Dove

Author: Robin L. Graham
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062228208
Release Date: 2012-07-03
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

In 1965, 16-year-old Robin Lee Graham began a solo around-the-world voyage from San Pedro, California, in a 24-foot sloop. Five years and 33,000 miles later, he returned to home port with a wife and daughter and enough extraordinary experiences to fill this bestselling book, Dove.

Lonesome Dove

Author: Larry McMurtry
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1451606532
Release Date: 2010-06-01
Genre: Fiction

A love story, an adventure, and an epic of the frontier, Larry McMurtry’s Pulitzer Prize— winning classic, Lonesome Dove, the third book in the Lonesome Dove tetralogy, is the grandest novel ever written about the last defiant wilderness of America. Journey to the dusty little Texas town of Lonesome Dove and meet an unforgettable assortment of heroes and outlaws, whores and ladies, Indians and settlers. Richly authentic, beautifully written, always dramatic, Lonesome Dove is a book to make us laugh, weep, dream, and remember.

Return of the Dove

Author: Margaret Storm
Publisher: Health Research Books
ISBN: 0787308498
Release Date: 1996-09-01
Genre:

1959 This volume, a biography of that great personality, Nikola Tesla, reveals much of the danger, mystery, conspiracy, & intrigue that reached into the highest places of government & the guarded inner sancta of big industry. the author says, "Another d.

The White Dove

Author: Lois Thompson Bartholomew
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0618004645
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Having escaped from the compound where she was imprisoned by the usurper of her dead father's throne, Tasha fights to survive while planning how to join those working to turn the kingdom into a democracy.

The Wings of the Dove Annotated Includes Essay and Biography

Author: Henry James
Publisher: Golgotha Press
ISBN: 9781610426886
Release Date: 2013-11-19
Genre: Fiction

The heroine of The Wings of a Dove is Milly, an extremely rich American girl, who has been left with no living relatives. She spends much of her time with friend and fellow traveler Susan Shepherd Stringham and together they become part of the social circle of Maud Lowder, a friend of Susan's who lives in London. Milly and Susan are not introduced to the readers until the third chapter. The first two chapters are taken up with Kate Croy, who is Mrs. Lowder's niece, and Merton Densher, a journalist whom Kate is in love with.

Neither a Hawk Nor a Dove

Author: Khurshid Mahmud Kasuri
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN: 0199401934
Release Date: 2015-09-17
Genre:

The book is a first-hand account of the inner workings of the Foreign Office of Pakistan narrated during the illustrious career of the author as a statesman and especially during the Pervez Musharraf era (1999-2008) when the author was serving as Foreign Minister of the country. The script highlights the behind-the-scenes complexities in the diplomatic circles of Pakistan, specifically recounting the tenuous relationship with India in the post-Kargil period.

Yak and Dove

Author: Kyo Maclear
Publisher: Tundra Books (NY)
ISBN: 9781770494947
Release Date: 2017-09-19
Genre: JUVENILE FICTION

Friends Yak and Dove are complete opposites. Yak is large and Dove is small. Yak has fur and Dove has feathers. Yak is polite. Dove is ill-mannered. Yak likes quiet. Dove likes noise. One day as Yak and Dove list their differences they come to the conclusion that maybe they aren't meant to be friends. In the hope of finding a new best friend, Yak holds auditions. But when a small feathered contestant sings Yak's favorite song, the two begin to think that maybe they are alike after all...

Wolf and the Dove

Author: Kathleen E. Woodiwiss
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780061758669
Release Date: 2009-10-13
Genre: Fiction

From New York Times bestselling author Kathleen E. Woodiwiss comes one of her most beloved romances... The Wolf Noble Aislinn grieves as the Iron Wolf and his minions storm through her beloved Darkenwald. And she burns with malice for the handsome Norman savage who would enslave her. . .even as she aches to know the rapture of the conqueror's kiss. The Dove For the first time ever, mighty Wulfgar has been vanquished - and by a bold and beautiful princess of Saxon blood. He must have the chaste, sensuous enchantress who is sworn to his destruction. And he will risk life itself to nurture with tender passion a glorious union born in the blistering heat of hatred and war.

Maggie Dove

Author: Susan Breen
Publisher: Alibi
ISBN: 9780399594892
Release Date: 2016-06-14
Genre: Fiction

Susan Breen introduces a charming new series heroine in this poignant and absorbing cozy mystery with a bite. Maggie Dove thinks everyone in her small Westchester County community knows everyone else’s secrets. Then murder comes to town. When Sunday School teacher Maggie Dove finds her hateful next-door neighbor Marcus Bender lying dead under her beloved oak tree—the one he demanded she cut down—she figures the man dropped dead of a mean heart. But Marcus was murdered, and the prime suspect is a young man Maggie loves like a son. Peter Nelson was the worst of Maggie’s Sunday School students; he was also her late daughter’s fiancé, and he’s been a devoted friend to Maggie in the years since her daughter’s death. Maggie can’t lose Peter, too. So she sets out to find the real murderer. To do that, she must move past the grief that has immobilized her all these years. She must probe the hidden corners of her little village on the Hudson River. And, when another death strikes even closer to home, Maggie must find the courage to defend the people and the town she loves—even if it kills her.

The Hawk and the Dove

Author: Nicholas Thompson
Publisher: Henry Holt and Company
ISBN: 1429940506
Release Date: 2009-09-15
Genre: History

A brilliant and revealing biography of the two most important Americans during the Cold War era—written by the grandson of one of them Only two Americans held positions of great influence throughout the Cold War; ironically, they were the chief advocates for the opposing strategies for winning—and surviving—that harrowing conflict. Both men came to power during World War II, reached their professional peaks during the Cold War's most frightening moments, and fought epic political battles that spanned decades. Yet despite their very different views, Paul Nitze and George Kennan dined together, attended the weddings of each other's children, and remained good friends all their lives. In this masterly double biography, Nicholas Thompson brings Nitze and Kennan to vivid life. Nitze—the hawk—was a consummate insider who believed that the best way to avoid a nuclear clash was to prepare to win one. More than any other American, he was responsible for the arms race. Kennan—the dove—was a diplomat turned academic whose famous "X article" persuasively argued that we should contain the Soviet Union while waiting for it to collapse from within. For forty years, he exercised more influence on foreign affairs than any other private citizen. As he weaves a fascinating narrative that follows these two rivals and friends from the beginning of the Cold War to its end, Thompson accomplishes something remarkable: he tells the story of our nation during the most dangerous half century in history.

Dove

Author: Robin L. Graham
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780060920470
Release Date: 1991-03-27
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

In 1965, 16-year-old Robin Lee Graham began a solo around-the-world voyage from San Pedro, California, in a 24-foot sloop. Five years and 33,000 miles later, he returned to home port with a wife and daughter and enough extraordinary experiences to fill this bestselling book, Dove.

Black Dove White Raven

Author: Elizabeth Wein
Publisher: Egmont UK
ISBN: 9781780314839
Release Date: 2015-02-26
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

"Think of the sky!" Delia gave Momma's hands a shake. "Think of the sky in Ethiopia! What will it be like to fly in Africa?" This New York Times bestseller is a story of survival, subterfuge, espionage and identity. Rhoda and Delia are American stunt pilots who perform daring aerobatics to appreciative audiences. But while the sight of two girls wingwalking – one white, one black – is a welcome novelty in some parts of the USA, it’s an anathema in others. Rhoda and Delia dream of living in a world where neither gender nor ethnicity determines their life. When Delia is killed in a tragic accident, Rhoda is determined to make that dream come true. She moves to Ethiopia with her daughter, Em, and Delia’s son, Teo. Em and Teo have adapted to scratching a living in a strange land, and feel at home here; but their parents’ legacy of flight and the ability to pilot a plane places them in an elite circle of people watched carefully by the Ethiopian emperor, Haile Selassie, who dreams of creating an air force for his fledgling nation. As Italy prepares for its invasion of Ethiopia, Em and Teo find themselves inextricably entangled in the crisis — and they are called on to help. Elizabeth Wein is a leading voice in young adult historical fiction. Her novel Rose Under Fire was nominated for the Carnegie Medal and shortlisted for the Costa Award 2014. Fans of The Book Thief and Carmen Reid's Cross My Heart will love this. Look out for Elizabeth's other books Code Name Verity and Rose Under Fire. Elizabeth Wein was born in New York, and grew up in England, Jamaica and Pennsylvania. She is married with two children and now lives in Perth, Scotland. Elizabeth is a member of the Ninety-Nines, the International Organization of Women Pilots. She was awarded the Scottish Aero Club's Watson Cup for best student pilot in 2003 and it was her love of flying that partly inspired the idea for her bestselling, award-winning novel Code Name Verity.

Dove Arising

Author: Karen Bao
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780147512437
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

"Setting- The Moon Phaet Theta's Plan- Live peacefully in the lunar colony, work hard, become a scientist, and enjoy a quiet future off the government's radar. a Then her mother is arrested. a The New Plan- Enlist in the militia, learn everything she can from top trainee Wes, and become the youngest Militia captain in history so she can save her family. a It all seems perfect. Until Phaet's logically ordered world begins to crumble . . .a 'Fans ofaThe 5th Wave,aDivergent, andaLegendawill love this smart, futuristic thriller.'aJustine'Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.'aBustle.com'Fans of Orson Scott Card'saEnder's Game . . .ashould flock to this well-written debut.'aSLJ"

The Dove of Peace

Author: Walter Damrosch
Publisher:
ISBN: HARVARD:32044040415440
Release Date: 1912
Genre: Operas


Mourning dove in Louisiana

Author: Louisiana Wild Life and Fisheries Commission
Publisher:
ISBN: CORNELL:31924090301254
Release Date: 1965
Genre: Sports & Recreation