Hart and Wechsler s The Federal Courts and The Federal System 2008

Author: Richard H. Fallon
Publisher: Foundation Pr
ISBN: 1599414716
Release Date: 2008-07-01
Genre: Law

This 2008 Supplement updates the main text with recent developments. Topics discussed include the development and structure of the federal judicial system; cases and controversies; the original jurisdiction of the Supreme Court; the distribution of judicial power among federal and state courts; review of state court decisions by the Supreme Court; civil actions in the district courts; federal common law; jurisdiction of the district courts; suits challenging official action; limitations on district court jurisdiction; federal habeas corpus; problems of district court jurisdiction; and appellate review of federal decisions.

Examples Explanations for Federal Courts

Author: Laura E. Little
Publisher: Wolters Kluwer Law & Business
ISBN: 9781454841609
Release Date: 2013-09-24
Genre: Law

A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures

Antitrust Analysis

Author: Phillip Areeda
Publisher: Wolters Kluwer Law and Business
ISBN: 1454824999
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Law

The Seventh Edition incorporates the latest Supreme Court and Circuit Court cases, legal changes, and developments in the law. A revised section on distributional restraints takes account of Leegin, and an updated chapter explores 2010 Merger Guidelines. Many important contemporary discussions have been updated, such as improved intellectual property, market definition, and collusion.

The Dynamic Constitution

Author: Richard H. Fallon, Jr
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781139619875
Release Date: 2013-04-22
Genre: Law

In this revised and updated second edition of The Dynamic Constitution, Richard H. Fallon, Jr provides an engaging, sophisticated introduction to American constitutional law. Suitable for lawyers and non-lawyers alike, this book discusses contemporary constitutional doctrine involving such issues as freedom of speech, freedom of religion, rights to privacy and sexual autonomy, the death penalty, and the powers of Congress. Through examples of Supreme Court cases and portraits of past and present Justices, this book dramatizes the historical and cultural factors that have shaped constitutional law. The Dynamic Constitution, 2nd edition, combines detailed explication of current doctrine with insightful analysis of the political culture and theoretical debates in which constitutional practice is situated. Professor Fallon uses insights from political science to explain some aspects of constitutional evolution and emphasizes features of the judicial process that distinguish constitutional law from ordinary politics.

Desperately Seeking Certainty

Author: Daniel A. Farber
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
ISBN: 0226238105
Release Date: 2004-03-01
Genre: Law

Irreverent, provocative, and engaging, Desperately Seeking Certainty attacks the current legal vogue for grand unified theories of constitutional interpretation. On both the Right and the Left, prominent legal scholars are attempting to build all of constitutional law from a single foundational idea. Dan Farber and Suzanna Sherry find that in the end no single, all-encompassing theory can successfully guide judges or provide definitive or even sensible answers to every constitutional question. Their book brilliantly reveals how problematic foundationalism is and shows how the pragmatic, multifaceted common law methods already used by the Court provide a far better means of reaching sound decisions and controlling judicial discretion than do any of the grand theories.

Health Promotion and Aging

Author: David Haber
Publisher: Springer Publishing Company
ISBN: 9780826199171
Release Date: 2013-03-26
Genre: Health & Fitness

Print+CourseSmart

Making Your Case

Author: Antonin Scalia
Publisher: West Legalworks
ISBN: 0314184716
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Law

Presents the basics of writing legal briefs and giving oral arguments, with discussions on the essentials of building a case through legal reasoning and the key elements of persuasive and successful oral pleading in the courtroom.

Guide to Congress

Author: CQ Press
Publisher: CQ Press
ISBN: 9781452235325
Release Date: 2012-09-25
Genre: Political Science

The new edition of this comprehensive, two-volume reference has been thoroughly revised and expanded by expert CQ Press writers—with years of experience covering Congress—to offer a complete institutional history of Congress along with updated insight and analysis on the 2008 and 2010 shifts in power of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.

Nudge

Author: Richard H. Thaler
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101655092
Release Date: 2009-02-24
Genre: Business & Economics

From the winner of the 2017 Nobel Prize in Economics, Richard H. Thaler, and Cass R. Sunstein: a revelatory look at how we make decisions—for fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow New York Times bestseller Named a Best Book of the Year by The Economist and the Financial Times Every day we make choices—about what to buy or eat, about financial investments or our children’s health and education, even about the causes we champion or the planet itself. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nudge is about how we make these choices and how we can make better ones. Using dozens of eye-opening examples and drawing on decades of behavioral science research, Nobel Prize winner Richard H. Thaler and Harvard Law School professor Cass R. Sunstein show that no choice is ever presented to us in a neutral way, and that we are all susceptible to biases that can lead us to make bad decisions. But by knowing how people think, we can use sensible “choice architecture” to nudge people toward the best decisions for ourselves, our families, and our society, without restricting our freedom of choice. More than 750,000 copies sold

The System of the Constitution

Author: Adrian Vermeule
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780190208004
Release Date: 2011-12-30
Genre: Political Science

A constitutional order is a system of systems. It is an aggregate of interacting institutions, which are themselves aggregates of interacting individuals. In The System of the Constitution, Adrian Vermeule analyzes constitutionalism through the lens of systems theory, originally developed in biology, computer science, political science and other disciplines. Systems theory illuminates both the structural constitution and constitutional judging, and reveals that standard views and claims about constitutional theory commit fallacies of aggregation and are thus invalid. By contrast, Vermeule explains and illustrates an approach to constitutionalism that considers the systemic interactions of legal and political institutions and of the individuals who act within them.

The Supreme Court s Style Guide

Author: Offi Supreme Court of the United States
Publisher:
ISBN: 099111633X
Release Date: 2016-03-10
Genre: Citation of legal authorities

More than the Supreme Court's Bluebook. The Supreme Court's Style Guide contains the style preferences of the Supreme Court, used by its Reporter of Decisions when preparing the Court's official opinions and the published United States Reports. This guide has never before been made available to the public. Essential for any judge, court, or attorney, the Supreme Court's Style Guide is destined to become the authority in legal style.

Introduction to the Practice of Statistics

Author: David S. Moore
Publisher: WH Freeman
ISBN: 1319153976
Release Date: 2017-01-06
Genre: Mathematics

Introduction to the Practice of Statistics is the classic textbook for teaching statistics. This textbook shows students how to produce and interpret data from real-world contexts, guiding them through the type of data gathering and analysis that working statisticians do every day. With this phenomenally successful approach developed by David Moore and George McCabe, statistics is more than just a collection of techniques and formulas. Instead, students develop a way of thinking about data with a focus on problem-solving that helps them understand concepts and master statistical reasoning. Part of the best-selling Moore family of statistics books, Introduction to the Practice of Statistics is designed for a two-semester ‘introduction to statistics’ course and offers a rigorous introduction to the subject. This textbook is available on LaunchPad, which combines an interactive ebook with multimedia content and assessment tools, including LearningCurve adaptive quizzing. See ‘Instructor Resources’ and ‘Student Resources’ for further information.

Clinician s Thesaurus

Author: Edward L. Zuckerman
Publisher: Guilford Publications
ISBN: 157230569X
Release Date: 2000
Genre: Psychology

A bestseller with over 150,000 copies in print, this popular guidebook offers an exhaustive checklist of thousands of words and phrases in an easily accessible format, enabling practitioners to quickly select the appropriate terms to describe almost any clinical situation.