Mrs Jeffries Rights a Wrong

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584213
Release Date: 2017-05-02
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries is back in the New York Times bestselling Victorian Mytery series, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey. Thomas Mundy checks in to London’s Wrexley Hotel, but he never checks out. The maid finds him on the floor of his room, bludgeoned to death by his own walking stick. Inspector Witherspoon is soon on the case and learns Mundy had a reputation for being polite, charming, and diligent—an unlikely victim for such a violent crime. But Mrs. Jeffries and the household staff uncover that Mundy was less an amiable businessman and more a duplicitous con man with enemies on both sides of the Atlantic. Now Witherspoon and his staff must determine who on their lengthy list of suspects had the motive to put Mundy in the red. A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon . . . and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task . . . proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done. From the Paperback edition.

Mrs Jeffries and the Three Wise Women

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780399584237
Release Date: 2017-10-17
Genre: Fiction

As the holidays approach, all is merry and bright for Inspector Witherspoon, Mrs. Jeffries, and the staff at Upper Edmonton Gardens...but murder knows no season. MURDER UPON A MIDNIGHT CLEAR Christopher Gilhaney isn’t a popular man, and he proves why once again when he insults every guest at Abigail Chase’s Guy Fawkes Night dinner party. When Gilhaney is shot dead under the cover of the night’s fireworks, his murder is deemed a robbery gone wrong. But when the case hasn’t been solved six weeks later, Inspector Witherspoon is called upon to find the killer—and quickly! With Christmas almost here, Inspector Witherspoon and everyone in his household is upset at the possibility of having to cancel their holiday plans—all to solve a case that seems impossible. Only Luty Belle, Ruth, and Mrs. Goodge refuse to give up and let the crime become a cold case. In fact, the American heiress, the charming next-door neighbor, and the formidable cook use all of their persuasive powers to get the others on board, because these three wise women know justice doesn’t take time off for Christmas.

Mrs Jeffries in the Nick of Time

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0425226786
Release Date: 2009
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries, Inspector Witherspoon's secret weapon, helps to solve the mystery surrounding the death of train enthusiast Francis Humphreys who was murdered while his relatives and neighbors were over for tea. Original.

Mrs Jeffries and the Merry Gentlemen

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425268094
Release Date: 2014-11-04
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries and Inspector Witherspoon investigate the murder of influential London stockbroker Orlando Edison as Christmas approaches.

Mrs Jeffries Sallies Forth

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425269343
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries, housekeeper to Scotland Yard Inspector Witherspoon, helps solve three murder cases, including one in which a theater critic known for his harsh reviews turns up dead in a canal.

Mrs Jeffries Takes Tea at Three

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9780425263594
Release Date: 2013
Genre: Fiction

Mrs. Jeffries, housekeeper to Scotland Yard Inspector Witherspoon, helps solve three murder cases, including one in which Inspector Witherspoon is the main suspect.

Mrs Jeffries Turns the Tide

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101622322
Release Date: 2013-05-07
Genre: Fiction

If you like Downton Abbey, you'll love Mrs. Jeffries! IN THE WEEDS Beautiful and new in town, Ellen Langston-Jones doesn’t have any enemies. So, when she’s found dead in the communal gardens, Inspector Witherspoon quickly narrows the field of suspects down to one: Lucius Montague, who was seen threatening Mrs. Langston-Jones shortly before her death. The Inspector and all of London are positive that he’s the killer, but Mrs. Jeffries has doubts. Her biggest problem is that Lucius Montague is a very disagreeable character and no one—including Inspector Witherspoon’s staff—is inclined to save his skin. Now, she must turn the tide of the investigation...or watch an innocent man take the fall for the real killer. A Mrs. Jeffries Mystery She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task...proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done.

The Inspector and Mrs Jeffries

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644829
Release Date: 1993-02-01
Genre: Fiction

The first novel in the beloved New York Times bestselling Victorian mystery series featuring Inspector Witherspoon and his housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries—two of the most charming characters to ever crack a case! She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone's awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don't know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries's polished detection skills are up to the task...proving that behind every great man there's a great woman—and that a crime-solver's work is never done.

Mrs Jeffries the Mistletoe Mix Up

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101545454
Release Date: 2011-11-01
Genre: Fiction

Ring in the season with another Mrs. Jeffries tale of holiday homicide. Under a bundle of mistletoe, art collector Daniel McCourt lies with his throat slit, a bloody sword next to his body. Inspector Witherspoon is determined to solve the case-preferably before the eggnog is ladled out on Christmas Eve-but of course he will require assistance from the always sharp-witted housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries, who has a few of her own theories on why McCourt had to die by the sword.

Mrs Jeffries Forges Ahead

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101514523
Release Date: 2011-05-03
Genre: Fiction

Arlette Montrose Banfield angered many marriageable women when she snagged the handsome Lewis Banfield-but were they angry enough to poison her? Mrs. Jeffries doesn't mind getting her hands dirty to uncover the greed behind her murder.

Mrs Jeffries Speaks Her Mind

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101187838
Release Date: 2010-06-01
Genre: Fiction

The eccentric Olive Kettering swore someone was trying to harm her. Too bad no one listened, though plenty wanted her dead. When Olive is shot and killed, Mrs. Jeffries has no problem speaking her mind to see justice served.

Mrs Jeffries Reveals Her Art

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644942
Release Date: 1998-03-01
Genre: Fiction

A missing muse is the catalyst for a baffling case for Inspector Witherspoon and Mrs. Jeffries in the twelfth novel in the long-running Victorian mystery series. An artist’s model never shows up at Neville Grant's house—or so he claims. But when one of Mr. Grant’s house guests suddenly dies, the Inspector and Mrs. Jeffries have to work double time to find both the missing model and the killer! “One historical mystery series that never gets boring or dull.”—Midwest Book Review

Mrs Jeffries Defends Her Own

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101580738
Release Date: 2012-05-01
Genre: Fiction

She keeps house for Inspector Witherspoon...and keeps him on his toes. Everyone’s awed by his Scotland Yard successes—but they don’t know about his secret weapon. No matter how messy the murder or how dirty the deed, Mrs. Jeffries’ polished detection skills are up to the task...proving that behind every great man there’s a woman—and that a crimesolver’s work is never done. When the general office manager of Sutcliffe Manufacturing is murdered, no one is really surprised. Ronald Dearman was anything but a dear man. The tyrannical bully had more than enough enemies to go around. But who hated him enough to walk into his office and put a bullet between his eyes? For once, Inspector Gerald Witherspoon doesn't get the case; it's given to another inspector. Then someone from Mrs. Jeffries' past—someone she'd hoped to never see again—shows up and begs for her help. Now Mrs. Jeffries must step into the fray and stop a terrible miscarriage of justice…

Mrs Jeffries Wins the Prize

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Berkley
ISBN: 9780425268117
Release Date: 2016
Genre: Fiction

"The ladies of the Mayfair Orchid and Exotic Plant Society are known for a bit of friendly rivalry, but the backstabbing has never been literal--until now. When Hiram Filmore, an orchid hunter and supplier, is found dead in Mrs. Helena Rayburn's conservatory, Inspector Witherspoon is called in to weed out a murderer. When it comes out that Mrs. Rayburn and her flowery friend knew each other from long ago, Mrs. Jeffries begins to suspect that there's more to unearth about this case. Now she, along with the rest of Inspector Witherspoon's household and friends, will have to dig up the past to figure out which gardening gentlewoman had a grudge worth killing for..."--Page 4 of cover.

Mrs Jeffries on the Ball

Author: Emily Brightwell
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781101644867
Release Date: 1994-12-01
Genre: Fiction

A festive Jubilee Ball in honor of Queen Victoria turns into a fatal affair for Hannah Greenwood. Inspector Witherspoon was a guest at the ball so the job of finding the murderer falls to him. Fortunately, Mrs. Jeffries is there to help him read between the lines.. and identify the guilty party behind this deadly plot..