Left to Themselves Valancourt Classics

Author: Edward Prime-Stevenson
Publisher: Valancourt Books
ISBN: 1943910278
Release Date: 2016-05-31
Genre: Fiction

"The rare boys' adventure story that marked the first-ever gay young adult novel republished for the first time in over a century" Edward Prime-Stevenson (1858-1942) has been described by one critic as "the first modern gay American author," and his novel "Imre: A Memorandum" (1906) has been cited as the first openly gay American novel. But fifteen years earlier, Stevenson published another milestone work, "Left to Themselves" (1891), a young adult novel described by its author as "homosexual in essence," the first such book ever published. A thrilling, fast-paced boys' adventure tale in the tradition of R. M. Ballantyne and Horatio Alger, "Left to Themselves" follows young Gerald Saxton, en route from New York to meet his father in Nova Scotia, chaperoned by the older youth Philip Touchtone. Along the way, Gerald and Philip's romantic friendship will blossom as they contend with a number of extraordinary events and obstacles, including a shipwreck that leaves them island castaways, and a mysterious, predatory figure who dogs their steps and will stop at nothing to get his hands on Gerald. Out of print for over 120 years and long unobtainable, Stevenson's book returns to print at last in this highly anticipated new edition, which is introduced and annotated by Prof. Eric L. Tribunella. This edition also features an appendix of supplementary materials, including contemporary reviews of the novel and selections of other writings by Stevenson. "A wonderful addition to gay studies in general, and in particular to the continuing 'resurrection' of Edward Prime-Stevenson." - Prof. James Gifford"

Only Lovers Left Alive Valancourt 20th Century Classics

Author: Dave Wallis
Publisher:
ISBN: 1941147623
Release Date: 2015-03-24
Genre: Fiction

A sudden rash of suicides quickly spirals out of control, as all the adults do away with themselves in a wave of existential ennui. With the "oldies" dead, teenagers inherit the world, suddenly free to smash, loot and love as they like. Motorcycle gangs hold wild orgies in abandoned apartments and prowl through the shambles of disintegrating London in search of disappearing stocks of lipstick, gasoline and food, now the currency in a new world of unspeakable violence .

The Collection of Classic Gothic Novels

Author: Nathaniel Hawthorne
Publisher: Charles River Editors via PublishDrive
ISBN: 9781537825625
Release Date: 2018-03-22
Genre: Fiction

Karpathos publishes the greatest works of history's greatest authors and collects them to make it easy and affordable for readers to have them all at the push of a button. All of our collections include a linked table of contents. Gothic literature can be traced back to 1764 with Horace Walpole's novel The Castle of Otranto.Throughout the years some of the most popular works in all of fiction have been part of the Gothic genre and that figures to remain the case in the foreseeable future.This collection includes the following: NOVELS: The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole Frankenstein by Mary Shelley Dracula by Bram Stoker The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe The Monk by M.G. Lewis Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu The Hunchback of Notre Dame by Victor Hugo, trans. by Isabel F. Hapgood Melmoth the Wanderer by Charles Maturin The History of the Caliph Vathek by William Beckford The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson The House of the Seven Gables by Nathaniel Hawthorne The Castle of Wolfenbach by Eliza Parsons Wagner the Werewolf by G.W.M. Reynolds The Old English Baron by Clara Reeve SHORT STORIES: The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Allan Poe The Pit and the Pendulum by Edgar Allan Poe The Vampyre by John William Polidori

Delphi Complete Works of Ann Radcliffe Illustrated

Author: Ann Radcliffe
Publisher: Delphi Classics
ISBN: 9781909496590
Release Date: 2013-11-17
Genre: Fiction

A pioneer of the Gothic novel, Ann Radcliffe's atmospheric tales of forlorn landscapes, haunted ruins and spine-tingling adventures helped the Gothic genre to achieve respectability in the late eighteenth century. This comprehensive eBook presents Radcliffe's complete works, with numerous illustrations, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1) * Beautifully illustrated with images relating to Radcliffe's life and works * Concise introductions to the novels and other texts * ALL 6 novels, with individual contents tables * Images of how the books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the original texts * Excellent formatting of the texts * Radcliffe's masterpiece THE MYSTERIES OF UDOLPHO is fully illustrated with the original serialisation artwork * Includes Radcliffe's rare poetry, including the epic ST. ALBAN'S ABBEY, appearing here for the first time in digital print * Explore the author's non fiction travel works and her intriguing pre-feminist text THE FEMALE ADVOCATE * Includes the 1826 biography, with extracts from Radcliffe's journal - discover the author's adventurous life * Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titles CONTENTS: The Novels THE CASTLES OF ATHLIN AND DUNBAYNE: A HIGHLAND STORY A SICILIAN ROMANCE THE ROMANCE OF THE FOREST: INTERSPERSED WITH SOME PIECES OF POETRY THE MYSTERIES OF UDOLPHO THE ITALIAN GASTON DE BLONDEVILLE The Poetry ST. ALBAN'S ABBEY: WITH SOME POETICAL PIECES MISCELLANEOUS POEMS The Non-Fiction JOURNEY MADE IN THE SUMMER OF 1794 THE FEMALE ADVOCATE The Biography LIFE AND WRITINGS OF MRS. RADCLIFFE Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titles

The Year s Best Science Fiction Eighteenth Annual Collection

Author: Gardner Dozois
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 9780312703721
Release Date: 2001-08-18
Genre: Fiction

The twenty-three stories in this collection imaginatively take us far across the universe, into the very core of our being, to the realm of the gods, and the moment just after now. Included here are the works of masters of the form and of bright new talents, including: Stephen Baxter, M.Shayne Bell, Rick Cook, Albert E. Cowdrey, Tananarive Due, Greg Egan, Eliot Fintushel, Peter F. Hamilton, Earnest Hogan, John Kessel, Nancy Kress, Ursula K. Le Guin, Paul J. McAuley, Ian McDonald, Susan Palwick, Severna Park, Alastair Reynolds, Lucius Shepard, Brian Stableford, Charles Stross, Michael Swanwick, Steven Utley, Robert Charles Wilson Supplementing the stories is the editor's insightful summation of the year's events and lengthy list of honorable mentions, making this book a valuable resource in addition to serving as the single best place in the universe to find stories that stir the imagination and the heart.

The Year s Best Science Fiction Sixth Annual Collection

Author: Gardner Dozois
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 9781466829459
Release Date: 1989-05-15
Genre: Fiction

This year's edition of The Year's Best Science Fiction demonstrates once again why the anthology received the 1988 Locus Award for the best anthology in the field. Gardner Dozois presents the finest writing of the year, from both new writers and old favorites, including Walter Jon Williams, James Patrick Kelly, Brian Stableford, Steven Gould, Harry Turtledove, Eileen Gunn, Nancy Kress, Mike Resnick, Bruce McAllister, Connie Willis, Lewis Shiner, Judith Moffett, Bruce Sterling, Robert Silverberg, George Alec Effinger, Howard Waldrop, Kim Stanley Robinson, James Lawson, Michael Swanwick, John Kessel, Stephen Kraus, Pat Cadigan, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, D. Alexander Smith, Kathe Koja, Kim Newman, Lucius Shepard. Encompassing the entire genre, this year's edition once again brings you the best science fiction stories available anywhere. "Dozois's best-of-the-year collection has become a landmark of the genre."--Publishers Weekly

The Year s Best Science Fiction Fourth Annual Collection

Author: Gardner Dozois
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
ISBN: 9781466829923
Release Date: 1987-04-15
Genre: Fiction

This latest volume of The Year's Best Science Fiction carries on the proud tradition, with stories by Lucius Shepard, Orson Scott Card, Damon Knight, Pat Cadigan, Robert Silverberg, Somtown Sucharitkul, Tanith Lee, Scott Baker, Michael Swanwick, John Kessel, Richard Kearns, Greg Bear, Bruce Sterling, Jack Dann, Tim Powers, James Patrick Kelly, Connie Willis, Harry Turtledove, Howard Waldrop, Walter Jon Williams, Neal Barret, Jr., Lewis Shiner, Judith Moffett, Kim Stanley Robinson, Tom Maddox, Karen Joy Fowler, William Gibson. More than any other anthology, this volume truly is the best science fiction of the year--the single book no SF fan can be without.

Author: Anthony Marra
Publisher: Εκδόσεις Ίκαρος
ISBN: 9789605721336
Release Date: 2016-10-13
Genre: Fiction

Η εξαιρετικά καλογραμμένη συλλογή διηγημάτων του Anthony Marra, σκιαγραφεί μια πλειάδα αξέχαστων χαρακτήρων των οποίων οι ζωές διασταυρώνονται μεταξύ τους με τρόπο σπαραχτικό. Την δεκαετία του 1930 στο Λένινγκραντ, ένας ζωγράφος-διορθωτής επεξεργάζεται επίμαχες φωτογραφίες για λογαριασμό του Κόμματος του Στάλιν, σβήνοντας και αλλοιώνοντας πρόσωπα με τον αερογράφο του. Μαγεμένος από την εικόνα μιας μπαλαρίνας, βρίσκεται κατηγορούμενος για σχέση με την πολωνική κατασκοπεία. Μια ομάδα γυναικών αφηγείται τις ιστορίες της αλλά και αυτές των γιαγιάδων τους, πρώην κρατουμένων της Γκουλάγκ, που εγκαταστάθηκαν σε πόλη ορυχείων της Σιβηρίας. Δύο ζεύγη αδερφών μοιράζονται μια άγρια, προστατευτική αγάπη. Νεαροί άνδρες σε ολόκληρη τη πρώην Σοβιετική Ένωση αντιμετωπίζουν τη βία στο σπίτι και στο στρατόπεδο. Μεγάλες θυσίες γίνονται και στο όνομα ενός πετρελαιοειδούς τοπίου, το οποίο είναι συνηθισμένο εκτός από το σχεδόν ακατανόητο ειρηνικό παρελθόν που απεικονίζει. Ο Τσάρος της αγάπης και της τέκνο, με εκπληκτική πρόζα μιλά για τη ματαιότητα της προσπάθειας να εξαλειφθούν άνθρωποι και γεγονότα, για την ανθρώπινη προσαρμοστικότητα, το παράλογο της ζωής και του πολέμου, αλλά και το πόσο μικρή είναι η ζωή μας σε σχέση με το μέγεθος του σύμπαντος.

Logicomix

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: 960839967X
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Comic books, strips, etc

An innovative, dramatic graphic novel about the treacherous pursuit of the foundations of mathematics.