Devoted

Author: Rebecca Ascher-Walsh
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426212635
Release Date: 2013-10-08
Genre: Pets

Unlikely Friendships meets Marley and Me. In this heartwarming gift book, author Rebecca Ascher-Walsh presents a collection of inspiring dog stories and touching photos--dogs who comfort veterans, dogs who learn to surf, dogs who detect cancer, and dogs who save the day: Each one is devoted. These 38 uplifting dog stories showcase the most amazing dog rescues, accomplishments, and abilities that fascinate us and touch our hearts. From the Hardcover edition.

Loyal

Author: Rebecca Ascher-Walsh
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426219115
Release Date: 2017-03-07
Genre: Pets

This treasury features heartwarming photographs and touching stories of dedicated working dogs who have gone above and beyond the call of duty and proven themselves as true heroes. This special collection of dog stories and photographs features four-legged heroes who have worked side by side with soldiers, searched the wreckage of natural and man-made disasters, changed families' lives through emotional support, and administered aid around the world and at home in the United States. Heart-warming photographs and touching anecdotes bring to life thirty-eight caring canines who have served the people who mean the most to them, from a German Shepherd who leads a blind man on his marathon training mssion to a belly rub-loving Sheltie who supports at-risk youth in the classroom. For anyone who has experienced the extraordinary affection of a dog, Loyal is a lasting celebration of the joys of canine companionship.

So You Want to Work with Animals

Author: J. M. Bedell
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781481472852
Release Date: 2017-04-04
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Love animals? Make your passion your profession with this comprehensive guide that reveals a whole host of careers that work hands-on with animals of all shapes, sizes, and species in the tenth book in the Be What You Want series. Do you remember what career you dreamed of having when you were a kid? Right up there along with firefighter, doctor, and astronaut, you’ll find veterinarian as one of the top kid’s dream jobs. This usually stems from that childhood love of a beloved pet or even the adventure of visiting the exotic animals at the zoo. But there are so many other careers that are focused around animals that kids don’t know exist. Covering industries from domestic and exotic veterinary medicine, wildlife protection and conservation, farming and fisheries, research, and even animal training and handling (like police dogs), So, You Want to Work with Animals? explores what these jobs are really like—the fun stuff, the hard stuff, and even the gross stuff. In addition to tips and interviews from professionals in the industry, So, You Want to Work with Animals, includes inspiring stories from kids who are already working with animals, activities, a glossary, and resources to help kids on their way to a successful and fulfilling career.

From Stray Dog to World War I Hero

Author: Grant Hayter-Menzies
Publisher: U of Nebraska Press
ISBN: 9781612347929
Release Date: 2015-09-22
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

On the streets of Paris one day in July 1918, an American doughboy, Sgt. Jimmy Donovan, befriended a stray dog that he named Rags. No longer an unwanted street mutt, Rags became the mascot to the entire First Division of the American Expeditionary Force and a friend to the American troops who had crossed the Atlantic to fight. Rags was more than a scruffy face and a wagging tail, however. The little terrier mix was with the division at the crucial battle of Soissons, at the Saint-Mihiel offensive, and finally in the blood-and-mud bath of the Meuse-Argonne, during which he and his guardian were wounded. Despite being surrounded by distraction and danger, Rags learned to carry messages through gunfire, locate broken communications wire for the Signal Corps to repair, and alert soldiers to incoming shells, saving the lives of hundreds of American soldiers. Through it all, he brought inspiration to men with little to hope for, especially in the bitter last days of the war. From Stray Dog to World War I Hero covers Rags's entire life story, from the bomb-filled years of war through his secret journey to the United States that began his second life, one just as filled with drama and heartache. In years of peace, Rags served as a reminder to human survivors of what held men together when pushed past their limits by the horrors of battle. Watch a book trailer.

The Zen of Dogs

Author: Laine Cunningham
Publisher: Sun Dogs Creations
ISBN:
Release Date: 2017-03-28
Genre: Pets

The Zen of Dogs combines original four-legged wisdom with heartwarming photos. Written by an award-winning author, The Zen of Dogs offers original enlightenment garnered from the loving nature of the best friends who happen to be an animal. If we are lucky, they are also our pets! By turns playful and profound, a dog's trusting soul forgives every misstep. They model the best a human can hope to be by keeping their hearts wide open. The relaxed ease that belongs only to a dog enriches our lives when they live with us as our pets. From miniature breeds and teacups like the Chihuahua and other small dogs to giant dog breeds, from funny dogs to stray dogs and purebreds, a dog's special wisdom is a precious gift. Bulldogs, terriers, spaniels, shepherds, dachshunds, retrievers, schnauzers, Labradors, pit bulls, Pomeranians, poodles, Dobermans, cockapoos, beagles, rescue cases, shelter dogs and pet adoption dogs win our hearts in this delightful collection. Fifty inspiring photos enhance original sayings in a full-color book that makes a perfect gift. A delightful collection for every dog enthusiast, animal lover, and anyone seeking peace or inspiration, The Zen of Dogs celebrates the joyful canine wisdom that can make us happier, healthier, calmer, and more loving. Perfect for fans of Zen Dogs by Alexandra Cearns, Devoted: 38 Extraordinary Tales of Love, Loyalty, and Life with Dogs by Rebecca Ascher-Walsh, The Dogist: Photographic Encounters with 1,000 Dogs by Elias Weiss Friedman, Zen and the Art of Happiness by Chris Prentiss, Shelter Dogs in a Photo Booth by Guinnevere Shuster, Dogs by Lewis Blackwell, and Dogs and Their People: Photos and Stories of Life with a Four-Legged Love.

The Zen of Dogs Journal

Author: Laine Cunningham
Publisher:
ISBN: 1946732338
Release Date: 2017-03-30
Genre: Self-Help

This blank journal is based on the book called The Zen of Dogs. Record your own wisdom in The Zen of Dogs journal.

The Wisdom of Puppies

Author: Laine Cunningham
Publisher:
ISBN: 1946732559
Release Date: 2017-05-22
Genre: Nature

The Wisdom of Puppies combines original insight with fifty irresistibly cute photos to pave a life path founded in puppyhood. An adorable collection for every puppy obsessed reader, animal lover, and anyone seeking a more playful life, The Wisdom of Puppies celebrates a delightful outlook that can make us happier, healthier, more adventurous, and more loving.

Love Unleashed

Author: Rebecca Ascher-Walsh
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426219061
Release Date: 2018
Genre: NATURE

A book for dog lovers everywhere. Celebrating the amazing relationships shared with our four-legged friends, each story recounts the love of dogs and the powerful ways dogs impact our lives. In this heartwarming collection of stories, readers meet 38 incredible dogs who have gone above and beyond the job description of best friend. Each uplifting story provides an inspiring look at the animals who change our lives. Meet rescue dogs who learn to serve others, working dogs who go beyond the call of duty, and underdogs who surmount extraordinary challenges on the road to finding their forever home. This treasury of man's best friend features photographs and personal anecdotes from those who have been touched by the selfless love of a beloved pet. Readers will be inspired by... * Extraordinary reunions: A dog is rescued from Aleppo, Syria, and reunited with his family in Canada, where they had relocated in 2015 after a missile destroyed their home. * Friendships meant to be: When a prosthetics clinic scheduled appointments for 9-year-old Avery and shelter puppy Hattie Mae on the same day, a fateful encounter leads to a lifelong friendship built on combatting disability. * Heroic acts: Shaya, a crime-fighting dog trained to track illegal poachers, hurt his leg chasing an injured rhino. The leg had to be amputated, but Shaya goes right back to work protecting animals. * True devotion: As he was participating in China's Four Deserts Gobi March, a six-day foot race, Dion Leonard met a dedicated pup who accompanied him for about 120 miles. Afterward, he decides to adopt the dog.

Childrens Catalog

Author: H.W. Wilson Company
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105030965581
Release Date: 1961
Genre: Children's literature

The 1st ed. includes an index to v. 28-36 of St. Nicholas.

New York

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105020782004
Release Date: 1997
Genre: New York (N.Y.)