Flatland

Author: Edwin Abbott Abbott
Publisher:
ISBN: OXFORD:504202402
Release Date: 1884
Genre: FICTION

Considered both a satire and a science fiction novella, Abbott's Flatland experiments with the idea of various dimensions in time and space.

Flatland

Author: Edwin A. Abbott
Publisher: Garrett County Press
ISBN: 9781891053542
Release Date: 2011-11-02
Genre: Fiction

One of the greatest science fiction books ever written; Flatland is now available with new illustrations from brilliant illustrator Kevin Stone. Follow the Flatland narrator as he discovers new lands, people and dimensions in a witty and inspiring fantasy. Not only an insightful introduction to the fourth dimension or a biting satire of Victorian England, Flatland is an unforgettable reminder of how imagination can transcend material reality, politics and ignorance.

Spaceland

Author: Rudy Rucker
Publisher: Tor Books
ISBN: 1429980079
Release Date: 2003-07-04
Genre: Fiction

Joe Cube is a Silicon Valley hotshot--well, a would-be hotshot anyway--hoping that the 3-D TV project he's managing will lead to the big money IPO he's always dreamed of. On New Year's Eve, hoping to impress his wife, he sneaks home the prototype. It brings no new warmth to their cooling relationship, but it does attract someone else's attention. When Joe sees a set of lips talking to him (floating in midair) and feels the poke of a disembodied finger (inside him), it's not because of the champagne he's drunk. He has just met Momo, a woman from the All, a world of four spatial dimensions for whom our narrow world, which she calls Spaceland, is something like a rug, but one filled with motion and life. Momo has a business proposition for Joe, an offer she won't let him refuse. The upside potential becomes much clearer to him once she helps him grow a new eye (on a stalk) that can see in the fourth-dimensional directions, and he agrees. After that it's a wild ride through a million-dollar night in Las Vegas, a budding addiction to tasty purple 4-D food, a failing marriage, eye-popping excursions into the All, and encounters with Momo's foes, rubbery red critters who steal money, offer sage advice and sometimes messily explode. Joe is having the time of his life, until Momo's scheme turns out to have angles he couldn't have imagined. Suddenly the fate of all life here in Spaceland is at stake. Rudy Rucker is a past master at turning mathematical concepts into rollicking science fiction adventure, from Spacetime Donuts and White Light to The Hacker and the Ants. In the tradition of Edwin A. Abbott's classic novel, Flatland, Rucker gives us a tour of higher mathematics and visionary realities. Spaceland is Flatland on hyperdrive! At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Geometry Relativity and the Fourth Dimension

Author: Rudolf Rucker
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486140339
Release Date: 2012-06-08
Genre: Science

Exposition of fourth dimension, concepts of relativity as Flatland characters continue adventures. Topics include curved space time as a higher dimension, special relativity, and shape of space-time. Includes 141 illustrations.

How Old Is the Universe

Author: David A. Weintraub
Publisher: Princeton University Press
ISBN: 0691147310
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Science

"Tells the story of how astronomers solved one of the most compelling mysteries in science and, along the way, introduces readers to fundamental concepts and cutting-edge advances in modern astronomy"--From publisher description.

Sphereland

Author: Dionys Burger
Publisher:
ISBN: OCLC:42705257
Release Date: 1994
Genre: Expanding universe


Taxicab Geometry

Author: Eugene F. Krause
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486136066
Release Date: 2012-04-30
Genre: Mathematics

Fascinating, accessible introduction to unusual mathematical system in which distance is not measured by straight lines. Illustrated topics include applications to urban geography and comparisons to Euclidean geometry. Selected answers to problems.

Flatterland

Author: Ian Stewart
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com
ISBN: 9781458716545
Release Date: 2010-10-08
Genre:

first there was Edwin A. Abbott's remarkable Flatland, published in 1884, and one of the all-time classics of popular mathematics. Now, from mathematician and accomplished science writer Ian Stewart, comes what Nature calls ''a superb sequel.'' Through larger-than-life characters and an inspired story line, Flatter land explores our present understanding of the shape and origins of the universe, the nature of space, time, and matter, as well as modern geometries and their applications. The journey begins when our heroine, Victoria Line, comes upon her great-great-grandfather A. Square's diary, hidden in the attic. The writings help her to contact the Space Hopper, who tempts her away from her home and family in Flatland and becomes her guide and mentor through ten dimensions. In the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Phantom Toll Booth, this magnificent investigation into the nature of reality is destined to become a modern classic.

The Fourth Dimension Toward a Geometry of Higher Reality

Author: Rudy Rucker
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486798196
Release Date: 2014-08-18
Genre: Science

One of the most talented contemporary authors of cutting-edge math and science books conducts a fascinating tour of a higher reality, the fourth dimension. Includes problems, puzzles, and 200 drawings. "Informative and mind-dazzling." — Martin Gardner.

Euclid s Window

Author: Leonard Mlodinow
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1439135371
Release Date: 2010-09-28
Genre: Science

Through Euclid's Window Leonard Mlodinow brilliantly and delightfully leads us on a journey through five revolutions in geometry, from the Greek concept of parallel lines to the latest notions of hyperspace. Here is an altogether new, refreshing, alternative history of math revealing how simple questions anyone might ask about space -- in the living room or in some other galaxy -- have been the hidden engine of the highest achievements in science and technology. Based on Mlodinow's extensive historical research; his studies alongside colleagues such as Richard Feynman and Kip Thorne; and interviews with leading physicists and mathematicians such as Murray Gell-Mann, Edward Witten, and Brian Greene, Euclid's Window is an extraordinary blend of rigorous, authoritative investigation and accessible, good-humored storytelling that makes a stunningly original argument asserting the primacy of geometry. For those who have looked through Euclid's Window, no space, no thing, and no time will ever be quite the same.

Flatland

Author: David Sayre
Publisher: two little birds
ISBN: 1937721523
Release Date: 2014-08
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A beautifully illustrated, read-aloud picture book about connection and loss for people of all ages

The Cosmic Code

Author: Heinz R. Pagels
Publisher: Courier Corporation
ISBN: 9780486485065
Release Date: 2012-02-15
Genre: Science

" This is one of the most important books on quantum mechanics ever written for lay readers, in which an eminent physicist and successful science writer, Heinz Pagels, discusses and explains the core concepts of physics without resorting to complicated mathematics. "Can be read by anyone. I heartily recommend it!" -- New York Times Book Review. 1982 edition"--

Flatland See Flatland

Author: Yvan Martinez
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780957350922
Release Date: 2015-01-06
Genre:

Flatland, see Flatlandblends three genres - the annotated novel, the parallel novel and the reimagined classic - into a fantastical editionof the 1884 science fiction novellaFlatland: A Romance of Many Dimensionsby Edward Abbott Abbott. Twelve designers collaborated to produce areading experience that is both idiosyncratic and systematic. Abbott's original text is juxtaposed with graphic intrusions, marginalia andsubplots guaranteed to engage readers of all dimensions 'throughout the universe, in perpetuity'.