My Sister s Wedding

Author: Vicky Pattison
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780751565515
Release Date: 2017-06-15
Genre: Fiction

For better or worse, two families are about to become one . . . 'Sassy and romantic' Heat 'The perfect summer read' OK! The Ashworth sisters couldn't be more different. Becky is focused, driven and about to marry her lovely fiancé, Daniel Balfour. Lizzie, on the other hand, bounces from one temp job to another, keeps falling for the wrong man and is a whirlwind of chaos in Becky's otherwise well-ordered life. But they love each other fiercely and the Ashworth way has always been family comes first. As preparations for Becky and Daniel's wedding get underway, it soon becomes clear that the Ashworth way is not the Balfour way. Daniel's family have never thought Becky was good enough for him but he loves her and that's always been enough for the happy couple. But when Lizzie gets caught in the crossfire between Becky and the Balfours, Becky and Lizzie find themselves drifting apart at a time when they need each other the most. Will they be able to repair the damage before Becky walks down the aisle? Warm-hearted, fun, witty and romantic, My Sister's Wedding will have you crying with laughter one second, and then crying with emotion the next. A story of sisters, family, love and romance - perfect for fans of Lindsey Kelk and Sarah Morgan.

Traveller Wedding

Author: Graham Jones
Publisher: Graham Jones
ISBN: 9781452300764
Release Date: 2009-12-04
Genre: Literary Collections

TRAVELLER WEDDING is narrated by a nomadic woman called Christine who is furious at the release of a violent videogame about a traveller wedding for the Christmas market.

Eyes Open Level 4 Student s Book

Author: Ben Goldstein
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9781107467804
Release Date: 2015-07-09
Genre: Foreign Language Study

Captivating Discovery Education(TM) video and stimulating global topics spark curiosity and engage teenage learners.

Individualisierungen

Author: Peter A. Berger
Publisher: Springer-Verlag
ISBN: 9783531925899
Release Date: 2010-11-09
Genre: Social Science

Auch nach mehr als einem Vierteljahrhundert ist die Diskussion über die von Ulrich Beck in den 1980er Jahren vorgetragene „Individualisierungsthese“ so lebendig wie kontrovers. In theoretischer Hinsicht eröffnet sie immer wieder neue Perspektiven auf (reflexiv) moderne Gesellschaften und provoziert Fragen nach deren Zusammenhalt. Und in empirischer Hinsicht finden sich immer zahlreichere Untersuchungen, die „Individualisierungen“ in verschiedenen Bereichen aufspüren, aber auch Gegenkräfte identifizieren. Dieser Band repräsentiert die Vielzahl und Vielfalt empirischer Analysen und theoretischer Stellungnahmen zu „Individualisierungen“. Mit Beträgen von Soziologinnen und Soziologen unterschiedlicher theoretischer und methodischer Ausrichtungen und aus verschiedenen Generationen öffnet er damit zugleich den Blick auf die Fruchtbarkeit der vor mehr als 25 Jahren entwickelten Individualisierungsthese.

Die Hochzeitsschwestern

Author: Jamie Brenner
Publisher: Goldmann Verlag
ISBN: 9783641205676
Release Date: 2017-04-17
Genre: Fiction

Das war das Problem an Hochzeiten: Sie zwangen sämtliche Mitglieder einer Familie dazu, miteinander umzugehen, ob es ihnen passte oder nicht. Meryl Becker freut sich zwar, dass ihre Töchter Meg, Amy und Jo den Mann fürs Leben gefunden haben. Andererseits übersteigen drei Hochzeiten das Familienbudget. Die Lösung: eine große gemeinsame Feier. Und natürlich will Meryl es allen recht machen – ihren Töchtern, ihren zukünftigen Schwiegersöhnen und deren Familien. Bald wächst Meryl alles über den Kopf. Sie ahnt nicht, dass auch die drei Paare mit Spannungen zu kämpfen haben. Und dass vor dem großen Fest ein paar handfeste Überraschungen auf die Familie warten ...

Man of Two Worlds

Author: Ray Grasshoff
Publisher: Lulu.com
ISBN: 9780557064632
Release Date: 2009-04-01
Genre: History

In 1854, Wilhelm F. Kempe, 26, and his sister Auguste, 20, left their native Kingdom of Saxony in Europe for a new home in Texas. Remaining in Saxony were their aging, widowed father and a 10-year-old sister and an 8-year-old brother -- people who struggled for decades to reconcile their lives in the Old World with that of their relatives in the New World. Their letters to Wilhelm tell, often painfully, of the emotional toll this disruption took on the lives of family and friends who remained in the Fatherland. As the only connection betwen his family in Europe and his family in America, Wilhelm carried the weight of both. Over half a century he coped with all of their needs, as well as the Civil War and the desires of others who wanted to leave Europe and join him in Texas -- challenges that come alive through the letters they wrote.

My Hindu Faith

Author: Anita Ganeri
Publisher: Evans Brothers
ISBN: 0237532271
Release Date: 2006
Genre: Hindu children

My Hindu Faith is one of 6 titles that introduce the young reader to the basic beliefs and rituals of the 6 main world religions. The author and photographer have followed the life of a young girl as she practises her faith with her family. Sensitive questions about the religion are posed by other children, allowing for accurate and clear responses. As with all My Faith titles, special care has been taken to include all of the conventions of real non-fiction titles including a contents page and glossary. A clever dual text technique combines running text with speech bubbles drawing in both the less confident and the confident reader.

Wives and Sisters

Author: Natalie R. Collins
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9781429903097
Release Date: 2007-04-01
Genre: Fiction

When Allison Jensen was six, she and her best friend were playing in the woods near home. One moment her friend was beside her; then she was gone. When no leads emerged, she was given up for dead. Now, years later, trying to fill in the gaps of a patchwork memory, to make sense of the senseless, Allison still can get no answers from the Mormon community in which she lives. Why is she being fed half-truths? Why is her father able to tyrannize and torment as the self-appointed messenger of God? When a brutal attack on her as a young adult makes her desperate to escape Mormon bonds, Allison finds herself on a collision course with community leaders as they cover up the steps of a sexual predator. She must stop them before they find her and keep her from piecing together the tragic past that has haunted her life.

Marriage and Same sex Unions

Author: Lynn D. Wardle
Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group
ISBN: 027597653X
Release Date: 2003
Genre: Family & Relationships

This in-depth introduction to the pivotal arguments for and against legalizing same-sex marriage attempts to exemplify the high quality of thoughtful discussion that is possible.

Two Weddings and a Baby

Author: Scarlett Bailey
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 9781448176823
Release Date: 2014-06-19
Genre: Fiction

From reluctant bridesmaid, to accidental mother... Tamsyn Thorne has not been back to her home town of Poldore for five long years. But now her brother, Ruan, is about to get married and she has no excuses left. Her plans to arrive in Cornwall looking chic and successful are dashed when a huge storm turns her from fashion goddess to a drowned rat. Worse, she ends up insulting the local hunky vicar – and then finds a tiny baby abandoned in his churchyard...

American Stepfamilies

Author: William R. Beer
Publisher: Transaction Publishers
ISBN: 1412817056
Release Date: 1992
Genre: Social Science

While statistics indicate that nearly half of all first marriages in America today terminate in divorce, more than three-quarters of these divorces also result in remarriage, producing stepfamilies. Although they have become increasingly common, stepfamilies are still poorly understood, by stepfamily and non-stepfamily members alike. This book looks at the internal and external dynamics of this new family form, taking the reader through a series of case studies and examining characteristic pitfalls and opportunities. The author begins by comparing the basic building block of the stepfamily--the remarried couple--to the first-married couple. In successive chapters the structure of the stepfamily is considered in terms of increasing complexity, from the simplest, in which one of the partners has never married before and has no children, to the most complex "yours and ours" stepfamilies, in which there are children from both previous marriages and the present one. The author probes the conflicts that arise between parents and children and among stepsiblings and explores the different strategies that stepfamilies devise for resolving these tensions. In the later chapters, the sociohistorical origins of today's stepfamilies are traced in terms of changing values and new technologies. Professor Beer argues that stepfamilies are proliferating as a result of attitudes and patterns of behavior that, more than ever, encourage divorce and remarriage. He demonstrates on the basis of large-scale evidence that stepfamilies produce children who are just as well adjusted as children brought up by both biological parents, and that they will turn out to be adults who are almost as socially well adapted as those from conventional families. The author concludes that stepfamilies are types of families in their own right, with foreseeable difficulties and rich rewards.

Food for Thought

Author: Richard Todd Canton
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9781475922288
Release Date: 2012-05
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Richard Todd Canton describes himself as a working man. Never one to sit around for long periods of time, he's made a habit of keeping busy-and paying attention. He entered the working world at twelve, when he stepped through the back door of a restaurant and asked for a job. Since then, he's learned from some masters and has applied that knowledge to every aspect of his life. Along the way, he's also met some interesting characters-and you'll meet many of them in this collection of anecdotes from his colorful and unusual life. As one of nine children, he learned early on that the observant person can find inspiration in every person he encounters. His brother, seven sisters, and widowed mother were among the first to inspire him. This memoir invites you to join him on a journey through life, love, and other lessons. He shares some of the experiences and lessons he learned growing up in the food business (and in business in general). You'll meet some intriguing characters who have influenced Canton in one way or the other; you might even recognize yourself or your friends within the tales. Take a journey with him back through time as you meet some of the magnificent people who have made an impact on his life.

Matching and Dispatching

Author: James O. Chatham
Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers
ISBN: 9781630875626
Release Date: 2011-12-23
Genre: Religion

This book takes you "behind the scenes" of the weddings and funerals you attend to show the not-so-visible side of what occurs. The picture can be marvelously heroic, deeply inspiring, fun, hilarious, tragic, angering, or disgustingly pathetic. The one thing certain is that you will see a comprehensive portrait of the human condition, the assorted things we people do when we marry and bury one another. We are at our best and our worst, and we reveal it clearly. The purpose of Matching and Dispatching is to entertain and provide enjoyment, but also to show a rich, usually hidden side of the pastor's world, the pastor being the chief architect behind weddings and funerals. To this end, Jim Chatham has drawn from his four decades of experience as a Presbyterian pastor.