It Won t Be Easy

Author: Tom Rademacher
Publisher:
ISBN: 151790112X
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Education

Rademacher's "book follows a year of teaching, with each chapter tackling a different aspect of the job. Pulling no punches ... he writes about establishing yourself in a new building; teaching meaningful classes, keeping students a priority; investigating how race, gender, and identity affect your work; and why it's a good idea to keep an extra pair of pants at school. Along the way he answers the inevitable and the unanticipated questions, from what to do with Google to how to tell if you're really a terrible teacher, to why 'Keep your head down' might well be the worst advice for a new teacher"--Amazon.com.

Chronicles Of Faith

Author: Frederick D. Patterson
Publisher: University of Alabama Press
ISBN: 9780817311964
Release Date: 2002-06-20
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Normal0falsefalsefalseEN-USX-NONEX-NONEMicrosoftInternetExplorer4Chronicles of Faith records the life of a man who influenced the course of higher education for African Americans and Africans throughout the twentieth century. Patterson, orphaned soon after birth in 1901, became a veterinary scientist at Tuskegee Institute and soon thereafter--at the depths of the Depression--was selected as president of that most important institution. It was at Tuskegee that Patterson formulated the idea and the organization--the United Negro College Fund. In doing so he made a place for himself in U.S. and world history by providing the model of cooperative fund raising that enabled financially starved private black colleges to survive and serve the youth of the segregated North and South.

The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy

Author: Kate Hattemer
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780385753807
Release Date: 2014-04-08
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Whip-smart dialogue and an inside look at the seedy underbelly of reality TV come together in this critically-acclaimed debut perfect for fans of Unreal, John Green, and Frank Portman. Witty, sarcastic Ethan and his three best friends are students at Selwyn Arts Academy, which has been hijacked by For Art’s Sake, a sleazy reality-television show. In the tradition of Ezra Pound, the foursome secretly writes and distributes a long poem to protest the show. They’re thrilled to have started a budding rebellion. But the forces behind the show are craftier than they seem. The web of betrayal stretches farther than Ethan could have ever imagined, and it’s up to him, his friends, and a heroic gerbil named Baconnaise to save Selwyn. From the Hardcover edition.

Five Men Who Broke My Heart

Author: Susan Shapiro
Publisher: Delacorte Press
ISBN: 0440334756
Release Date: 2004-01-20
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

On sale 1/20/04! In this honest, hilarious, fiercely intelligent memoir, journalist Susan Shapiro dares to do what every woman dreams of: track down the five men who'd broken her heart and find out what really went wrong. Between the ages of thirteen and thirty-five, Susan had plunged into love, heart-first, five times. One bad breakup was more hurtful and humiliating than the next. With insight and daring, Susan chronicles her six-month-long journey back down a road strewn with romantic regret. Although for years she'd blamed her boyfriends for their flagrant infidelity, ludicrous faults, and immature foibles, to her shock she can now suddenly pinpoint the exact moment where she herself screwed up each relationship. A successful freelance writer living in Manhattan, Susan Shapiro was in the midst of a midlife crisis she called her “no-book-no-baby summer.” Married for five years to Aaron, a workaholic TV comedy writer always on the road, she was beginning to wonder if she'd remain book- and babyless forever. Then the phone rang, and it was Brad, a college flame who'd become a Harvard scientist with a book coming out. Susan offers to interview him, and she winds up launching into all the intense, invasive questions she'd always wanted to ask him. To her surprise, he answers them! This ignites a spark that sends her on a cross-country jaunt back through her lust-littered past. While Brad is still single, she finds that Heartbreaks Number Two, Three, and Four are not. George, a theater professor, and Richard, a music biographer, are happily married with children. Tom, a handsome blond lawyer in L.A., is getting divorced. Just as it's becoming easy to worm her way back into her exes' good graces, she crashes head-on with David, a wry Canadian root canal specialist. ("It’s the equivalent of what you did to me emotionally," she tells him.) She then gut-wrenchingly relives the agony of splitting up with her first love all over again. Yet somewhere between the tantalizing what-ifs and bittersweet might-have-beens, she finds what she's been searching for all along. Part relationship manifesto, part confessional, and part valentine to the males in her life she adores, Five Men Who Broke My Heart is for anyone who has ever wondered what became of their first love. Or second, third, fourth, or fifth… From the Hardcover edition.

The Principles of Pleasure

Author: Laura Rademacher
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781317505303
Release Date: 2017-04-21
Genre: Psychology

There are tremendous benefits to discussing the subject of sexual and emotional pleasure with clients, and this book addresses the challenges and misconceptions of doing just that. Laura Rademacher and Lindsey Hoskins teach the skills necessary for mental health professionals and sex educators to build competence in this work with their clients. Readers get techniques to implement in therapeutic, clinical, and educational settings, and learn how to examine pleasure in ways that are currently lacking from academic work on sexual health. This book covers skills for working with populations of all orientations and gender expressions. Language and phrasing for addressing pleasure issues in a wide variety of educational or therapeutic settings is also provided. Information about sexual lubrication and sex toys that is rarely taught in professional training programs is included, as well as how to appropriately incorporate information about these important sexual tools into your work. Issues such as abstinence, sexual orientation, couple therapy, and sexual education will be discussed outside of the standard medical model of sex therapy. The Principles of Pleasure will help you feel relaxed and confident while moving clients and students closer to their pleasure goals, and provides the evidence to back up the importance of talking and teaching about pleasure, should you need to justify this work.

Learning in the Fast Lane

Author: Suzy Pepper Rollins
Publisher: ASCD
ISBN: 9781416618713
Release Date: 2014-04-10
Genre: Education

Too often, students who fail a grade or a course receive remediation that ends up widening rather than closing achievement gaps. According to veteran classroom teacher and educational consultant Suzy Pepper Rollins, the true answer to supporting struggling students lies in acceleration. In Learning in the Fast Lane, she lays out a plan of action that teachers can use to immediately move underperforming students in the right direction and differentiate instruction for all learners--even those who excel academically. This essential guide identifies eight high-impact, research-based instructional approaches that will help you * Make standards and learning goals explicit to students. * Increase students' vocabulary--a key to their academic success. * Build students' motivation and self-efficacy so that they become active, optimistic participants in class. * Provide rich, timely feedback that enables students to improve when it counts. * Address skill and knowledge gaps within the context of new learning. Students deserve no less than the most effective strategies available. These hands-on, ready-to-implement practices will enable you to provide all students with compelling, rigorous, and engaging learning experiences.

The Secret Project

Author: Jonah Winter
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781481469135
Release Date: 2017-02-07
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

"The world's greatest scientists gather in a secret town in the desert to develop the atomic bomb."--

These Schools Belong to You and Me

Author: Deborah Meier
Publisher: Beacon Press
ISBN: 9780807024737
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Education

"A challenge to narrow, profit-driven conceptions of school success and an argument for protecting public education to ensure that all students become competent citizens in a vibrant democracy MacArthur award-winning educator, reformer, and author Deborah Meier draws on her fifty-plus years of experience in education to argue that the purpose of universal education is to provide young people with an "apprenticeship for citizenship in a democracy." Through an intergenerational exchange with her former colleague and fellow educator Emily Gasoi, the coauthors share their experiences working in democratically governed schools and analyze the last several decades of education reform. Reflecting on the trajectory of education and social policies that are leading our country further from rule "of, for, and by the people," the authors apply their extensive knowledge and years of research to address the question of how public education must change in order to counter the erosion of democratic spirit and practice in schools and in the nation as a whole"--

Through No Fault of My Own

Author: Coco Irvine
Publisher: U of Minnesota Press
ISBN: 9781452931340
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Electronic books

A young teenage girl's escapades as part of St. Paul's social elite in the 1920s.

Period Piece

Author: Gwen Raverat
Publisher: Clear Press Ltd
ISBN: 1904555128
Release Date: 2003-11
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A facsimile of a 19th century book is a delightful, quirky account, beautifully illustrated with the author's famous line drawings, of her quintessentially English childhood growing up as a Darwin at the end of the 19th century.

Understanding and Teaching U S Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender History

Author: Leila J. Rupp
Publisher: University of Wisconsin Pres
ISBN: 9780299302443
Release Date: 2014-12-17
Genre: History

Understanding and Teaching U.S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History is the first book designed for teachers of U.S. history at all levels who want to integrate queer history into the standard curriculum. Bringing together inspiring narratives from teachers in high schools and universities, informative topical chapters about significant historical moments and themes, and innovative essays about sources and interpretive strategies well-suited to the history classroom, this volume is a valuable resource for anyone who thinks history should be an inclusive story.

The Satanic Verses

Author: Salman Rushdie
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781409058854
Release Date: 2011-08-31
Genre: Fiction

Just before dawn one winter’s morning, a hijacked aeroplane blows apart high above the English Channel and two figures tumble, clutched in an embrace, towards the sea: Gibreel Farishta, India’s legendary movie star, and Saladin Chamcha, the man of a thousand voices. Washed up, alive, on an English beach, their survival is a miracle. But there is a price to pay. Gibreel and Saladin have been chosen as opponents in the eternal wrestling match between Good and Evil. But chosen by whom? And which is which? And what will be the outcome of their final confrontation?

The Smart Palate

Author: Tina Landsman Abbey
Publisher: McGill Queens Univ
ISBN: 0773544399
Release Date: 2014-10-15
Genre: Cooking

A comprehensive cookbook that emphasizes delicious and nutritious eating.