Flatland

Author: Edwin A. Abbott
Publisher: Garrett County Press
ISBN: 9781891053542
Release Date: 2011-11-02
Genre: Fiction

One of the greatest science fiction books ever written; Flatland is now available with new illustrations from brilliant illustrator Kevin Stone. Follow the Flatland narrator as he discovers new lands, people and dimensions in a witty and inspiring fantasy. Not only an insightful introduction to the fourth dimension or a biting satire of Victorian England, Flatland is an unforgettable reminder of how imagination can transcend material reality, politics and ignorance.

Flatland

Author: Edwin Abbott
Publisher: Broadview Press
ISBN: 9781770481299
Release Date: 2009-11-13
Genre: Fiction

Flatland (1884) is an influential mathematical fantasy that simultaneously provides an introduction to non-Euclidean geometry and a satire on the Victorian class structure, issues of science and faith, and the role of women. A classic of early science fiction, the novel takes place in a world of two dimensions where all the characters are geometric shapes. The narrator, A Square, is a naïve, respectable citizen who is faced with proof of the existence of three dimensions when he is visited by a sphere and is forced to see the limitations of his world. The introduction to this Broadview Edition provides context for the book’s references to Victorian culture and religion, mathematical history, and the history of philosophy. The appendices contain contemporary reviews; extracts from the work of fellow mathematical fantasy writer/mathematician Charles Hinton; Hermann von Helmboltz’s “The Axioms of Geometry” (1870); and autobiographical passages from Abbott’s The Kernel and the Husk (1886).

Flatland

Author: Edwin A. Abbot
Publisher:
ISBN: 1618950150
Release Date: 2012-01-01
Genre: Computers

Very popular amongst mathematics, physics, and computer science students, Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions is an 1884 satirical novella by the English schoolmaster Edwin Abbott. Writing pseudonymously as "a square," Abbott used the fictional two-dimensional world of Flatland to offer pointed observations on the social hierarchy of Victorian culture. However, the novella's more enduring contribution is its examination of dimensions; in a foreword to one of the many publications of the novella, noted science writer Isaac Asimov described Flatland as "The best introduction one can find into the manner of perceiving dimensions" Several films have been made from the story, including a feature film in 2007 called Flatland. Other efforts have been short or experimental films, including one narrated by Dudley Moore and a short film with Martin Sheen titled Flatland: The Movie.

Geometry Relativity and the Fourth Dimension

Author: Rudolf Rucker
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486140339
Release Date: 2012-06-08
Genre: Science

Exposition of fourth dimension, concepts of relativity as Flatland characters continue adventures. Topics include curved space time as a higher dimension, special relativity, and shape of space-time. Includes 141 illustrations.

Spaceland

Author: Rudy Rucker
Publisher: Tor Books
ISBN: 1429980079
Release Date: 2003-07-04
Genre: Fiction

Joe Cube is a Silicon Valley hotshot--well, a would-be hotshot anyway--hoping that the 3-D TV project he's managing will lead to the big money IPO he's always dreamed of. On New Year's Eve, hoping to impress his wife, he sneaks home the prototype. It brings no new warmth to their cooling relationship, but it does attract someone else's attention. When Joe sees a set of lips talking to him (floating in midair) and feels the poke of a disembodied finger (inside him), it's not because of the champagne he's drunk. He has just met Momo, a woman from the All, a world of four spatial dimensions for whom our narrow world, which she calls Spaceland, is something like a rug, but one filled with motion and life. Momo has a business proposition for Joe, an offer she won't let him refuse. The upside potential becomes much clearer to him once she helps him grow a new eye (on a stalk) that can see in the fourth-dimensional directions, and he agrees. After that it's a wild ride through a million-dollar night in Las Vegas, a budding addiction to tasty purple 4-D food, a failing marriage, eye-popping excursions into the All, and encounters with Momo's foes, rubbery red critters who steal money, offer sage advice and sometimes messily explode. Joe is having the time of his life, until Momo's scheme turns out to have angles he couldn't have imagined. Suddenly the fate of all life here in Spaceland is at stake. Rudy Rucker is a past master at turning mathematical concepts into rollicking science fiction adventure, from Spacetime Donuts and White Light to The Hacker and the Ants. In the tradition of Edwin A. Abbott's classic novel, Flatland, Rucker gives us a tour of higher mathematics and visionary realities. Spaceland is Flatland on hyperdrive! At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Shadows of Reality

Author: Tony Robbin
Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 0300129629
Release Date: 2008-10-01
Genre: Art

In this insightful book, which is a revisionist math history as well as a revisionist art history, Tony Robbin, well known for his innovative computer visualizations of hyperspace, investigates different models of the fourth dimension and how these are applied in art and physics. Robbin explores the distinction between the slicing, or Flatland, model and the projection, or shadow, model. He compares the history of these two models and their uses and misuses in popular discussions. Robbin breaks new ground with his original argument that Picasso used the projection model to invent cubism, and that Minkowski had four-dimensional projective geometry in mind when he structured special relativity. The discussion is brought to the present with an exposition of the projection model in the most creative ideas about space in contemporary mathematics such as twisters, quasicrystals, and quantum topology. Robbin clarifies these esoteric concepts with understandable drawings and diagrams. Robbin proposes that the powerful role of projective geometry in the development of current mathematical ideas has been long overlooked and that our attachment to the slicing model is essentially a conceptual block that hinders progress in understanding contemporary models of spacetime. He offers a fascinating review of how projective ideas are the source of some of today’s most exciting developments in art, math, physics, and computer visualization.

How Old Is the Universe

Author: David A. Weintraub
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 0691147310
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Science

"Tells the story of how astronomers solved one of the most compelling mysteries in science and, along the way, introduces readers to fundamental concepts and cutting-edge advances in modern astronomy"--From publisher description.

Taxicab Geometry

Author: Eugene F. Krause
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486136066
Release Date: 2012-04-30
Genre: Mathematics

Fascinating, accessible introduction to unusual mathematical system in which distance is not measured by straight lines. Illustrated topics include applications to urban geography and comparisons to Euclidean geometry. Selected answers to problems.

The Fourth Dimension Toward a Geometry of Higher Reality

Author: Rudy Rucker
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486798196
Release Date: 2014-08-18
Genre: Science

One of the most talented contemporary authors of cutting-edge math and science books conducts a fascinating tour of a higher reality, the fourth dimension. Includes problems, puzzles, and 200 drawings. "Informative and mind-dazzling." — Martin Gardner.

The Planiverse

Author: A.K. Dewdney
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9781461301998
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Science

A classic book about life in a two-dimensional universe, written by a well-known author. Now brought back into print in this revised and updated edition, the book is written within the great tradition of Abbott's Flatland, and Hinton's famous Sphereland. Accessible, imaginative, and clever, it will appeal to a wide array of readers, from serious mathematicians and computer scientists, to science fiction fans.

Flatland

Author: David Sayre
Publisher: two little birds
ISBN: 1937721523
Release Date: 2014-08
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A beautifully illustrated, read-aloud picture book about connection and loss for people of all ages

Imagining the Tenth Dimension

Author: Rob Bryanton
Publisher: Talking Dog Studios
ISBN: 9780978039707
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Anthropic principle

"A fascinating excursion into the multiverse - clear, elegant, personal, provocative." - (Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Greg Bear.) Read the book whose companion website (tenthdimension.com) has already achieved worldwide popularity.

Flatterland

Author: Ian Stewart
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com
ISBN: 9781458716545
Release Date: 2010-10-08
Genre:

first there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls ''a superb sequel.'' Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatter land explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

Flatland See Flatland

Author: Yvan Martinez
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780957350922
Release Date: 2015-01-06
Genre:

Flatland, see Flatlandblends three genres - the annotated novel, the parallel novel and the reimagined classic - into a fantastical editionof the 1884 science fiction novellaFlatland: A Romance of Many Dimensionsby Edward Abbott Abbott. Twelve designers collaborated to produce areading experience that is both idiosyncratic and systematic. Abbott's original text is juxtaposed with graphic intrusions, marginalia andsubplots guaranteed to engage readers of all dimensions 'throughout the universe, in perpetuity'.