Nobody Walks

Author: Dennis M. Walsh
Publisher: Macmillan
ISBN: 9781250021120
Release Date: 2013-02-12
Genre: True Crime

In the vein of The Boondock Saints and Chinatown comes this true crime memoir of brotherly love and vengeance In 2003, Christopher Walsh was found stuffed in a trash barrel in a storage locker in Van Nuys, California. After the dilatory murder investigation took seven months to file charges, and years to go to trial, Dennis Walsh knew it was up to him to keep his little brother's murder from becoming a cold case. The only son of a large Irish-American family to stay on the straight and narrow, Dennis found his family's dubious background paired with his law degree placed him in the unique position to finish the job the cops couldn't. Fencing with the police and the DA's office, Dennis spent years slinking between his life as a stand-up lawyer and hitting the streets to try and convince the dopers, thieves, prostitutes, porn stars, and jail birds that populated Christopher's world to come forward and cooperate with the police. Yet he walked a fine line with his harsh tactics; prosecutors continuously told him he was jeopardizing not only the case, but his life. Staying on the right side of the law to hunt down these murderers put every part of Dennis to the test and it wasn't long before the brother who went clean knew he'd have to get his hands dirty. But 100 arrests later, the murderers are in jail for life. With the gravity of a Scorsese film, this classic yet gritty tale transcends the true crime genre. Nobody Walks is the harrowing story of a family, brothers, and the true meaning of justice.

The Justice Keepers

Author: Mary Grant
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 9781469177267
Release Date: 2012-03-09
Genre: Fiction

The Justice Keepers is the final book in the Keeper series. As with the first two books, the twist and turns dont stop until the final chapter. The race is on to stop the sadistic killer known as the Boston Harbor Killer. The FBI and Boston Homicide Division have evidence that Amelia Kent could be the killer. Could the fears of the people that love her be coming true? Has she become what her brother said she would be; a vessel of death? Go on the hunt with the authorities to uncover the truth and find Justice for Amelia.

Killer Catchers Fourteen True Stories of How Britain s Wickedest Murderers Were Brought to Justice

Author: Andy Owens
Publisher: John Blake Publishing
ISBN: 9781784185596
Release Date: 2008-01-07
Genre: True Crime

Murderers, Psychopaths, and Paedophiles - Their mention strikes dread and disgust into the heart of a nation, and the crimes committed by such individuals are of a nature more horrendous than any other. Their hideous acts of violence and abuse are unimaginably cruel, and the more disturbed and desperate we become for the killers to be brought to justice.Yet the extremely calculated nature of the crimes and their perpetrators means that evidence is often so thin on the ground that many cases end up being often left 'open' with little hope that more evidence will come to light, leaving families in utter devastation and the public in fear of its safety. However, thanks to rapidly developing advances in forensic techniques, especially in the fields of psychological, psychic and DNA profiling, more and more previously closed cases are being re-examined and solved many years after the crimes were committed."Killer Catchers" is the incredible collection of such astonishing true stories. The murders in this book will chill you to the bone, but the techniques used to solve them will astound and reassure you in equal measure. The stories in this book are fascinating and varied but they all have one thing in common: each murderer thought they would get away with their horrific crime, and almost nearly did...But now there is no such thing as the perfect murder.

Youth Crime and Justice

Author: Erika Gebo
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
ISBN: 9781442237469
Release Date: 2017-09-28
Genre: Law

This is a comprehensive introduction to youth, crime, and justice through a unique case-study approach. Taking a life course perspective, the book examines the changing landscapes of childhood and the justice system, with an intersectional focus.

Social Science

Author: David C. Colander
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 9781317225737
Release Date: 2016-09-13
Genre: Social Science

Social Science: An Introduction to the Study of Society 16e approaches social science from a common-sense perspective, rather than from a conventional social science angle. Readers will see how seemingly diverse disciplines intermingle – anthropology and economics, for example. The goal of the book is to teach students critical thought and problem solving skills that will allow them to approach social issues in an unbiased manner. New to this edition are significant updates on: Race and the police More comparison/contrasts of deviance and criminality Alternative pathways in criminal justice new technology such as self-driving cars Gay marriage American political dynasties Refugee and immigration issues in Europe & globally American political dynasties China’s growing power New trade initiatives "States" in the Middle East Nuclear arms control​ Expanded web-based ancillaries for students and teachers

The Hate U Give

Author: Angie Thomas
Publisher: cbt Verlag
ISBN: 9783641200145
Release Date: 2017-07-24
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

»Umwerfend und brillant, ein Klassiker!« Bestsellerautor John Green Die 16-jährige Starr lebt in zwei Welten: in dem verarmten Viertel, in dem sie wohnt, und in der Privatschule, an der sie fast die einzige Schwarze ist. Als Starrs bester Freund Khalil vor ihren Augen von einem Polizisten erschossen wird, rückt sie ins Zentrum der öffentlichen Aufmerksamkeit. Khalil war unbewaffnet. Bald wird landesweit über seinen Tod berichtet; viele stempeln Khalil als Gangmitglied ab, andere gehen in seinem Namen auf die Straße. Die Polizei und ein Drogenboss setzen Starr und ihre Familie unter Druck. Was geschah an jenem Abend wirklich? Die Einzige, die das beantworten kann, ist Starr. Doch ihre Antwort würde ihr Leben in Gefahr bringen...

Red Notice

Author: Bill Browder
Publisher: Carl Hanser Verlag GmbH Co KG
ISBN: 9783446443198
Release Date: 2015-02-23
Genre: Political Science

Moskau nach dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion: Die Oligarchen sichern sich die Pfründe und machen ein Vermögen. Der Amerikaner Bill Browder nutzt die Gunst der Stunde und investiert in aufstrebende Unternehmen. Doch dann kommt er Putin und seiner Politik in die Quere: Er wird erpresst, verfolgt und bedroht. In einem Rechtsstaat kann man sich dagegen wehren. Aber nicht in einem Russland, wo Willkür und Tyrannei herrschen. Browders Anwalt Sergej Magnitski wird unter fadenscheinigen Vorwänden inhaftiert, gefoltert und schließlich im Gefängnis erschlagen. Aber Bill Browder gibt nicht auf. Als Menschenrechtsaktivist macht er international Druck auf Putin. Eine wahre Geschichte – packend geschrieben wie ein Thriller.

Helter Skelter

Author: Vincent Bugliosi
Publisher: Riva Verlag
ISBN: 9783959718684
Release Date: 2017-08-14
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Im Sommer 1969 erschüttert eine Reihe bestialischer Morde Los Angeles und die USA. Sharon Tate, die schwangere Ehefrau von Roman Polanski, ist eines der sieben Opfer des Serienmörders Charles Manson. Vincent Bugliosi war leitender Staatsanwalt in diesem spektakulären Fall. In seinem meisterhaft geschriebenen Buch berichtet er, wie es ihm in minutiöser Detektivarbeit gelang, Charles Manson und seine ihm blind ergebene Hippie-Kommune für das Massaker hinter Gitter zu bringen. Die akribischen Ermittlungen, der komplexe Prozess, die kranke Weltanschauung, die Manson seinen Anhängern einflößte ... all dies macht diesen atemberaubend spannenden Weltbestseller aus. Seit 1971 sitzt Manson im Hochsicherheitsgefängnis, doch vergessen ist er noch lange nicht. Er ist zu einer diabolischen Kultfigur geworden, deren apokalyptisches Szenario und verschrobene Weltanschauung auch heute noch eine makabere Faszination ausüben. Dies ist eine Neuausgabe des 2010 erschienen Buchs Helter Skelter - Der Mordrausch des Charles Manson.

Theatre Arts

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN: STANFORD:36105007811503
Release Date: 1952
Genre: Theater


Mord in Wien

Author: Helga Schimmer
Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand
ISBN: 9783852188768
Release Date: 2018-07-27
Genre: Fiction

Der einzig wahre Wien-Krimi! Die Wiener Würgerin, die Frau mit dem Fleischwolf, der Rächer von Stein und der Gerichtsmediziner als Mörder: Die spektakulärsten, schauerlichsten und skurrilsten Kriminalgeschichten Wiens hat das wahre Leben geschrieben. Packend und kenntnisreich erzählt Helga Schimmer von Verbrechen, die sich tatsächlich zugetragen haben vom Haus des Grauens in der Augustinerstraße, in dem die Gräfin Báthory junge Mädchen folterte, bis hin zu aufsehenerregenden Kriminalfällen der Gegenwart. Sie berichtet von genialen Ermittlern, überraschenden Geständnissen, kaltblütigen Mördern und vom fast perfekten Verbrechen. Eine Pflichtlektüre für all jene, die schon immer die dunkle Seite Wiens kennenlernen wollten.

Zodiac

Author: Robert Graysmith
Publisher: Heyne Verlag
ISBN: 9783641028923
Release Date: 2009-10-02
Genre: Fiction

„Ich töte Menschen, weil es mir so viel Spaß macht.“ Jahrelang versetzte ein als Zodiac berühmt gewordener Serienkiller Kalifornien in Angst und Schrecken und spielte mit der Polizei ein grausames Katz-und-Maus-Spiel. Regisseur David Fincher (Se7en, Fight Club) verfilmt die Geschichte einer unglaublichen Mordserie mit u. a. Jake Gyllenhaal, Robert Downey Jr. und Gary Oldman.