Nature s Year

Author: Drew Monkman
Publisher: Dundurn
ISBN: 9781459701847
Release Date: 2012-04-07
Genre: Nature

Whatever your interest may be, this month-by-month guide to the key natural events in Central and Eastern Ontario will let you know exactly what’s happening — and it’s often in your own backyard. Nature’s Year is an almanac of key events in nature occurring in Central and Eastern Ontario, a region that extends from the Bruce Peninsula and Georgian Bay in the west to Ottawa and Cornwall in the east. The book is a chronicle of the passing seasons designed to inform cottagers, gardeners, photographers, suburban backyard birders, and nature enthusiasts alike as to what events in nature to expect each month of the year. Whatever your interest may be – birds, mammals, amphibians, reptiles, fish, invertebrates, plants, fungi, weather, or the night sky just turn to a given month and you’ll find a list of what’s happening, often right in your own backyard. This book will also provide a reassuring measure of order and predictability to nature and help the reader become more attentive to and appreciative of the many wonders of the natural world that surround us in this exceptional region of Ontario.

The Big Book of Nature Activities

Author: Jacob Rodenburg
Publisher: New Society Publishers
ISBN: 9781550925968
Release Date: 2016-06-20
Genre: Nature

The average child can identify over one thousand corporate logos, but only ten native plants or animals—a telling indictment of our modern disconnection from nature. Soaring levels of obesity, high rates of ADHD, feelings of stress and social awkwardness, and "Nature Deficit Disorder" are further unintended consequences of a childhood spent primarily indoors. The Big Book of Nature Activities is a comprehensive guide for parents and educators to help youth of all ages explore, appreciate and connect with the natural world. This rich, fully illustrated compendium features: Nature-based skills and activities such as species identification, photography, journaling, and the judicious use of digital technology Ideas, games, and activities grounded in what's happening in nature each season Core concepts that promote environmental literacy, such as climate change and the mechanisms and wonder of evolution, explained using a child-friendly, engaging approach Lists of key species and happenings to observe throughout the year across most of North America Perfect for families, educators, and youth leaders , The Big Book of Nature Activities is packed with crafts, stories, information and inspiration to make outdoor learning fun. Jacob Rodenburg is the Executive Director of the Camp Kawartha summer camp and outdoor education centre. As well as publishing numerous articles on children, nature and the environment, he has worked in the field of outdoor education for twenty-five years. Drew Monkman is an award-winning environmental advocate, naturalist, and retired teacher. In addition to his weekly nature column, Drew is the author of two season-based nature guides, including Nature's Year.

Nature s Year in the Kawarthas

Author: Drew Monkman
Publisher: Dundurn
ISBN: 1896219802
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Nature

An almanac of key events occurring in the natural world over the course of a year in the Kawartha Lakes district and in cottage country in general.

Tourism Recreation and Climate Change

Author: Prof. C. Michael Hall
Publisher: Channel View Publications
ISBN: 9781845413149
Release Date: 2005-02-24
Genre: Business & Economics

Climate change is one of the major issues facing us today and has been described as a threat greater than terrorism. As the world's largest industry tourism both contributes to and will be dramatically affected by climate change. This is the first comprehensive book-level examination of the relationship between tourism and climate change, of interest not only to students of tourism but to policy makers and the industry who will have to respond to the challenges posed.

Peterson Field Guide to the Birds of Eastern and Central North America

Author: Roger Tory Peterson
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0547345852
Release Date: 2002-04-04
Genre: Nature

Roger Tory Peterson had already made his mark with his innovative field guide when he conducted DDT research during World War II. His friend and fellow naturalist Rachel Carson built on these efforts and eventually wrote Silent Spring, a landmark text that, along with Peterson’s field guide, jump-started the modern environmental movement. By combining the tireless observation of a scientist with the imaginative skills of an artist and writer, Peterson created a field guide that Robert Bateman, in his foreword to the fifth edition, says was the doorway for millions of people into the wonderland of natural history. The Peterson Identification System has been used in the more than fifty books that make up the Peterson Field Guide series. Peterson’s magnum opus, now in its fifth edition, created the trail for countless field guides to follow. They are still following year by year, but his is the standard by which all other field guides are judged. On the morning of July 28, 1996, Roger Peterson was painting his final bird plate. He died peacefully in his sleep later that day. It is fitting that his final work—a culmination of more than sixty years of observing, painting, and writing—should be this one, a revision of the guide that started his legacy.

Seasons

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015046054204
Release Date: 1996
Genre: Natural history


Nature Canada

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: CORNELL:31924090129168
Release Date: 1997
Genre: Natural history


Fish Fur Feathers

Author: Federation of Alberta Naturalists
Publisher: Nature Alberta
ISBN: 0969613474
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Fishes


A Sailor s Logbook

Author: Mark L. Thompson
Publisher: Wayne State University Press
ISBN: 081432844X
Release Date: 1999
Genre: History

A firsthand account of life aboard the ships of the Great Lakes.

ON Nature

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015072635447
Release Date: 2008
Genre: Natural history


Nature

Author: Sir Norman Lockyer
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015077910985
Release Date: 1928
Genre: Science


Paper

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: UCR:31210005247760
Release Date: 1935
Genre: Geology


The Year Without Summer

Author: William K. Klingaman
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781250012067
Release Date: 2013-02-26
Genre: History

Like Winchester's Krakatoa, The Year Without Summer reveals a year of dramatic global change long forgotten by history In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death. 1816 was a remarkable year—mostly for the fact that there was no summer. As a result of a volcanic eruption in Indonesia, weather patterns were disrupted worldwide for months, allowing for excessive rain, frost, and snowfall through much of the Northeastern U.S. and Europe in the summer of 1816. In the U.S., the extraordinary weather produced food shortages, religious revivals, and extensive migration from New England to the Midwest. In Europe, the cold and wet summer led to famine, food riots, the transformation of stable communities into wandering beggars, and one of the worst typhus epidemics in history. 1816 was the year Frankenstein was written. It was also the year Turner painted his fiery sunsets. All of these things are linked to global climate change—something we are quite aware of now, but that was utterly mysterious to people in the nineteenth century, who concocted all sorts of reasons for such an ungenial season. Making use of a wealth of source material and employing a compelling narrative approach featuring peasants and royalty, politicians, writers, and scientists, The Year Without Summer by William K. Klingaman and Nicholas P. Klingaman examines not only the climate change engendered by this event, but also its effects on politics, the economy, the arts, and social structures.