Moral Defense

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
ISBN: 1503938697
Release Date: 2016-11-08
Genre: Fiction

For defense attorney Samantha Brinkman, it's not about guilt or innocence--it's about making sure her clients walk. In the follow-up to bestselling Blood Defense, Samantha is hired as the legal advocate for Cassie Sonnenberg after a brutal stabbing left her father and brother dead, and her mother barely clinging to life. It's a tabloid-ready case that has the nation in an uproar--and Sam facing her biggest challenge yet. Why did Cassie survive? Is she hiding something? As Sam digs in to find the answers, she's surprised to find herself identifying with Cassie, becoming more and more personally entangled in the case. But when Sam finally discovers the reason for that kinship, she faces a choice she never imagined she'd have to make.

Blood Defense

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
ISBN: 1503936198
Release Date: 2016-05-01
Genre:

Samantha Brinkman, an ambitious, hard-charging Los Angeles criminal defense attorney, is struggling to make a name for herself and to drag her fledgling practice into the big leagues. Sam lands a high-profile double-murder case in which one of the victims is a beloved TV star--and the defendant is a decorated veteran LAPD detective. It promises to be exactly the kind of media sensation that would establish her as a heavy hitter in the world of criminal law. Though Sam has doubts about his innocence, she and her two associates (her closest childhood friend and a brilliant ex-con) take the case. Notorious for living by her own rules--and fearlessly breaking everyone else's--Samantha pulls out all the stops in her quest to uncover evidence that will clear the detective. But when a shocking secret at the core of the case shatters her personal world, Sam realizes that not only has her client been playing her, he might be one of the most dangerous sociopaths she's ever encountered.

Snap Judgment

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
ISBN: 154204555X
Release Date: 2017-08-29
Genre: Fiction

In the third installment of Marcia Clark's bestselling series, attorney Samantha Brinkman's investigation into a family's deadly secrets is compromised by a threat from her past. When the daughter of prominent civil litigator Graham Hutchins is found with her throat slashed, the woman's spurned ex-boyfriend seems the likely suspect. But only days later, the young man dies in what appears to be a suicide. Or was it? Now authorities are faced with a possible new crime. And their person of interest is Hutchins. After all, avenging the death of his daughter is the perfect reason to kill. If he's as innocent as he claims, only one lawyer has what it takes to prove it: his friend and colleague Samantha Brinkman. It's Sam's obligation to trust her new client. Yet the deeper she digs on his behalf, the more entangled she becomes in a thicket of family secrets, past betrayals, and multiple motives for murder. To win her case, she's prepared to bend any law and cross any boundary that stands in her way. Sam has always played by her own rules, and it's always worked...so far. But this case cuts so deep and so personal that one false move could cost her everything.

Guilt By Association

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444707519
Release Date: 2011-05-12
Genre: Fiction

In Rachel Knight, author and OJ Simpson prosecutor Marcia Clark has created a feisty heroine with class and style - a terrific character for a heart-thumping thriller series set in LA. 'A terrific writer and storyteller' James Patterson When Deputy District Attorney Rachel Knight's journey home is interrupted by screaming sirens, she decides to follow them. But what she finds when she arrives at a sleazy LA motel shatters her world: her trusted colleague Jake lies dead beside the body of a teenage male prostitute. The police say murder/suicide. Rachel's gut says different. Her search for proof will take her through the dark and tangled city, from its wealthy suburbs to its violent heart. And a truth so dangerous it could kill her. Rachel Knight returns in the novels GUILT BY DEGREES, KILLER AMBITION and THE COMPETITION and the short stories If I'm Dead and Trouble In Paradise for more L.A. crime and court action!

Killer Ambition

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444755251
Release Date: 2013-06-06
Genre: Fiction

In this gripping legal thriller from author and prosecutor Marcia Clark, Rachel Knight faces down the dark side of Hollywood - perfect for fans of James Patterson and David Baldacci. Would you kill to protect your career? When the teenage daughter of a billionaire director is kidnapped, Deputy DA Rachel Knight and Detective Bailey Killer are on the case. But things go wrong fast. The girl is found murdered, and the man they suspect has rich and powerful friends. In the hostile glare of the media, under attack from her own bosses, Rachel prepares the case for trial. She will bring the truth to light... no matter who wants it to stay hidden. The stage is set for stunning courtroom drama and a thrilling ride through the dark side of Hollywood.

The Competition

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444755299
Release Date: 2014-07-03
Genre: Fiction

Los Angeles DA Rachel Knight is brought in to the aftermath of a high-school shooting in Marcia Clark's gripping legal thriller - perfect for fans of David Baldacci and James Patterson. It's every parent's nightmare. When a high-school shooting leaves dozens dead, including the killers, the grieving community can at least be sure it won't happen again. But as prosecutor Rachel Knight and detective Bailey Keller dig deeper, they realise that the worst isn't over. The clues at the crime scene don't add up. It seems that the real shooters are still out there... In the chaos that follows, Rachel and Bailey must scramble to identify the suspects and stop them before they can strike again. Because the killers have plans. They want to beat their competition. They want to be the best... at murder.

Guilt By Degrees

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444707557
Release Date: 2012-05-10
Genre: Fiction

The gripping legal thriller from author and prosecutor Marcia Clark, perfect for fans of James Patterson and David Baldacci. Rachel Knight has never been one to let justice slide from the grip of the law. So when a deputy district attorney mishandles a murder case and then shrugs it off - the victim was a homeless guy, so who cares? - she decides to take the case on herself. With the help of Detective Bailey Keller, Rachel soon finds a missing piece of the puzzle. And a new mystery: the homeless man's death is somehow connected to the vicious murder of a LAPD cop a year earlier. The prime suspect in the murder was acquitted - but now Rachel and Bailey are hot on the trail of new leads. What Rachel doesn't know is that she's being watched. Someone is following her every move, and just waiting for a chance to strike...

Trouble in Paradise

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781444753868
Release Date: 2013-05-23
Genre: Fiction

TROUBLE IN PARADISE is an all-new short story featuring Rachel Knight, star of thrillers GUILT BY ASSOCIATION and GUILT BY DEGREES. Rachel Knight and her friends Toni and Bailey are taking a break from their busy, crime-focussed lives with a trip to tropical island paradise Aruba. But trouble is never far away from these three, and on their first day their investigative skills are called on when a reality TV child star goes missing...

Without a Doubt

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Graymalkin Media
ISBN: 1631680692
Release Date: 2016-05-03
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

"With a new foreword by the author" -- Cover.

If I m Dead

Author: Marcia Clark
Publisher: Mulholland Books
ISBN: 9780316224703
Release Date: 2012-04-03
Genre: Fiction

It started with a haunting image: a Ford Explorer, iridescent in the moonlight and alone on a desolate stretch of beach. Its owner, Melissa Gibbons, has gone missing. Her husband says she flew the coop. But Los Angeles Deputy DA Rachel Knight is convinced otherwise: Melissa Gibbons has been murdered. So begins the confounding case that Rachel must present before a disbelieving jury. A dissatisfied heiress and her philandering husband-- what really happened? The husband has a fiendishly convincing case that Melissa faked her own death and fled. But with the support of her trusty sidekick, Detective Bailey Keller, Rachel pieces together a much more sinister truth. In this short, standalone Rachel Knight thriller, readers follow our savvy and riotously entertaining heroine through the surprising world of LA crime.

It Happened on a Train

Author: Mac Barnett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781416978190
Release Date: 2011-10-04
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Seventh-grader Steve Brixton finds himself pulled back into sleuthing when, during a train trip down the California coast, he uncovers a mystery involving a fleet of priceless automobiles, an assassin, and a private rail car.

Murder in the Courthouse

Author: Nancy Grace
Publisher: BenBella Books, Inc.
ISBN: 9781942952893
Release Date: 2016-10-11
Genre: Fiction

Hailey Dean, the prosecutor who never lost a case, jets to Savannah as an expert witness on the sensational Julie Love-Adams murder trial but very quickly finds herself embroiled in a deadly mystery. As soon as she touches down, Hailey bumps into her old partner, crime investigator Garland Fincher. Leaving the Savannah airport, the two hear an APB on a murder that’s just been committed. Racing to the scene, they find Alton Turner, a courthouse sheriff known for crossing t’s and dotting i’s. The mild-mannered paperpusher is prone to extreme tidiness, but he’s a hot mess now . . . sprawled dead in a pool of blood, severed in half by a garage door. Never one to stay in the background, Hailey jump-starts Turner’s murder investigation while juggling the Julie Love-Adams trial. The timing of the trial and murder could be a coincidence, but everyone knows there are no coincidences in criminal law. And that’s just the beginning. Courthouse regulars start dropping dead one by one . . . but why? While Lt. Billings is falling hard for Hailey, she digs in to find a killer with a mysterious agenda . . . as it becomes deathly apparent the next murder victim may very well be Hailey herself. It’s crime sleuth Hailey Dean at her best!

Honor Among Enemies An Honor Harrington Novel

Author: Weber
Publisher: Baen Books
ISBN: 9780671877231
Release Date: 1996-06-01
Genre: Fiction

Offered a chance to reclaim her career with the Royal Manticoran Navy, exiled officer Honor Harrington is charged with stopping a band of pirates, a mission that soon has her questioning who are her friends and who are her enemies.

The Ghostwriter Secret

Author: Mac Barnett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1442409568
Release Date: 2010-10-05
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

Steve Brixton is fast becoming America's top detective. After saving the United States of America in The Case of the Case of Mistaken Identity, he has opened his own agency. Steve gets a call to solve the case of the Fairview diamond but it turns into an even bigger mystery. MacArthur Bart, author of Steve's beloved Bailey Brothers series, has been kidnapped!! And there is only one 12-year-old detective who can find him. But not without the help of his best chum Dana and The Bailey Brothers Detective Handbook. Full of run-ins with goons, bullys, and the B. Syndicate (or is that Bee Syndicate?), The *Ghostwriter Secret will keep everyone laughing with suspense. *Please note Steve encounters no specters in the course of this book.