Jazz

Author: Geoffrey C. Ward
Publisher: Knopf
ISBN: STANFORD:36105028645641
Release Date: 2000-11-07
Genre: History

Text and photographs reveal the history of jazz and celebrate the contributions of Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald, John Coltrane, and other artists.

Jazz

Author: Geoffrey C. Ward
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 0712667695
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Jazz

Ken Burns and geoffrey Ward bring us the history of the first American music, from its beginnings in Ragtime, Blues and Gospel, through to the present day. JAZZ has been a prism through which so much of American History can be seen - a curious and unusually objective witness to the 20th Century.

Jazz Collins Need to Know

Author: Bob Blumenthal
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
ISBN: 9780007582037
Release Date: 2014-04-24
Genre: Music

The story of the development of jazz and the extraordinary jazz legends who changed the face of music.

Jazz

Author: Geoffrey C Ward
Publisher:
ISBN: 555944118X
Release Date: 2001-01-01
Genre:

Continuing in the tradition of "The Civil War" and "Baseball", Burns and Ward look into the heart and soul of America to explore the history of a quintessentially American music--jazz. Through words and photos, readers meet Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, Billie Holiday, Benny Goodman, Ella Fitzgerald, and a host of other jazz greats in this magnificent companion to the 19-hour PBS series airing January 2001. 500+ photos. (Music)

Jazz

Author: Grover Sales
Publisher: Da Capo Press
ISBN: 0306804913
Release Date: 1992-08-22
Genre: Music

Jazz: America's Classical Music is a delightful introduction and guide to this complex and compelling music and to its rich history. In an engaging and conversational style, renowned jazz teacher Grover Sales tells of the lives and music of the greats—Ellington, Tatum, Hawkins, Coltrane, Parker, Hines, Goodman, Armstrong, and many others—with a mix of important facts, fascinating anecdotes, and brilliant interpretations. Illustrated with astonishing photographs of the artists in performance, Jazz: America's Classical Music is a classic text, an ideal book for beginners and an inspiring one for serious students of the art of jazz.

Why Jazz Happened

Author: Marc Myers
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 9780520268784
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Music

"Why Jazz Happened is a fantastic, eye-opening unfolding of the music and musicians who developed this spell-binding art between World War II and Watergate. Marc Myers shatters myths here, and treats jazz history like an epic saga. I lived and breathed this period during my extensive career in jazz, and this book brings a new perspective to the music's golden era."--Creed Taylor, multi-Grammy Award-winning jazz producer "Marc Myers's Why Jazz Happened is the first wide-ranging social history of jazz, a highly original attempt to portray and understand the music's evolution by looking at it through the prism of non-musical historic events. The result is a book that will shape the way all subsequent commentators think and write about jazz history."--Terry Teachout, author of Pops: A Life of Louis Armstrong "For newcomers to jazz and the global audience for whom this music is a vital part of their lives, Marc Myers has written a deeply illuminating and engaging portrait of the essence of jazz. He writes from the inside of jazz--the experiences of the musicians themselves, on the stand and in their own lives. This book is full of surprises. I lived and wrote during much of this period, but I found here a lot that I didn't know."--Nat Hentoff, author of At the Jazz Band Ball: Sixty Years on the Jazz Scene

A New History of Jazz

Author: Alyn Shipton
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
ISBN: 0826429726
Release Date: 2008-05-15
Genre: Music

Alyn Shipton is on the editorial board of the new Smithsonian Collection of Classic Jazz, to be released in late 2006, and this new edition of "A New History of Jazz" will be referenced throughout to tracks in this new multi-CD collection of essential jazz recordings. Brand New Edition Featuring Over 20% Entirely New Material Praise for the first edition of A New History of Jazz:"The most outstanding single-volume history of jazz around."--Don Rose, Jazz Institute of Chicago "No jazz writer, scholar, teacher, musician, or fan should be without it on his or her desk. Yes, it really is that good."--W. Royal Stokes, Jazz Notes "Shipton has taken on the big on here and come up trumps...More trustworthy and less sentimental than many similar efforts...it achieves something approaching an essential text." -- Mojo "A marvelously balanced yet passionate history of a protean cultural form. Not only is the book encyclopedic in the breadth of its coverage, but it has a thesis - or, more accurately, a set of interlocking theses - about how the music has developed." -- History Today "Shipton's done his homework, and he knows how to tell a story." -- Blender In this major update of the acclaimed and award-winning jazz history, Alyn Shipton challenges many of the assumptions that surround the birth and growth of jazz music. How was it that it took off all over the United States early in the 20th century, despite the accepted wisdom that everything began in New Orleans? Shipton also re-evaluates the transition from swing to be-bop, asking just how political this supposed modern jazz revolution actually was. He makes the case for jazz as a truly international music from its earliest days, charting significant developments outside the USA from the 1920s onwards. All the great names in jazz history are here, from Louis Armstrong to Miles Davis and from Sidney Bechet to Charlie Parker and John Coltrane. But unlike those historians who call a halt with the death of Coltrane in 1967, Shipton continues the story with the major trends in jazz over the last 40 years: free jazz, jazz rock, world music influences, and the re-emergence of the popular jazz singer. This new edition brings the book completely up-to-date, including such names as John Medeski, Diana Krall, Django Bates, and Matthias Ruegg. There are also important new sections on Latin Jazz and the repertory movement.

The Birth of Bebop

Author: Scott Knowles DeVeaux
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 0520216652
Release Date: 1999
Genre: Music

Chronicles the social and musical factors that culminated in the birth of bebop

Moving to Higher Ground

Author: Wynton Marsalis
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 1588368114
Release Date: 2008-09-02
Genre: Music

“In this book I hope to reach a new audience with the positive message of America’s greatest music, to show how great musicians demonstrate on the bandstand a mutual respect and trust that can alter your outlook on the world and enrich every aspect of your life–from individual creativity and personal relationships to conducting business and understanding what it means to be American in the most modern sense.” –Wynton Marsalis In this beautiful book, the Pulitzer Prize-winning musician and composer Wynton Marsalis explores jazz and how an understanding of it can lead to deeper, more original ways of being, living, and relating–for individuals, communities, and nations. Marsalis shows us how to listen to jazz, and through stories about his life and the lessons he has learned from other music greats, he reveals how the central ideas in jazz can influence the way people think and even how they behave with others, changing self, family, and community for the better. At the heart of jazz is the expression of personality and individuality, coupled with an ability to listen to and improvise with others. Jazz as an art–and as a way to move people and nations to higher ground–is at the core of this unique, illuminating, and inspiring book, a master class on jazz and life by a brilliant American artist. Advance praise for Moving to Higher Ground “An absolute joy to read. Intimate, knowledgeable, supremely worthy of its subject. In addition to demolishing mediocre, uniformed critics, Moving to Higher Ground is a meaningful contribution to music scholarship.” –Toni Morrison “I think it should be in every bookstore, music store, and school in the country.” –Tony Bennett “Jazz, for Wynton Marsalis, is nothing less than a search for wisdom. He thinks as forcefully, and as elegantly, as he swings. When he reflects on improvisation, his subject is freedom. When he reflects on harmony, his subject is diversity and conflict and peace. When he reflects on the blues, his subject is sorrow and the mastery of it–how to be happy without being blind. There is philosophy in Marsalis’s trumpet, and in this book. Here is the lucid and probing voice of an uncommonly soulful man.” –Leon Wieseltier, literary editor, The New Republic “Wynton Marsalis is absolutely the person who should write this book. Here he is, as young as morning, as fresh as dew, and already called one of the jazz greats. He is not only a seer and an exemplary musician, but a poet as well. He informs us that jazz was created, among other things, to expose the hypocrisy and absurdity of racism and other ignorances in our country. Poetry was given to human beings for the same reason. This book could be called “How Love Can Change Your Life,” for there could be no jazz without love. By love, of course, I do not mean mush, or sentimentality. Love can only exist with courage, and this book could not be written without Wynton Marsalis’s courage. He has the courage to make powerful music and to love the music so, that he willingly shares its riches with the entire human family. We are indebted to him.” –Maya Angelou From the Hardcover edition.

America s Musical Life

Author: Richard Crawford
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 0393048101
Release Date: 2001
Genre: Music

An illustrated history of America's musical heritage ranges from the earliest examples of Native American traditional song to the innovative sound of contemporary rock and jazz.

The History of Jazz

Author: Ted Gioia
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780195399707
Release Date: 2011-05-09
Genre: History

A panoramic history of the genre brings to life the diverse places in which jazz evolved, traces the origins of its various styles, and offers commentary on the music itself.

How to Listen to Jazz

Author: Ted Gioia
Publisher: Basic Books
ISBN: 9780465097777
Release Date: 2016-05-17
Genre: Music

An Economist Best Book of the Year "A radiantly accomplished writer . . . Gioia conveys his passion for the music with vivid description and shrewd judgements."-Wall Street Journal In How to Listen to Jazz, award-winning music scholar Ted Gioia presents a lively introduction to the art of listening to jazz. He tells us what to listen for in a performance and includes a guide to today's leading jazz musicians. From Louis Armstrong's innovative sounds to the exotic compositions of Duke Ellington, Gioia covers everything from the music's history to the building blocks of improvisation. A true love letter to jazz by a foremost expert, How to Listen to Jazz is a must-read for anyone who's ever wanted to understand America's greatest contribution to music. "Gioia could not have done a better job. Through him, jazz might even find new devotees."-Economist "How to Listen to Jazz is a packed and useful introduction to the medium. . . . You feel you are in good hands."-Weekly Standard

Jazz

Author: Frank Tirro
Publisher: W. W. Norton
ISBN: 0393963683
Release Date: 1993
Genre: Music

An account of the great movements, moments, and personalities in the history of jazz, from African roots to current styles, draws on a variety of enlightening sources and perspectives