Functions of One Complex Variable II

Author: John B. Conway
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9781461208174
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Mathematics

This book discusses a variety of problems which are usually treated in a second course on the theory of functions of one complex variable, the level being gauged for graduate students. It treats several topics in geometric function theory as well as potential theory in the plane, covering in particular: conformal equivalence for simply connected regions, conformal equivalence for finitely connected regions, analytic covering maps, de Branges' proof of the Bieberbach conjecture, harmonic functions, Hardy spaces on the disk, potential theory in the plane. A knowledge of integration theory and functional analysis is assumed.

Harmonic Analysis the Trace Formula and Shimura Varieties

Author: Clay Mathematics Institute. Summer School
Publisher: American Mathematical Soc.
ISBN: 082183844X
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Mathematics

The modern theory of automorphic forms, embodied in what has come to be known as the Langlands program, is an extraordinary unifying force in mathematics. It proposes fundamental relations that tie arithmetic information from number theory and algebraic geometry with analytic information from harmonic analysis and group representations. These "reciprocity laws", conjectured by Langlands, are still largely unproved. However, their capacity to unite large areas of mathematics insures that they will be a central area of study for years to come. The goal of this volume is to provide an entry point into this exciting and challenging field. It is directed on the one hand at graduate students and professional mathematicians who would like to work in the area. The longer articles in particular represent an attempt to enable a reader to master some of the more difficult techniques. On the other hand, the book will also be useful to mathematicians who would like simply to understand something of the subject. They will be able to consult the expository portions of the various articles. The volume is centered around the trace formula and Shimura varieties. These areas are at the heart of the subject, but they have been especially difficult to learn because of a lack of expository material. The volume aims to rectify the problem. It is based on the courses given at the 2003 Clay Mathematics Institute Summer School. However, many of the articles have been expanded into comprehensive introductions, either to the trace formula or the theory of Shimura varieties, or to some aspect of the interplay and application of the two areas.

Several Complex Variables

Author: Raymond O'Neil Wells
Publisher: American Mathematical Soc.
ISBN: 9780821802502
Release Date: 1977
Genre: Mathematics

Contains sections on Noncompact complex manifolds, Differential geometry and complex analysis, Problems in approximation, Value distribution theory, Group representation and harmonic analysis, Survey papers.

Complex Analysis

Author: Eberhard Freitag
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9783540308232
Release Date: 2006-01-17
Genre: Mathematics

All needed notions are developed within the book: with the exception of fundamentals which are presented in introductory lectures, no other knowledge is assumed Provides a more in-depth introduction to the subject than other existing books in this area Over 400 exercises including hints for solutions are included

Functions of One Complex Variable I

Author: John B. Conway
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9781461263135
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Mathematics

"This book presents a basic introduction to complex analysis in both an interesting and a rigorous manner. It contains enough material for a full year's course, and the choice of material treated is reasonably standard and should be satisfactory for most first courses in complex analysis. The approach to each topic appears to be carefully thought out both as to mathematical treatment and pedagogical presentation, and the end result is a very satisfactory book." --MATHSCINET

Complex Analysis

Author: Rubí E. Rodríguez
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9781441973238
Release Date: 2012-11-28
Genre: Mathematics

The authors’ aim here is to present a precise and concise treatment of those parts of complex analysis that should be familiar to every research mathematician. They follow a path in the tradition of Ahlfors and Bers by dedicating the book to a very precise goal: the statement and proof of the Fundamental Theorem for functions of one complex variable. They discuss the many equivalent ways of understanding the concept of analyticity, and offer a leisure exploration of interesting consequences and applications. Readers should have had undergraduate courses in advanced calculus, linear algebra, and some abstract algebra. No background in complex analysis is required.

American Book Publishing Record Cumulative 1970 1974

Author: Bowker Editorial Staff
Publisher:
ISBN: 0835209113
Release Date: 1976
Genre:

Here's quick access to more than 490,000 titles published from 1970 to 1984 arranged in Dewey sequence with sections for Adult and Juvenile Fiction. Author and Title indexes are included, and a Subject Guide correlates primary subjects with Dewey and LC classification numbers. These cumulative records are available in three separate sets.

Theory of Complex Functions

Author: Reinhold Remmert
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9781461209393
Release Date: 2012-12-06
Genre: Mathematics

A lively and vivid look at the material from function theory, including the residue calculus, supported by examples and practice exercises throughout. There is also ample discussion of the historical evolution of the theory, biographical sketches of important contributors, and citations - in the original language with their English translation - from their classical works. Yet the book is far from being a mere history of function theory, and even experts will find a few new or long forgotten gems here. Destined to accompany students making their way into this classical area of mathematics, the book offers quick access to the essential results for exam preparation. Teachers and interested mathematicians in finance, industry and science will profit from reading this again and again, and will refer back to it with pleasure.

Complex Analysis

Author: Serge Lang
Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 9783642592737
Release Date: 2013-03-14
Genre: Mathematics

The present book is meant as a text for a course on complex analysis at the advanced undergraduate level, or first-year graduate level. The first half, more or less, can be used for a one-semester course addressed to undergraduates. The second half can be used for a second semester, at either level. Somewhat more material has been included than can be covered at leisure in one or two terms, to give opportunities for the instructor to exercise individual taste, and to lead the course in whatever directions strikes the instructor's fancy at the time as well as extra read ing material for students on their own. A large number of routine exer cises are included for the more standard portions, and a few harder exercises of striking theoretical interest are also included, but may be omitted in courses addressed to less advanced students. In some sense, I think the classical German prewar texts were the best (Hurwitz-Courant, Knopp, Bieberbach, etc. ) and I would recommend to anyone to look through them. More recent texts have emphasized connections with real analysis, which is important, but at the cost of exhibiting succinctly and clearly what is peculiar about complex analysis: the power series expansion, the uniqueness of analytic continuation, and the calculus of residues.

Complex Analysis

Author: Jane P. Gilman
Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media
ISBN: 9780387747156
Release Date: 2007-11-25
Genre: Mathematics

The authors’ aim here is to present a precise and concise treatment of those parts of complex analysis that should be familiar to every research mathematician. They follow a path in the tradition of Ahlfors and Bers by dedicating the book to a very precise goal: the statement and proof of the Fundamental Theorem for functions of one complex variable. They discuss the many equivalent ways of understanding the concept of analyticity, and offer a leisure exploration of interesting consequences and applications. Readers should have had undergraduate courses in advanced calculus, linear algebra, and some abstract algebra. No background in complex analysis is required.

The Library Journal

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015036912072
Release Date: 1962
Genre: Libraries

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Junior libraries, 1954-May 1961). Also issued separately.