News Reporting and Writing

Author: Melvin Mencher
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Humanities, Social Sciences & World Languages
ISBN: 0072564970
Release Date: 2002-07
Genre:

NWR Nine is the 25th Anniversary Edition of this classic text. Teaching by example, with vivid writing, Mr. Mencher teaches students the fundamentals of reporting and writing news.

News Reporting and Writing

Author: Melvin Mencher
Publisher:
ISBN: 0071214089
Release Date: 2002-09-01
Genre:

NWR Nine is the 25th anniversary edition of this classic text. Teaching by example, with vivid writing, Mr Mencher teaches students the fundamentals of reporting and writing news.

News Reporting and Writing

Author: Missouri Group
Publisher: Macmillan Higher Education
ISBN: 9781457663727
Release Date: 2013-11-15
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

As media evolve and new formats emerge, journalism students face new challenges and need new advice. The Missouri Group confronts these issues in the new edition of News Reporting and Writing, teaching students how to work in the new world of digital journalism by using the enduring skills and current savvy that all reporters need. With new annotated models tracking a story across multiple electronic formats, expanded coverage of writing for digital media, and integrated video clips that go beyond the printed book, News Reporting and Writing will leave students better-prepared than ever.

Copycrafting

Author: Kenneth L. Rosenauer
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
ISBN: 0199763658
Release Date: 2013-07-15
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

From newspapers to TwitterRG, the media's ability to deliver news and interact with audiences is constantly changing. In Copycrafting, author Kenneth Rosenauer provides aspiring journalists and copyeditors with the essential tools for delivering content effectively and correctly, regardless of the media platform used. Flexible enough to work either in conjunction with any editing text or on its own, this workbook offers brief, consolidated lessons on copyediting basics - including the copyeditor's role, editing practices, ethics and diversity issues - and AP style, punctuation, grammar, spelling and usage rules. Rosenauer covers a specific rule in each chapter, providing numerous examples and exercises for practice. This allows students to actively learn the editing skills that they will need to flourish in the constantly evolving media landscape.

Racism Sexism and the Media

Author: Clint C Wilson II
Publisher: SAGE
ISBN: 0761925163
Release Date: 2003-08-28
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Racial and ethnic inclusiveness has grown to be more important in the Untied States as its society has become increasingly diverse. Racism, Sexism, and the Media: The Rise of Class Communication in Multicultural America, Third Edition examines how people of color fit into the fabric of America and how the media tell them and others how they fit. Authors Clint C. Wilson, Félix Gutiérrez, and Lena M. Chao perceive the rise of class communication as a result of the convergence of new media technologies and continued demographic segmentation of audiences as people of color grow as targets of and markets for the media. Racism, Sexism, and the Media, Third Edition is recommended for undergraduate and graduate students of mass communication and social sciences, including journalism, broadcasting, film, and advertising.

Writing and Reporting News A Coaching Method

Author: Carole Rich
Publisher: Cengage Learning
ISBN: 9781305537842
Release Date: 2015-01-01
Genre: Business & Economics

Pulling examples straight from recent headlines, WRITING AND REPORTING NEWS: A COACHING METHOD, 8e uses tips and techniques from revered writing coaches and award-winning journalists to help you develop the writing and reporting skills you need to succeed in the changing world of journalism. Full-color photographs and a strong storytelling approach keep you captivated throughout the book. An entire chapter is devoted to media ethics, while ethical dilemmas in each chapter give you practice working through ethical issues before you face them on the job. Offering the most up-to-date coverage available, the Eighth Edition fully integrates multimedia content into the chapters-reflecting the way the news world actually operates. It also includes an all-new book glossary featuring many of the newer terms used in Journalism. Integrating new trends in the convergence of print, broadcast, and online media, WRITING AND REPORTING NEWS equips you with the fundamental skills you need for media careers now-and in the future. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

The Law of Public Communication

Author: Kent R. Middleton
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781351692342
Release Date: 2017-07-06
Genre: Law

Now in its tenth edition, The Law of Public Communication provides an overview of media law that includes the most current legal developments. It explains the laws affecting the daily work of writers, broadcasters, PR practitioners, photographers, and other public communicators. By providing statutes and cases in an accessible manner, even to students studying law for the first time, the authors ensure that students will acquire a firm grasp of the legal issues affecting the media. This new edition features color photos, as well as breakout boxes that apply the book’s principles to daily life. The new case studies discussed often reflect new technologies and professional practices.

The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Manual

Author: Norm Goldstein
Publisher: Addison-Wesley Longman
ISBN: 0201339854
Release Date: 1998
Genre: Journalism

The style of the Associated Press defines clear news writing. In fact, more people write for the AP news service than for any single newspaper or broadcaster in the world. The AP Stylebook is therefore ”the journalist’s bible,” an essential handbook for all writers, editors, students, and public-relations specialists. The AP Stylebook contains over 5,000 entries laying out the AP’s rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, and usage. It gives journalists the references they need to write about the world today: correct names of countries and organizations, language to avoid, common trademarks. Special sections cover business and sports reporting. This edition, published in the Associated Press’s 150th year, also includes crucial advice on how writers can guard against libel and copyright infringement.An up-to-date AP Stylebook belongs on the desk of every working writer.

Cross Cultural Journalism

Author: Maria Len-Rios
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781317665465
Release Date: 2015-12-22
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

Built on the hands-on reporting style and curriculum pioneered by the University of Missouri, this introductory textbook teaches students how to write about and communicate with people of backgrounds that may be different from their own, offering real-world examples of how to practice excellent journalism and strategic communication that take culture into account. Specifically, the book addresses how to: engage with and talk across difference; identify the ways bias can creep into our communications, and how to mitigate our tendencies toward bias; use the concept of fault lines and approach sources and audiences with humility and respect; communicate with audiences about the complexity inherent in issues of crime, immigration, sports, health inequalities, among other topics; interpret census data categories and work with census data to craft stories or create strategic campaign strategies; reconsider common cultural assumptions about race, class, gender, identity, sexual orientation, immigration status, religion, disability, and age, and recognize their evolving and constructed meaning and our role as professional communicators in shaping national discussions of these issues. In addition to its common sense, practical approach, the book’s chapters are written by national experts and leading scholars on the subject. Interviews with award-winning journalists, discussion questions, suggested activities, and additional readings round out this timely and important new textbook. Supplemented by a companion website featuring additional case studies and examples of best practice, Cross-Cultural Journalism offers journalists and other communication professionals the conceptual framework and practical know-how they need to report and communicate effectively about difference.

The Writer s Art

Author: James J. Kilpatrick
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN: 9781449405618
Release Date: 2010-09-14
Genre: Language Arts & Disciplines

"Writing comes in grades of quality in the fashion of beer and baseball games," says James J. Kilpatrick, "good, better, and best." With the experience of a lifetime of writing, he tells us, he wants to make a few judgment calls. And Jack Kilpatrick, master of the art, is as good as his word. In the tradition of Theodore Bernstein, Edwin Newman, and William Safire, James J. Kilpatrick gives us a finely crafted, witty guide to writing well. Written for laymen and professionals alike, The Writer's Art highlights techniques and examples of good writing. A section of the book called "My Crotchets and Your Crotchets" comprises more than 200 personal judgment calls, often controversial, often funny, on word usage.

The Associated Press Stylebook 2017

Author: The Associated Press
Publisher: Basic Books
ISBN: 0465093043
Release Date: 2017-07-11
Genre: Reference

The style of the Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. With The AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which they are famous. Fully revised and updated, this new edition contains more than 3,000 A to Z entries—including more than 200 new ones—detailing the AP's rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, capitalization, abbreviation, and word and numeral usage. You'll find answers to such wide-ranging questions as: · When should the names of government bodies be spelled out and when should they be abbreviated? · What are the general definitions of the major religious movements? · Which companies do the big media conglomerates own? · Who are all the members of the British Commonwealth? · How should box scores for baseball games be filed? · What constitutes “fair use”? · What exactly does the Freedom of Information Act cover? With invaluable additional sections on the unique guidelines for business and sports reporting and on how you can guard against libel and copyright infringement, The AP Stylebook is the one reference that all writers, editors, and students cannot afford to be without.

Getting It Wrong

Author: W. Joseph Campbell
Publisher: Univ of California Press
ISBN: 9780520291294
Release Date: 2016-10-18
Genre: History

Many of American journalism’s best-known and most cherished stories are exaggerated, dubious, or apocryphal. They are media-driven myths, and they attribute to the news media and their practitioners far more power and influence than they truly exert. In Getting It Wrong, writer and scholar W. Joseph Campbell confronts and dismantles prominent media-driven myths, describing how they can feed stereotypes, distort understanding about the news media, and deflect blame from policymakers. Campbell debunks the notions that the Washington Post’s Watergate reporting brought down Richard M. Nixon’s corrupt presidency, that Walter Cronkite’s characterization of the Vietnam War in 1968 shifted public opinion against the conflict, and that William Randolph Hearst vowed to “furnish the war” against Spain in 1898. This expanded second edition includes a new preface and new chapters about the first Kennedy-Nixon debate in 1960, the haunting Napalm Girl photograph of the Vietnam War, and bogus quotations driven by the Internet and social media.