Mrs Jeffries Rights a Wrong

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584213
Release Date: 2017-05-02
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries is back in the New York Times bestselling Victorian Mytery series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. Thomas Mundy checks in to London’s Wrexley Hotel, but he never checks out. The maid finds him on the floor of his room, bludgeoned to death by his own walking stick. Inspector Witherspoon is soon on the case and learns Mundy had a reputation for being polite, charming, and diligent—an unlikely victim for such a violent crime. But Mrs. Jeffries and the household staff uncover that Mundy was less an amiable businessman and more a duplicitous con man with enemies on both sides of the Atlantic. Now Witherspoon and his staff must determine who on their lengthy list of suspects had the motive to put Mundy in the red. A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done. From the Paperback edition.

Mrs Jeffries Turns the Tide

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425252123
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

When a beautiful newcomer is found dead in the communal gardens, Inspector Witherspoon narrows down his list of suspects to Lucius Montague, who was seen threatening the woman, but Mrs. Jeffries has her doubts and sets out to find the real killer. Original.

Mrs Jeffries and the Three Wise Women

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584220
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Fiction

"Christopher Gilhaney isn't a popular man, and he proves why once again when he insults every guest at Abigail Chase's Guy Fawkes Night dinner party. When Gilhaney is shot dead under the cover of the night's fireworks, his murder is deemed a robbery gone wrong. But when the case hasn't been solved six weeks later, Inspector Witherspoon is called upon to find the killer--and quickly"--

Mrs Jeffries the Mistletoe Mix Up

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101545454
Release Date: 2011-11-01
Genre: Fiction

Ring in the season with another Mrs. Jeffries tale of holiday homicide. Under a bundle of mistletoe, art collector Daniel McCourt lies with his throat slit, a bloody sword next to his body. Inspector Witherspoon is determined to solve the case-preferably before the eggnog is ladled out on Christmas Eve-but of course he will require assistance from the always sharp-witted housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries, who has a few of her own theories on why McCourt had to die by the sword.

Mrs Jeffries Sallies Forth

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425269343
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries, housekeeper to Scotland Yard Inspector Witherspoon, helps solve three murder cases, including one in which a theater critic known for his harsh reviews turns up dead in a canal.

The Inspector and Mrs Jeffries

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644829
Release Date: 1993-02-01
Genre: Fiction

The first novel in the beloved New York Times bestselling Victorian mystery series featuring Inspector Witherspoon and his housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries—two of the most charming characters to ever crack a case! She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone's awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don't know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries's polished detection skills are up to the task...proving that behind every great man there's a great woman—and that a crime-solver's work is never done.

Mrs Jeffries Weeds the Plot

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101645017
Release Date: 2000-11-01
Genre: Fiction

A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone's awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don't know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries' polished detection skills are up to the task... proving that behind every great man there's a woman--and that a crimesolver's work is never done. A BONE TO PICK Eccentric Annabeth Gentry pretty much keeps to herself. Besides her recent inheritance—and the attention her bloodhound gets for digging up the body of a murdered thief—her life is in fact, rather dull. So why does she think that someone is trying to kill her? That’s what Mrs. Jeffries and her staff has to find out. What they discover is a dead body next door, and three attempts on Annabeth’s life. It sounds like there’s a jealous dog in their midst. Mrs. Jeffries will have to sniff out some clues before the plot thickens…

Mrs Jeffries Wins the Prize

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Berkley
ISBN: 9780425268117
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Fiction

"The ladies of the Mayfair Orchid and Exotic Plant Society are known for a bit of friendly rivalry, but the backstabbing has never been literal--until now. When Hiram Filmore, an orchid hunter and supplier, is found dead in Mrs. Helena Rayburn's conservatory, Inspector Witherspoon is called in to weed out a murderer. When it comes out that Mrs. Rayburn and her flowery friend knew each other from long ago, Mrs. Jeffries begins to suspect that there's more to unearth about this case. Now she, along with the rest of Inspector Witherspoon's household and friends, will have to dig up the past to figure out which gardening gentlewoman had a grudge worth killing for..."--Page 4 of cover.

Mrs Jeffries and the Merry Gentlemen

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101624234
Release Date: 2013-10-29
Genre: Fiction

THE BUSINESS OF DEATH Orlando Edison is a stockbroker using London’s infatuation with foreign mining ventures to make a fortune. He has curried favor with the nation’s most respected aristocrats, even inviting three influential investors—known as the Merry Gentlemen—to be part of his latest enterprise. Edison is welcomed in the highest circles and moves with ease among the rich and powerful. But a few days before Christmas, he is found murdered. Inspector Witherspoon and his household are looking forward to the festive season. But they all know their duty, and led by the intrepid Mrs. Jeffries, they plan to see justice served for the holidays . . . A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done.

Mrs Jeffries Defends Her Own

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101580738
Release Date: 2012-05-01
Genre: Fiction

She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task...proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done. When the general office manager of Sutcliffe Manufacturing is murdered, no one is really surprised. Ronald Dearman was anything but a dear man. The tyrannical bully had more than enough enemies to go around. But who hated him enough to walk into his office and put a bullet between his eyes? For once, Inspector Gerald Witherspoon doesn't get the case; it's given to another inspector. Then someone from Mrs. Jeffries' past—someone she'd hoped to never see again—shows up and begs for her help. Now Mrs. Jeffries must step into the fray and stop a terrible miscarriage of justice…

Mrs Jeffries Takes a Second Look

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group
ISBN: 0425259285
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Fiction

Inspector Witherspoon's housekeeper Mrs. Jeffries is the secret to his success as she helps him solve a businessman's murder, a murder at a Jubilee celebration, and the murder of a woman selling flowers on a foggy night.

Mrs Jeffries in the Nick of Time

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0425226786
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries, Inspector Witherspoon's secret weapon, helps to solve the mystery surrounding the death of train enthusiast Francis Humphreys who was murdered while his relatives and neighbors were over for tea. Original.

Mrs Jeffries Takes the Cake

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644966
Release Date: 1998-10-01
Genre: Fiction

Meet the inspector and Mrs. Jeffries--in a delightful mystery series set in Victorian England--and featuring the most charming characters ever to crack a case. The evidence was all there: a dead body, two dessert plates, and a gun. Could it be that Mr. Ashbury was sharing his cake with his killer? The old bloke had enemies galore - even his oown daughter disliked him. Mr. Ashbury's son-in-law doesn't want Inspector Witherspoon asking questions. Of course this doesn't stop Mrs. Jeffries and her staff snooping around.

Mrs Jeffries Questions the Answer

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644928
Release Date: 1997-11-01
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries and Inspector Witherspoon investigate the murder of a woman who had no shortage of enemies in this novel in the New York Times bestselling Victorian Mystery series. Hannah Cameron was not well-liked, but who stabbed her in the back? While almost everyone believes she was killed by a burglar—Mrs. Jeffries needs more evidence to be convinced. But when the case is given to Inspector Nivens, Mrs. Jeffries and the rest of the household will have to tiptoe around the case to find the real killer...

Mrs Jeffries Dusts For Clues

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472108975
Release Date: 2013-11-07
Genre: Fiction

This charming series of Victorian murder mysteries features mild-mannered Inspector Witherspoon of Scotland Yard and, more importantly, Mrs Jeffries, his housekeeper. A policeman's widow herself, her quick wits allow her to nudge the Inspector in the right direction to solve the crime. A priceless brooch and a parlour maid go missing at the same time, and Inspector Witherspoon is called in to investigate. He finds the brooch, on a corpse, but draws a blank on the missing girl. Her employer, Luty Belle Crookshank, has more faith in Mrs Jeffries than the police, and rightly so... "...the body was only found today." Witherspoon paused and took a deep breath. "And the murder was committed several months ago." "Several months ago!" Mrs Jeffries was scandalized. The trail would be colder than a February frost.'