Lucky Peach Issue 18

Author: David Chang
Publisher:
ISBN: 1941235085
Release Date: 2016-02-09
Genre:

Lucky Peach is a quarterly journal of food and writing. Each issue focuses on a single theme, and explores that theme through essays, art, photography, and recipes. The theme of Lucky Peach Issue 18 is Versus.

Lucky Peach

Author: David Chang
Publisher:
ISBN: 1941235050
Release Date: 2015-05-07
Genre: Cooking

Lucky Peach is a quarterly journal of food and writing. Each issue focuses on a single theme, and explores that theme through essays, art, photography, and recipes.

Lucky Peach

Author: David Chang
Publisher:
ISBN: 1941235093
Release Date: 2016-05-10
Genre: Cooking

Lucky Peach is a quarterly journal of food and writing. Each issue focuses on a single theme, and explores that theme through essays, art, photography, and recipes. Lucky Peach #19’s theme is Pho.

Lucky Peach

Author: David Chang
Publisher:
ISBN: 1941235069
Release Date: 2015-08-11
Genre: Cooking

Lucky Peach is a quarterly journal of food and writing. Each issue focuses on a single theme, and explores that theme through essays, art, photography, and recipes.

The Wurst of Lucky Peach

Author: Chris Ying
Publisher: Clarkson Potter
ISBN: 9780804187787
Release Date: 2016-04-05
Genre: Cooking

The best in wurst from around the world, with enough sausage-themed stories and pictures stuffed between these two covers to turn anyone into a forcemeat aficionado. Lucky Peach presents a cookbook as a scrapbook, stuffed with curious local specialties, like cevapi, a caseless sausage that’s traveled all the way from the Balkans to underneath the M tracks in Ridgewood, Queens; a look into the great sausage trails of the world, from Bavaria to Texas Hill Country and beyond; and the ins and outs of making your own sausages, including fresh chorizo. From the Hardcover edition.

The Good Earth

Author: Pearl S. Buck
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9780743272933
Release Date: 2004-09-15
Genre: Fiction

A Chinese peasant overcomes the forces of nature and the frailties of human nature to become a wealthy landowner.

Lucky Peach

Author: David Chang
Publisher: McSweeney's
ISBN: 9781938073465
Release Date: 2013-02-26
Genre: Cooking

A new issue of a popular full-color journal of food writing collects travelogue, essays, art, photography, rants and more from top chefs and other food authorities. Original.

Lucky Peach

Author: David Chang
Publisher:
ISBN: 1941235077
Release Date: 2015-11-17
Genre: Cooking

Lucky Peach is a quarterly journal of food and writing. Each issue focuses on a single theme, and explores that theme through essays, art, photography, and recipes. Lucky Peach #17 investigates our most important meal of the day, BREAKFAST. Contributions will include Adam Leith Gollner on Hong Kong breakfasts, Marian Bull on Sunrise Biscuit Kitchen, as well as Mystery Science 3000, Lisa Hanawalt, Mark Ibold, Anthony Bourdain, Jonathan Gold, and more.

Farewell to Manzanar

Author: Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780547528618
Release Date: 2002-04-29
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

During World War II a community called Manzanar was hastily created in the high mountain desert country of California, east of the Sierras. Its purpose was to house thousands of Japanese American internees. One of the first families to arrive was the Wakatsukis, who were ordered to leave their fishing business in Long Beach and take with them only the belongings they could carry. For Jeanne Wakatsuki, a seven-year-old child, Manzanar became a way of life in which she struggled and adapted, observed and grew. For her father it was essentially the end of his life. At age thirty-seven, Jeanne Wakatsuki Houston recalls life at Manzanar through the eyes of the child she was. She tells of her fear, confusion, and bewilderment as well as the dignity and great resourcefulness of people in oppressive and demeaning circumstances. Written with her husband, Jeanne delivers a powerful first-person account that reveals her search for the meaning of Manzanar. Farewell to Manzanar has become a staple of curriculum in schools and on campuses across the country. Last year the San Francisco Chronicle named it one of the twentieth century’s 100 best nonfiction books from west of the Rockies. First published in 1973, this new edition of the classic memoir of a devastating Japanese American experience includes an inspiring afterword by the authors.

Lucky Peach Presents Power Vegetables

Author: Peter Meehan
Publisher: Clarkson Potter
ISBN: 9780553447989
Release Date: 2016-10-17
Genre: Cooking (Vegetables)

Mostly vegetarian and infrequently vegan, the recipes in Lucky Peach Presents Power Vegetables! are all indubitably delicious. The editors of Lucky Peach have colluded to bring you a portfolio of meat-free cooking that even carnivores can get behind. Designed to bring BIG-LEAGUE FLAVOR to your WEEKNIGHT COOKING, this collection of recipes, developed by the Lucky Peach test kitchen and chef friends, features trusted strategies for adding oomph to produce with flavors that will muscle meat out of the picture. -- New York Times, Holiday Cookbook Roundup

Their Eyes Were Watching God

Author: Zora Neale Hurston
Publisher: University of Illinois Press
ISBN: 0252017781
Release Date: 1937
Genre: Fiction

When Janie Starks returns home, the small Black community buzzes with gossip about the outcome of her affair with a younger man

Salt Fat Acid Heat

Author: Samin Nosrat
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781476753836
Release Date: 2017-04-25
Genre: Cooking

New York Times Bestseller A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters. In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time. Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs. Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need. With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

Eat More Better

Author: Dan Pashman
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781451689730
Release Date: 2014-10-14
Genre: Cooking

The creator of the Sporkful, shares tips and techniques for getting the best flavor from every food and provides the answers to some of life's most important gastronomical questions, including "Is an open-faced sandwich actually a sandwich?"

Ulysses

Author: James Joyce
Publisher:
ISBN: 0192834649
Release Date: 1998
Genre: Bloom, Leopold (Fictitious character)

Ulysses has been the subject of controversy since copies of the first English edition were burned by the New York Post Office Authorities. Today critical interest centers on the authority of the text. This edition republishes, for the first time, without interference, the original 1922 text. Jeri Johnson's critical Introduction demystifies the complexities of the book, and a full textual publication history, helpful appendices, and explanatory notes guide the reader through this highly allusive text.

Lucky Peach

Author: David Chang
Publisher: McSweeneys Books
ISBN: 1936365553
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Cooking

Lucky Peach is a journal of food writing, published on a quarterly basis by McSweeney’s. It is a creation of David Chang, the James Beard Award–winning chef behind the Momofuku restaurants in New York, Momofuku cookbook cowriter Peter Meehan, and Zero Point Zero Production—producers of the Travel Channel’s Emmy Award–winning Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations. The result of this collaboration is a mélange of travelogue, essays, art, photography, and rants in a full-color, meticulously designed format. Recipes will defy the tired ingredients-and-numbered-steps formula. They’ll be laid out sensibly, inspired by the thought process that went into developing them. The aim of Lucky Peach is to give a platform to a brand of food writing that began with unorthodox authors like Bourdain, resulting in a publication that appeals to diehard foodies as well as fans of good writing and art in general. What's inside? -David Simon, creator of The Wire and Treme, remembers his father via pickles and cream. -Jonathan Gold and Robert Sietsema talk Teletubbies in Kansas City. -There's a “Choose Your Own Adventure”–style hunt for tacos through Texas and California. -Plus stuff from Harold McGee, Anthony Bourdain, Elvis Mitchell, and more!