A narrow escape

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher:
ISBN: 1848450028
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Canals

"Under internal investigation for corruption, Oxfordshire DI Hillary Greene is fighting to save her career. When a body is found in the canal, she knows she's only been given the case as it's a straightforward matter of accidental death. But when her investigation points to murder, she realises this is much bigger than anyone expected. . . "

Murder on the Oxford Canal

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher:
ISBN: 1912106213
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Canals

Meet DI Hillary Greene, a police woman fighting to save her career. Not only has she lost her husband, but his actions have put her under investigation for corruption. Then a bashed and broken body is found floating in the Oxford Canal. It looks like the victim fell off a boat, but Hillary is not so sure. Her investigation exposes a dark background to the death. Can Hillary clear her name and get to the bottom of a fiendish conspiracy on the water?

On the Straight and Narrow

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher: Mira Books
ISBN: 1848450125
Release Date: 2009-12
Genre: Murder

From the "New York Times"- and "USA Today"-bestselling author of the Shifter series comes the first novel in a new paranormal romance trilogy. Original.

A Narrow Trajectory

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher: Robert Hale Ltd
ISBN: 9780719820915
Release Date: 2016-08-31
Genre: Fiction

Ex-DI Hillary Greene has been handed a tall order – she’s to reopen all the missing persons cases for a group of young women, in an attempt to help Det. Chief Superintendent Steven Crayle bring down one of Thames Valley’s most wanted. This will also help one of the members of her team, Jake Barnes, finally get some answers about his long-lost sister, Jasmine. But things won’t be easy. Hillary’s lover, Steven Crayle, is finally leaving the Crime Review Team; she has to ‘break in’ her new boss, Roland ‘Rollo’ Sale. And young Wendy Turnbull, another member of Hillary’s team, finds the life led by vulnerable young women forced onto the street almost too hard to handle. As if all that wasn’t enough, Hillary has the knife-wielding lieutenant of the local crime boss to contend with, and an insane S&M madam who gives her a severe case of the creeps. And – oh yes – she has to finally take the plunge and leave her old life, and her beloved narrowboat behind, and move into her new home, doing something that she had vowed never to do again: trust a man with her heart. But apart from all that, it’s just another day at the office....

Murder at the University

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher:
ISBN: 1912106183
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Murder

"A pretty French student is found dead in her room at an exclusive Oxford college. Everyone thinks it is another tragic case of accidental drug overdose. but Detective Hillary Greene has a nose for the truth. She quickly discovers that the student was involved in some very unusual activities. With a shocking cause of death found, the case becomes a high-profile murder investigation. Adding to the pressure, Hillary's nemesis is transferred to work with her at the station. Can Hillary keep her cool and get justice for the unfortunate student?"--Page 4 of cover

By a Narrow Majority

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher: Robert Hale
ISBN: 9780709098621
Release Date: 2012-03-30
Genre: Fiction

When a would-be politician is found battered to death in his kitchen, DI Hillary Greene is not convinced that the motive is political. After all, the victim was not universally popular in the small village where he lived, and it quickly transpires that he was having an affair. But then Hillary, working on another case, is abruptly and violently prevented from continuing with the murder investigation. Instead, another problem takes over all her time - a problem that could have serious ramifications for both herself, and her superiors. For as Hillary knows only too well, cops don't like it when they themselves come under investigation!

Narrow is the Way

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher: Robert Hale
ISBN: 9780709098652
Release Date: 2012-03-30
Genre: Fiction

This is a story of D.I. Hillary Greene and the strangled bride. When a beautiful bride is found strangled in a cow-shed, D.I. Hillary Greene knows that she is probably looking for a man, bridegroom or otherwise. The so-called bride turns out to be a guest from a fancy dress party, held at a nearby farmhouse and Hillary's eye turns first to the victim's boyfriend. He certainly has no alibi, but then again, no motive that she can find. Furthermore, there are no witnesses. And when it becomes evident that the unpopular victim had other men hanging on a string, Hillary realizes this case is going to be anything but simple. What could have enticed the victim into the filthy shed dressed, as she was in a beautiful gown of silk and satin? Hillary is going to have her plate full if she is to crack this puzzling case.

Murder in the Village

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher:
ISBN: 1912106086
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Policewomen

Meet DI Hillary Greene, a police woman fighting to save her career. A would-be politician is found battered to death in the kitchen. His wife's alibi is full of holes and there's another woman in the background. And what about his seemingly mild-mannered political rival? DI Hillary Greene tries to get to the bottom of this perplexing murder. She certainly doesn't think the prime suspect is as guilty as everyone thinks. Just as she'd about to make a breakthrough, everything is turned upside down by a fatal development in another case she is working on... Can Hillary find the murderer and will she survive a brush with one of Oxford's most dangerous criminals?

Through a Narrow Door

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher: Robert Hale
ISBN: 9780709098591
Release Date: 2012-03-30
Genre: Fiction

Someone wanted would-be politician Malcolm Dale dead, and managed to achieve this aim without, apparently, leaving much in the way of clues, forensics, or witnesses. Here, then is a case for Detective Inspector Hillary Greene. But she has barely started before another case blows up, leaving her out of the loop and with too much time on her hands. She starts investigating but what she discovers leaves her reeling, with her own career in jeopardy and the fate of her team hanging in the balance. Moreover, DS Janine Tyler is now in charge of her original murder investigation and her old adversary Frank Ross is up to all his usual, dangerous tricks. Hillary will have to employ all her skills if she is to extricate herself...

Close to Home

Author: Cara Hunter
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 9781524704841
Release Date: 2018-03-06
Genre: Fiction

A brilliantly plotted psychological crime novel about a missing child and the scandal that erupts in the aftermath with a shocking twist They know who did it. Perhaps not consciously. Perhaps not yet. But they know. When eight-year-old Daisy Mason vanishes from her family’s Oxford home during a costume party, Detective Inspector Adam Fawley knows that nine times out of ten, the offender is someone close to home. And Daisy’s family is certainly strange—her mother is obsessed with keeping up appearances, while her father is cold and defensive under questioning. And then there’s Daisy’s little brother, so withdrawn and uncommunicative . . . DI Fawley works against the clock to find any trace of the little girl, but it’s as if she disappeared into thin air—no one saw anything; no one knows anything. But everyone has an opinion, and everyone, it seems, has a secret to conceal. With a story that feels all too real, Close to Home is the best kind of suspense—the kind that sends chills down your spine and keeps you up late at night, thrilled and terrified.

A Meditation on Murder

Author: Robert Thorogood
Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781788631228
Release Date: 2018-06-18
Genre: Fiction

The first instalment of the Death in Paradise Mysteries, perfect for fans of Caroline Graham and Agatha Christie DI Richard Poole has been seconded from London to the beautiful Caribbean island of Saint Marie. More comfortable in woollen suits than short-sleeved shirts, he’s struggling to adapt to his new home. But this paradise is about to get deadly. When self-appointed guru Aslan Kennedy gets murdered in his spiritual retreat for wealthy holidaymakers, it’s down to DI Poole to find the killer. The murder took place in a locked room with five other people inside, and when someone confesses, it seems an open and shut case. But DI Poole knows the facts just don’t add up, and there is more to the mystery than meets the eye.... A Meditation on Murder is the first in the Death in Paradise Mysteries, from the creator of the hit TV series, Death in Paradise. ‘I love Robert Thorogood’s writing’ Peter James ‘Fans of Agatha Christie style BBC drama Death in Paradise will enjoy this book from the show’s creator’ Mail On Sunday ‘An utter delight’ Heat A Death in Paradise Mystery Meditation on Murder Killing of Polly Carter Death Knocks Twice

Heartstone

Author: C. J. Sansom
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101475471
Release Date: 2011-01-20
Genre: Fiction

The epic fifth novel in the Matthew Shardlake Tudor Mystery series by the bestselling author of Winter in Madrid and Dominion Summer 1545. A massive French armada is threatening England, and Henry VIII has plunged the country into economic crisis to finance the war. Meanwhile, an old servant of Queen Catherine Parr has asked Matthew Shardlake to investigate claims of "monstrous" wrongs committed against a young ward of the court. As the French fleet approaches, Shardlake's inquiries reunite him with an old friend-and an old enemy close to the throne. This fast-paced fifth installment in C. J. Sansom's "richly entertaining and reassuringly scholarly series" (Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review) will enchant fans of Wolf Hall, Bring Up the Bodies, and The Other Boleyn Girl.

A Narrow Victory

Author: Faith Martin
Publisher: Robert Hale
ISBN: 9780719814334
Release Date: 2015-05-01
Genre: Fiction

Once again, ex-DI Hillary Greene is delving into the archives, trying to discover who killed an interior designer at a swanky New Years' Eve Party in 1999. Somebody clearly didn't want Felix Olliphant to enjoy the momentous occasion of seeing in not only a brand new year, but a brave new millennium. The trouble is, the more she learns about her murder victim, the less likely it seems that anyone would want him dead—he was a genuinely decent human being, and she can't find anyone with a bad word to say about him. To add to her woes, it seems her lover and immediate superior, Detective Superintendent Steven Crayle, is being lured away from her team with offers of a promotion elsewhere. Can she keep her mind on the job, and find out who killed Felix? Or is this the first cold case that will defeat even her?

The Wench is Dead

Author: Colin Dexter
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9780330468909
Release Date: 2008-09-04
Genre: Fiction

That night he dreamed in Technicolor. He saw the ochre-skinned, scantily clad siren in her black, arrowed stockings. And in Morse's muddled computer of a mind, that siren took the name of one Joanna Franks . . . The body of Joanna Franks was found at Duke's Cut on the Oxford Canal at about 5.30 a.m. on Wednesday, 22nd June 1859. At around 10.15 a.m. on a Saturday morning in 1989 the body of Chief Inspector Morse - though very much alive - was removed to Oxford's John Radcliffe Hospital. Treatment for a perforated ulcer was later pronounced successful. As Morse begins his recovery he comes across an account of the investigation and the trial that followed Joanna Franks' death . . . and becomes convinced that the two men hanged for her murder were innocent . . .