Evidence Proof and Judicial Review in EU Competition Law

Author: Fernando Castillo de la Torre
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781782548904
Release Date: 2017-03-31
Genre: Law

Fernando Castillo de la Torre and Eric Gippini Fournier, two of the most experienced competition litigators at the European Commission, undertake an in-depth analysis of the case law of the EU Courts on the rules of evidence, proof and judicial review, as they are applied in EU competition law. These topics often engage with fundamental rights, and the book takes stock of the most frequent criticisms that are made of the EU enforcement system and review by EU Courts. The result is an extremely thorough and well-structured review of the relevant rules of law and of the precedents. The authors combine valuable insights and critical analysis to construct a definitive yet balanced portrayal of the state of EU competition law.

Competition Damages Actions in the EU

Author: David Ashton
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781782540762
Release Date: 2013-12-27
Genre: Law

Competition Damages Actions in the EU offers a clear and concise analysis of the latest case law, legislation and policy documentation in the field of damages actions for breach of EU competition law. Highly topical, the authors explore the problems of

Handbook on European Competition Law

Author: Ioannis Lianos
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781782546214
Release Date: 2013-10-31
Genre: Law

This Handbook will be an indispensable reference work for practitioners and scholars, as well as for those in an enforcement environment.

European Union Law of State Aid

Author: Kelyn Bacon QC
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780191091230
Release Date: 2017-01-19
Genre: Law

This book provides a comprehensive practitioner guide to the EU law of State aid, covering all relevant legislation, case law, and the dominant themes shaping EU State aid policy. It discusses the concept of State aid and its development in the European Union, as well as practical aspects such as procedures for notification to the European Commission, and enforcement in the European Court and national courts. It offers extensive coverage of specific sectors, including transport and shipbuilding, media and communications, energy and environmental protection, culture and heritage, and agriculture. The third edition is fully updated to cover the extensive legislative changes in this area, including the new General Block Exemption Regulation and De Minimis Regulation, horizontal aid guidelines, and sectoral guidelines for aviation, cinemas, agriculture, and fisheries; as well as State aid cases in the national courts, particularly the UK, and recent European Court jurisprudence. Accessible to competition lawyers and non-specialists, the book's clarity and concision make it an invaluable reference to this area of law.

Coherence in EU Competition Law

Author: Wolf Sauter
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780191065989
Release Date: 2016-05-26
Genre: Law

EU competition law plays a central role in the process of European integration both as a multifaceted tool for creating and policing the internal market as well as in organising national markets. Yet as a consequence of this role it is also subject to increasingly complex demands, a proliferation of (sectoral) regimes, and multiple objectives at both an EU and national level. This profligacy entails risks of fragmentation and divergence - which could jeopardise the proper functioning of the internal market. In this examination of EU competition law, Wolf Sauter discusses three main issues: (i) what degree of coherence exists in EU competition law; (ii) how this coherence can be explained, particularly in the broader context of integration by EU law; and (iii) how it contributes to the legitimacy and effectiveness of EU competition law. Specific focus is placed on antitrust, while mergers, state aid control, as well as the sectoral regimes for energy and electronic communications are also examined. In addition the book also charts the history and framework of these competition regimes that jointly constitute EU competition law, defining both its objectives and limitations.

EU Competition Law and Regulation in the Transport Sector

Author: Luis Ortiz Blanco
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN: 0199671079
Release Date: 2017-02-23
Genre: Law

EU Competition Law and Regulation provides an in-depth analysis of the EU regulation of the various transport modes, and of the EU competition rules in the transport sector. The text gives details of different substantive rules regarding, on the one hand, liberalization and regulation of transport markets and operations; and, on the other, restrictive agreements, dominant positions, and mergers, which apply to shipping, to aviation, and to inland transport. In addition to illustrating the procedures which govern enforcement of EU competition rules,and indicating how these differ from the usual procedures applied by the European Commission, this new edition addresses the recent emergence of a regulatory framework for different transport modes. The editors and authors have all been closely involved in the development of the Commission's practice in this area and have provided a detailed contemporary discussion of all relevant issues.

Encyclopedia of Private International Law

Author: Jürgen Basedow
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 1782547223
Release Date: 2017-09-29
Genre: Comparative law

The Encyclopedia of Private International Law quite simply represents the definitive reference work in the field. Bringing together 195 authors from 57 countries the Encyclopedia sheds light on the current state of Private International Law around the globe, providing unique insights into the discipline and how it is affected by globalization and increased regional integration.The role and character of Private International Law has changed tremendously over the past decades. With the steady increase of global and regional inter-connectedness the practical significance of the discipline has grown. And so has the number of legislative activities on the national, international and, most importantly, the European level.The Encyclopedia is a rich and varied resource in four volumes. The first two volumes provide comprehensive coverage of topical aspects of Private International Law in the form of 247 alphabetically arranged entries. The third volume provides insightful detail on the national Private International Law regimes of 80 different countries. The fourth volume presents invaluable, and often unique, English language translations of the national codifications and provisions of Private International Law in those countries.Key Features:* 247 substantive entries* 80 national reports* Entries organized alphabetically for ease of navigation * Fully cross-referenced* Entries written by the world's foremost scholars of Private International Law* National codifications in English collected together into a single volume for quick reference* World class editor team.

EU Regulation of E Commerce

Author: Arno R. Lodder
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781785369346
Release Date: 2017-04-28
Genre:

For the last twenty years the European Union has been extremely active in the field of e-commerce. This important new book addresses the key pieces of EU legislation in the field of e-commerce, including the E-commerce Directive, the Services Directive, the Consumer Directive, the General Data Protection Regulation, and the eID Regulation. The latest in the Elgar Commentaries series, EU Regulation of E-Commerce is the first book to apply this well-established format to a dynamic and increasingly significant area of law.

European Intellectual Property Law

Author: Annette Kur
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781781953648
Release Date: 2013-01-01
Genre: Law

'This clearly-written and comprehensive text, by two leading scholars of European intellectual property law, is extremely adaptable. It is a perfect platform for classroom teaching, and is also a fine resource for those researching in what is becoming an increasingly complex field.' – Graeme B. Dinwoodie, University of Oxford, UK 'This hybrid volume, part commentary, part primary sources, with questions to stimulate further thinking, serves both as a teaching tool and as a manual for lawyers who seek a comprehensive overview of EU intellectual property law. The book aims at a generalist legal audience, with very a helpful précis of international law, including the major multilateral treaties, as well as a summary of the EU legal framework that non-Europeans will find highly useful. The authors explore the full range of traditional and emerging IP rights. They also provide in-depth analysis of remedies and of the international private law issues that increasingly arise in contemporary complex IP litigation.' – Jane Ginsburg, Columbia Law School, US The first of its kind, this textbook has been carefully designed to give students and non-specialist practitioners a clear understanding of the fundamentals of European intellectual property law. Providing a comprehensive overview of both community IP rights, and areas of IP law that have been harmonised, and supported by judicious use of extracts from the most significant source material, the book assists the reader in navigating through the increasingly complex European IP system. European Intellectual Property Law deals with European patent, trade mark and copyright law copyright, as well as with adjacent areas such as protection of plant varieties, geographical indications, industrial design, competition law, enforcement, and private international law, with a focus on the most relevant case law to be found in those areas. Key Features: • Written by two of the leading authorities in European IP law • Concise and readable style • Extracts from key source material • Questions designed to stimulate thinking around legal problems • Coverage of related areas adjacent to IP • Offers an overview on international IP protection and the interrelation between European law and IP law in general. This detailed book is designed for all courses on European intellectual property, whether basic or advanced, as well as for practitioners looking for a comprehensive and concise overview on the structure and content of European IP law.

Collective Dominance and Collusion

Author: Marilena Filippelli
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9781781956052
Release Date: 2013-01-01
Genre: Law

By examining the issue of collusion in EU and US competition law, this book suggests possible strategies for improving the antitrust enforcement against parallelism, by exploiting the most advanced achievements of economic analysis. The book contains a suggested approach to collusion, in ex ante and ex post perspectives. By moving from the analysis of the state of art, in terms of law, case law, and scholarship, Marilena Filippelli analyses inconsistencies and failures in the current antitrust enforcement toward collusion and develops a workable parameter for the issue of collective dominance. The most innovative part of this work goes beyond the analysis itself of collective dominance and involves the interference of arts. 101 and 102. The conclusion is a re-definition of the relationship between those rulesÑfrom dichotomy to redundancy. Finally, the book highlights the antitrust significance of semi-collusion, as a strategy made of collusion and competition. The author considers economic models equaling, as for the effects, collusion and semi-collusion and the case law supporting the qualification of semi-collusion as a species of collusion. The analysis involves both US and EU systems, under the highly topical economic-oriented approach. It also contains an original view of European antitrust prohibitions. Because of its contents and its approach, this book will be attractive to every academic interested in antitrust law. Moreover, the well-documented research on parallelism, involving law, case law and scholarship, makes this book interesting also for competition authorities and antitrust lawyers.

EU Competition Law

Author: Alison Jones
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780198723424
Release Date: 2016-08
Genre: Law

The essential guide to EU competition law for students in one volume; extracts from key cases, academic works, and legislation are paired with incisive critique and commentary from two leading experts in the field. In this fast-paced subject area, Alison Jones and Brenda Sufrin carefully highlight the most important cases, legislation, and developments to allow students to navigate the breadth of legislation and case law. With their clear explanations and commentary, the authors provide invaluable support to students as they approach this complex and highly technical area of law. Extracts provide opportunities for students to understand the law in practice, and to see its relevance to business. Indispensable for undergraduate and postgraduate students alike, this is the standalone guide to the competition law of the EU. The text is accompanied by an Online Resource Centre containing: -An additional chapter on State Aid -An interactive map and timeline of the EU -Web links -Updates in the law

EU Public Procurement Law

Author: Christopher Bovis
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9780857938428
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Political Science

ïThe Second Edition of EU Public Procurement Law provides a comprehensive view of the policies, legislation and cases that define this area of law. Written from a pan-European perspective, it will be a useful guide for students and practitioners alike. As well as describing the public contracts, utilities and remedies directives, this work details the European cases that have shaped the law and the relationship between procurement law and other forms of regulation such as state aid. Of particular interest to the practitioner, there are specific sections on remedies, evaluation criteria and different forms of procurement such as services concessions, public-private partnerships and public-public partnerships.Í _ Hazel Grant, Partner, Bristows, London, UK Acclaim for first edition: ïThis book will serve as an essential resource for anyone interested in the legal regime of public procurement. It offers a comprehensive and topical analysis of EU law and its interaction with national law and policies in an area of growing economic importance.Í _ Ruth Nielsen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark In this fully revised and updated edition, Christopher Bovis provides a detailed, critical, concise and accessible overview of the public procurement legal framework and its interaction with policies within the European Union and the its Member States. Public procurement represents an essential part of the Single Market project, launched by European Institutions in 2011. Its regulation will insert competition and transparency in the market and be a safeguard to the attainment of fundamental principles of the Treaties. This book demonstrates the impact of the relevant Directives on Member States through the development of the case law of the European Court of Justice and assesses the judicial review of public contracts at national level. It positions public procurement at the centre of the legal and policy debate surrounding the delivery of public services and the advancement of competitiveness and industrial policy in the EU. The book highlights the pivotal role of public procurement for the Europe 2020 Growth Strategy. Demonstrating the concepts and principles of public procurement, this comprehensive book will have a strong appeal to academic researchers, lawyers, judges, practitioners, and policymakers at the European, international and national levels as well as students of law, policy and management.

Protecting Human Rights in the EU

Author: Tanel Kerikmäe
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9783642389023
Release Date: 2013-08-30
Genre: Law

Human rights are much talked about and much written about, in academic legal literature as well as in political and other social sciences and the general political debate. This book argues that the universality of basic human rights is one of the values of the concept of rights. It points out the risk of a certain “inflation” caused by the current habit of talking so much and so often about human rights and of using them as a basis for claims of various kinds. These rights, their understanding and interpretation may need to become more “purist” to ensure that universal human rights as a concept survive. Another chapter concentrates on the analysis of the frames of “EU protected human rights” from the perspective of effective implementation. Further, the book not only deals with the complicated relations between the EU and international law, but also seeks to show the horizontal effect. To that end, the fears and hopes of the member states and interest groups are categorized and commented on. Lastly, the gaps in theory and practice are addressed, current trends related to implementation are pointed out, and suggestions are made concerning how to make the best out of the Charter.

Competition in Energy Markets

Author: Peter D. Cameron
Publisher:
ISBN: 0198257708
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Law

Recent years have seen a major growth in the European law concerning the operation of the energy industry, especially with respect to electricity and gas. Several directives have been adopted that are aimed at the promotion of competition in this key sector of the European economy. At thesame time, the jurisprudence of the European Court had developed further on matters such as access to networks, import and export monopolies and security of supply.In this book the authors examine the principal legislation, Treaty provisions and decisions of the Court of Justice and Court of First Instance of the EU as they related to the promotion of competition in European energy markets. In particular, two chapters are devoted to a detailed analysis of theprovisions of the two directives that set out common rules for the creation of an internal market in the electricity and gas sectors. In each case, the analysis is set in the context of the various programmes of energy market liberalization and privatization in the Member States, which aresummarized in this book. However, the authors also take the wider pan-European context into account, explaining the requirements and the implications of the European Economic Area Agreement, the Energy Charter Treaty and the Europe Agreements with countries of Central and Eastern Europe.The approach adopted by the authors is both analytical and historical. They locate the legislation in the context of the EU Internal Market programme that began in the late 1980s and explain the roles played by the various parties (energy industries, consumers and EU institutions) in shaping thefinal legislation. Importantly, they explain how the framework character of the energy directives has led to further important rule-making in the implementation of the directives across the EU. They conclude that a co-ordinated response between the European Commission and the national regulatorswill be essential to resolve problems arising in the transition to a competitive energy market in the EU.

Research Handbook on the Economics of Antitrust Law

Author: Einer Elhauge
Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing
ISBN: 9780857938091
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Law

One might mistakenly think that the long tradition of economic analysis in antitrust law would mean there is little new to say. Yet the field is surprisingly dynamic and changing. The specially commissioned chapters in this landmark volume offer a rigorous analysis of the field's most current and contentious issues. Focusing on those areas of antitrust economics that are most in flux, leading scholars discuss topics such as: mergers that create unilateral effects or eliminate potential competition; whether market definition is necessary; tying, bundled discounts, and loyalty discounts; a new theory of predatory pricing; assessing vertical price-fixing after Leegin; proving horizontal agreements after Twombly; modern analysis of monopsony power; the economics of antitrust enforcement; international antitrust issues; antitrust in regulated industries; the antitrust-patent intersection; and modern methods for measuring antitrust damages. Students and scholars of law and economics, law practitioners, regulators, and economists with an interest in industrial organization and consulting will find this seminal Handbook an essential and informative resource.