Gotta Go Gotta Go

Author: Sam Swope
Publisher: Square Fish
ISBN: 0374427860
Release Date: 2004-03-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

An incredible journey "I don't know much, but I know what I know. I gotta go! I gotta go! I gotta go to Mexico!" The creepy-crawly bug doesn't know why she does what she does. She only knows she has to do it. But making the journey seems impossible for the slow-moving critter, who has no idea what or where Mexico is. Then an everyday miracle occurs, bringing a transformation that will help her fulfill her destiny. Each autumn, millions of Monarch butterflies migrate from the central and eastern United States and Canada to colonies in the mountains of Mexico, where they mate before flying north in the spring to lay their eggs. In simple, jaunty text and pictures, Sam Swope and Sue Riddle celebrate the amazing story of one of these intrepid bugs.

Isabel s House of Butterflies

Author: Tony Johnston
Publisher: Gibbs Smith
ISBN: 1578051282
Release Date: 2005-09-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Eight-year-old Isabel hopes that her plan will spare her favorite tree, keep the butterflies coming, and provide an income for her poor family in Mexico.

Velma Gratch the Way Cool Butterfly

Author: Alan Madison
Publisher: Dragonfly
ISBN: 9780307978042
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Velma starts first grade in the shadow of her memorable older sisters, and while her newfound interest in butterflies helps her to stand out, it also leads to an interesting complication.

Ghana Must Go

Author: Taiye Selasi
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780670919895
Release Date: 2013-04-04
Genre: Fiction

A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This is the story of a family -- of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together. It is the story of one family, the Sais, whose good life crumbles in an evening; a Ghanaian father, Kweku Sai, who becomes a highly respected surgeon in the US only to be disillusioned by a grotesque injustice; his Nigerian wife, Fola, the beautiful homemaker abandoned in his wake; their eldest son, Olu, determined to reconstruct the life his father should have had; their twins, seductive Taiwo and acclaimed artist Kehinde, both brilliant but scarred and flailing; their youngest, Sadie, jealously in love with her celebrity best friend. All of them sent reeling on their disparate paths into the world. Until, one day, tragedy spins the Sais in a new direction. This is the story of a family: torn apart by lies, reunited by grief. A family absolved, ultimately, by that bitter but most tenuous bond: familial love. Ghana Must Go interweaves the stories of the Sais in a rich and moving drama of separation and reunion, spanning generations and cultures from West Africa to New England, London, New York and back again. It is a debut novel of blazing originality and startling power by a writer of extraordinary gifts. 'Ghana Must Go is both a fast moving story of one family's fortunes and an ecstatic exploration of the inner lives of its members. With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period. An astonishing debut' Teju Cole, author of Open City Taiye Selasi was born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in American Studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in International Relations from Oxford. "The Sex Lives of African Girls" (Granta, 2011), Selasi's fiction debut, appears in Best American Short Stories 2012. She lives in Rome.

Monarch Butterfly

Author: Gail Gibbons
Publisher: Live Oak Media (NY)
ISBN: 1430109440
Release Date: 2011-01-31
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Describes the life cycle, body parts, and behavior of the monarch butterfly, and includes instructions on how to raise a monarch.

They must go

Author: Meïr Kahane
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105081380425
Release Date: 1981
Genre: Social Science

A controversial look at the growing Arab population in Israel argues that Israeli-Arabs pose a dangerous threat to the country's security and proposes a politically explosive solution to the problem

Teach Them ALL to Read

Author: Elaine K. McEwan
Publisher: Corwin Press
ISBN: 9781412964982
Release Date: 2009-07-15
Genre: Education

Featuring vignettes, graphic organizers, instructional strategies, up-to-date research, and more, this updated bestseller helps educators understand the most effective ways to teach all students to read.

Everything Must Go

Author: Jenny Fran Davis
Publisher: Wednesday Books
ISBN: 9781250119773
Release Date: 2017-10-03
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Flora Goldwasser has fallen in love. She won't admit it to anyone, but something about Elijah Huck has pulled her under. When he tells her about the hippie Quaker school he attended in the Hudson Valley called Quare Academy, where he'll be teaching next year, Flora gives up her tony upper east side prep school for a life on a farm, hoping to woo him. A fish out of water, Flora stands out like a sore thumb in her vintage suits among the tattered tunics and ripped jeans of the rest of the student body. When Elijah doesn't show up, Flora must make the most of the situation and will ultimately learn more about herself than she ever thought possible. Told in a series of letters, emails, journal entries and various ephemera, Jenny Fran Davis' Everything Must Go lays out Flora's dramatic first year for all to see, embarrassing moments and all.

Arabella Miller s Tiny Caterpillar

Author: Clare Jarrett
Publisher: Walker
ISBN: 1844281566
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Caterpillars

Arabella Miller finds a caterpillar and decides to make him her new friend. She makes a cosy home for him and feeds him lots of crunchy leaves. But caterpillar soon begins to grow and grow and Arabella must watch and wait for his wonderful secret to be revealed. Ages 3+. (SA: Reception - Year 2).

Mr Mcginty s Monarchs

Author: Linda Vander Heyden
Publisher: Triangle Interactive, Inc.
ISBN: 9781684444458
Release Date: 2017-12-16
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Mr. McGinty and his dog Sophie love checking in on the monarch caterpillars and butterflies on their summer walks. But one day Mr. McGinty is shocked to find that all the milkweed in town has been mowed down! And monarch caterpillars, he explains, can't survive without milkweed. Can Mr. McGinty come up with a plan to save the monarchs? This is a tale that is informative, a call to action, and a sweet story time pick.

Fly Butterfly

Author: Bonnie Bader
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698167292
Release Date: 2014-01-09
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Exposing children to a diverse range of literary and informational texts, the Core Concepts program helps develop important literacy and cognitive skills necessary to meet many of the Common Core State Standards. Did you know that every year hundreds of thousands of monarch butterflies migrate 2,500 miles to Mexico for the winter? It takes four generations of butterflies to make the trip, and only the fourth generation lives longer than three weeks. Follow a beautiful butterfly as she makes her journey down to Mexico! Fly, Butterfly covers the concepts Animals and Seasons.

Hurry and the Monarch

Author: Antoine O Flatharta
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780307764973
Release Date: 2013-05-29
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When the beautiful orange Monarch on her fall migration route from Canada to Mexico stops to rest at Wichita Falls, Texas, she makes friends with an old tortoise called Hurry. She tells him, "Maybe one day you'll break out of that shell, grow wings, and fly away," and then she is off again with millions of other Monarchs. In the spring, she stops again at Hurry's garden just long enough to lay her eggs and head north to Canada. Embedded in this lyrical and tender fictional presentation are the fascinating facts about the amazing 2,000-mile migration and the life cycle of butterflies. An afterword provides additional scientific data.

Fly Monarch Fly

Author: Nancy Elizabeth Wallace
Publisher: Amazon Children's Publishing
ISBN: 0761462465
Release Date: 2012-11-20
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

A family of rabbits visits a milkweed meadow and learns about monarch butterflies.

The Caterpillar That Learned to Fly

Author: Sharon Clark
Publisher:
ISBN: 0995230358
Release Date: 2016-11-29
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

This picture book will delight children between the ages of 5 to 9. It is told in a story format from the perspective of Cutter a Monarch caterpillar. Children will learn fascinating facts about this caterpillar as the story unfolds. They will see the amazing transformation of Cutter into a beautiful Monarch butterfly and his migration to Mexico.