Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0547350570
Release Date: 2010-06-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

A modern classic that no child should miss. Since it was first published in 1939, Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel has delighted generations of children. Mike and his trusty steam shovel, Mary Anne, dig deep canals for boats to travel through, cut mountain passes for trains, and hollow out cellars for city skyscrapers -- the very symbol of industrial America. But with progress come new machines, and soon the inseparable duo are out of work. Mike believes that Mary Anne can dig as much in a day as one hundred men can dig in a week, and the two have one last chance to prove it and save Mary Anne from the scrap heap. What happens next in the small town of Popperville is a testament to their friendship, and to old-fashioned hard work and ingenuity.

Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0395259398
Release Date: 1967
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Threatened by competition from modern shovels, Mike proves the worth of his trusty old steam shovel, Mary Anne.

Mike Mulligan and his steam shovel

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher:
ISBN: UVA:X001092027
Release Date: 1939
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When Mike Mulligan and his steam shovel, Mary Ann, lose their jobs to the gasoline, electric, and diesel motor shovels, they go to a little country town where they find that one new job leads to another.

CliffsNotes ACT Cram Plan 2nd Edition

Author: Jane R. Burstein
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780544248311
Release Date: 2014-06-24
Genre: Study Aids

This updated edition of the best-selling CliffsNotes ACT® Cram Plan uses calendars to create a specific study plan for ACT test-takers depending on how much time they have left before they take the test! Features of this plan-to-ace-the-exam product include: • Timed, boxed calendars for preparing to take the ACT—two-month study calendar, one-month study calendar, and one-week study calendar • Diagnostic test that helps test-takers pinpoint strengths and weaknesses so they can focus their review on topics in which they need the most help • Subject reviews that cover everything on the exam: English, math, science, and the dreaded essay • Full-length practice test with answers and explanations

Mike Mulligan and More

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 054734970X
Release Date: 2002-10-28
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Best known for the ever popular Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and the Caldecott Medal winner The Little House, Virginia Lee Burton wrote and illustrated stories that have been entertaining children, parents, and grandparents for more than sixty years. Many of her books—with themes that honor a simple way of life and celebrate heroes who endure through determination and by adapting to change—have become classic American tales. With an introduction by Barbara Elleman, author of Virginia Lee Burton: A Life in Art,this handsome collection commemorates four of Burton’s most popular stories, each featured complete and unabridged. Their appeal today, as strong as when the books were first published, is a tribute to one of America’s most innovative illustrators, designers, and writers of stories for children.

Maybelle the Cable Car

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780547422329
Release Date: 1997-03-31
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Maybelle was a cable car a San Francisco cable car. . . She rang her gong and sang her song from early morn till late at night. . . . By recounting the actual events in San Francisco's effort to keep the city's cable cars running, this classic story illustrates how the voice of the people can be heard in the true spirit of democracy. Virginia Lee Burton's original art for Maybelle the Cable Car was retrieved from the archives of the San Francisco Public Library to re-create this edition with all the vibrant charm of the original, which was published in 1952.

Katy and the Big Snow

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0395181550
Release Date: 1943
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Geappolis is hidden under a blanket of snow until a red crawler tractor saves the day

Choo Choo

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0547349718
Release Date: 1989-04-24
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

The adventures of a beautiful little locomotive who decided to run away from her humdrum duties.

Small Walt

Author: Elizabeth Verdick
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781481448468
Release Date: 2017-10-31
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

“Charming and endearing.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “The grit of The Little Engine that Could, the nostalgic illustrations of Katy and the Big Snow, and a touch of modernity from an accomplished author and illustrator, combine to become Small Walt.” —School Library Journal A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could. My name is Walt, I plow and I salt. They say I’m small, but I’ll show them all. Small Walt and his driver, Gus, take on a blizzard! All the bigger snowplows doubt that Walt has what it takes to plow the roads in the storm, but Walt is determined to prove them wrong. Brimming with onomatopoeia and Walt’s affirming chants, this sweet picture book shows that when it comes to strength, size doesn’t matter. Bestselling illustrator Marc Rosenthal’s wintry scenes make this book the perfect cozy read-aloud.

Big Machines

Author: Sherri Duskey Rinker
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9781328468246
Release Date: 2017-09-05
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

In this loving tribute to Virginia Lee Burton, the New York Times best-selling creators Sherri Duskey Rinker and John Rocco pay homage to the storied life of one of the most beloved creators in children’s literature. Everyone in Folly Cove knows Virginia Lee as “Jinnee.” With her magical wands she can draw whatever she imagines, but for her sons Aris and Michael, she draws the most wonderful characters of all: BIG MACHINES with friendly names like Mary Anne, Maybelle, and Katy. Her marvelous magical wands can make anything move—even a cheerful Little House.

The Little House

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780547350554
Release Date: 2009-12-15
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Virginia Lee Burton won the Caldecott Medal in 1943 for her memorable picture book The Little House, a poignant story of a cute country cottage that becomes engulfed by the city that grows up around it. The house has an expressive face of windows and doors, and even the feelings of a person, so she’s sad when she’s surrounded by the dirty, noisy city’s hustle and bustle: “She missed the field of daisies / and the apple trees dancing in the moonlight.” Fortunately, there’s a happy ending, as the house is taken back to the country where she belongs. A classic!

Calico the Wonder Horse

Author: Virginia Lee Burton
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0547530633
Release Date: 1997-10-30
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Way out west in Cactus county lived a horse named Calico. She wasn’t very pretty, but she was smart and could run like greased lightning. When villain Stewy Stinker threatens to hold up Santa Claus on Christmas Eve, will Calico the Wonder Horse be able to save the day? This gift edition celebrates the 75th Anniversary of this classic tale by Caldecott medalist Virginia Lee Burton, the author of Mike Mulligan and the Steam Shovel. With an updated cover, it's the perfect holiday present for children of all ages.

Otis

Author: Loren Long
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399252488
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

When a big new yellow tractor arrives, Otis the friendly little tractor is cast away behind the barn, but when trouble occurs Otis is the only one who can help.

Virginia Lee Burton

Author: Barbara Elleman
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 9780618003426
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Examines the life, career, artistic style, and literary themes of the twentieth-century author and illustrator of such classic picture books as "Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel" and "The Little House."

The Fun Book of Scary Stuff

Author: Emily Jenkins
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN: 9781466894365
Release Date: 2015-08-11
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

There are lots of frightening things out there. Witches. Trolls. Sharks. The DARK! But nothing seems as scary once you turn on the light. In this hilarious picture book, a boy and his two dogs go through a list of all the things, both real and imagined, that make the hair on the backs of their necks stand on end-and come up with a clever way to face their fears.