I Heart Band 1

Author: Michelle Schusterman
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698167414
Release Date: 2014-01-09
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Band Geeks unite in this fresh new middle-grade series by debut author (and former band director) Michelle Schusterman! Holly Mead’s first day of seventh grade isn’t going as planned. Her brother ruins her carefully chosen outfit, she’s almost late, and her new band director has some surprisingly strict rules. Worst of all, it seems like her best friend, Julia, has replaced her with Natasha, the pretty, smart, new French horn player! Holly is determined to get first chair, but Natasha is turning out to be some pretty stiff competition—and not just in band. Band might be a competition, but friendship isn’t—and Holly needs to figure it out before she loses Julia for good.

I heart Band

Author: Michelle Schusterman
Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap
ISBN: 0448456834
Release Date: 2014
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

On her first day of seventh grade, Holly Mead learns that her new band director is surprisingly strict and that her best friend has replaced her with the new French horn player.

Crushes Codas and Corsages

Author: Michelle Schusterman
Publisher: Grosset & Dunlap
ISBN: 0448456869
Release Date: 2014-09-11
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

As the band gets ready for its regional competition and the science fair approaches, Holly begins to question her feelings for Owen.

Friends Fugues and Fortune Cookies 2

Author: Michelle Schusterman
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780698167421
Release Date: 2014-01-09
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Band Geeks unite in this fresh new middle-grade series by debut author (and former band director) Michelle Schusterman! The band’s bake-sale fund-raiser pits the sections against each other, and Holly is positive the brass section will win. After all, the two most competitive kids in band are Holly and Natasha. When Holly hears a rumor that Aaron Cook is going to ask her to the winter dance, she’s ecstatic. So when Aaron asks Natasha to the dance, Holly thinks she can’t feel much worse. When a small disaster sets the brass section way behind in the band’s bake sale, Holly gets a brilliant idea that’s guaranteed to help them win—and with a little good fortune, it might save Holly’s friendship with Natasha, too!

I Don t Care About Your Band

Author: Julie Klausner
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101185171
Release Date: 2010-02-02
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Read Julie Klausner's posts on the Penguin Blog In the tradition of Cynthia Heimel and Chelsea Handler, and with the boisterous iconoclasm of Amy Sedaris, Julie Klausner's candid and funny debut I Don't Care About Your Band sheds light on the humiliations we endure to find love--and the lessons that can be culled from the wreckage. I Don't Care About Your Band posits that lately the worst guys to date are the ones who seem sensitive. It's the jerks in nice guy clothing, not the players in Ed Hardy, who break the hearts of modern girls who grew up in the shadow of feminism, thinking they could have everything, but end up compromising constantly. The cowards, the kidults, the critics, and the contenders: these are the stars of Klausner's memoir about how hard it is to find a man--good or otherwise--when you're a cynical grown-up exiled in the dregs of Guyville. Off the popularity of her New York Times "Modern Love" piece about getting the brush-off from an indie rock musician, I Don't care About Your Band is marbled with the wry strains of Julie Klausner's precocious curmudgeonry and brimming with truths that anyone who's ever been on a date will relate to. Klausner is an expert at landing herself waist-deep in crazy, time and time again, in part because her experience as a comedy writer (Best Week Ever, TV Funhouse on SNL) and sketch comedian from NYC's Upright Citizens Brigade fuels her philosophy of how any scene should unfold, which is, "What? That sounds crazy? Okay, I'll do it." I Don't Care About Your Band charts a distinctly human journey of a strong-willed but vulnerable protagonist who loves men like it's her job, but who's done with guys who know more about love songs than love. Klausner's is a new outlook on dating in a time of pop culture obsession, and she spent her 20's doing personal field research to back up her philosophies. This is the girl's version of High Fidelity. By turns explicit, funny and moving, Klausner's debut shows the evolution of a young woman who endured myriad encounters with the wrong guys, to emerge with real- world wisdom on matters of the heart. I Don't Care About Your Band is Julie Klausner's manifesto, and every one of us can relate.

I Heart Paris

Author: Lindsey Kelk
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780062120434
Release Date: 2012-08-07
Genre: Fiction

From living the dream in the Big Apple to strolling the romantic boulevards of the City of Love, blogger Angela Clark—the starry-eyed protagonist of I Heart New York—is back in I Heart Paris. British author Lindsey Kelk, already a major bestseller in the U.K., is making a name for herself in America as well with novels that brim with real heart and humor. A story sure to delight all lovers of contemporary women’s fiction—especially fans of Sofia Kinsella, Emily Giffin, and Sex and the City—I Heart Paris is a love letter to the most romantic metropolis in the world. Lindsey Kelk brings all the excitement and joie de vivre of Paris, France, to breathtaking life, as Angela, seduced by the fabled Parisian allure, struggles to keep her own love relationship, and her career, from falling apart.

I Am Drums

Author: Mike Grosso
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544707368
Release Date: 2016-09-06
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

“This book is the song of my middle-school heart.”—Michelle Schusterman, author of the I Heart Band! series Sam knows she wants to be a drummer. But she doesn’t know how to afford a drum kit, or why budget cuts end her school’s music program, or why her parents argue so much, or even how to explain her dream to other people. But drums sound all the time in Sam’s head, and she’d do just about anything to play them out loud—even lie to her family if she has to. Will the cost of chasing her dream be too high? An exciting new voice in contemporary middle grade, Mike Grosso creates a determined heroine readers will identify with and cheer for.

Did I Mention I Love You

Author: Estelle Maskame
Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.
ISBN: 9781492632160
Release Date: 2015-12-01
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Love is everything but expected. Eden Monro came to California for a summer of sun, sand and celebrities what better way to forget about the drama back home? Until she meets her new family of strangers: a dad she hasn't seen in three years, a stepmonster and three stepbrothers. Eden gets her own room in her dad's fancy house in Santa Monica. A room right next door to her oldest stepbrother, Tyler Bruce. Whom she cannot stand. He's got angry green eyes and ego bigger than a Beverly Hills mansion. She's never felt such intense dislike for someone. But the two are constantly thrown together as his group of friends pull her into their world of rule-breaking, partying and pier-hanging. And the more she tries to understand what makes Tyler burn hotter than the California sun, the more Eden finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn't... Did I Mention I Love You? is the addictive first book in Wattpad sensation Estelle Maskame's DIMILY trilogy: three unforgettable summers of secrets, heartbreak and forbidden romance. The DIMILY Trilogy: Did I Mention I Love You? (Book 1) Did I Mention I Need You? (Book 2) Did I Mention I Miss You? (Book 3)

I Love Dick

Author: Chris Kraus
Publisher: MIT Press
ISBN: 9781584351931
Release Date: 2016-07-22
Genre: Fiction

In I Love Dick, published in 1997, Chris Kraus, author of Aliens & Anorexia, Torpor, and Video Green, boldly tore away the veil that separates fiction from reality and privacy from self-expression. It's no wonder that I Love Dick instantly elicited violent controversies and attracted a host of passionate admirers. The story is gripping enough: in 1994 a married, failed independent filmmaker, turning forty, falls in love with a well-known theorist and endeavors to seduce him with the help of her husband. But when the theorist refuses to answer her letters, the husband and wife continue the correspondence for each other instead, imagining the fling the wife wishes to have with Dick. What follows is a breathless pursuit that takes the woman across America and away from her husband and far beyond her original infatuation into a discovery of the transformative power of first person narrative. I Love Dick is a manifesto for a new kind of feminist who isn't afraid to burn through her own narcissism in order to assume responsibility for herself and for all the injustice in world and it's a book you won't put down until the author's final, heroic acts of self-revelation and transformation.

Olive and the Backstage Ghost

Author: Michelle Schusterman
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780399550669
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

"Olive discovers an old theater where she'll finally have a chance to shine on stage, but this theater--and its mysterious owner--are hiding dark secrets"--

Sleepovers Solos and Sheet Music

Author: Michelle Schusterman
Publisher:
ISBN: 0448456850
Release Date: 2014-05-15
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Holly and Natasha organize a surprise sleepover for Julia's birthday, but when Julia blows them off to spend time with her new boyfriend, Seth, the girls start fighting.

Olivia Forms a Band

Author: Ian Falconer
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9780857073471
Release Date: 2011-03-03
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Olivia is back! She has decided to form a band: a one-pig band, to be exact. And, as we all know, Olivia is certainly capable of making enough noise to sound like an entire orchestra . . . Featuring gatefold flaps, fireworks, experiments with lipstick an a very cross mummy, the fourth Oliviabook is simply and hilariously told and gorgeously rendered - sure to delight Olivia fans of all ages!!

Kings of the Wyld

Author: Nicholas Eames
Publisher: Orbit
ISBN: 9780316362467
Release Date: 2017-02-21
Genre: Fiction

Glory never gets old. Clay Cooper and his band were once the best of the best, the most feared and renowned crew of mercenaries this side of the Heartwyld. Their glory days long past, the mercs have grown apart and grown old, fat, drunk, or a combination of the three. Then an ex-bandmate turns up at Clay's door with a plea for help--the kind of mission that only the very brave or the very stupid would sign up for. It's time to get the band back together.

VIP I m With the Band

Author: Jen Calonita
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780316259743
Release Date: 2015-12-01
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Twelve-year-old Mackenzie "Mac" Lowell's dreams have come true. Thanks to her mom scoring the coolest job EVER, Mac is going from boy band fanatic to official tour member of her favorite group, Perfect Storm. Good thing she's brought along her journal so she can record every moment, every breath, and every one of lead singer Zander Welling's killer smiles in written detail and daydreamy doodles. But between a zillion tour stops and pranks gone wrong, Zander and his fellow band members, Heath Holland and Kyle Beyer, become more like brothers to Mac. When the boys' differences start to drive them apart, can Perfect Storm's biggest fan remind them why they'reperfect together? It'll be up to Mac--and her comic-book alter ego, Mac Attack--to keep the band together and on the road to stardom Chronicling her experiences on tour, Mac's journal springs to life with black-and-white illustrations and comic-book panels throughout its pages.