Leaving My Father s House

Author: Marion Woodman
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: UVA:X002119677
Release Date: 1992
Genre: Psychology

The life stories of three women--Kate, a professor's wife; Mary, a dancer; and Rita, a sculptor--provide clear examples of the individuation process of women in a patriarchal society.

Leaving My Father s House

Author: Marion Woodman
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: 0877738963
Release Date: 1992-11
Genre: Psychology

The life stories of three women--Kate, a professor's wife; Mary, a dancer; and Rita, a sculptor--provide examples of the individuation process of women in a patriarchal society

Conscious Femininity

Author: Marion Woodman
Publisher:
ISBN: UCSC:32106016178706
Release Date: 1993-01-01
Genre: Psychology

Candid and wide-ranging interviews dating from 1985 through 1992 with the best-selling author and Jungian analyst, Marion Woodman. Touches on sexuality, creativity, relationships, addictions, healing, rituals, and the environment.

Dancing in the Flames

Author: Marion Woodman
Publisher: Vintage Canada
ISBN: 0676970478
Release Date: 1997-08-01
Genre: Femininity

As we speed towards the next millennium, many of us are taking stock of the presences and absences in our lives. In Dancing in the Flames, Marion Woodman, along with reputed therapist Elinor Dickson, points to the gaping hole in our spiritual fabric. Unlike other cultures and eras, modern Western society has repressed notions of the Divine Feminine, possibly to the detriment of our psyches, our bodies, and even our planet. This landmark book, which draws from art, fables, science and dreams, creates a vista from which to view our imbalances and provides hope for celebration as we turn to embrace a lost aspect of ourselves. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Knowing Woman

Author: Irene De Catillejo
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: 9780834830448
Release Date: 1997-01-21
Genre: Psychology

In this classic work, a noted Jungian analyst explores the division of the human psyche into masculine and feminine. Characteristic of feminine consciousness, she writes, is diffuse awareness, which recognizes the unity of all life and promotes acceptance and relationship. The masculine attitude is one of focused consciousness, the capacity to formulate ideas and to change, invent, and create. Concerned with the experience of women in a culture dominated by masculine values, the author discusses topics such as the animus (the masculine "soul image" in a woman's unconscious); women's roles in relation to work, friends, children, and lovers; and issues such as abortion, aging, and self-determination.

Coming Home to Myself

Author: Marion Woodman
Publisher: Conari Press
ISBN: 1573245666
Release Date: 2001-04-01
Genre: Self-Help

A meditation book for women seeking to raise to their self-esteem & connect more fully with themselves.

The Fisher King and the Handless Maiden

Author: Robert A. Johnson
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780061957598
Release Date: 2009-07-21
Genre: Self-Help

In the tradition of Annie Dillard and Natalie Goldberg, this resource for writers and non-writers alike shows the act of writing to be a dynamic means of knowing, healing, and creating the body, mind, and spirit.

Meeting the Madwoman

Author: Linda Schierse Leonard
Publisher: Bantam
ISBN: 0553373188
Release Date: 1994
Genre: Religion

The author discusses the eight different types of "madwoman" energy in order to show readers how to work through potentially destructive energy and transform it in creative ways

The Feminine Mystique 50th Anniversary Edition

Author: Betty Friedan
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
ISBN: 9780393239188
Release Date: 2013-02-11
Genre: Social Science

“If you’ve never read it, read it now.”—Arianna Huffington, O, The Oprah Magazine Landmark, groundbreaking, classic—these adjectives barely do justice to the pioneering vision and lasting impact of The Feminine Mystique. Published in 1963, it gave a pitch-perfect description of “the problem that has no name”: the insidious beliefs and institutions that undermined women’s confidence in their intellectual capabilities and kept them in the home. Writing in a time when the average woman first married in her teens and 60 percent of women students dropped out of college to marry, Betty Friedan captured the frustrations and thwarted ambitions of a generation and showed women how they could reclaim their lives. Part social chronicle, part manifesto, The Feminine Mystique is filled with fascinating anecdotes and interviews as well as insights that continue to inspire. This 50th–anniversary edition features an afterword by best-selling author Anna Quindlen as well as a new introduction by Gail Collins.

The Heroine s Journey

Author: Maureen Murdock
Publisher: Shambhala Publications
ISBN: 9780834828346
Release Date: 1990-06-23
Genre: Psychology

This book describes contemporary woman's search for wholeness in a society in which she has been defined according to masculine values. Drawing upon cultural myths and fairy tales, ancient symbols and goddesses, and the dreams of contemporary women, Murdock illustrates the need for—and the reality of—feminine values in Western culture today.

The Maiden King

Author: Robert Bly
Publisher: Holt Paperbacks
ISBN: 0805057781
Release Date: 1999-10-15
Genre: Psychology

From Robert Bly, author of the groundbreaking bestseller Iron John, and famed Jungian analyst Marion Woodman comes an interpretation of a primordial folktale that takes the message behind Iron John to its next phase: the reunion of masculine and feminine. Bly and Woodman interpret the archetypal symbols embedded in an ancient Russian story, The Maiden King, a tale woven of an absent father, a possessive stepmother, a false tutor, and a young man over-whelmed by a beautiful maiden. When the young man's weak response to the maiden ss her retreating in anger, he must go on a quest for self-discovery that leads to Baba Yaga, the fierce yet empowering old woman of Russian folk tradition. The male tency toward impotence in the face of feminine magnificence, the female fear of power and abandonment that leads to rage, the need to get beyond oppositional thinking en route to the Divine, these are issues the book addresses with wisdom and lyricism. The true heir to Iron John, The Maiden King may be the intellectual answer to Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus.

The Virgin Suicides

Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Publisher: Vintage Canada
ISBN: 9780307401939
Release Date: 2011-09-20
Genre: Fiction

First published in 1993, The Virgin Suicides announced the arrival of a major new American novelist. In a quiet suburb of Detroit, the five Lisbon sisters—beautiful, eccentric, and obsessively watched by the neighborhood boys—commit suicide one by one over the course of a single year. As the boys observe them from afar, transfixed, they piece together the mystery of the family’s fatal melancholy, in this hypnotic and unforgettable novel of adolescent love, disquiet, and death. Jeffrey Eugenides evokes the emotions of youth with haunting sensitivity and dark humor and creates a coming-of-age story unlike any of our time. Adapted into a critically acclaimed film by Sofia Coppola, The Virgin Suicides is a modern classic, a lyrical and timeless tale of sex and suicide that transforms and mythologizes suburban middle-American life.

A Journey

Author: Tony Blair
Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 9780307390639
Release Date: 2011
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

A former prime minister of Great Britain describes the difficult choices he had to make, candidly revealing what it means to hold a position of great power in today's world, in an account full of surprising insights into a host of world leaders, including presidents George W. Bush and Bill Clinton. Reprint. A best-selling memoir.

A Strange Stirring

Author: Stephanie Coontz
Publisher: Basic Books
ISBN: 9780465022328
Release Date: 2011-01-04
Genre: Social Science

In 1963, Betty Friedan unleashed a storm of controversy with her bestselling book, The Feminine Mystique. Hundreds of women wrote to her to say that the book had transformed, even saved, their lives. Nearly half a century later, many women still recall where they were when they first read it. In A Strange Stirring, historian Stephanie Coontz examines the dawn of the 1960s, when the sexual revolution had barely begun, newspapers advertised for "perky, attractive gal typists,” but married women were told to stay home, and husbands controlled almost every aspect of family life. Based on exhaustive research and interviews, and challenging both conservative and liberal myths about Friedan, A Strange Stirring brilliantly illuminates how a generation of women came to realize that their dissatisfaction with domestic life didn’t reflect their personal weakness but rather a social and political injustice.

The End of Men

Author: Hanna Rosin
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101596920
Release Date: 2012-09-11
Genre: Social Science

“You have to…play by the rules so you can get to the top and change things.” -- Sheryl Sandberg A landmark portrait of women, men, and power in a transformed world Men have been the dominant sex since, well, the dawn of mankind. But Hanna Rosin was the first to notice that this long-held truth is, astonishingly, no longer true. At this unprecedented moment, by almost every measure, women are no longer gaining on men: They have pulled decisively ahead. And “the end of men”—the title of Rosin’s Atlantic cover story on the subject—has entered the lexicon as dramatically as Betty Friedan’s “feminine mystique,” Simone de Beauvoir’s “second sex,” Susan Faludi’s “backlash,” and Naomi Wolf’s “beauty myth” once did. In this landmark book, Rosin reveals how this new state of affairs is radically shifting the power dynamics between men and women at every level of society, with profound implications for marriage, sex, children, work, and more. With wide-ranging curiosity and insight unhampered by assumptions or ideology, Rosin shows how the radically different ways men and women today earn, learn, spend, couple up—even kill—has turned the big picture upside down. And in The End of Men she helps us see how, regardless of gender, we can adapt to the new reality and channel it for a better future.