Flatland

Author: Edwin A. Abbott
Publisher: Xist Publishing
ISBN: 9781681951676
Release Date: 2015-07-02
Genre: Fiction

An Early Science Fiction Novel that is still Educational and Enjoyable “Imagine a vast sheet of paper on which straight Lines, Triangles, Squares, Pentagons, Hexagons, and other figures, instead of remaining fixed in their places, move freely about, on or in the surface, but without the power of rising above or sinking below it, very much like shadows—only hard with luminous edges—and you will then have a pretty correct notion of my country and countrymen. ” ― Edwin A. Abbott, Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions Flatland by Edwin A. Abbot is a curious work of science and mathematical fiction. In the novel, the narrator named A. Square is a mathematician and resident of the two-dimensional Flatland. In Flatland, women are thin, straight lines (the lowliest of shapes), and men may have any number of sides, depending on their social status.

The Annotated Flatland

Author: Ian Stewart
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780786721832
Release Date: 2008-07-31
Genre: Science

Flatland is a unique, delightful satire that has charmed readers for over a century. Published in 1884 by the English clergyman and headmaster Edwin A. Abbott, it is the fanciful tale of A. Square, a two-dimensional being who is whisked away by a mysterious visitor to The Land of Three Dimensions, an experience that forever alters his worldview. Like the original, Ian Stewart's commentary takes readers on a strange and wonderful journey. With clarity and wit, Stewart illuminates Abbott's numerous Victorian references and touches on such diverse topics as ancient Babylon, Karl Marx, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Mt. Everest, H.G. Wells, and phrenology. The Annotated Flatland makes fascinating connections between Flatland and Abbott's era, resulting in a classic to rival Abbott's own, and a book that will inspire and delight curious readers for generations to come.

Spaceland

Author: Rudy Rucker
Publisher: Tor Books
ISBN: 1429980079
Release Date: 2003-07-04
Genre: Fiction

Joe Cube is a Silicon Valley hotshot--well, a would-be hotshot anyway--hoping that the 3-D TV project he's managing will lead to the big money IPO he's always dreamed of. On New Year's Eve, hoping to impress his wife, he sneaks home the prototype. It brings no new warmth to their cooling relationship, but it does attract someone else's attention. When Joe sees a set of lips talking to him (floating in midair) and feels the poke of a disembodied finger (inside him), it's not because of the champagne he's drunk. He has just met Momo, a woman from the All, a world of four spatial dimensions for whom our narrow world, which she calls Spaceland, is something like a rug, but one filled with motion and life. Momo has a business proposition for Joe, an offer she won't let him refuse. The upside potential becomes much clearer to him once she helps him grow a new eye (on a stalk) that can see in the fourth-dimensional directions, and he agrees. After that it's a wild ride through a million-dollar night in Las Vegas, a budding addiction to tasty purple 4-D food, a failing marriage, eye-popping excursions into the All, and encounters with Momo's foes, rubbery red critters who steal money, offer sage advice and sometimes messily explode. Joe is having the time of his life, until Momo's scheme turns out to have angles he couldn't have imagined. Suddenly the fate of all life here in Spaceland is at stake. Rudy Rucker is a past master at turning mathematical concepts into rollicking science fiction adventure, from Spacetime Donuts and White Light to The Hacker and the Ants. In the tradition of Edwin A. Abbott's classic novel, Flatland, Rucker gives us a tour of higher mathematics and visionary realities. Spaceland is Flatland on hyperdrive! At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Geometry Relativity and the Fourth Dimension

Author: Rudolf Rucker
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486140339
Release Date: 2012-06-08
Genre: Science

Exposition of fourth dimension, concepts of relativity as Flatland characters continue adventures. Topics include curved space time as a higher dimension, special relativity, and shape of space-time. Includes 141 illustrations.

How Old Is the Universe

Author: David A. Weintraub
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 0691147310
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Science

"Tells the story of how astronomers solved one of the most compelling mysteries in science and, along the way, introduces readers to fundamental concepts and cutting-edge advances in modern astronomy"--From publisher description.

The Fourth Dimension Toward a Geometry of Higher Reality

Author: Rudy Rucker
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486779782
Release Date: 2014-09-17
Genre: Science

One of the most talented contemporary authors of cutting-edge math and science books conducts a fascinating tour of a higher reality, the Fourth Dimension. Includes problems, puzzles, and 200 drawings. "Informative and mind-dazzling." — Martin Gardner.

Flatterland

Author: Ian Stewart
Publisher: Basic Books
ISBN: 9780786723287
Release Date: 2008-08-01
Genre: Science

First there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls "a superb sequel." Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatterland explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

The Shakespeare Conspiracy

Author: Ted Bacino
Publisher: AuthorHouse
ISBN: 1452050678
Release Date: 2010-07-13
Genre: Fiction

The Shakespeare Conspiracy Historical Fiction TWO QUESTIONS HAVE ALWAYS PLAGUED HISTORIANS: HOW COULD Christopher Marlowe, a known spy and England's foremost playwright, be suspiciously murdered and quickly buried in an unmarked grave — just days before he was to be tried for treason? HOW COULD William Shakespeare replace Marlowe as England's greatest playwright virtually overnight — when Shakespeare had never written anything before and was merely an unknown actor? Historians have noted that the Bard of Stratford was better known at that time “for holding horses for the gentry while they watched plays.” The Shakespeare Conspiracy is a historical novel that intertwines the two mysteries and then puts the pieces together to offer the only possible resolution. The novel, a wild romp through gay 16th Century Elizabethan England, is a rapidly unfolding detective story filled with comedy, intrigue, murder and illicit love. And most importantly, all recorded events, persons, dates and documents are historically accurate. You will... Get the scandalous view of the real William Shakespeare, with his sexual peccadilloes, illegitimate children and mistresses... Wander through the gay world of Christopher Marlowe, when it was acceptable to be homosexual just so long as one stayed within one's own class — as did Kings like James I, Edward II, and others... Observe Inspector Henry Maunder matching wits with Christopher Marlowe's patron, Sir Thomas Walsingham — one cleverly hiding the facts and other cunningly discovering the truth... Watch the arguments unfold, showing the actual reasons that many historians believe that it could only have been Christopher Marlowe writing all those great works. It's a tale of murder, mayhem and manhunts in the underbelly of London as the Black Plague scourges the country and the greatest conspiracy plot of all time is hatched. It's... The Shakespeare Conspiracy! www.ShakespeareConspiracy.com

Science Fiction

Author: Eric S. Rabkin
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 0195032721
Release Date: 1983-09-29
Genre: Literary Criticism

Science fiction stories dealing with the effects of technology on civilization include authors ranging from Jonathan Swift and Nathaniel Hawthorne to Isaac Asimov and Harlan Ellison

Edith Wharton The Dover Reader

Author: Wharton, Edith
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486791210
Release Date: 2015-01-14
Genre: Literary Collections

Born into wealth and aristocracy, Edith Wharton (1862–1937) was a member as well as an observer of fashionable New York society. Aspirations to authorship consigned her to outsider status among the idle rich; nevertheless, she drew upon her privileged social position to create witty and psychologically insightful novels and short stories about people from all walks of life. This well-rounded introduction to Wharton's works features the complete text of her Pulitzer Prize–winning novel, The Age of Innocence, as well as her haunting novella, Ethan Frome. Several excerpts from her highly influential guide to interior design, The Decoration of Houses, offer samples of Wharton's nonfiction style. The collection also includes four short stories as well as several poems.

A Wonder Book

Author: Nathaniel Hawthorne
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486111353
Release Date: 2012-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Evil creatures, magical feats, and exciting adventures abound in this captivating archive of 6 classic tales, retold by one of America's great writers.

An Ideal Husband

Author: Oscar Wilde
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486131207
Release Date: 2012-04-20
Genre: Drama

Scintillating drawing-room comedy revolves around a blackmail scheme that forces a married couple to reexamine their moral standards. The dialogue between young lovers, society matrons, and a formidable femme fatale keeps the action brisk.

Pamela

Author: Samuel Richardson
Publisher: Courier Dover Publications
ISBN: 9780486805788
Release Date: 2015-06-09
Genre: Fiction

In a series of letters to her parents, 15-year-old Pamela Andrews recounts her tribulations as a servant in the house of Mr. B. The infatuated master's repeated attempts at seduction―foiled again and again by the quick-witted maid―lead to Pamela's abduction and imprisonment in a remote country house, where the unlikely couple truly come to know one another. Samuel Richardson, one of England's early novelists, published Pamela; or, Virtue Rewarded anonymously in 1740. The first bestseller in English fiction, Pamela excited a storm of controversy, in which it was both denounced as thinly veiled pornography and praised for setting an example of righteous conduct. Its publication marks a defining moment in the development of the modern novel, in which the genre suddenly and irrevocably developed the potential for moral seriousness. Three centuries later, Richardson's novel remains an engaging tale of psychological complexity.