Jazz

Author: Geoffrey C. Ward
Publisher: Knopf
ISBN: STANFORD:36105028645641
Release Date: 2000-11-07
Genre: History

Text and photographs reveal the history of jazz and celebrate the contributions of Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald, John Coltrane, and other artists.

Jazz

Author: Geoffrey C. Ward
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 0712667695
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Jazz

Ken Burns and geoffrey Ward bring us the history of the first American music, from its beginnings in Ragtime, Blues and Gospel, through to the present day. JAZZ has been a prism through which so much of American History can be seen - a curious and unusually objective witness to the 20th Century.

Jazz Collins Need to Know

Author: Bob Blumenthal
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007582037
Release Date: 2014-04-24
Genre: Music

The story of the development of jazz and the extraordinary jazz legends who changed the face of music.

The History of Jazz

Author: Ted Gioia
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780195399707
Release Date: 2011-05-09
Genre: History

A panoramic history of the genre brings to life the diverse places in which jazz evolved, traces the origins of its various styles, and offers commentary on the music itself.

Jazz

Author: Geoffrey C Ward
Publisher:
ISBN: 555944118X
Release Date: 2001-01-01
Genre:

Continuing in the tradition of "The Civil War" and "Baseball", Burns and Ward look into the heart and soul of America to explore the history of a quintessentially American music--jazz. Through words and photos, readers meet Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Billie Holiday, Benny Goodman, Ella Fitzgerald, and a host of other jazz greats in this magnificent companion to the 19-hour PBS series airing January 2001. 500+ photos. (Music)

Jazz in American Culture

Author: Peter Townsend
Publisher: Univ. Press of Mississippi
ISBN: 1578063248
Release Date: 2000
Genre: History

The family of musical styles known as jazz came into being around 1900 as several popular black musical idioms coalesced. This free-flowing, spontaneous music based in improvisation emerged primarily from ragtime and the blues. But jazz did not remain solely in the domain of American music, for very quickly it swept through virtually all of the national culture as fiction, poetry, film, photography, painting, and classical music came under its spell. If it's art that expresses a nation's essence best, then jazz set America's tempo and afforded an artistic pattern for modernism. In this book for the nonspecialist Peter Townsend shows how during an entire century jazz has appeared in a wide diversity of times and places and in many different cultural settings. He reveals how jazz surfaced early in America's movies (The Jazz Singer, Strike Up the Band, Orchestra Wives, Blues in the Night) and how it became an aesthetic model serious composers (George Gershwin, Aaron Copland) did not miss. Jazz has punctuated literary fiction (Ralph Ellison, Eudora Welty, James Baldwin, John Clellon Holmes, Jack Kerouac, Toni Morrison) and American poetry (William Carlos Williams, Carl Sandburg, Langston Hughes, Percy Johnson). Jazz influenced painting (Jackson Pollock, Romare Bearden, Stuart Davis, Archibald Motley, and Jimmy Ernst), and several photographers have devoted their careers to documenting jazz performers and their music scene (William Claxton, William Gottlieb, Roy De Carava, Carol Reiff). Townsend probes the deep-rooted mythology that holds jazz as indefinable, unteachable, and instinctive with blacks but tough for whites and that its birthplace was New Orleans brothels, that its musicians live tragic lives, and that jazz is dominated by males and despises whiffs of the mainstream. As modernism swayed to the tempos of jazz and adapted to its modes, the once clearly defined lines of demarcation faded and jazz became well established as one of the great musical cultures of the world. Peter Townsend is a senior lecturer in the School of Music and Humanities at the University of Huddersfield in England. Copublished with Edinburgh University Press For sale in the U.S.A., Canada, and U.S. dependencies only

Jazz

Author: Grover Sales
Publisher: Da Capo Press
ISBN: 0306804913
Release Date: 1992-08-22
Genre: Music

Jazz: America's Classical Music is a delightful introduction and guide to this complex and compelling music and to its rich history. In an engaging and conversational style, renowned jazz teacher Grover Sales tells of the lives and music of the greats—Ellington, Tatum, Hawkins, Coltrane, Parker, Hines, Goodman, Armstrong, and many others—with a mix of important facts, fascinating anecdotes, and brilliant interpretations. Illustrated with astonishing photographs of the artists in performance, Jazz: America's Classical Music is a classic text, an ideal book for beginners and an inspiring one for serious students of the art of jazz.

What Is This Thing Called Jazz

Author: Eric Porter
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 0520928407
Release Date: 2002-01-31
Genre: Music

Despite the plethora of writing about jazz, little attention has been paid to what musicians themselves wrote and said about their practice. An implicit division of labor has emerged where, for the most part, black artists invent and play music while white writers provide the commentary. Eric Porter overturns this tendency in his creative intellectual history of African American musicians. He foregrounds the often-ignored ideas of these artists, analyzing them in the context of meanings circulating around jazz, as well as in relationship to broader currents in African American thought. Porter examines several crucial moments in the history of jazz: the formative years of the 1920s and 1930s; the emergence of bebop; the political and experimental projects of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s; and the debates surrounding Jazz at Lincoln Center under the direction of Wynton Marsalis. Louis Armstrong, Anthony Braxton, Marion Brown, Duke Ellington, W.C. Handy, Yusef Lateef, Abbey Lincoln, Charles Mingus, Archie Shepp, Wadada Leo Smith, Mary Lou Williams, and Reggie Workman also feature prominently in this book. The wealth of information Porter uncovers shows how these musicians have expressed themselves in print; actively shaped the institutional structures through which the music is created, distributed, and consumed, and how they aligned themselves with other artists and activists, and how they were influenced by forces of class and gender. What Is This Thing Called Jazz? challenges interpretive orthodoxies by showing how much black jazz musicians have struggled against both the racism of the dominant culture and the prescriptive definitions of racial authenticity propagated by the music's supporters, both white and black.

A New History of Jazz

Author: Alyn Shipton
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
ISBN: 0826429726
Release Date: 2008-05-15
Genre: Music

Alyn Shipton is on the editorial board of the new Smithsonian Collection of Classic Jazz, to be released in late 2006, and this new edition of "A New History of Jazz" will be referenced throughout to tracks in this new multi-CD collection of essential jazz recordings. Brand New Edition Featuring Over 20% Entirely New Material Praise for the first edition of A New History of Jazz:"The most outstanding single-volume history of jazz around."--Don Rose, Jazz Institute of Chicago "No jazz writer, scholar, teacher, musician, or fan should be without it on his or her desk. Yes, it really is that good."--W. Royal Stokes, Jazz Notes "Shipton has taken on the big on here and come up trumps...More trustworthy and less sentimental than many similar efforts...it achieves something approaching an essential text." -- Mojo "A marvelously balanced yet passionate history of a protean cultural form. Not only is the book encyclopedic in the breadth of its coverage, but it has a thesis - or, more accurately, a set of interlocking theses - about how the music has developed." -- History Today "Shipton's done his homework, and he knows how to tell a story." -- Blender In this major update of the acclaimed and award-winning jazz history, Alyn Shipton challenges many of the assumptions that surround the birth and growth of jazz music. How was it that it took off all over the United States early in the 20th century, despite the accepted wisdom that everything began in New Orleans? Shipton also re-evaluates the transition from swing to be-bop, asking just how political this supposed modern jazz revolution actually was. He makes the case for jazz as a truly international music from its earliest days, charting significant developments outside the USA from the 1920s onwards. All the great names in jazz history are here, from Louis Armstrong to Miles Davis and from Sidney Bechet to Charlie Parker and John Coltrane. But unlike those historians who call a halt with the death of Coltrane in 1967, Shipton continues the story with the major trends in jazz over the last 40 years: free jazz, jazz rock, world music influences, and the re-emergence of the popular jazz singer. This new edition brings the book completely up-to-date, including such names as John Medeski, Diana Krall, Django Bates, and Matthias Ruegg. There are also important new sections on Latin Jazz and the repertory movement.

A First Class Temperament

Author: Geoffrey C. Ward
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 9780804173360
Release Date: 2014-09-09
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

In this classic of American biography, based upon thousands of original documents, many never previously published, the prize-winning historian Geoffrey C. Ward tells the dramatic story of Franklin Roosevelt’s unlikely rise from cloistered youth to the brink of the presidency with a richness of detail and vivid sense of time, place, and personality usually found only in fiction. In these pages, FDR comes alive as a fond but absent father and an often unfeeling husband--the story of Eleanor Roosevelt’s struggle to build a life independent of him is chronicled in full–as well as a charming but pampered patrician trying to find his way in the sweaty world of everyday politics and all-too willing willing to abandon allies and jettison principle if he thinks it will help him move up the political ladder. But somehow he also finds within himself the courage and resourcefulness to come back from a paralysis that would have crushed a less resilient man and then go on to meet and master the two gravest crises of his time.

The Birth of Bebop

Author: Scott Knowles DeVeaux
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 0520216652
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Music

Chronicles the social and musical factors that culminated in the birth of bebop

The New Grove Gospel Blues and Jazz with Spirituals and Ragtime

Author: Paul Oliver
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393303578
Release Date: 1997-07-01
Genre: Music

'Max Harrison . . . surveys the whole history and development of jazz in a concise, well written and well illustrated . . . article together with an extensive bibliography.' Richard D. C. Noble, Times Literary Supplement

An Introduction to America s Music

Author: Richard Crawford
Publisher: W. W. Norton
ISBN: 0393935310
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Music

An ear-opening exploration of music s New World, from Puritan psalmody to mash-ups."