100 Books You Must Read Before You Die volume 2 newly updated Ulysses Moby Dick Ivanhoe War and Peace Mrs Dalloway Of Time and the River etc Book House Publishing

Author: Mark Twain
Publisher: Book House Publishing
ISBN: 9788826061450
Release Date: 2017-02-27
Genre: Literary Collections

This book, newly updated, contains now several HTML tables of contents that will make reading a real pleasure! The first table of contents (at the very beginning of the ebook) lists the titles of all novels included in this volume. By clicking on one of those titles you will be redirected to the beginning of that work, where you'll find a new TOC that lists all the chapters and sub-chapters of that specific work. This 2nd volume contains the following 50 works, arranged alphabetically by authors’ last names: Joyce, James: A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man Joyce, James: Ulysses Kingsley, Charles: The Water-Babies Kipling, Rudyard: Kim La Fayette, Madame de: The Princess of Clèves Laclos, Pierre Choderlos de: Dangerous Liaisons Lawrence, D. H.: Sons and Lovers Lawrence, D. H.: The Rainbow Le Fanu, Sheridan: In a Glass Darkly Lewis, Matthew Gregory: The Monk London, Jack: The Call of the Wild Lovecraft, H.P.: At the Mountains of Madness Manning, Frederic: Her Privates We Maupassant, Guy de: Bel-Ami Melville, Herman: Moby Dick Poe, Edgar Allan: The Fall of the House of Usher Poe, Edgar Allan: The Pit and the Pendulum Proust, Marcel: Swann's Way Radcliffe, Ann: The Mysteries of Udolpho Richardson, Samuel: Clarissa Sand, George: The Devil’s Pool Scott, Walter: Ivanhoe Shelley, Mary: Frankenstein Sienkiewicz, Henryk: Quo Vadis Sinclair, May: Life and Death of Harriett Frean Stein, Gerturde: The Making of Americans Stendhal: The Red and the Black Stendhal: The Chartreuse of Parma Sterne, Laurence: Tristram Shandy Stevenson, Robert Louis: Treasure Island Stoker, Bram: Dracula Stowe, Harriet Beecher: Uncle Tom’s Cabin Swift, Jonathan: Gulliver's Travels Tagore, Rabindranath: The Home and the World Thackeray, William Makepeace: Vanity Fair Tolstoy, Leo: War and Peace Tolstoy, Leo: Anna Karenina Trollope, Anthony: The Way We Live Now Turgenev, Ivan: Fathers and Sons Twain, Mark: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Verne, Jules: Journey to the Interior of the Earth Wallace, Lew: Ben-Hur Wells, H. G.: The Time Machine Wharton, Edith: The Age of Innocence Wilde, Oscar: The Picture of Dorian Gray Wolfe, Thomas: Of Time and the River Woolf, Virginia: Mrs. Dalloway Woolf, Virginia: To the Lighthouse Xueqin, Cao: The Dream of the Red Chamber Zola, Émile: Germinal In the 1st volume of 100 Books You Must Read Before You Die you will find the remaining 50 works.

Imperial Tombs in Tang China 618 907

Author: Tonia Eckfeld
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781134415557
Release Date: 2005-09-20
Genre: History

Intellectually and visually stimulating, this important landmark book looks at the religious, political, social and artistic significance of the Imperial tombs of the Tang Dynasty (618-907 AD). It traces the evolutionary development of the most elaborately beautiful imperial tombs to examine fundamental issues on death and the afterlife in one of the world's most sophisticated civilizations. Selected tombs are presented in terms of their structure, artistic programs and their purposes. The author sets the tombs in the context of Chinese attitudes towards the afterlife, the politics of mausoleum architecture, and the artistic vocabulary which was becoming the mainstream of Chinese civilization.

The Prince Lost to Time Nicholas Segalla series Book 2

Author: Paul Doherty
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755395699
Release Date: 2013-06-11
Genre: Fiction

A missing prince may provide the answers - can he be found? The Prince Lost to Time is Paul Doherty's second novel to feature Nicholas Segalla - a shadowy scholar travelling through time solving the past's greatest mysteries. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C. J. Sansom. As the flames of revolution spread through France, they engulf the Royal Family, whose fairy-tale life in the magnificent palace of Versailles is shattered during the violent and bloody Reign of Terror. First to face the executioner is King Louis XVI, followed nine months later by his beautiful queen, the passionate Marie Antoinette. Several months before her death her young son and heir, Louis Charles, is torn from her arms, disappearing into the annals of history for ever. Although many presume him dead, legends spring up about the boy who would be king - did he die? If not, what happened to him? To keep his promise to the doomed queen, Segalla must brave treachery to unlock the answer. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'Wonderful story' 'No one can make you feel as if you're living in different times like Paul Doherty' 'Paul Doherty's books are a joy to read'

The Japan Year Book

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UIUC:30112107019330
Release Date: 1941
Genre: Japan

Includes sections, "Who's who in Japan," "Business directory," etc.

A New Institute of the Imperial Or Civil Law

Author: Thomas Wood
Publisher: The Lawbook Exchange, Ltd.
ISBN: 9781584776871
Release Date: 2007
Genre: History

Reprint of the third edition. It was common during the eighteenth century to promote the study of Roman and comparative law for its liberalizing effect on the student of the common law. Wood's New Institute was the best attempt to promote this goal. It went through four editions in 1704, 1712, 1721 and 1730 and was the standard Anglo-American treatise of the eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries and a well-thumbed reference for jurists who wished to add an element of civilian learning to their work, such as Joseph Story. Wood also considers its role as an auxiliary to English law. As the title suggests, it is not only a summary of Roman law adapted to the needs of students of English law, but also a pioneering essay in comparative law. Wood pays some attention as well to Roman law's influence on the historical development of English law. Indeed, he observes that "Fleta and Bracton would look very naked if every Roman lawyer should pluck away his [sic] feathers" (ix).

The Japan Year Book

Author: Nihon Gaiji Kyōkai
Publisher:
ISBN: UCAL:B3632580
Release Date: 1943
Genre: History

Includes list of clubs, societies, associations, etc.

God Blew and They Were Scattered Book Ii

Author: Genevieve Tallman Arbogast
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781469120591
Release Date: 2006-06-19
Genre: Fiction

Continuing with the saga of the family Taelmann (anglicized to Talman, Tallman, Tollman, Talma, etc.), GOD BLEW AND THEY WERE SCATTERED, BOOK II, Peters People (The Colonial Years), the author, Genevieve Tallman Arbogast, has, from extant records, laced together events that would have defined the lives of descending generations. This narrative begins in Denmark, in Schleswig-Holstein. As the map changes years later, with the end of the Thirty Years War (1614-1648), Denmark will be sharing a political life in common with Germany and Sweden, as will the formerly independent city-state of Hambrough. However, when the allied families of Talman and de Lichte arrived in Schleswig-Holstein, it was under the jurisdictional rule of a German prince, Duke John Adolphus, who would within five years of their arrival ascend to the throne of Scandinavia as Christian IV of Denmark. For the purposes of this undertaking, however, it will suffice to say that Holsteins records, then and now, can claim a German heritage. The allied families of Taelmann and de Lichte arrived in Schleswig-Holstein about 1583, following their narrow escape from the Spanish Netherlands. Prior to their migration, they had been threatened by the rejuvenated Spanish Inquisition, revived during the Counter-Reformation movement of the Catholic Church in the sixteenth century. As disclosed in Book I, the Jesuits of that movement were responsible for the burnings of so many so-called `Protestant heretics that their crimes against humanity have been compared to that of Hitlers modern day holocaust. As time elapses, the children of the next generation are caught up in the wars of Scandinavia, which evolves to eventually draw them into the conflicts of the `Thirty Years War. As might be expected, several members of the Taelmann family are lost on the battlefield. As a result, the elder Peter Taelmann tries to convince his fourth generation sons to leave Schleswig for opportunities in the New World. That begins an adventure for young Peter Taelmann (Talman), which, in 1647, takes him to the Island of Barbados, where he accepts a position on Island Plantation, under the employ of Philip Hill. During his tenure of almost three years, in the capacity of physician and apothecary, he strives to rehabilitate abused and injured African captives, who are being brought to the island by Captain le Blanc, the slaver. The care-for-work agreement, between the planter and the captain of the Africaneer, makes it possible for failing Island Plantation to continue growing tobacco. The struggle to return the traumatized victims to health, while running a plantation, brings many poignant moments, introducing such delightful characters as Matilda, Prissy, and Mingoe. Rudie Braithewaite and his wife Evie, who operate a tavern on the wharf at Surinam, bring color to the narrative as they introduce the young physician to the island and its history, before they become victims of the burgeoning slavery business. As matters become intense on the island, safety for the inhabitants of Island Plantation becomes a concern. Mistress Hill urges her husband to return with her and their daughter to their former home in Newport, Rhode Island. However, obsessed with the idea of again making the plantation profitable, Hill, instead, begins to search for backing to convert his cash crop from tobacco to sugar cane. Those plans include the development of a shipping service, necessary to transport sugar and its by-products to the North American mainland for exportation to Europe. In the interim, the young physician becomes attracted to the planters beautiful daughter; and, as the attraction is reciprocal, Miss Ann manipulates Peter into riding with her to exercise her fathers thoroughbred horses. As he is taught the skills of an equestrian, many evenings are spent riding along a sandy stretch of beach, which separates Island Plantation from the Atlantic Oc