Fat

Author: Jennifer McLagan
Publisher:
ISBN: 1906417466
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Cooking

For all of history, minus the last thirty years, fat has been at the centre of human diets and cultures. McLagan sets out with equal parts passion, scholarship and appetite to win us back to a healthy relationship with animal fats. She achieves this through enlightening us with the many ways fat is indispensable to our health and by demonstrating, through a range of delicious recipes, how fat is fundamental to the flavour of our food. Observing that we may now know everything about olive oil, we may not know what to do with lard or bone marrow, McLagan offers extensive guidance on sourcing, rendering, flavouring, using and storing animal fats, whether bacon, schmaltz or suet. Stories, lore, quotations and tips round out this rich and unapologetic celebration of food at its very best. The book is divided into sections by type of fat – Butter (worth it), Pork Fat (the king), Poultry Fat (versatile and good for you), Beef and Lamb Fats (overlooked but tasty)– and each chapter opens with a comprehensive description of the history, the types and the uses of each type of fat followed by a range of fabulous recipes. Jennifer McLagan is a chef and a much sought –after food stylist and writer who has worked around the world, including Paris, London and Australia. Her first book Bones (2005) was widely acclaimed and won the James Beard award for single subject food writing. She is a regular contributor to Fine Cooking and Food & Drink. She currently lives in Toronto with her husband.

Animal Fats

Author: Source Wikipedia
Publisher: University-Press.org
ISBN: 123055954X
Release Date: 2013-09
Genre:

Please note that the content of this book primarily consists of articles available from Wikipedia or other free sources online. Pages: 44. Chapters: Animal fat. Chicken fat. Cod liver oil. Crocodile fat. Crocodile oil. Dippel's oil. Emu oil. Fat: An Appreciation of a Misunderstood Ingredient, with Recipes. Fish oil. Neatsfoot oil. Shark liver oil. Skunk oil. Vaccenic acid. Whale oil. .

Salt Fat Acid Heat

Author: Samin Nosrat
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781476753850
Release Date: 2017-04-25
Genre: Cooking

Now a Netflix series! New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple ICAP Cookbook Awards Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more. A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters. In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need. With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

Food Lit A Reader s Guide to Epicurean Nonfiction

Author: Melissa Brackney Stoeger
Publisher: ABC-CLIO
ISBN: 9781610693769
Release Date: 2013-01-08
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

An essential tool for assisting leisure readers interested in topics surrounding food, this unique book contains annotations and read-alikes for hundreds of nonfiction titles about the joys of comestibles and cooking.

The Whole Coconut Cookbook

Author: Nathalie Fraise
Publisher: Ten Speed Press
ISBN: 9781607748069
Release Date: 2016-01-26
Genre: Cooking

This beautiful and inspiring recipe collection helps you incorporate nature’s perfect superfood—the coconut—into your everyday cooking. From tangy coconut yogurt for breakfast to creamy coconut curry for dinner, The Whole Coconut Cookbook showcases infinite ways to enjoy this nutrition-packed fruit. With all of their creamy goodness and adaptability, coconuts are an indispensable ingredient in many recipes, from smoothies and curries to cakes and salads. Moreover, they are an incredible superfood, providing essential nutrients and healthy fats in recipes that are naturally gluten-free and dairy-free. In The Whole Coconut Cookbook, this amazing fruit is celebrated in all its glory, from the familiar coconut water, coconut oil, and sugar, to creamy coconut milk and coconut aminos. These ingredients shine in delicious recipes like Coconut, Ginger, and Cilantro Mussels; Coconut Sesame Noodles with Baby Bok Choy and Tamarind Dressing; Spicy Coconut Chips; and Coconut Orange Cookies. With a primer on the different parts of the fruit and a guide for using fresh coconuts at home, this beautiful book is perfect for anyone looking to incorporate this nutritional powerhouse into their every day home cooking. From the Hardcover edition.

The Fat Kitchen

Author: Andrea Chesman
Publisher: Storey Publishing
ISBN: 9781612129136
Release Date: 2018-11-13
Genre: Cooking

Animal fats are being welcomed back into the kitchen! Chefs and home cooks alike are rediscovering how fats create amazing texture — from the flakiest lard pie crust to the crispiest fried chicken — and define the flavor of a dish like authentic clam chowder with salt pork or duck fat French fries. The Fat Kitchen is the comprehensive guide to rendering and using whole animal fats, including lard, tallow, and poultry fat. Cooks will learn the distinctive qualities and best uses of each fat along with methods for curing and storing them. In addition, 100 scrumptious recipes highlight traditional cultural favorites like matzoh ball soup, pasta carbonara, pork tamales, roast beef with Yorkshire pudding, Southern-style collards, confit chicken, New England baked beans, and jelly doughnuts.

Die Tochter des Pilgers

Author: Stephen R. Lawhead
Publisher: Bastei Lübbe (Bastei Verlag)
ISBN: 3404152328
Release Date: 2005-02-04
Genre: Fiction

Der Abschluss der großen Saga um die keltischen Kreuzzüge - für alle Freunde von Noah Gordon und Ken FollettIn der Hagia Sophia zu Konstantinopel wird der Vater des Mädchens Caitríona von einem vermummten Tempelritter ermordet. Auf der Suche nach dem Mörder fällt Cait ein Dokument in die Hände, auf welchem der Ort verzeichnet ist, an dem sich ein geheimnisvoller Schatz befinden soll. Man nennt ihn die mystische Rose. Ist es der Heilige Gral, der Abendmahlskelch Jesu Christi? Mit einer Truppe von Nordmännern, die sie aus den Händen der Sarazenen freikauft, sticht Caitríona in See. Der Weg führt sie in das maurische Spanien - bis hin zum geheimsten Ort der Christenheit. Doch der rachsüchtige Templer, der sie und ihre Familie vernichten will, bleibt ihr auf der Spur ...

Saucen

Author: Michel Roux
Publisher:
ISBN: 3865287565
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Cookbooks

Die Bandbreite geht von Champagnersaucen über Béarnaise, scharfen Salsas bis zu süssen Saucen. Zu einigen werden dazu die passenden Rezepte geliefert. Mit Serviertipps, Buttermischungen, Mayonnaisen.

Quill Quire

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: NWU:35556038763397
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Book industries and trade