Evidence Proof and Judicial Review in EU Competition Law

Author: Fernando Castillo de la Torre
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781782548904
Release Date: 2017-03-31
Genre: Law

Fernando Castillo de la Torre and Eric Gippini Fournier, two of the most experienced competition litigators at the European Commission, undertake an in-depth analysis of the case law of the EU Courts on the rules of evidence, proof and judicial review, as they are applied in EU competition law. These topics often engage with fundamental rights, and the book takes stock of the most frequent criticisms that are made of the EU enforcement system and review by EU Courts. The result is an extremely thorough and well-structured review of the relevant rules of law and of the precedents. The authors combine valuable insights and critical analysis to construct a definitive yet balanced portrayal of the state of EU competition law.

Competition Damages Actions in the EU

Author: David Ashton
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781786430748
Release Date: 2018-03-16
Genre:

In this revised and much expanded second edition David Ashton provides a comprehensive review of the EU damages directive (Directive 2014/104/EU) and its implementation, bringing the book up to date with the latest advances in EU Competition Law damages actions. This edition also features insights from practising lawyers on national developments in over 10 countries across Europe and an updated, separately authored, chapter on the quantification of loss. This book will provide practising lawyers and scholars alike with a clear, well-structured and updated guide to EU Competition Law Damages.

The Shaping of EU Competition Law

Author: Pablo Ibáñez Colomo
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781108661850
Release Date: 2018-07-31
Genre: Law

Based on a unique and comprehensive database, The Shaping of EU Competition Law combines qualitative and quantitative approaches to shed light on the evolution of EU competition law. It brings a new perspective to some of the most topical issues in the field including due process and the intensity of judicial review. The author's main purpose is to examine how the institutional structure influences the substance of EU competition law provisions. He seeks to identify patterns in the behaviour of the European Commission and the EU Courts and how they interact with each other. In particular, his analysis considers how the European Commission reacts to the case law and whether, and in what instances, the EU courts defer to the analysis of the administrative authority. The analysis is supported by the database and an unprecedented array of statistics and figures free to view online.

European Union Law of State Aid

Author: Kelyn Bacon QC
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780191091230
Release Date: 2017-01-19
Genre: Law

This book provides a comprehensive practitioner guide to the EU law of State aid, covering all relevant legislation, case law, and the dominant themes shaping EU State aid policy. It discusses the concept of State aid and its development in the European Union, as well as practical aspects such as procedures for notification to the European Commission, and enforcement in the European Court and national courts. It offers extensive coverage of specific sectors, including transport and shipbuilding, media and communications, energy and environmental protection, culture and heritage, and agriculture. The third edition is fully updated to cover the extensive legislative changes in this area, including the new General Block Exemption Regulation and De Minimis Regulation, horizontal aid guidelines, and sectoral guidelines for aviation, cinemas, agriculture, and fisheries; as well as State aid cases in the national courts, particularly the UK, and recent European Court jurisprudence. Accessible to competition lawyers and non-specialists, the book's clarity and concision make it an invaluable reference to this area of law.

Abuse of Dominance in EU Competition Law

Author: Pier Luigi Parcu
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781785367625
Release Date: 2017-02-24
Genre:

Granting rebates to a customer or refusing to supply a competitor are examples of ordinary commercial practices, which become ‘abusive’ under Article 102 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU (TFEU) when carried out by ‘dominant’ firms. This topical book provides an up-to-date account of the emerging trends in the enforcement and interpretation of this provision at both the EU and national level.

State Aid Law of the European Union

Author: Claire Micheau
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780198727460
Release Date: 2016-03-03
Genre:

Rules controlling State aid and subsidies on the EU and the WTO level can have a decisive influence on both regulatory and distributive decision-making. This field of law has grown exponentially in importance and complexity over the past decades. Rules on State aid and subsidies control are one of the key instruments to ensure that public spending and regulatory measures do not lead to discriminatory distortions of competition. As a consequence, hardly any part of national law is free from review under criteria of State aid and subsidy regulation. In turn, State aid and subsidies law is linked to economic, constitutional, administrative law of the EU and the Member States as well as to public international law. This book brings together leading experts from academia, the judiciary, civil servants from the European Commission, and practicing lawyers to provide expert opinion and commentary on the diverse dimensions of the complex and vital area of law. Critically analysing and explaining developments and current approaches in State aid law and subsidies, the chapters take into account not only the legal dimensions but also the economic and political implications. They address the EU law applicable to State aid in the aftermath of the recent State Modernization reform, and coverage includes: an in-depth analysis of the notion of State aid as interpreted by the Court's cases-law and the Commission's practice; the rules on compatibility of State aid with the internal market; the rules governing the procedure before the Commission; the litigation before the Court of Justice of the European Union; and analysis of the other trade defense instruments, including WTO subsidy law and EU anti-subsidy law.

EU Competition Law

Author: Eleanor M. Fox
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781786430847
Release Date: 2017-10-27
Genre:

This clear and concise textbook presents EU competition law in political, economic and comparative context. It combines excerpts from key EU rulings with discussions of enforcement policy issues and comparisons with US antitrust cases. Untangling the complex set of factors driving individual outcomes, it is the perfect companion for any student or practitioner in the field.

Handbook on European Competition Law

Author: Ioannis Lianos
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781782546214
Release Date: 2013-10-31
Genre: Law

This Handbook will be an indispensable reference work for practitioners and scholars, as well as for those in an enforcement environment.

Coherence in EU Competition Law

Author: Wolf Sauter
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780191065989
Release Date: 2016-05-26
Genre: Law

EU competition law plays a central role in the process of European integration both as a multifaceted tool for creating and policing the internal market as well as in organising national markets. Yet as a consequence of this role it is also subject to increasingly complex demands, a proliferation of (sectoral) regimes, and multiple objectives at both an EU and national level. This profligacy entails risks of fragmentation and divergence - which could jeopardise the proper functioning of the internal market. In this examination of EU competition law, Wolf Sauter discusses three main issues: (i) what degree of coherence exists in EU competition law; (ii) how this coherence can be explained, particularly in the broader context of integration by EU law; and (iii) how it contributes to the legitimacy and effectiveness of EU competition law. Specific focus is placed on antitrust, while mergers, state aid control, as well as the sectoral regimes for energy and electronic communications are also examined. In addition the book also charts the history and framework of these competition regimes that jointly constitute EU competition law, defining both its objectives and limitations.

Damages Claims for the Infringement of Competition Law

Author: Peter Davis
Publisher: OUP Oxford
ISBN: 0199575185
Release Date: 2014-03
Genre: Law

This new book assesses the European framework for enforcement of competition law through private damages claims, setting it within the broader international context of global governance of antitrust.

Dawn Raids Under Challenge

Author: Helene Andersson
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
ISBN: 9781509920167
Release Date: 2018-06-28
Genre: Law

This book examines the European Commission's dawn raid practices in competition cases from a fundamental rights perspective. In recent years, the Commission has adopted a new and more aggressive enforcement policy, amid a growing awareness that cartels and abuse of market power represent an economic harm and need to be punished. In response, enforcement has been strengthened by the grant of more wide-reaching powers to competition authorities. But how does this impact on the framework of fundamental rights? This study seeks to answer that question by examining the obligations imposed by the Charter and the ECHR and the response of the Luxembourg and Strasbourg Courts. It shows that where the Strasbourg Court has managed to strike a balance between efficiency concerns and the rights of undertakings, the EU courts' judicial control is not equally balanced. This book is an essential and timely examination of this important question.

European Patent Litigation in the Shadow of the Unified Patent Court

Author: Luke McDonagh
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781784714741
Release Date: 2016-07-27
Genre: Law

With the introduction of the Unified Patent Court (UPC) and the new European Patent with Unitary Effect, the European patent litigation system is undergoing a set of fundamental reforms. This timely book assesses the current state of European patent litigation by analysing recently published data on Europe's four major patent jurisdictions - the UK, Germany, France and the Netherlands - and also looks ahead to examine what the impact of the UPC is likely to be on Europe's patent litigation system in the near future.

Protecting Human Rights in the EU

Author: Tanel Kerikmäe
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9783642389023
Release Date: 2013-08-30
Genre: Law

Human rights are much talked about and much written about, in academic legal literature as well as in political and other social sciences and the general political debate. This book argues that the universality of basic human rights is one of the values of the concept of rights. It points out the risk of a certain “inflation” caused by the current habit of talking so much and so often about human rights and of using them as a basis for claims of various kinds. These rights, their understanding and interpretation may need to become more “purist” to ensure that universal human rights as a concept survive. Another chapter concentrates on the analysis of the frames of “EU protected human rights” from the perspective of effective implementation. Further, the book not only deals with the complicated relations between the EU and international law, but also seeks to show the horizontal effect. To that end, the fears and hopes of the member states and interest groups are categorized and commented on. Lastly, the gaps in theory and practice are addressed, current trends related to implementation are pointed out, and suggestions are made concerning how to make the best out of the Charter.

EU Competition Law

Author: Alison Jones
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780198723424
Release Date: 2016-08
Genre: Law

The essential guide to EU competition law for students in one volume; extracts from key cases, academic works, and legislation are paired with incisive critique and commentary from two leading experts in the field. In this fast-paced subject area, Alison Jones and Brenda Sufrin carefully highlight the most important cases, legislation, and developments to allow students to navigate the breadth of legislation and case law. With their clear explanations and commentary, the authors provide invaluable support to students as they approach this complex and highly technical area of law. Extracts provide opportunities for students to understand the law in practice, and to see its relevance to business. Indispensable for undergraduate and postgraduate students alike, this is the standalone guide to the competition law of the EU. The text is accompanied by an Online Resource Centre containing: -An additional chapter on State Aid -An interactive map and timeline of the EU -Web links -Updates in the law