Ingredient Unveiling the Essential Elements of Food

Author: Ali Bouzari
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780008179168
Release Date: 2017-03-09
Genre: Cooking

There are ingredients, and then there are Ingredients. An ingredient is what we’re used to thinking about in the kitchen – things like tomatoes, tofu or thyme. An Ingredient is what those things are made of. There are millions of ingredients, but only eight Ingredients: Waters, Sugars, Carbs, Lipids, Proteins, Minerals, Gases and Heat.

Ingredients

Author: Ali Bouzari
Publisher: William Collins
ISBN: 000817914X
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Cooking

There are ingredients, and then there are Ingredients. An ingredient is what we're used to thinking about in the kitchen - things like tomatoes, tofu or thyme. An Ingredient is what those things are made of. There are millions of ingredients, but only eight Ingredients: Waters, Sugars, Carbs, Lipids, Proteins, Minerals, Gases and Heat. Ingredient isn't a book of recipes - instead, it's about learning to see beneath the surface of food, exposing the moving parts that cause every failure and every triumph in every kitchen. You can apply the mindset laid out in Ingredient to any recipe or technique, regardless of your skill level or how you like to cook. Home cooks will feel ready to take on any recipe, and restaurant cooks will feel prepared for anything that comes out of the fire. Beginners will have a lifeline if something goes wrong, and masters will improve dishes they've been cooking for years. Fans of old-school cuisine will understand classic preparations like never before and the innovation-minded will advance the art of cooking even further. Renowned culinary scientist Ali Bouzari illuminates the elemental world of food and unlocks the secrets of ingredients in a lively, engaging and accessible way that dramatically changes the way we look at our food.

Der Geschmacksthesaurus

Author: Niki Segnit
Publisher: ebook Berlin Verlag
ISBN: 9783827074836
Release Date: 2013-02-12
Genre: Cooking

Warum schmeckt gerade Apfel und Zimt so gut zusammen, Käse und Weintraube oder auch Schokolade und Chili? Die Antwort darauf liefert Niki Segnit mit ihrem Geschmacksthesaurus: Sie teilt 99 Lebensmittel in verschiedene Kategorien wie senfig, erdig, fruchtig, paart sie miteinander und kommentiert die Ergebnisse in kleinen unterhaltsamen Beiträgen. Da wird Gurke mit Minze kälter als ein Auftragskillerpärchen und Avocado mit Limette zu Lee Hazlewood und Nancy Sinatra, die »Some Velvet Morning« singen, wobei Lee die samtige Avocadonote beisteuert und Nancy den hohen Limettenton, der die Weichheit genau dann durchdringt, wenn es allzu gemütlich wird. Mit literarischen Anekdoten, leckeren Rezepten und persönlichen Präferenzen ist der Thesaurus eine gelungene Mischung aus Aromalexikon, Kochbuch und Reisebericht und eignet sich als unterhaltsame Bettlektüre ebenso wie als ernstzunehmende Rezeptesammlung.

The Flavor Matrix

Author: James Briscione
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544810006
Release Date: 2018-03-06
Genre: Cooking

A revolutionary new guide to pairing ingredients, based on a famous chef's groundbreaking research into the chemical basis of flavor As an instructor at one of the world’s top culinary schools, James Briscione thought he knew how to mix and match ingredients. Then he met IBM Watson. Working with the supercomputer to turn big data into delicious recipes, Briscione realized that he (like most chefs) knew next to nothing about why different foods taste good together. That epiphany launched him on a quest to understand the molecular basis of flavor—and it led, in time, to The Flavor Matrix. A groundbreaking ingredient-pairing guide, The Flavor Matrix shows how science can unlock unheard-of possibilities for combining foods into astonishingly inventive dishes. Briscione distills chemical analyses of different ingredients into easy-to-use infographics, and presents mind-blowing recipes that he's created with them. The result of intensive research and incredible creativity in the kitchen, The Flavor Matrix is a must-have for home cooks and professional chefs alike: the only flavor-pairing manual anyone will ever need.

Image Vol 2 8

Author: Various
Publisher: Image Comics
ISBN: PKEY:FEB180640
Release Date: 2018-03-28
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Volume two of the Diamond Gem Award-winning comics magazine IMAGE+ continues with all the hard-hitting content you love! This issue features 80 pages of interviews, previews, and in-depth features, plus exclusive comics content.

Flavor 1

Author: Joseph Keatinge
Publisher: Image Comics
ISBN: PKEY:MAR180590
Release Date: 2018-05-16
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Within a strange walled city, an unlicensed chef discovers a mystery that threatens to end it all. Join JOSEPH KEATINGE (GLORY, SHUTTER) and WOOK JIN CLARK (Adventure Time: The Flip Side) on this culinary epic adventureÑFLAVORÑwhere chefs are the ultimate celebrity and food is the most valued commodity. The high-stakes competition of Hunger Games collides with the lush, MIYAZAKI-esque worldbuilding in this delectable new ongoing series featuring culinary consulting and bonus content by ALI BOUZARI, renowned food scientist and author of the IACP Award-winning cookbook Ingredient: Unveiling the Essential Elements of Food.

Eat

Author: Nigel Slater
Publisher:
ISBN: 3832194894
Release Date: 2015-02-18
Genre:


Graveminder

Author: Melissa Marr
Publisher: Piper Verlag
ISBN: 9783492958967
Release Date: 2012-11-12
Genre: Fiction

Jede Generation hat ihre eigene Totenwächterin. Bei Beerdigungen spricht sie die magischen Worte über dem frischen Grab: »Drei Schlucke, um sie zu bannen. Nicht mehr und nicht weniger.« Doch was geschieht, wenn es kein Grab gibt? Wenn die Tote ein junges Mädchen ist, das auf grausame Weise ermordet wurde und nun auferstanden ist, um Rache zu nehmen? Für Rebekkah, Graveminder des idyllischen Claysville, beginnt ein Wettlauf gegen die Zeit. Sie muss ihre Stadt vor der hungrigen Toten schützen. Und nur Byron, ihre große Liebe, steht ihr bei ... »Dieses Buch macht süchtig.« Examiner

Flavor

Author: Joseph Keatinge
Publisher: Image Comics
ISBN: 9781534312838
Release Date: 2018-11-21
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Image Comics most delicious young adult culinary fantasy is served up in a collected edition! Within a strange walled city, an unlicensed chef discovers a mystery that threatens to end it all. Join JOSEPH KEATINGE (GLORY, SHUTTER) and WOOK JIN CLARK(Adventure Time: The Flip Side) on this culinary epic adventureÑFLAVORÑwhere chefs are the ultimate celebrity and food is the most valued commodity. Featuring culinary consulting and an introduction by ALI BOUZARI, renowned food scientist and author of the IACP Award-winning cookbook Ingredient: Unveiling the Essential Elements of Food. Perfect for readers of Boneand Lumberjanes, but with way more crepesÑand the worldÕs cutest dog! Collects FLAVOR #1-6

Die bittere Wahrheit ber Zucker

Author: Robert H. Lustig
Publisher: Riva Verlag
ISBN: 9783959711920
Release Date: 2016-08-10
Genre: Health & Fitness

Zucker ist giftig, macht abhängig und krank – ist aber gleichzeitig allgegenwärtig. Zuckerfrei zu leben scheint geradezu unmöglich. Da wir heutzutage immer beschäftigt sind und kaum Zeit zum Kochen haben, greifen wir auf verarbeitete Lebensmittel zurück. Aber genau diese sind verantwortlich dafür, dass viele Menschen immer weiter zunehmen und Diabetes und chronische Krankheiten auf dem Vormarsch sind. Der Arzt und Professor Dr. Robert H. Lustig deckt die Wahrheit über zuckerreiche Nahrung auf: ·Zu viel Zucker kann schwere Krankheiten verursachen – selbst bei Menschen, die nicht übergewichtig sind ·Diäten, bei denen nur Fett reduziert wird, funktionieren nicht ·Die Lebensmittelindustrie reichert unsere Nahrungsmittel mit verstecktem Zucker an und auf solche Lebensmittel muss man verzichten, um diesen Zucker zu vermeiden. ·Die Politik macht sich mitschuldig und verschlimmert die Lebensmittelkatastrophe noch weiter Dieses Buch verändert die Sichtweise auf unsere Nahrung radikal und eröffnet zugleich die Chance auf ein gesünderes und glücklicheres Leben. Es bietet einzigartige und wissenschaftlich fundierte Strategien, wie man sinnvoll Gewicht verlieren und wieder fit werden kann.

Salz Fett S ure Hitze

Author: Samin Nosrat
Publisher: Antje Kunstmann
ISBN: 9783956142826
Release Date: 2018-08-29
Genre: Cooking

Samin Nosrat verdichtet ihre reiche Erfahrung als Köchin und Kochlehrerin zu einem so einfachen wie revolutionären Ansatz. Es geht dabei um die vier zentralen Grundlagen guten Kochens: Salz, Fett, Säure und Hitze. Salz – das die Aromen vertieft. Fett – das sie trägt und attraktive Konsistenzen ermöglicht. Säure – die alle Aromen ausbalanciert. Und Hitze – die die Konsistenz eines Gerichts letztendlich bestimmt. Wer mit diesen vier Elementen souverän umgeht, kann exzellent kochen, ohne sich an Rezepte klammern zu müssen. Voller profundem Wissen, aber mit leichter Hand und gewinnendem Ton führt Nosrat in alle theoretischen und praktischen Aspekte guten Kochens ein, vermittelt Grundlagen und Küchenchemie und verrät jede Menge inspirierender Tipps und Tricks. In über 100 unkomplizierten Rezepten wird das Wissen vertieft und erprobt: frische Salate, perfekt gewürzte Saucen, intensiv schmeckende Gemüsegerichte, die besten Pastas, 13 Huhn-Varianten, zartes Fleisch, köstliche Kuchen und Desserts. Samin Nosrats Rezepte ermuntern zum Ausprobieren und zum Improvisieren. Angereichert mit appetitanregenden Illustrationen und informativen Grafiken ist dieses Buch ein unverzichtbarer Küchenkompass, der Anfänger genauso glücklich macht wie geübte Köche.