Off I Went Into the Wild Blue Yonder

Author: John James Knudsen
Publisher: Pelican Publishing
ISBN: 1455609811
Release Date: 2013-04-22
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

One Army Air Corps soldier's ordeals during World War II. Written in the personable voice of someone reflecting honestly on his life's journey, this autobiography is full of anecdotes of a Depression-era Montana boyhood and culminates with the author's training for service as a B-17 pilot and subsequent role as a flight instructor.

Off We Go Into the Wild Blue Yonder

Author: Travis Nichols
Publisher: Coffee House Press
ISBN: 9781566892704
Release Date: 2010-05-01
Genre: Fiction

Titled after the US Air Force song, this engaging debut explores the legacy of the Greatest Generation from the perspective of Generation Y, the fallout of war through the eyes of a pacifist, and the enduring human desire for love, adventure, truth, and understanding. Pensive in the wake of 9/11, a young man—our “correspondent between the past and the present”—launches a mission to reunite his beloved grandfather, an American bombardier, with Luddie, the woman who saved him during WWII. Armed only with the address on the back of an old photograph and his grandfather’s memories, the young man begins writing letters to Luddie. Undaunted by her lack of response, the narrator travels to Poland with his girlfriend and grandfather. As they come closer to finding the site where the bombardier was shot down, the letters to Luddie become more personal and the saga of a family with a long and storied history emerges. Beautifully orchestrated and eloquently original, each sentence slowly builds upon the next in a charming style both poetic and engrossing. A tale of soldiers and saviors, of burning and bombing, of fathers and sons and brothers and lovers, this is also the story of what we find when we dare to revisit the past. Born in Iowa in 1979, Travis Nichols now lives in Chicago. An editor at the Poetry Foundation, his writing has appeared in The Village Voice, The Believer, Details, Paste, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, and The Stranger. Off We Go Into the Wild Blue Yonder is his first novel.

Into the Wild Blue Yonder

Author: Allan T. Stein
Publisher: Texas A&M University Press
ISBN: 9781603445979
Release Date: 2005
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

By the time he retired as a lieutenant colonel in 1969, Allan T. Stein had flown everything from BT-13s and B-24s to B-52s and C-47s. He flew missions over China and the Sea of Japan during World War II, spent a year in Vietnam helping to monitor and locate Vietcong units, and ended his career as inspector general of the Civil Air Patrol. Here he offers an account of a typical career as an air force officer, complete with its frustrations, moral dilemmas, and the occasional harrowing experience.

Wild Blue Yonder

Author: Mike Raicht
Publisher: IDW Publishing
ISBN: 9781623027575
Release Date: 2015-05-06
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Take to the skies in this thrilling new action-adventure sci-fi tale. In the near future, mankind has destroyed the Earth, and the only refuge from radioactive pollution can be found in the skies. Unfortunately, dwindling supplies and bloodthirsty air pirates make life all the harder. Join the crew of the Dawn as they battle their way through the hazards of living in this dangerous new world.

Into the Wild Blue Yonder

Author: Allan T. Stein
Publisher: Texas A&M University Press
ISBN: 1585443867
Release Date: 2005-02-16
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

Annotation "Allan T. Stein idolized his uncle, a pilot in the Great War. So in 1943, in the midst of the Second World War, he left Texas A & M University for Lackland Air Field to learn to fly. By the time he retired as a lieutenant colonel in 1969, Stein had flown everything from BT-13s and B-24s to B-52s and C-47s. During World War II, he flew missions over China and the Sea of Japan, and by V-J Day, he had participated in eight campaigns and logged 347 hours in combat. Stein later spent one year in Vietnam as operations officer for the 360 TEWS (Tactical Electronic Warfare Squadron), which used refitted C-47s to monitor and locate Vietcong units. He ended his career as inspector general of the Civil Air Patrol." "Stein considers himself to have been an ordinary airman, not a hero. But he was also a seasoned pilot and a conscientious officer with a strong sense of right and wrong. After a young pilot he had certified died in an accident, Stein made it a practice to fail all but the best candidates. He was just as disgusted with the corruption he encountered in the Civil Air Patrol as he was with the tendentious reporters he met in Saigon's Hotel Caravelle." "Although he met his share of cowards and scoundrels, Stein loved to fly and he loved the air force. He was the sort of officer his superiors trusted not to make mistakes, but he was not the sort to rise to high rank. What he offers here is an account of a typical career as an air force officer, complete with its frustrations, moral dilemmas, and the occasional harrowing experience."--BOOK JACKET. Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Wild Blue

Author: Stephen E. Ambrose
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781471104411
Release Date: 2012-12-11
Genre: History

In the bestselling BAND OF BROTHERS, Stephen E. Ambrose portrayed in vivid detail the experiences of soldiers who fought on the bloody battlegrounds of World War II. THE WILD BLUE brings to life another extraordinary band of brothers - the men who volunteered to join the American Air Force and undertook some of the most demanding and dangerous jobs in the war. Focusing on the men of the 741st Bomb Squadron and, in particular, the crew of the DAKOTA QUEEN, these are the boys turned pilots, bombardiers, navigators and gunners of the B24s, who suffered 50 per cent casualties during conflict. With his extraordinary talent for bringing alive the action and tension of combat, Ambrose sweeps us along in the B24s as their crews fought to the death to reach their targets and destroy the German war machine.

Wild Blue Yonder

Author: Jack B. Rochester
Publisher: Wheatmark, Inc.
ISBN: 9781627876186
Release Date: 2018-07-20
Genre: Fiction

Over 650 Vietnam War novels have been published, mostly dark tales from the war zone. In Wild Blue Yonder, Airman Nathaniel Hawthorne Flowers goes not to Vietnam but Germany, straight into a military Catch-22. His assignment: writing stories for the Stars and Stripes newspaper that will never see print. Nate's adventure deepens as he and his fellow troops try to understand why they're there, the military mindset, and the massive social disruption roiling 1960's America. Existential, psychedelic, funny, and laced with rock 'n' roll, Wild Blue Yonder is the story of Nate's quest for personal and spiritual values while trying to learn the meaning of family, friendship, and the love of the girl he left behind.

The Wild Blue Yonder and Beyond

Author: Rob Morris
Publisher: Potomac Books, Inc.
ISBN: 9781597977173
Release Date: 2012
Genre: History

The complete history of a legendary World War II bomb group

Wild Blue Wonder

Author: Carlie Sorosiak
Publisher: HarperCollins
ISBN: 9780062564016
Release Date: 2018-06-26
Genre: Young Adult Fiction

"It's the rarest author who can pull off laugh-out-loud hilarious, profound, and breathlessly romantic, all in the most sparkling prose. That shortlist includes Rainbow Rowell, Nicola Yoon, and now, Carlie Sorosiak."—Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days Last June, the summer camp Quinn’s family owns in Winship, Maine, was still a magical place. A place where wild blueberries grew no matter the season, a legendary sea monster lurked in the waters, and Quinn fell in love with her best friend, Dylan. Then the accident happened. Now it’s winter, the magic has drained from Quinn’s life, and she knows it’s her fault. But the new boy in town, Alexander, doesn’t see her as the monster she believes herself to be. As Quinn lets herself open up again, she begins to understand the truth about love, loss, and monsters—real and imagined. This wondrous novel about love, loss, and moving on is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jenny Han. Praise for If Birds Fly Back: “A sweet love story with plenty of emotional heft. Fans of brainy romance will likely like this one.” —Booklist “An engrossing combination of romance and self-discovery.” —Publishers Weekly

Tales from the Wild Blue Yonder Taking Mexico Flying

Author: John Quinn Olson
Publisher: Dust Devil Press
ISBN: 9780982070345
Release Date: 2009-11-01
Genre: Fiction

Welcome to the adventures and misadventures from a quarter century of hang gliding and travel. Huck yourself off cliffs, soar into the Wild Blue, and land where no human has landed before, all from the comfort and safety of your easy chair. Visit exotic lands and foreign skies, experience the thrill of foot-launched human flight and never even risk your neck. Come along with a wild cast of characters, who fly like their lives depend upon it. Realize mankind's most ancient dream, FLY WITH THE BIRDS!

Tales from the Wild Blue Yonder Recipes for Disaster

Author: John Q. Olson
Publisher: Dust Devil Press
ISBN: 9780982070321
Release Date: 2007-09-01
Genre: Sports & Recreation

Welcome to the adventures and misadventures from a quarter century of hang gliding and travel. Huck yourself off cliffs, soar into the Wild Blue, and land where no human has landed before, all from the comfort and safety of your easy chair. Visit exotic lands and foreign skies, experience the thrill of foot-launched human flight and never even risk your neck. Come along with a wild cast of characters, who fly like their lives depend upon it. Realize mankind's most ancient dream, FLY WITH THE BIRDS!

Tales from the Wild Blue Yonder Living Dangerously

Author: John Q. Olson
Publisher: Dust Devil Press
ISBN: 9780982070307
Release Date: 2007-12-01
Genre: Fiction

Welcome to the adventures and misadventures from a quarter century of hang gliding and travel. Huck yourself off cliffs, soar into the Wild Blue, and land where no human has landed before, all from the comfort and safety of your easy chair. Visit exotic lands and foreign skies, experience the thrill of foot-launched human flight and never even risk your neck. Come along with a wild cast of characters, who fly like their lives depend upon it. Realize mankind's most ancient dream, FLY WITH THE BIRDS!

My Wild Blue Yonder

Author: Shanekia Merritt
Publisher:
ISBN: 1537782665
Release Date: 2016-09-20
Genre:

One day you may feel sad and the next you may feel glad. Never forget the fun you once had. We pray for sunny days but the sky cannot always be blue. It changes and so does our moods. Love is a game and you can win or lose. Your destiny is waiting, so choose. Love is something that we will never fully understand until we have our soulmate holding our hand.