Hell is Empty

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781471913174
Release Date: 2013-09-28
Genre: Fiction

'The characters talk straight from the hip and the Wyoming landscape is its own kind of eloquence' New York Times Raynaud Shade, an adopted Crow Indian and one of the country's most dangerous sociopaths, has just confessed to murdering a boy twenty years ago and burying him deep within the Bighorn Mountains. Absaroka County Sherriff Walt Longmire must escort Shade through a snowstorm to the site, but the mission turns personal when Walt learns whom the dead boy's family is. Guided only by Indian mysticism and a battered paperback of Dante's Inferno, Walt braves the icy hell of the Cloud Peak Wilderness Area, cheating death to ensure that justice - both civil and spiritual - is served.

Hell Is Empty

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101515325
Release Date: 2011-06-02
Genre: Fiction

Walt faces an icy hell in this New York Times bestseller from the author of The Cold Dish and Dry Bones, the seventh novel in the Longmire series, the basis for the hit Netflix original series LONGMIRE Craig Johnson's The Highwayman and An Obvious Fact are now available from Viking. Well-read and world-weary, Sheriff Walt Longmire has been maintaining order in Wyoming's Absaroka County for more than thirty years, but in this riveting seventh outing, he is pushed to his limits. Raynaud Shade, an adopted Crow Indian rumored to be one of the country's most dangerous sociopaths, has just confessed to murdering a boy ten years ago and burying him deep within the Bighorn Mountains. Walt is asked to transport Shade through a blizzard to the site, but what begins as a typical criminal transport turns personal when the veteran lawman learns that he knows the dead boy's family. Guided only by Indian mysticism and a battered paperback of Dante's Inferno, Walt braves the icy hell of the Cloud Peak Wilderness Area, cheating death to ensure that justice--both civil and spiritual--is served.

As the Crow Flies

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101583555
Release Date: 2012-05-15
Genre: Fiction

The eighth novel from the New York Times bestselling author of the Longmire mysteries, the basis for the Netflix original series LONGMIRE Craig Johnson's The Highwayman and An Obvious Fact are now available from Viking. Embarking on his eighth adventure, Wyoming Sheriff Walt Longmire doesn't have time for cowboys and criminals. His daughter, Cady, is getting married in two weeks, and the wedding locale arrangements have just gone up in smoke signals. Fearing Cady's wrath, Walt and his old friend Henry Standing Bear set out for the Cheyenne Reservation to find a new site for the nuptials. But their expedition ends in horror as they witness a young Crow woman plummeting from Painted Warrior's majestic cliffs. Is it a suicide, or something more sinister? It's not Walt's turf, but he's coerced into the investigation by Lolo Long, the beautiful new tribal police chief.

The Cold Dish

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780143123170
Release Date: 2012-05
Genre: Fiction

After decades of peace between the white and Native American communities of early American Wyoming, a young man who was once convicted for raping a Cheyenne girl is found dead, prompting sheriff Walt Longmire, his deputy Victoria Moretti, and friend Henry Standing Bear to investigate. A first novel. 25,000 first printing.

Junkyard Dogs

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin Group USA
ISBN: 9780143119531
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Fiction

An effort to remove a junkyard adjacent to a lucrative Wyoming land development project is thrown into conflict when human remains are discovered at the site, a situation that pits Sheriff Walt Longmire and his companions against increasingly volatile locals.

The Walt Longmire Mystery Series

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin Books
ISBN: 0147508770
Release Date: 2012-11-27
Genre: Fiction

Collects four novels following Wyoming sheriff Walt Longmire as he investigates murders, poisonings, and brutal attacks.

A Serpent s Tooth

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101622797
Release Date: 2013-06-04
Genre: Fiction

The ninth book of the New York Times bestselling series and basis for LONGMIRE, the hit drama series now on Netflix Craig Johnson's The Highwayman and An Obvious Fact are now available from Viking. It’s homecoming for the Durant Dogies when Cord Lynear, a Mormon “lost boy” forced off his compound for rebellious behavior, shows up in Absaroka County. Without much guidance, divine or otherwise, Sheriff Walt Longmire, Victoria Moretti, and Henry Standing Bear search for the boy’s mother and find themselves on a high-plains scavenger hunt that ends at the barbed-wire doorstep of an interstate polygamy group. Run by four-hundred-pound Roy Lynear, Cord’s father, the group is frighteningly well armed and very good at keeping secrets. Walt’s got Cord locked up for his own good, but the Absaroka County jailhouse is getting crowded since the arrival of the boy’s self-appointed bodyguard, a dangerously spry old man who claims to be blessed by Joseph Smith himself. As Walt, Vic, and Henry butt heads with the Lynears, they hear whispers of Big Oil and the CIA and fear they might be dealing with a lot more than they bargained for.

Death Without Company

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1440621977
Release Date: 2007-02-27
Genre: Fiction

Walt investigates a death by poison in this gripping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Cold Dish and Dry Bones, the second in the Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit drama series now on Netflix Craig Johnson's The Highwayman and An Obvious Fact are now available from Viking. Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of Hell Is Empty and As the Crow Flies, who garnered both praise and an enthusiastic readership with his acclaimed debut novel featuring Sheriff Walt Longmire, The Cold Dish, the first in the Longmire Mystery Series, the basis for LONGMIRE, the hit drama series. Now Johnson takes us back to the rugged landscape of Absaroka County, Wyoming, for Death Without Company. When Mari Baroja is found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Living, Sheriff Longmire is drawn into an investigation that reaches fifty years into the mysterious woman’s dramatic Basque past. Aided by his friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and newcomer Santiago Saizarbitoria, Sheriff Longmire must connect the specter of the past to the present to find the killer among them.

Another Man s Moccasins

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
ISBN: 1471913120
Release Date: 2013-09-28
Genre: Sheriffs

'The characters talk straight from the hip and the Wyoming landscape is its own kind of eloquence' New York Times When the body of a young Vietnamese woman is found alongside the interstate in Absaroka County, Sheriff Walt Longmire is determined to discover the identity of the victim and is forced to confront the horrible similarities of this murder to that of his first homicide case as a Marine investigator in Vietnam. To complicate matters, Virgil White Buffalo, a Crow Indian, is found living in a nearby culvert and in possession of the young woman's purse. There are only two problems with what appears to be an open-and-shut case. One, the sheriff doesn't think Virgil White Buffalo - a Vietnam vet with a troubling past - is a murderer. And two, the photo that is found in the woman's purse looks hauntingly familiar to Walt. 'A rising star' Los Angeles Times

Dry Bones

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780143108184
Release Date: 2016-04-26
Genre: Fiction

Wyoming's beloved lawman must solve his coldest case yet when a T. Rex skeleton surfaces--along with a dead rancher--in Absaroka County.

The Dark Horse

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0670020877
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Fiction

Believing that confessed murderer Mary Barsad is not guilty of shooting her husband in the head after he set fire to their barn and killed her horses, Sheriff Walt Longmire goes undercover as an insurance investigator and discovers an unfriendly town that

Depth of Winter

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Viking
ISBN: 0525522476
Release Date: 2018-09-04
Genre: Fiction

The new novel in Craig Johnson's beloved New York Times bestselling Longmire series. Welcome to Walt Longmire's worst nightmare. In Craig Johnson's latest mystery, Depth of Winter, an international hit man and the head of one of the most vicious drug cartels in Mexico has kidnapped Walt's beloved daughter, Cady, to auction her off to his worst enemies, of which there are many. The American government is of limited help and the Mexican one even less. Walt heads into the one-hundred-and-ten degree heat of the Northern Mexican desert alone, one man against an army.

The Walt Longmire Mystery Series Boxed Set

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101633656
Release Date: 2013-01-22
Genre: Fiction

The perfect gift for Longmire fans: An e-book bundle of the first four mysteries in the bestselling Walt Longmire Mystery series With the hit A&E television series Longmire capturing millions of viewers and Craig Johnson’s last two novels hitting the New York Times bestseller list in hardcover, Walt Longmire is a name on everyone’s lips and has earned his star. For fans of the show and newcomers to the novels, we now offer the first four books in the series in one e-book bundle, giving Longmire devotees a chance to catch up on the world of their favorite small-town sheriff before the second season of the show begins next year.

Any Other Name

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780143126973
Release Date: 2015-04-28
Genre: Fiction

Includes an excerpt from the author's Dry bones.

Divorce Horse

Author: Craig Johnson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101592649
Release Date: 2012-04-16
Genre: Fiction

Sheriff Walt Longmire and his soon-to-be married daughter, Cady, hit the race track in an original story from New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson Walt Longmire, the longtime sheriff of Absaroka County, Wyoming, has little time to relax. Still recovering from his manhunt chasing down escaped convict and sociopath Reynaud Shade in the Bighorn Mountains, Walt just can’t find the opportunity to sit back and kick off his cowboy boots. His daughter, Cady, is getting married in a few months to the brother of his under-sheriff Victoria Moretti and is in town, helping her dad ‘recuperate’ and to talk about love, life, and weddings. Meanwhile, the American Indian Days Parade and Pow Wow are attracting tourists and trouble. The pride and joy of Tommy Jefferson’s stables—and the catalyst for his marital problems—the notorious divorce horse, has gone missing, and Jefferson, renowned Indian Relay Racer and one-time meth head, wants him back. With the help of his best friend Henry Standing Bear and his daughter, The Greatest Legal Mind Of Our Time, Walt sets off to the races. This delightful Penguin Group eSpecial includes the twenty-seven page long original story, Divorce Horse, as well as the first chapter from As the Crow Flies.