Ingredient Unveiling the Essential Elements of Food

Author: Ali Bouzari
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780008179168
Release Date: 2017-03-09
Genre: Cooking

There are ingredients, and then there are Ingredients. An ingredient is what we’re used to thinking about in the kitchen – things like tomatoes, tofu or thyme. An Ingredient is what those things are made of. There are millions of ingredients, but only eight Ingredients: Waters, Sugars, Carbs, Lipids, Proteins, Minerals, Gases and Heat.

Ingredients

Author: Ali Bouzari
Publisher: William Collins
ISBN: 000817914X
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Cooking

There are ingredients, and then there are Ingredients. An ingredient is what we're used to thinking about in the kitchen - things like tomatoes, tofu or thyme. An Ingredient is what those things are made of. There are millions of ingredients, but only eight Ingredients: Waters, Sugars, Carbs, Lipids, Proteins, Minerals, Gases and Heat. Ingredient isn't a book of recipes - instead, it's about learning to see beneath the surface of food, exposing the moving parts that cause every failure and every triumph in every kitchen. You can apply the mindset laid out in Ingredient to any recipe or technique, regardless of your skill level or how you like to cook. Home cooks will feel ready to take on any recipe, and restaurant cooks will feel prepared for anything that comes out of the fire. Beginners will have a lifeline if something goes wrong, and masters will improve dishes they've been cooking for years. Fans of old-school cuisine will understand classic preparations like never before and the innovation-minded will advance the art of cooking even further. Renowned culinary scientist Ali Bouzari illuminates the elemental world of food and unlocks the secrets of ingredients in a lively, engaging and accessible way that dramatically changes the way we look at our food.

Die letzten Geheimnisse der Kochkunst

Author: Peter Barham
Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 3642624669
Release Date: 2014-08-23
Genre: Science

Kennen Sie neben süß, sauer, bitter und salzig die fünfte Geschmacksrichtung? Möchten Sie verstehen, warum Ihnen Soufflées immer wieder zusammenfallen oder lernen, wie Sie einen ganzen Truthahn optimal braten? Gehören Sie zu den 40% Männern oder 25% Frauen, die Trüffel nicht riechen können? Diese und viele andere Fragen aus der Welt der Kochkunst beantwortet Peter Barham, in dem er das Kochen als experimentelle Wissenschaft betrachtet. Beim Zubereiten von Lebensmitteln und beim Kochen laufen viele Prozesse ab, die sich naturwissenschaftlich gut beschreiben lassen. Das Verständnis der Chemie und Physik des Kochens wird unausweichlich dazu führen, dass sich auch Ihre eigenen Kochkünste wesentlich verbessern. Für jedermann leicht verständlich und unterhaltsam, aber ohne wichtige Details auszulassen, erklärt Ihnen der Autor, warum bestimmte Rezepte gut funktionieren und – viel wichtiger – warum andere ständig misslingen. Auf diese Weise werden Schritt für Schritt die Geheimnisse der guten Kochkunst entschleiert und Sie lernen interessante Rezepte und die dahinter liegenden physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse kennen. Zusätzlich beschreibt der Autor interessante Küchenexperimente für die ganze Familie.

Ingredienzen

Author: Loukie Werle
Publisher:
ISBN: 384800643X
Release Date: 2013-10
Genre:


The Flavor Matrix

Author: James Briscione
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544810006
Release Date: 2018-03-06
Genre: Cooking

A revolutionary new guide to pairing ingredients, based on a famous chef's groundbreaking research into the chemical basis of flavor As an instructor at one of the world’s top culinary schools, James Briscione thought he knew how to mix and match ingredients. Then he met IBM Watson. Working with the supercomputer to turn big data into delicious recipes, Briscione realized that he (like most chefs) knew next to nothing about why different foods taste good together. That epiphany launched him on a quest to understand the molecular basis of flavor—and it led, in time, to The Flavor Matrix. A groundbreaking ingredient-pairing guide, The Flavor Matrix shows how science can unlock unheard-of possibilities for combining foods into astonishingly inventive dishes. Briscione distills chemical analyses of different ingredients into easy-to-use infographics, and presents mind-blowing recipes that he's created with them. The result of intensive research and incredible creativity in the kitchen, The Flavor Matrix is a must-have for home cooks and professional chefs alike: the only flavor-pairing manual anyone will ever need.

Flavor 5

Author: Joseph Keatinge
Publisher: Image Comics
ISBN: PKEY:JUL180229
Release Date: 2018-09-19
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Xoo is betrayed by one of her own and the consequences lead to the biggest decision of her life. Meanwhile, Buster the Dog is a good boy. PLUS!: Every issue includes exclusive bonus materials by the creative team and famed author of Ingredient: Unveiling the Essential Elements of Food, ALI BOUZARI!

Image Vol 2 8

Author: Various
Publisher: Image Comics
ISBN: PKEY:FEB180640
Release Date: 2018-03-28
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Volume two of the Diamond Gem Award-winning comics magazine IMAGE+ continues with all the hard-hitting content you love! This issue features 80 pages of interviews, previews, and in-depth features, plus exclusive comics content.

Der Geschmacksthesaurus

Author: Niki Segnit
Publisher: ebook Berlin Verlag
ISBN: 9783827074836
Release Date: 2013-02-12
Genre: Cooking

Schokolade mit Kardamom, Austern mit Wassermelone oder doch lieber Avocado mit Kaffee? Niki Segnits Geschmacksthesaurus ist das perfekte Handbuch für das unkonventionelle Kombinieren von Aromen.

Wei t du nicht wie sch n du bist

Author: Stacy Eldredge
Publisher: Brunnen Verlag Gießen
ISBN: 9783765570230
Release Date: 2011-08-18
Genre: Religion

"Sanfte Schönheit" oder "wilde Frau" Was macht das Wesen echter Weiblichkeit aus? Wie kann eine Frau heute selbstbewusst und erfüllt leben? John und Stacy Eldredge zeichnen ein neues Bild authentischer Weiblichkeit. Tatkraft, Mut und Selbstbewusstsein haben darin ebenso Platz wie das Bedürfnis, zu lieben und geliebt zu werden. Und welche Rolle spielt die Schönheit für das "schöne Geschlecht"? Schönheit ist keine Frage von Diätplänen und Fitnessprogrammen. Sie ist ein Wesensmerkmal jeder Frau seit Eva, oft genug verborgen hinter den Schutzmechanismen, mit denen wir uns vor den Verletzungen des Lebens schützen. Aber sie kann wieder ans Licht treten, dort, wo eine Frau ihre ureigene Bestimmung entdeckt.

Troubles

Author: James Gordon Farrell
Publisher:
ISBN: 9783882210637
Release Date: 2013-04-18
Genre: Fiction

Die Entdeckung eines Autors: J. G. Farrell zum ersten Mal in deutscher Sprache 1919: Major Brendan Archer, nach dem Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs aus der englischen Armee entlassen, reist an die irische Ostküste, um seine Verlobte zu heiraten. Das Wiedersehen mit der Tochter des Besitzers des Hotels Majestic verläuft allerdings gänzlich anders als erhofft, zumal die Verlobte bald darauf verstirbt. In der Zwischenzeit aber hat sich der Major bereits auf die verbliebene Schar von Katzen, skurrilen Dienern und Bewohnern eingelassen und wird immer tiefer in den Sog des Verfalls des riesigen ehemaligen Prachthotels und seines polternden Besitzers Edward Spencer hineingezogen. Die brillante, von absurdem Humor durchzogene Erzählung spielt vor dem Hintergrund der entscheidenden Jahre Irlands auf dem Weg zur Teilung des Landes. Die unerschöpflichen Facetten dieses jahrhundertealten Konflikts spiegeln sich wider in den verschiedenen Standpunkten der sehr lebensnah gezeichneten Figuren. Posthum mit dem Man Booker Prize ausgezeichnet, bietet sich nun auch dem deutschen Leser die Gelegenheit zur Begegnung mit einem vollendeten Stilisten und großen Erzähler.

Flavor

Author: Joseph Keatinge
Publisher: Image Comics
ISBN: 9781534312838
Release Date: 2018-11-21
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Image Comics most delicious young adult culinary fantasy is served up in a collected edition! Within a strange walled city, an unlicensed chef discovers a mystery that threatens to end it all. Join JOSEPH KEATINGE (GLORY, SHUTTER) and WOOK JIN CLARK(Adventure Time: The Flip Side) on this culinary epic adventureÑFLAVORÑwhere chefs are the ultimate celebrity and food is the most valued commodity. Featuring culinary consulting and an introduction by ALI BOUZARI, renowned food scientist and author of the IACP Award-winning cookbook Ingredient: Unveiling the Essential Elements of Food. Perfect for readers of Boneand Lumberjanes, but with way more crepesÑand the worldÕs cutest dog! Collects FLAVOR #1-6