Jackdaws

Author: Ken Follett
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101209677
Release Date: 2002-11-26
Genre: Fiction

In his own bestselling tradition of Eye of the Needle and The Key to Rebecca, Ken Follett delivers a breathtaking novel of suspense set in the most dangerous days of World War II. D-Day is approaching. They don’t know where or when, but the Germans know it’ll be soon, and for Felicity “Flick” Clariet, the stakes have never been higher. A senior agent in the ranks of the Special Operations Executive (SOE) responsible for sabotage, Flick has survived to become one of Britain’s most effective operatives in Northern France. She knows that the Germans’ ability to thwart the Allied attack depends upon their lines of communications, and in the days before the invasion no target is of greater strategic importance than the largest telephone exchange in Europe. But when Flick and her Resistance-leader husband try a direct, head-on assault that goes horribly wrong, her world turns upside down. Her group destroyed, her husband missing, her superiors unsure of her, her own confidence badly shaken, she has one last chance at the target, but the challenge, once daunting, is now near impossible. The new plan requires an all-woman team, none of them professionals, to be assembled and trained within days. Code-named the Jackdaws, they will attempt to infiltrate the exchange under the noses of the Germans—but the Germans are waiting for them now and have plans of their own. There are secrets Flick does not know—secrets within the German ranks, secrets among her hastily recruited team, secrets among those she trusts the most. And as the hours tick down to the point of no return, most daunting of all, there are secrets within herself. . . . Filled with the powerful storytelling, unforgettable characters, and authentic detail that have become his hallmarks, Jackdaws is Ken Follett writing at the height of his powers.

Jackdaws

Author: Ken Follett
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9780330472494
Release Date: 2008-09-04
Genre: Fiction

Jackdaws is an irresistible novel of the Resistance and of love, courage and revenge. Two weeks before D-Day, the French Resistance attacks a chateau containing a telephone exchange vital to German communications – but the building is heavily guarded and the attack fails disastrously. Flick Clairet, a young British secret agent, proposes a daring new plan: she will parachute into France with an all-woman team known as the 'Jackdaws' and they will penetrate the chateau in disguise. But, unknown to Flick, Rommel has assigned a brilliant, ruthless Intelligence colonel, Dieter Franck, to crush the Resistance. And Dieter is on Flick's trail . . . From Ken Follett, the master storyteller and bestselling author of Eye of the Needle and Code to Zero comes this exciting thriller, set against the menacing backdrop of the Second World War and crackling with suspense and action.

Jackdaws

Author: Ken Follett
Publisher: Pan
ISBN: 1743035632
Release Date: 2002-08-01
Genre: Fiction

Two weeks before D-Day, the French Resistance attacks a chateau containing a telephone exchange vital to German communications - but the building is heavily guarded and the attack fails disastrously. Flick Clairet, a young British secret agent, proposes a daring new plan: she will parachute into France with an all-woman team known as the Jackdaws and they will penetrate the chateau in disguise. But, unknown to Flick, Rommel has assigned a brilliant, ruthless Intelligence colonel, Dieter Franck, to crush the Resistance. And Dieter is on Flick's trail... From the master storyteller and bestselling author of Eye of the Needle and Code to Zero comes the new thriller, set against the menacing backdrop of the Second World War and crackling with suspense and action. Jackdaws is an irresistible novel of the Resistance and of love, courage and revenge.

Paper Money

Author: Ken Follett
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101043857
Release Date: 1987-10-06
Genre: Fiction

An explosive novel of high finance and underworld villainy from Ken Follett, the grand master of international action and suspense. Look out for Ken's newest book, A Column of Fire, available now. Crime, high finances, and journalism are interconnected in this early thriller by the author of On Wings of Eagles and Lie Down With Lions. In one suspenseful, action-packed day, fortunes change hands as an ambitious young reporter scrambles to crack the story. A suicidal junior minister, an avaricious tycoon, and a seasoned criminal with his team of tough guys all play their parts in a scheme that moves "paper money" around at a dizzying pace.

A Clattering of Jackdaws

Author: Tony Jackson
Publisher: Grosvenor House Publishing
ISBN: 9781781485743
Release Date: 2012-10-10
Genre: Fiction

Karel Zajic arrives at work in Poland to find his future in ruins. Moving to Levensbridge in England a chance meeting looks to have solved all his problems, but huge risks are involved. Postman Danny Mason gets a deal which looks to have secured a bright future for himself, but he is treading on dangerous ground. D S Bene Douglas of Levensbridge C I D suddenly finds himself working alone. Suspicious deaths, drug dealing, and a suspect colleague all combine to guarantee a chilling climax, where his own life hangs precariously in the balance.

The jackdaws

Author: James Blyth
Publisher:
ISBN: OXFORD:590095290
Release Date: 1919
Genre:


Jackdaw Summer

Author: David Almond
Publisher: Hachette Children's
ISBN: 9781444921090
Release Date: 2014-02-06
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Every summer Liam and Max roam the wild countryside of Northumberland - but this year things are different. One hot summer's day a jackdaw leads the two boys into an ancient farm house where they find a baby, wrapped in a blanket, with a scribbled note pinned to it: PLESE LOOK AFTER HER RITE. THIS IS A CHILDE OF GOD. And so begins Jackdaw Summer. A summer when friendships are tested. A summer when lines between good and bad are blurred. A summer that Liam will never forget... A stunning novel from the author of the modern children's classic Skellig - winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book Award. David Almond is also winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen award.

Jackdaws Around a Distant Tower

Author: Raymond Foster
Publisher: Dreamstairway Books
ISBN: 9781907091131
Release Date: 2010-06-01
Genre: Nature

The beauty and fascinating ways of nature's creatures, as seen through the eyes of this acclaimed nature-loving poet.

In the Company of Jackdaws

Author: Tony Jackson
Publisher: Grosvenor House Publishing
ISBN: 9781781482537
Release Date: 2013-12-20
Genre: Fiction

The second book to feature DS Bene Douglas of the Levensbridge Police Force. In 1944 an astonishing secret is discovered by German soldiers in Northern France. The secret is never revealed and goes with them to their graves. In 2010 two bodies are exhumed from the woods and a deadly chase begins to find the secret. Suspicious deaths, attempted murder, robbery and a missing young boy all threaten to overwhelm our hero and his new colleague. The investment club are being wooed, the bowls club members are scared, and a crime from the past is re-opened.Finally the Jackdaws strike.

What the Jackdaw Saw

Author: Julia Donaldson
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books
ISBN: 1447280849
Release Date: 2015-05-01
Genre:

The jackdaw wants all his friends to come to his party, but when he calls out his invitation the animals just touch their heads. Why won't they answer? And what do their actions mean? Luckily a brown owl can help him with the puzzle!This book about friendship and sign language was created by Gruffalo author Julia Donaldson with a group of deaf children in a workshop organised by the not-for-profit organisation Life & Deaf which helps deaf children to explore their identities through poetry, film, performance and art.Featuring Nick Sharratt's bright and accessible illustrations, What the Jackdaw Saw is another beautiful picture book from the team behind Goat Goes to Playgroup and Toddle Waddle.

Jackdaw

Author: KJ Charles
Publisher:
ISBN: 9780995799059
Release Date: 2017-04-12
Genre: Fiction

If you stop running, you fall. Jonah Pastern is a magician, a liar, a windwalker, a professional thief…and for six months, he was the love of police constable Ben Spenser’s life. His betrayal left Ben jailed, ruined, alone, and looking for revenge. Ben is determined to make Jonah pay. But he can’t seem to forget what they once shared, and Jonah refuses to let him. Soon Ben is entangled in Jonah’s chaotic existence all over again, and they’re running together—from the police, the justiciary, and some dangerous people with a lethal grudge against them. Threatened on all sides by betrayals, secrets, and the laws of the land, the policeman and the thief must find a way to live and love before the past catches up with them... A Charm of Magpies linked story, set after Flight of Magpies. Previously published by Samhain.

The Jackdaw

Author: Luke Delaney
Publisher:
ISBN: 0007585691
Release Date: 2015-03
Genre: London (England)

The fourth novel in the DI Sean Corrigan series - authentic and terrifying crime fiction with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride. A man who calls himself 'The Jackdaw' has been abducting financial sector workers from the City of London. Within hours of disappearing, the victims appear alongside a masked man on the internet, bound to a chair in a barren room. He believes they must be punished for crimes of greed and incompetence that led to the banking crisis and the suffering of millions of ordinary working people. The victims' crimes are broadcast to the watching thousands who decide the verdict - a click on the like icon for a vote of guilty; a click on the dislike icon for a vote of not guilty. Once the jury has decided, The Jackdaw will be the judge and executioner. DI Sean Corrigan and his Special Investigations Unit immediately inherit the case, and come under political pressure to solve it quickly. But as The Jackdaw's popularity grows, Sean realizes he's hunting a clever and elusive adversary - one who won't stop until his mission is complete.