Devoted

Author: Rebecca Ascher-Walsh
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426212635
Release Date: 2013-10-08
Genre: Pets

Unlikely Friendships meets Marley and Me. In this heartwarming gift book, author Rebecca Ascher-Walsh presents a collection of inspiring dog stories and touching photos--dogs who comfort veterans, dogs who learn to surf, dogs who detect cancer, and dogs who save the day: Each one is devoted. These 38 uplifting dog stories showcase the most amazing dog rescues, accomplishments, and abilities that fascinate us and touch our hearts. From the Hardcover edition.

Loyal

Author: Rebecca Ascher-Walsh
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426219115
Release Date: 2017-03-07
Genre: Pets

This treasury features heartwarming photographs and touching stories of dedicated working dogs who have gone above and beyond the call of duty and proven themselves as true heroes. This special collection of dog stories and photographs features four-legged heroes who have worked side by side with soldiers, searched the wreckage of natural and man-made disasters, changed families' lives through emotional support, and administered aid around the world and at home in the United States. Heart-warming photographs and touching anecdotes bring to life thirty-eight caring canines who have served the people who mean the most to them, from a German Shepherd who leads a blind man on his marathon training mssion to a belly rub-loving Sheltie who supports at-risk youth in the classroom. For anyone who has experienced the extraordinary affection of a dog, Loyal is a lasting celebration of the joys of canine companionship.

So You Want to Work with Animals

Author: J. M. Bedell
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781481472852
Release Date: 2017-04-04
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Love animals? Make your passion your profession with this comprehensive guide that reveals a whole host of careers that work hands-on with animals of all shapes, sizes, and species in the tenth book in the Be What You Want series. Do you remember what career you dreamed of having when you were a kid? Right up there along with firefighter, doctor, and astronaut, you’ll find veterinarian as one of the top kid’s dream jobs. This usually stems from that childhood love of a beloved pet or even the adventure of visiting the exotic animals at the zoo. But there are so many other careers that are focused around animals that kids don’t know exist. Covering industries from domestic and exotic veterinary medicine, wildlife protection and conservation, farming and fisheries, research, and even animal training and handling (like police dogs), So, You Want to Work with Animals? explores what these jobs are really like—the fun stuff, the hard stuff, and even the gross stuff. In addition to tips and interviews from professionals in the industry, So, You Want to Work with Animals, includes inspiring stories from kids who are already working with animals, activities, a glossary, and resources to help kids on their way to a successful and fulfilling career.

From Stray Dog to World War I Hero

Author: Grant Hayter-Menzies
Publisher: U of Nebraska Press
ISBN: 9781612347929
Release Date: 2015-09-22
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

On the streets of Paris one day in July 1918, an American doughboy, Sgt. Jimmy Donovan, befriended a stray dog that he named Rags. No longer an unwanted street mutt, Rags became the mascot to the entire First Division of the American Expeditionary Force and a friend to the American troops who had crossed the Atlantic to fight. Rags was more than a scruffy face and a wagging tail, however. The little terrier mix was with the division at the crucial battle of Soissons, at the Saint-Mihiel offensive, and finally in the blood-and-mud bath of the Meuse-Argonne, during which he and his guardian were wounded. Despite being surrounded by distraction and danger, Rags learned to carry messages through gunfire, locate broken communications wire for the Signal Corps to repair, and alert soldiers to incoming shells, saving the lives of hundreds of American soldiers. Through it all, he brought inspiration to men with little to hope for, especially in the bitter last days of the war. From Stray Dog to World War I Hero covers Rags's entire life story, from the bomb-filled years of war through his secret journey to the United States that began his second life, one just as filled with drama and heartache. In years of peace, Rags served as a reminder to human survivors of what held men together when pushed past their limits by the horrors of battle. Watch a book trailer.

Hom opathie f r Hunde und Katzen

Author: Don Hamilton
Publisher: Georg Thieme Verlag
ISBN: 3830490933
Release Date: 2005
Genre:

Dieses Praxisbuch bietet dem homöopathisch arbeitenden Tierarzt eine wertvolle Hilfe. Dem interessierten Tierhalter liefert es einen aufschlussreichen Einblick in die homöopathische Behandlung von Hund und Katze. - Theorie von Gesundheit und Krankheit und Einwirkungsmöglichkeiten durch homöopathische Mittel. - Informationen über die Behandlung spezifischerer Zustände. - Impfpraxis mit kritischer Bewertung. - Homöopathische Arzneimittel. - Genaue Quellenangaben und Erläuterungen, die das Buch als tägliches Nachschlagewerk unersetzlich machen.

The Zen of Dogs

Author: Laine Cunningham
Publisher: Sun Dogs Creations
ISBN:
Release Date: 2017-03-28
Genre: Pets

The Zen of Dogs combines original four-legged wisdom with heartwarming photos. Written by an award-winning author, The Zen of Dogs offers original enlightenment garnered from the loving nature of the best friends who happen to be an animal. If we are lucky, they are also our pets! By turns playful and profound, a dog's trusting soul forgives every misstep. They model the best a human can hope to be by keeping their hearts wide open. The relaxed ease that belongs only to a dog enriches our lives when they live with us as our pets. From miniature breeds and teacups like the Chihuahua and other small dogs to giant dog breeds, from funny dogs to stray dogs and purebreds, a dog's special wisdom is a precious gift. Bulldogs, terriers, spaniels, shepherds, dachshunds, retrievers, schnauzers, Labradors, pit bulls, Pomeranians, poodles, Dobermans, cockapoos, beagles, rescue cases, shelter dogs and pet adoption dogs win our hearts in this delightful collection. Fifty inspiring photos enhance original sayings in a full-color book that makes a perfect gift. A delightful collection for every dog enthusiast, animal lover, and anyone seeking peace or inspiration, The Zen of Dogs celebrates the joyful canine wisdom that can make us happier, healthier, calmer, and more loving. Perfect for fans of Zen Dogs by Alexandra Cearns, Devoted: 38 Extraordinary Tales of Love, Loyalty, and Life with Dogs by Rebecca Ascher-Walsh, The Dogist: Photographic Encounters with 1,000 Dogs by Elias Weiss Friedman, Zen and the Art of Happiness by Chris Prentiss, Shelter Dogs in a Photo Booth by Guinnevere Shuster, Dogs by Lewis Blackwell, and Dogs and Their People: Photos and Stories of Life with a Four-Legged Love.

The Zen of Dogs Journal

Author: Laine Cunningham
Publisher:
ISBN: 1946732338
Release Date: 2017-03-30
Genre: Self-Help

This blank journal is based on the book called The Zen of Dogs. Record your own wisdom in The Zen of Dogs journal.

Eine kurze Geschichte der Menschheit

Author: Yuval Noah Harari
Publisher: DVA
ISBN: 9783641104986
Release Date: 2013-09-02
Genre: History

Krone der Schöpfung? Vor 100 000 Jahren war der Homo sapiens noch ein unbedeutendes Tier, das unauffällig in einem abgelegenen Winkel des afrikanischen Kontinents lebte. Unsere Vorfahren teilten sich den Planeten mit mindestens fünf weiteren menschlichen Spezies, und die Rolle, die sie im Ökosystem spielten, war nicht größer als die von Gorillas, Libellen oder Quallen. Vor 70 000 Jahren dann vollzog sich ein mysteriöser und rascher Wandel mit dem Homo sapiens, und es war vor allem die Beschaffenheit seines Gehirns, die ihn zum Herren des Planeten und zum Schrecken des Ökosystems werden ließ. Bis heute hat sich diese Vorherrschaft stetig zugespitzt: Der Mensch hat die Fähigkeit zu schöpferischem und zu zerstörerischem Handeln wie kein anderes Lebewesen. Anschaulich, unterhaltsam und stellenweise hochkomisch zeichnet Yuval Harari die Geschichte des Menschen nach und zeigt alle großen, aber auch alle ambivalenten Momente unserer Menschwerdung.

So kam der Mensch auf den Hund

Author: Konrad Lorenz
Publisher: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag
ISBN: 9783423404167
Release Date: 2010-04-01
Genre: Science

Der Verhaltensforscher und Nobelpreisträger erzählt bewegende, amüsante und aufschlussreiche Episoden aus seinem Leben, in dem Tiere und insbesondere Hunde immer eine große Rolle gespielt haben. Er stellt sich sogar die Frage »Welcher Hund passt zu wem?«. Seine Erinnerungen und Gedanken sind nach wie vor eine Quelle der Inspiration und Information für alle Tierfreunde und Hundeliebhaber. Und eine Bestätigung dafür, dass die Liebe zu einem Tier nicht abwegig, sondern ein »wundervoller Seelenzustand« ist, wie es eine Leserin bei amazon beschreibt.

Wie man Freunde gewinnt

Author: Dale Carnegie
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 9783104031477
Release Date: 2014-02-20
Genre: Self-Help

Dieses Buch zeigt Ihnen: - wie man Freunde gewinnt - wie man auf neuen Wegen zu neuen Zielen gelangt - wie man beliebt wird - wie man seine Umwelt beeinflußt - wie man mehr Ansehen erlangt - wie man im Beruf erfolgreicher wird - wie man Streit vermeidet - wie man ein guter Redner und brillanter Gesellschafter wird - wie man den Charakter seiner Mitmenschen erkennt - wie man seine Mitarbeiter anspornt und vieles mehr...

Tagebuch

Author: Bettina von Arnim
Publisher:
ISBN: HARVARD:32044020045324
Release Date: 1835
Genre:


Eine Geschichte von zwei St dten

Author: Charles Dickens
Publisher: BookRix
ISBN: 9783736856394
Release Date: 2017-06-29
Genre: Fiction

Das Werk "Eine Geschichte aus zwei Städten" (Originaltitel: "A Tale of Two Cities") ist ein historischer Roman von Charles Dickens. Geschrieben 1859, ist das Buch mit über 200 Millionen verkauften Ausgaben das meistgedruckte original englischsprachige Buch aller Zeiten und gehört zu den berühmtesten Werken der Weltliteratur.

Tod und Leben gro er amerikanischer St dte

Author: Jane Jacobs
Publisher: Birkhäuser
ISBN: 9783035602128
Release Date: 2015-01-01
Genre: Architecture

In The Death and Life of Great American Cities durchleuchtet Jane Jacobs 1961 die fragwürdigen Methoden der Stadtplanung und Stadtsanierung in Amerika, der "New Yorker" nannte es das unkonventionellste und provozierendste Buch über Städtebau seit langem. Die deutsche Ausgabe wurde schnell auch im deutschsprachigem Raum zu einer viel gelesenen und diskutierten Lektüre. Sie ist jetzt wieder in einem Nachdruck zugänglich, mit einem Vorwort von Gerd Albers (1993), das nach der Aktualität dieser Streitschrift fragt.

The Wisdom of Puppies

Author: Laine Cunningham
Publisher:
ISBN: 1946732559
Release Date: 2017-05-22
Genre: Nature

The Wisdom of Puppies combines original insight with fifty irresistibly cute photos to pave a life path founded in puppyhood. An adorable collection for every puppy obsessed reader, animal lover, and anyone seeking a more playful life, The Wisdom of Puppies celebrates a delightful outlook that can make us happier, healthier, more adventurous, and more loving.