National Geographic Readers Meteors

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Society
ISBN: 9781426319457
Release Date: 2015-01-06
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Blast off on a trip to discover the fascinating world of meteors. In this image-packed book, kids will learn all about these objects hurtling through space—and into our atmosphere. This level 3 reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the scientists and explorers of tomorrow!

Meteors

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266832
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre:

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 4: Independent readerPerfect for kids who are reading on their own with ease and are ready for more challenging vocabulary with varied sentence structures. They are ideal for readers of White and Lime books. Blast off on a trip to discover the fascinating world of meteors. In this image-packed book, kids will learn all about these objects hurtling through space - and into our atmosphere. This level 4 reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the scientists and explorers of tomorrow!

Comets Meteors and Asteroids

Author: Seymour Simon
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9780688158439
Release Date: 1998-05-27
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Whether they appear as distant specks in an astronomer's telescope or shoot brilliantly across the evening sky, comets, meteors, and asteroids have fascinated sky gazers throughout history. But where do these racing celestial bodies come from, and what can they teach us about our universe? Join Seymour Simon for a look at the fiery mystery and wild wonder of these luminous bodies of night.

Rocks from Space

Author: O. Richard Norton
Publisher: Mountain Press
ISBN: 0878424385
Release Date: 2001-02-01
Genre: Science

Explores the world of meteorites, asteroids, and comets from the perspectives of science, folklore, and superstition

Deadliest Animals

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266808
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre: Dangerous animals

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 4: Independent readerPerfect for kids who are reading on their own with ease and are ready for more challenging vocabulary with varied sentence structures. They are ideal for readers of White and Lime books. Did you know that a tiny golf ball-sized creature called the blue-ringed octopus contains enough venom to kill 26 adult humans? Or why the Sydney funnel web spider is one of the most dangerous creatures in the world? In this level 4 book, kids will be fascinated by 12 species that you hope you'll never come across! Sharks, snakes, jellyfish and more - these creatures are among the most threatening - and interesting - in the world!

Planets

Author: Elizabeth Carney
Publisher: National Geographic Children's Books
ISBN: 1426310374
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Introduces facts about the planets, distinguishing between the inner, gas, and dwarf planets, and discusses how scientists learn about the planets and outer space.

National Geographic Readers Bats

Author: Elizabeth Carney
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426313028
Release Date: 2012-07-24
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

They live in spooky caves, in forests, even in the dark reaches of ordinary attics and bridges. They flock by the hundreds, and they sleep while hanging upside down! In this beautifully photographed Level 2 Reader, kids learn about one of the most interesting creatures around—and discover the bat’s unique place in the wild and in the world. The high-interest topic, expertly written text, and bonus learning activity lay the groundwork for a successful and rewarding reading experience. National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources. Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information. From the Trade Paperback edition.

National Geographic Readers Skyscrapers Level 3

Author: Libby Romero
Publisher: National Geographic Society
ISBN: 9781426326837
Release Date: 2017-01-17
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Learn all about the world's most amazing skyscrapers – from the first, to the tallest, to how they're built, and everything in between – in this new National Geographic Kids Reader. The Level 3 text provides accessible, yet wide-ranging, information for fluent readers. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Meteorite Hunting How To Find Treasure From Space

Author: Geoffrey Notkin
Publisher: BookBaby
ISBN: 9780984754847
Release Date: 2011-01-01
Genre: Science

TESTIMONIALS This book is a rewarding read. It has science, humor, and beauty, resulting in great awe of the solar system.” — Dr. Arthur J. Ehlmann, emeritus curator, Oscar E. Monnig Meteorite Collection, TCU "In 1997, on our first expedition to Chile’s Atacama Desert, I learned that Geoff was a natural at meteorite hunting. It wasn’t until later, however, when Geoff wrote an amazing account of that excursion in a magazine article, that I also began to appreciate his literary skills. If you enjoy Geoff on 'Meteorite Men' you are going to love this book. No commercials, no meteorwrongs, no me interrupting him with offers of beef jerky — just Geoff waxing eloquent about these remarkable treasures from space. It doesn’t get any better than this!” — Steve Arnold, professional meteorite hunter, co-host of "Meteorite Men" “Geoffrey Notkin is a mild-mannered Englishman who, once he dons his hunting gear, becomes an intrepid explorer for treasure. His quarry is not of this planet, but fragments of other planets that have landed on Earth. His searches take him to remote locations all over the globe and his accounts are filled with adventure, daring, and a shared sense of humanity. Why would a seemingly normal person take up such a pursuit? Because the fragments he finds tell us about the origins of our solar system and our place in the universe.” — Dr Joel L. Schiff, founding editor and publisher, "Meteorite" magazine This book has a place on any meteorite collector's shelf. I particularly like the glossy pages with wonderful pictures. The pictures of Geoff, and Geoff and Steve hunting meteorites and the meteorites are fantastic. Excellent photography and book amounts to a "how-to" for hunting meteorites. — Dr. Walter Branch, meteorite collector ABOUT THE AUTHOR Geoff Notkin starred in three seasons of the multi award-winning television adventure series "Meteorite Men" for Science Channel and hosts the educational series "STEM Journals" for Cox Media, currently in its third season. He has also appeared in shows for Discovery, NASA EDGE, TLC, PBS, A&E, National Geographic Channel, History Channel, Travel Channel, and the BBC and is a widely recognized authority on meteorites and meteorite recovery. He is a science writer, photographer, world traveler, and CEO of Aerolite Meteorites LLC, a company that provides meteorite specimens to collectors and institutions worldwide. Geoff has appeared on "Coast to Coast" and the "Today" show, and has been interviewed by "The Washington Post," "The Huffington Post," Space.com, "Universe Today" and many other leading publications. An award-winning author, Geoff has published hundreds of articles on meteoritics, paleontology, astronomy, adventure travel, history, and the arts, with his work appearing in "Astronomy," "Astronomy Now," "Sky & Telescope," "USA Today," "Wired," "Reader’s Digest," "The Village Voice," "Seed," "Rock & Gem," "Geotimes" and many other national and international publications. He is the author of a memoir, "Rock Star: Adventures Of A Meteorite Man," and the "Meteorwritings" column for Geology.com Geoff has worked with many of the world’s major institutions including The American Museum of Natural History, New York; The Natural History Museum, London; The Institute of Meteoritics at UNM, Albuquerque, and The Center for Meteorite Studies at ASU, Tempe. He is a member of The Explorer’s Club, is on the advisory board of Deep Space Industries and the board of directors of the Astrosociology Research Institute. The minor planet 132904, discovered at Mount Palomar, was named after Geoff in recognition of his contributions to science and education. Adventuring has taken Geoff to forty-five countries and some of our planet’s most remote areas including northern Siberia, Chile’s Atacama Desert, the Australian Outback and he has three times crossed the Arctic Circle. By the age of seven Geoff was already an avid rock hound and fossil collector. His father was an amateur astron

National Geographic Readers Robots

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Society
ISBN: 9781426313943
Release Date: 2014-04-08
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Discover the coolest robots of today and tomorrow in this colorful, photo-packed book. In this inviting and entertaining format, kids will learn about the science behind these amazing machines. This Level 3 reader is written in an easy-to-grasp style to encourage the scientists of tomorrow! National Geographic supports K-12 educators with ELA Common Core Resources. Visit www.natgeoed.org/commoncore for more information.

Meteor Showers

Author: F. S. Kim
Publisher: Childrens Press
ISBN: 0531168972
Release Date: 2009-09-01
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Presents an introduction to meteor showers, describing what causes them, what happens when they enter Earth's gravity, and what can be learned about the universe from the study of meteorites.

Deadly Predators

Author: Melissa Stewart
Publisher: National Geographic Readers
ISBN: 0008266719
Release Date: 2017-10-02
Genre: Predatory animals

National Geographic Primary Readers is a high-interest series of beginning reading books that have been developed in consultation with education experts. The books pair magnificent National Geographic photographs with lively text by skilled children's book authors across four reading levels. Level 3: Becoming independentBest suited to kids who are ready for complex sentences and more challenging vocabulary, but still draw on occasional support from adults. They are ideal for readers of Purple and Gold books. Come face-to-face with sharks, wolves, tigers, and many more predators in this gripping book in the National Geographic Kids Reader series. Amazing animal photos will wow kids as they discover how predators hunt, raise their young, and contribute to the food chain. This level 3 reader is written in easy-to-grasp text and will help kids understand who rules in the wild!

Skyscrapers

Author: Libby Romero
Publisher: National Geographic Books
ISBN: 9781426326813
Release Date: 2017
Genre: Juvenile Nonfiction

Learn all about the world's most amazing skyscrapers - from the first, to the tallest, to how they're built, and everything in between - in this new National Geographic Kids Reader. The Level 3 text provides accessible, yet wide-ranging, information for fluent readers.