Eats Shoots Leaves

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101218290
Release Date: 2004-04-12
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

We all know the basics of punctuation. Or do we? A look at most neighborhood signage tells a different story. Through sloppy usage and low standards on the internet, in email, and now text messages, we have made proper punctuation an endangered species. In Eats, Shoots & Leaves, former editor Lynne Truss dares to say, in her delightfully urbane, witty, and very English way, that it is time to look at our commas and semicolons and see them as the wonderful and necessary things they are. This is a book for people who love punctuation and get upset when it is mishandled. From the invention of the question mark in the time of Charlemagne to George Orwell shunning the semicolon, this lively history makes a powerful case for the preservation of a system of printing conventions that is much too subtle to be mucked about with.

Eats Shoots and Leaves

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007431595
Release Date: 2011-05-26
Genre: Humor

Anxious about the apostrophe? Confused by the comma? Stumped by the semicolon? Join Lynne Truss on a hilarious tour through the rules of punctuation that is sure to sort the dashes from the hyphens.

Eats Shoots Leaves

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: Profile Books Limited
ISBN: UOM:39015061328210
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

A witty, entertaining, impassioned guide to perfect punctuation, for everyone who cares about precise writing. Not a primer but a 'zero tolerance' manual for direct action.

Eats Shoots Leaves

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399244919
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

See how using (or not using) a comma can change the meaning of a sentence.

Can You Eat Shoot Leave Workbook

Author: Clare Dignall
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007461363
Release Date: 2011-10-31
Genre: Foreign Language Study

The punctuation workout for sticklers and rookies alike.

The Fight for English

Author: David Crystal
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780199207640
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Combining a chronological survey of key influences in the area of usage with discussion of such themes as punctuation, spelling, and pronunciation, tells the story of the battles surrounding English usage.

Talk to the Hand

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101216729
Release Date: 2005-11-08
Genre: Humor

"Talk to the hand, ’cause the face ain’t listening," the saying goes. When did the world stop wanting to hear? When did society become so thoughtless? It’s a topic that has been simmering for years, and Lynne Truss says it’s now reached the boiling point. Taking on the boorish behavior that for some has become a point of pride, Talk to the Hand is a rallying cry for courtesy. Like Eats, Shoots & Leaves, Talk to the Hand is not a stuffy guidebook, and is sure to inspire spirited conversation. Why hasn’t your nephew ever thanked you for your carefully selected gift? What makes your contractor think it’s fine to snub you in the midst of a major renovation? Why do crowds spawn selfishness? What accounts for the appalling treatment you receive in stores (if you’re lucky enough to get a clerk’s attention at all)? Most important, what will it take to roll back a culture that applauds those who are disrespectful? In a recent U.S. survey, 79 percent of adults said that lack of courtesy was a serious problem. For anyone who’s fed up with the brutality inflicted by modern manners (or lack thereof), Talk to the Hand is a colorful call to arms—from the wittiest defender of the civilized world.

Twenty odd Ducks

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780399250583
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

See how the punctuation marks you use (and where you put them) can completely change the meaning of what you write.

The Girl s Like Spaghetti

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher:
ISBN: 1861971680
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Apostrophe

A giant kids' playground certainly sounds like fun, but you might want to watch out in the giant kid's playground; he has a tendency to step on people. A sign stating, "we're here to help", would definitely disappoint the customers if the apostrophe were removed. Lynne Truss and Bonnie Timmons once again illustrate the hilarious confusion that punctuation can cause. Having dealt with the comma in Eats, Shoots & Leaves for Children, here they take on the apostrophe using lively, subversive pictures from one of America's leading illustrators and show how much chaos can ensue from one tiny squiggle.

Eats Shoots and Leaves the Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher:
ISBN: 0789323036
Release Date: 2011-08-26
Genre:

This word-lover and wordsmith's calendar is based on the punctuation sensationEats, Shoots and Leavesthat hit #1 on best-seller lists and has sold more than 3 million hardcover copies worldwide. With such observations as "people truly do not know their apostrophe from their elbow," Lynne Truss has made "the history of punctuation a subject at once urgent, sexy, and hilarious" (John Walsh,The Independent).

Between You Me Confessions of a Comma Queen

Author: Mary Norris
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393246605
Release Date: 2015-04-06
Genre: Reference

"Hilarious…This book charmed my socks off." —Patricia O’Conner, New York Times Book Review Mary Norris has spent more than three decades working in The New Yorker’s renowned copy department, helping to maintain its celebrated high standards. In Between You & Me, she brings her vast experience with grammar and usage, her good cheer and irreverence, and her finely sharpened pencils to help the rest of us in a boisterous language book as full of life as it is of practical advice. Named a Best Book of the Year by NPR, Amazon, Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus, and Library Journal.

Cat Out of Hell

Author: Lynne Truss
Publisher: Melville House
ISBN: 9781612194431
Release Date: 2015-03-03
Genre: Fiction

Acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Lynne Truss (Eats, Shoots & Leaves) is back with a mesmerizing and hilarious tale of cats and murder For people who both love and hate cats comes the tale of Alec Charlesworth, a librarian who finds himself suddenly alone: he’s lost his job, his beloved wife has just died. Overcome by grief, he searches for clues about her disappearance in a file of interviews between a man called "Wiggy" and a cat, Roger. Who speaks to him. It takes a while for Alec to realize he’s not gone mad from grief, that the cat is actually speaking to Wiggy . . . and that much of what we fear about cats is true. They do think they’re smarter than humans, for one thing. And, well, it seems they are! What’s more, they do have nine lives. Or at least this one does – Roger’s older than Methuselah, and his unblinking stare comes from the fact that he’s seen it all. And he’s got a tale to tell, a tale of shocking local history and dark forces that may link not only the death of Alec’s wife, but also several other local deaths. But will the cat help Alec, or is he one of the dark forces? In the deft and comedic hands of mega-bestseller Lynne Truss, the story is as entertaining as it is addictive” (The Sunday Telegraph) – an increasingly suspenseful and often hysterically funny adventure that will please cat lovers and haters alike. And afterwards, as one critic noted, “You may never look at a cat in quite the same way again” (The Daily Mail).

Doctor Whom

Author: Adam Roberts
Publisher: Gollancz
ISBN: 9780575085770
Release Date: 2008-12-12
Genre: Fiction

Doctor Whom, the grammatically correct TimeLord (or should that be Time Lord? Or is it Timelord?) has come to save our universe from the terror's of sloppy syntax and bad grammar. With his intrepid assistant Lynne: hes here to correct greengrocers sign's, popular fiction and government memos (memoes?) before inaccurate and lazy communication rips apart the very fabric of the space time continuum. Is it any wonder that the rise of global warming has coincided with the decline in the teaching of Latin in our schools? I do'nt think so. Will the Doctor save us all? or will his evil nemisises (nemisiss? nemisi?) The Dalek's triumph and rule over a universe where no-one has any clear idea of the correct usage of semi-colons?

The Three Year Swim Club

Author: Julie Checkoway
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
ISBN: 9781455523436
Release Date: 2015-10-27
Genre: History

For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers. In 1937, a schoolteacher on the island of Maui challenged a group of poverty-stricken sugar plantation kids to swim upstream against the current of their circumstance. The goal? To become Olympians. They faced seemingly insurmountable obstacles. The children were Japanese-American, were malnourished and barefoot and had no pool; they trained in the filthy irrigation ditches that snaked down from the mountains into the sugarcane fields. Their future was in those same fields, working alongside their parents in virtual slavery, known not by their names but by numbered tags that hung around their necks. Their teacher, Soichi Sakamoto, was an ordinary man whose swimming ability didn't extend much beyond treading water. In spite of everything, including the virulent anti-Japanese sentiment of the late 1930s, in their first year the children outraced Olympic athletes twice their size; in their second year, they were national and international champs, shattering American and world records and making headlines from L.A. to Nazi Germany. In their third year, they'd be declared the greatest swimmers in the world, but they'd also face their greatest obstacle: the dawning of a world war and the cancellation of the Games. Still, on the battlefield, they'd become the 20th century's most celebrated heroes, and in 1948, they'd have one last chance for Olympic glory. They were the Three-Year Swim Club. This is their story.