Mrs Jeffries Rights a Wrong

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584213
Release Date: 2017-05-02
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries is back in the New York Times bestselling Victorian Mytery series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. Thomas Mundy checks in to London’s Wrexley Hotel, but he never checks out. The maid finds him on the floor of his room, bludgeoned to death by his own walking stick. Inspector Witherspoon is soon on the case and learns Mundy had a reputation for being polite, charming, and diligent—an unlikely victim for such a violent crime. But Mrs. Jeffries and the household staff uncover that Mundy was less an amiable businessman and more a duplicitous con man with enemies on both sides of the Atlantic. Now Witherspoon and his staff must determine who on their lengthy list of suspects had the motive to put Mundy in the red. A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done. From the Paperback edition.

Mrs Jeffries Turns the Tide

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425252123
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

When a beautiful newcomer is found dead in the communal gardens, Inspector Witherspoon narrows down his list of suspects to Lucius Montague, who was seen threatening the woman, but Mrs. Jeffries has her doubts and sets out to find the real killer. Original.

Mrs Jeffries and the Three Wise Women

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584237
Release Date: 2017-10-17
Genre: Fiction

As the holidays approach, all is merry and bright for Inspector Witherspoon, Mrs. Jeffries, and the staff at Upper Edmonton Gardens...but murder knows no season. MURDER UPON A MIDNIGHT CLEAR Christopher Gilhaney isn’t a popular man, and he proves why once again when he insults every guest at Abigail Chase’s Guy Fawkes Night dinner party. When Gilhaney is shot dead under the cover of the night’s fireworks, his murder is deemed a robbery gone wrong. But when the case hasn’t been solved six weeks later, Inspector Witherspoon is called upon to find the killer—and quickly! With Christmas almost here, Inspector Witherspoon and everyone in his household is upset at the possibility of having to cancel their holiday plans—all to solve a case that seems impossible. Only Luty Belle, Ruth, and Mrs. Goodge refuse to give up and let the crime become a cold case. In fact, the American heiress, the charming next-door neighbor, and the formidable cook use all of their persuasive powers to get the others on board, because these three wise women know justice doesn’t take time off for Christmas.

Mrs Jeffries Takes a Second Look

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Berkley
ISBN: 9780425259283
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Fiction

Inspector Witherspoon's housekeeper Mrs. Jeffries is the secret to his success as she helps him solve a businessman's murder, a murder at a Jubilee celebration, and the murder of a woman selling flowers on a foggy night.

The Inspector and Mrs Jeffries

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644829
Release Date: 1993-02-01
Genre: Fiction

The first novel in the beloved New York Times bestselling Victorian mystery series featuring Inspector Witherspoon and his housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries—two of the most charming characters to ever crack a case! She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone's awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don't know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries's polished detection skills are up to the task...proving that behind every great man there's a great woman—and that a crime-solver's work is never done.

Mrs Jeffries Wins the Prize

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101624357
Release Date: 2016-03-01
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries is back in the New York Times bestselling Victorian series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. NIPPED IN THE BUD The ladies of the Mayfair Orchid and Exotic Plant Society are known for a bit of friendly rivalry, but the backstabbing has never been literal—until now. When Hiram Filmore, an orchid hunter and supplier, is found dead in Mrs. Helena Rayburn’s conservatory, Inspector Witherspoon is called in to weed out a murderer. When it comes out that Mrs. Rayburn and her flowery friends knew each other from long ago, Mrs. Jeffries begins to suspect that there’s more to unearth about this case than meets the eye. Now she, along with the rest of Inspector Witherspoon’s household and friends, will have to dig up the past to figure out which gardening gentlewoman had a grudge worth killing for... A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done. NEVER BEFORE PUBLISHED! From the Paperback edition.

Mrs Jeffries in the Nick of Time

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0425226786
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries, Inspector Witherspoon's secret weapon, helps to solve the mystery surrounding the death of train enthusiast Francis Humphreys who was murdered while his relatives and neighbors were over for tea. Original.

Mrs Jeffries and the Merry Gentlemen

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425268094
Release Date: 2014-11-04
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries and Inspector Witherspoon investigate the murder of influential London stockbroker Orlando Edison as Christmas approaches.

Mrs Jeffries and the One Who Got Away

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101624340
Release Date: 2015-02-03
Genre: Fiction

OLD SINS CAST LONG SHADOWS Normally dead bodies in a graveyard are buried—but not this one. When a woman is found strangled in a North London cemetery with an old newspaper clipping clutched in her hand, Inspector Witherspoon is surprised to find that he and the victim have crossed paths before. Alice Robinson was a respectable widow who ran a quiet Islington lodging house. None of her lodgers have any apparent motive to murder their landlady. But nagging suspicions are lodging in the Inspector’s mind—only he knows that “Alice Robinson” is not her real name. Now he’ll need the help of Mrs. Jeffries to revisit an old case that has haunted him for years and to get the real story. From the Paperback edition.

Mrs Jeffries Reveals Her Art

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644942
Release Date: 1998-03-01
Genre: Fiction

A missing muse is the catalyst for a baffling case for Inspector Witherspoon and Mrs. Jeffries in the twelfth novel in the long-running Victorian mystery series. An artist’s model never shows up at Neville Grant's house—or so he claims. But when one of Mr. Grant’s house guests suddenly dies, the Inspector and Mrs. Jeffries have to work double time to find both the missing model and the killer! “One historical mystery series that never gets boring or dull.”—Midwest Book Review

Mrs Jeffries Takes the Cake

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644966
Release Date: 1998-10-01
Genre: Fiction

Meet the inspector and Mrs. Jeffries--in a delightful mystery series set in Victorian England--and featuring the most charming characters ever to crack a case. The evidence was all there: a dead body, two dessert plates, and a gun. Could it be that Mr. Ashbury was sharing his cake with his killer? The old bloke had enemies galore - even his oown daughter disliked him. Mr. Ashbury's son-in-law doesn't want Inspector Witherspoon asking questions. Of course this doesn't stop Mrs. Jeffries and her staff snooping around.

Mrs Jeffries Questions the Answer

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644928
Release Date: 1997-11-01
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries and Inspector Witherspoon investigate the murder of a woman who had no shortage of enemies in this novel in the New York Times bestselling Victorian Mystery series. Hannah Cameron was not well-liked, but who stabbed her in the back? While almost everyone believes she was killed by a burglar—Mrs. Jeffries needs more evidence to be convinced. But when the case is given to Inspector Nivens, Mrs. Jeffries and the rest of the household will have to tiptoe around the case to find the real killer...

Mrs Jeffries Dusts For Clues

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472108975
Release Date: 2013-11-07
Genre: Fiction

This charming series of Victorian murder mysteries features mild-mannered Inspector Witherspoon of Scotland Yard and, more importantly, Mrs Jeffries, his housekeeper. A policeman's widow herself, her quick wits allow her to nudge the Inspector in the right direction to solve the crime. A priceless brooch and a parlour maid go missing at the same time, and Inspector Witherspoon is called in to investigate. He finds the brooch, on a corpse, but draws a blank on the missing girl. Her employer, Luty Belle Crookshank, has more faith in Mrs Jeffries than the police, and rightly so... "...the body was only found today." Witherspoon paused and took a deep breath. "And the murder was committed several months ago." "Several months ago!" Mrs Jeffries was scandalized. The trail would be colder than a February frost.'

Mrs Jeffries Stands Corrected

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644904
Release Date: 1996-12-01
Genre: Fiction

Meet the inspector and Mrs. Jeffries--in a delightful mystery series set in Victorian England--and featuring the most charming characters ever to crack a case. When a local publican is murdered, Inspector Withersppon takes Mrs. Jeffries advice to heart. He is going to trust his own instincts..but that keeps Mrs. Jeffries in the dark. She must rouse the household staff to action and hope the Inspector doesn't arrest the wrong person before they can solve the crime!

Mrs Jeffries Weeds the Plot

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101645017
Release Date: 2000-11-01
Genre: Fiction

A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone's awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don't know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries' polished detection skills are up to the task... proving that behind every great man there's a woman--and that a crimesolver's work is never done. A BONE TO PICK Eccentric Annabeth Gentry pretty much keeps to herself. Besides her recent inheritance—and the attention her bloodhound gets for digging up the body of a murdered thief—her life is in fact, rather dull. So why does she think that someone is trying to kill her? That’s what Mrs. Jeffries and her staff has to find out. What they discover is a dead body next door, and three attempts on Annabeth’s life. It sounds like there’s a jealous dog in their midst. Mrs. Jeffries will have to sniff out some clues before the plot thickens…