Mrs Jeffries Rights a Wrong

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584213
Release Date: 2017-05-02
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries is back in the New York Times bestselling Victorian Mytery series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. Thomas Mundy checks in to London’s Wrexley Hotel, but he never checks out. The maid finds him on the floor of his room, bludgeoned to death by his own walking stick. Inspector Witherspoon is soon on the case and learns Mundy had a reputation for being polite, charming, and diligent—an unlikely victim for such a violent crime. But Mrs. Jeffries and the household staff uncover that Mundy was less an amiable businessman and more a duplicitous con man with enemies on both sides of the Atlantic. Now Witherspoon and his staff must determine who on their lengthy list of suspects had the motive to put Mundy in the red. A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done. From the Paperback edition.

Mrs Jeffries and the Three Wise Women

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584237
Release Date: 2017-10-17
Genre: Fiction

As the holidays approach, all is merry and bright for Inspector Witherspoon, Mrs. Jeffries, and the staff at Upper Edmonton Gardens...but murder knows no season. MURDER UPON A MIDNIGHT CLEAR Christopher Gilhaney isn’t a popular man, and he proves why once again when he insults every guest at Abigail Chase’s Guy Fawkes Night dinner party. When Gilhaney is shot dead under the cover of the night’s fireworks, his murder is deemed a robbery gone wrong. But when the case hasn’t been solved six weeks later, Inspector Witherspoon is called upon to find the killer—and quickly! With Christmas almost here, Inspector Witherspoon and everyone in his household is upset at the possibility of having to cancel their holiday plans—all to solve a case that seems impossible. Only Luty Belle, Ruth, and Mrs. Goodge refuse to give up and let the crime become a cold case. In fact, the American heiress, the charming next-door neighbor, and the formidable cook use all of their persuasive powers to get the others on board, because these three wise women know justice doesn’t take time off for Christmas.

Mrs Jeffries Sallies Forth

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425269343
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries, housekeeper to Scotland Yard Inspector Witherspoon, helps solve three murder cases, including one in which a theater critic known for his harsh reviews turns up dead in a canal.

The Inspector and Mrs Jeffries

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644829
Release Date: 1993-02-01
Genre: Fiction

As Inspector Witherspoon's dedicated housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries keeps things running smoothly and is quite clever at putting Witherspoon on the right track in case after case. In fact, Mrs. Jeffries' polished detective skills prove once again that behind every great man, there's a great woman.

Mrs Jeffries Serves at Six

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780425277515
Release Date: 2015-03-03
Genre: Fiction

If you like Downton Abbey, you'll love Mrs. Jeffries! NOW IN ONE VOLUME—THREE VICTORIAN MYSTERIES FEATURING MRS. JEFFRIES A DETECTIVE IN THE HOUSE Everyone’s awed by Inspector Witherspoon’s Scotland Yard successes, but they don’t know about his secret weapon. Her name is Mrs. Jeffries, and she keeps house for the Inspector—and keeps him on his toes. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, her polished detection skills are up to the task. Because as she knows all too well, a crimesolver’s work is never done… Mrs. Jeffries Pinches the Post The dubious dealings of ruthless businessman Harrison Nye have finally done him in. But with his associate keeping secrets and his maid missing, Witherspoon and Mrs. Jeffries have their work cut out for them as they make it their business to find the culprit … Mrs. Jeffries Pleads Her Case When the death of Harlan Westover is ruled a suicide after a slipshod investigation, it’s up to Mrs. Jeffries and her staff to gently nudge the Inspector in the right direction before a killer gets away with another murder… Mrs. Jeffries Sweeps the Chimney A dead man dressed like a vicar is discovered outside a church. An address found on the man leads Witherspoon to a dilapidated house where a skeleton is stuffed in the chimney. Luckily he has Mrs. Jeffries to help him sweep up this mess of a case…

Mrs Jeffries Stands Corrected

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644904
Release Date: 1996-12-01
Genre: Fiction

Meet the inspector and Mrs. Jeffries--in a delightful mystery series set in Victorian England--and featuring the most charming characters ever to crack a case. When a local publican is murdered, Inspector Withersppon takes Mrs. Jeffries advice to heart. He is going to trust his own instincts..but that keeps Mrs. Jeffries in the dark. She must rouse the household staff to action and hope the Inspector doesn't arrest the wrong person before they can solve the crime!

Murder in the Bowery

Author: Victoria Thompson
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101987124
Release Date: 2017-05-02
Genre: Fiction

The latest Gaslight Mystery from the bestselling author of Murder in Morningside Heights finds Sarah Brandt and Frank Malloy searching for a connection between a murdered newsie and a high society woman with dangerous habits. Frank Malloy’s latest client is the well-dressed Will Bert. He’s searching for his brother, a newsboy named Freddie, so he can share his new financial good fortune. Frank makes quick work of the case and locates Freddie, but a happy reunion between brothers is not in the cards. When Will’s name is mentioned, Freddie runs off—only to be found dead a short time later. Suspicious, Frank tracks down Will who spins a tale of lust and deceit involving a young society woman, Estelle Longacre, also recently deceased. Frank can’t be sure if Estelle’s risky behavior and the company she kept was to blame, or if her own ruthless family had a hand in her death. Frank will need Sarah’s help to unearth the dark secrets of the wealthy Longacres and to discover if there is a connection between Estelle and Freddie’s death. Together they must navigate a perilous underground web of treachery to find the truth.

Punch

Author: Mark Lemon
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015055221231
Release Date: 1931
Genre: Periodicals