Flatland

Author: Edwin Abbott Abbott
Publisher:
ISBN: OXFORD:504202402
Release Date: 1884
Genre: FICTION

Considered both a satire and a science fiction novella, Abbott's Flatland experiments with the idea of various dimensions in time and space.

Spaceland

Author: Rudy Rucker
Publisher: Tor Books
ISBN: 1429980079
Release Date: 2003-07-04
Genre: Fiction

Joe Cube is a Silicon Valley hotshot--well, a would-be hotshot anyway--hoping that the 3-D TV project he's managing will lead to the big money IPO he's always dreamed of. On New Year's Eve, hoping to impress his wife, he sneaks home the prototype. It brings no new warmth to their cooling relationship, but it does attract someone else's attention. When Joe sees a set of lips talking to him (floating in midair) and feels the poke of a disembodied finger (inside him), it's not because of the champagne he's drunk. He has just met Momo, a woman from the All, a world of four spatial dimensions for whom our narrow world, which she calls Spaceland, is something like a rug, but one filled with motion and life. Momo has a business proposition for Joe, an offer she won't let him refuse. The upside potential becomes much clearer to him once she helps him grow a new eye (on a stalk) that can see in the fourth-dimensional directions, and he agrees. After that it's a wild ride through a million-dollar night in Las Vegas, a budding addiction to tasty purple 4-D food, a failing marriage, eye-popping excursions into the All, and encounters with Momo's foes, rubbery red critters who steal money, offer sage advice and sometimes messily explode. Joe is having the time of his life, until Momo's scheme turns out to have angles he couldn't have imagined. Suddenly the fate of all life here in Spaceland is at stake. Rudy Rucker is a past master at turning mathematical concepts into rollicking science fiction adventure, from Spacetime Donuts and White Light to The Hacker and the Ants. In the tradition of Edwin A. Abbott's classic novel, Flatland, Rucker gives us a tour of higher mathematics and visionary realities. Spaceland is Flatland on hyperdrive! At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Geometry Relativity and the Fourth Dimension

Author: Rudolf Rucker
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486140339
Release Date: 2012-06-08
Genre: Science

Exposition of fourth dimension, concepts of relativity as Flatland characters continue adventures. Topics include curved space time as a higher dimension, special relativity, and shape of space-time. Includes 141 illustrations.

How Old Is the Universe

Author: David A. Weintraub
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 0691147310
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Science

"Tells the story of how astronomers solved one of the most compelling mysteries in science and, along the way, introduces readers to fundamental concepts and cutting-edge advances in modern astronomy"--From publisher description.

Taxicab Geometry

Author: Eugene F. Krause
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486136066
Release Date: 2012-04-30
Genre: Mathematics

Fascinating, accessible introduction to unusual mathematical system in which distance is not measured by straight lines. Illustrated topics include applications to urban geography and comparisons to Euclidean geometry. Selected answers to problems.

Flatterland

Author: Ian Stewart
Publisher: Basic Books
ISBN: 9780786723287
Release Date: 2008-08-01
Genre: Science

First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

The Planiverse

Author: A.K. Dewdney
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9781461301998
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Science

A classic book about life in a two-dimensional universe, written by a well-known author. Now brought back into print in this revised and updated edition, the book is written within the great tradition of Abbott's Flatland, and Hinton's famous Sphereland. Accessible, imaginative, and clever, it will appeal to a wide array of readers, from serious mathematicians and computer scientists, to science fiction fans.

The Shape of Space

Author: Jeffrey R. Weeks
Publisher: CRC Press
ISBN: 9780824748371
Release Date: 2001-12-12
Genre: Mathematics

Maintaining the standard of excellence set by the previous edition, this textbook covers the basic geometry of two- and three-dimensional spaces Written by a master expositor, leading researcher in the field, and MacArthur Fellow, it includes experiments to determine the true shape of the universe and contains illustrated examples and engaging exercises that teach mind-expanding ideas in an intuitive and informal way. Bridging the gap from geometry to the latest work in observational cosmology, the book illustrates the connection between geometry and the behavior of the physical universe and explains how radiation remaining from the big bang may reveal the actual shape of the universe.

Fantasia Mathematica

Author: Clifton Fadiman
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 0387949313
Release Date: 1997-04-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Presents a collection of stories, essays, and anecdotes that revolve around the field of mathematics.

The Fourth Dimension

Author: Rudy von Bitter Rucker
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0395393884
Release Date: 1985
Genre: Science

A detailed description of what the fourth dimension would be like.

The Tao of Physics

Author: Fritjof Capra
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: 9781590308356
Release Date: 2010
Genre: Philosophy

Studies similarities between the concept of a harmonious universe that emerges from the theories of modern physics and the vision of a continuously interactive world conceived by Eastern mystics.

Imagining the Tenth Dimension

Author: Rob Bryanton
Publisher: Talking Dog Studios
ISBN: 9780978039707
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Anthropic principle

"A fascinating excursion into the multiverse - clear, elegant, personal, provocative." - (Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Greg Bear.) Read the book whose companion website (tenthdimension.com) has already achieved worldwide popularity.

Mr Tompkins in Paperback

Author: George Gamow
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 0521447712
Release Date: 1993-03-26
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

The layman is introduced to modern physics when a personable bank clerk, interested in scientific matters, has fantastic adventures

Alice in Quantumland

Author: Robert Gilmore
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 0387914951
Release Date: 1995-07-21
Genre: Computers

Hurry, hurry, hurry! Step right up! Welcome to Quantumland! Fall into an atom and dodge electrons! See the amazing Emperor think his clothes into existence! Dance with the Three Quark Brothers at the Particle MASSquerade! An you need is a sense of adventure-no mathematics required! Alice in Quantumland is Robert Gilmore's amazing fantasy ride through the landscape of quantum physics-the interrelated group of theories on the nature of subatomic particles that modern scientists use to, explain the physical universe. Through the allegory of Alice's adventures and encounters, Gilmore makes the essential features of the quantum world clear and accessible. It is a thrilling introduction to some essential, often difficult-to-grasp concepts about the world we inhabit. You've heard about Alice's adventures through the looking glass. Well, Alice is about to embark on another amazing journey. She's going to shrink again-to the size of a nuclear particle-but she's not going down the rabbit hole. She's headed for Quantumland. And what is Quantumland? Think of it as an intellectual amusement park smaller than an atom, where every ride, game, and attraction demonstrates a different aspect of quantum mechanics-the often baffling, always intriguing theoretical framework that seems to provide the most accurate explanations of the way things arc in the physical world. In this masterful blend of fantasy and science, Robert Gilmore uses the allegory of Alice's travels to make the uncertainty principle, Pauli's principle, high-energy particle physics, and other crucial parts of quantum theory accessible and exciting. Once in Quantumland, Alice experiences various quantum effects (at one point going backward in time and running into herself). She also meets a number of strange characters who help her (and you) understand the nature of the quantum world. There is: * the Uncertain Accountant, whose attempts to balance the books at the Heisenberg Energy Bank arc being flummoxed by energy fluctuations; * the State Agent, Who shows Alice how atoms can bc two places at once; * the Three Quark Brothers, who take Alice around the floor in one of the Castle Rutherford's famous Collider Dances; * the Emperor, whose conscious mind makes his new clothes real; and more. Cleverly conceived and written, and delightfully illustrated, Alice in Quantumland brings some crucial yet often elusive scientific concepts within reach of the everyday reader. You don't need to know much about mathematics to follow our heroine's escapades. There is only one equation in the entire book! All you need is a taste for intellectual adventure and healthy curiosity about the world around us.