
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781603429863
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Gardening

Combines illustrations with advice and suggestions for creating a garden tailored to personal specifications, including planting privacy hedges, laying out flower beds, building a patio, and digging a duck pond.

Designing your gardens and landscapes

Author: Janet Macunovich
Publisher: Storey Kids
ISBN: PSU:000045234811
Release Date: 2001-01-31
Genre: Architecture

Both first-time gardeners and professional landscape designers will find that this is the book to reach for first. Macunovich's unique and practical 12-step approach takes the mystery out of landscape design. Through helpful checklists, practical illustrations, and creative design techniques, Macunovich makes it easy to plan a beautiful, functional, and elegant garden for every landscape.

Goblinproofing One s Chicken Coop

Author: Reginald Bakeley
Publisher: Conari Press
ISBN: 1609258045
Release Date: 2012-10-01
Genre: Humor

Help is on the way! In the tradition of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop shows how to banish those pesky dark Fairy creatures who are ready to thwart every last pleasure, be it gardening, country hikes, or even getting a good night’s sleep. In this charming guide, "fairy hunter" Reginald Bakeley offers practical instructions to clear your home and garden of these unsettling inhabitants, and banish them from your chicken coop and kitchen cupboard forever! In Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop readers will discover: Why a bustle in one’s hedgerow may be cause for alarm Why a garden fumigator may come in handy on evenings at the pub Why a toy merchant, a butcher, and a Freemason are among your best allies in the fight against the fey Goblinproofing One's Chicken Coop is the only complete manual on how to identify, track, defend, and destroy those bothersome brownies, goblins, dwarves, scheming flowerfairies, and other nasty members of the fairy realm.