Garden Heroes

Author: Rufus Bellamy
Publisher: A&C Black
ISBN: 9781408113028
Release Date: 2009-07-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Part of the White Wolves non-fiction titles, which provide a range of engaging subjects that children will encounter in the real world. This book is the Science series title for above average readers aged 7 to 8.

Why Can t My Garden Look Like That

Author: John Shortland
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781845285333
Release Date: 2013-05-10
Genre: Gardening

How many times when we are visiting gardens, or thumbing through a glossy magazine, do we look at our own garden with mixed feelings of disappointment and despair, and exclaim 'Why can`t my garden look like that?'. The simple answer is `it can`. This book demonstrates just how easy it is to make adjustments to what is already there to make your garden stunning, whatever its size. Whether it's an issue with design, plant selection or pruning - or even lack of time - simple solutions are described in clear, jargon-free language that will appeal both to the complete novice and those with more experience. Written in an informal, easy-to-read style this book will enable everyone to have a garden they can be proud of.

The Plants that Shaped Our Gardens

Author: David C. Stuart
Publisher: Harvard University Press
ISBN: 0674007905
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Architecture

In a story that ranges from continent to continent and spans four centuries, botanist and gardener David Stuart reveals how the garden as we know it was created not by garden designers but by ordinary gardeners responding to exotic and novel plants that suggested new spaces, places, and means of display. 70 illustrations.

The Way Home

Author: Katherine Spencer
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101622186
Release Date: 2013-04-02
Genre: Fiction

Welcome to Angel Island…said to harbor angels who help guide the lost, delivering them from despair and darkness into the golden light of love and faith. Claire North understands how Angel Island sets the rhythm for her own serenity and ease. But a visitor has disturbed her peaceful heart. She knew him as a troubled boy who came to her soup kitchen in Boston, full of half-truths but brimming with trust. She wasn’t able to say good-bye to him then. Now, miraculously, a second chance to help him has come. Jamie Carter, now a young man, is more in need of Claire’s wisdom than ever. But when she suspects he is back to his old ways, her faith is truly put to the test... On the other side of the island, Avery Bishop is making a fresh start of her own, opening a new café. Her culinary school training is scoffed at by Mike Rossi, owner of the restaurant across the street. But Avery is determined to show this burger-flipping hero a real cook has arrived. If only Mike’s charming smile didn’t make her forget that he is her fiercest competitor. First Time in Paperback

Der Fremde am Strand

Author: Lisa Jewell
Publisher: Limes Verlag
ISBN: 9783641204730
Release Date: 2018-03-26
Genre: Fiction

»Meisterhaft steigert Jewell die Spannung und zieht den Leser immer tiefer hinein in die lebendig erzählte Geschichte.« New York Times An einem stürmischen Frühlingstag findet die alleinerziehende Mutter Alice am Strand vor ihrem Cottage einen Mann. Er erinnert sich weder, wie er dort hingekommen ist, noch, wie er heißt. Obwohl sie normalerweise keine mysteriösen Fremden bei sich aufnimmt, bietet Alice ihm ihre Hilfe an. Zur gleichen Zeit vermisst die frisch verheiratete Lily in London ihren Ehemann, und sie ist sicher, dass ihm etwas zugestoßen sein muss. Doch wie hängt all dies mit den Geschehnissen im Sommer 1993 zusammen? Jenem Sommer, der mit einem tragischen Ereignis endete, das auch jetzt, in der Gegenwart, noch weitreichende Konsequenzen hat ...

The Beekeeper s Daughter

Author: Santa Montefiore
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781471101021
Release Date: 2014-07-17
Genre: Fiction

THE STUNNING SUMMER NOVEL FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR A family rocked by tragedy. A love that lives through time . . . Deeply nestled within the breathtaking countryside of Dorset, Grace Hamblin leads a sheltered life as the only child of a beekeeper. But when her father dies unexpectedly, Grace’s world is turned upside down, and the life that was set out ahead of her – including the man she loves but can never have – feels suddenly out of reach. Forty years later, Grace’s daughter Trixie is leading a rebellious life with her musician boyfriend, until tragedy strikes and they too are forced to separate. As mother and daughter search for their lost loves, lies told long ago begin to unravel and secrets come to light . . . Bestselling author Santa Montefiore delivers an unforgettable tale of love lost and rediscovered, spanning continents and decades. A beautiful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Victoria Hislop and Joanna Trollope. ***PRAISE FOR SANTA MONTEFIORE*** ‘Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore’ JOJO MOYES ‘An enchanting read overflowing with deliciously poignant moments’ DINAH JEFFERIES on Songs of Love and War ‘Santa Montefiore hits the spot for me like few other writers’ SARRA MANNING ‘One of our personal favourites’ THE TIMES on The Last Secret of the Deverills

The Girl On Legare Street

Author: Karen White
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101155647
Release Date: 2009-11-03
Genre: Fiction

Acclaimed author Karen White returns to Charleston, South Carolina, with the second novel in the New York Times bestselling Tradd Street series. Melanie Middleton has grown accustomed to renovating old houses, but she never imagined she'd have to renovate her own life to include her estranged mother. Ginnette Prioleau Middleton left Charleston thirty-five years ago. She's returned wanting to protect the daughter she's never really known after receiving an ominous premonition. Melanie never wanted to see her mother again, but with some prodding from her partner, Jack Trenholm, she agrees—and begins to rebuild their relationship. Together Melanie and Ginnette buy back their old home. With their combined psychic abilities they expect to unearth some ghosts. But what they find is a vengeful dark spirit whose strength has been growing for decades. It will take unearthing long buried secrets to beat this demon and save what's left of Melanie's family...

Kriminell gut lesen Englisch 8 10

Author: Pete Oldham
Publisher: Auer Verlag
ISBN: 9783403372523
Release Date: 2014-07-29
Genre: Education

h3>Besser lesen durch Krimis Das Lesen im Englischunterricht macht gleich mehr Spaß, wenn es dabei spannende Kriminalfälle zu lösen gibt. Bei den 19 Kurzkrimis für die Klassen 8 bis 10 gilt es Tätern auf die Spur zu kommen und Tathergänge zu entschlüsseln ? und das alles in englischer Sprache! Englische Texte besser verstehen Beim Lesen der spannenden Krimis wird die Sprach- und Lesekompetenz (reading comprehension) gefördert. Die 19 Crime Stories können verschiedenen Schwierigkeitsstufen zugeordnet werden, so dass Sie unterschiedliche Leistungsniveaus innerhalb Ihrer Lerngruppe berücksichtigen können. Handlungsorientierter Englischunterricht Zu allen Kurzkrimis erhalten Sie Arbeitsblätter als Kopiervorlagen, die ebenfalls verschiedenen Schwierigkeitsstufen angehören. Sie helfen den Schülern dabei, die Textvorlage sicher zu verstehen und gleichzeitig den Täter zu überführen. Der Band enthält: 19 spannende Lesekrimis in unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeitsstufen | zu jedem Krimi Arbeitsblätter zur Förderung der Lese- und Sprachkompetenz

Green Fingers

Author: Paul May
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781448100217
Release Date: 2011-09-30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Troubled Kate is hostile to the idea of moving to the country, suspecting that the family are only moving because of her problems at school. But everything goes wrong from the moment they move into the old farmhouse out in the middle of nowhere - Mum and Dad arguing so much that Mum moves back to London, school just as much of a problem as ever and she still can't read properly... Then Kate discovers a reason to try again: the abandoned garden behind their new home...

Nature Living and Growing

Author: Harper Sue
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781134015771
Release Date: 2013-11-26
Genre: Education

Nature, Living and Growing focuses on outdoor play and how nature can contribute to a child’s learning and development. Split into four sections, which focus on each of the four seasons – spring, summer, autumn and winter, this book: includes activities appropriate to each season offers ideas for 'wander walkabouts' to inspire and set the scene of what the season can offer in regard to play activities promotes knowledge of the environment and how to use natural resources effectively.

Look and Find Bible Old Testament Stories

Author: B&H Editorial Staff
Publisher: B&H Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781433685972
Release Date: 2015-02-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Presents a collection of picture puzzles exploring God's word from the Old Testament.

The Medieval Garden

Author: Sylvia Landsberg
Publisher: University of Toronto Press
ISBN: 0802086608
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Architecture

Combining her historical knowledge with practical experience of recreating medieval gardens in various sites in England, Landsberg explains how she designed Queen Eleanor's garden at Winchester and Brother Cadfael's physic garden at Shrewsbury.