Asterix Omnibus 9

Author: Rene Goscinny
Publisher: Asterix
ISBN: 1444009664
Release Date: 2015-05-26
Genre: Literary Criticism

This special collector's edition features books 25 to 27 in one fabulous volume, in paperback for the first time. In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT DIVIDE, can Asterix, Obelix and Getafix ensure a happy ending for star-crossed lovers Melodrama and Histrionix, whose fathers are rival chieftains? Watch out for some interesting new magic potions... Asterix and Obelix must go prospecting in the Middle East in ASTERIX AND THE BLACK GOLD. Can they outwit the Roman secret agent Dubbelosix and his amazing folding chariot? In ASTERIX AND SON, who can have dumped a baby outside Asterix's hut? Why are the Romans after the baby - and just what plot is the treacherous Brutus hatching against Julius Caesar? There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Asterix the Gaul

Author: René Goscinny
Publisher: Hambleton Hill Publishing
ISBN: 034017210X
Release Date: 1973-01-01
Genre: Asterix (Fictitious character)

When Roman Centurion Crismus Bonus finds out about Getafix's magic potion, he kidnaps the druid to force him to reveal the recipe. So Asterix joins his friend in captivity and together the two plan to whip up a surprise with truly hair-raising effects.

Asterix Omnibus 2

Author: Rene Uderzo
Publisher: Asterix
ISBN: 1444004247
Release Date: 2011-10-25
Genre: Fiction

In this special collectors' edition, books four to six are brought together in one fabulous volume for the first time ever. In ASTERIX THE GLADIATOR, Julius Caesar plans to throw the captured Cacofonix to the lions. Asterix and Obelix enlist as gladiators in order to rescue him, and teach their colleagues some interesting new tricks. In ASTERIX AND THE BANQUET, the Romans build a barricade around the Gaulish village. But Asterix and Obelix break out and travel the entire country, collecting local specialities along the way. Asterix, Obelix and co visit Egypt in ASTERIX AND CLEOPATRA, where they are entranced by the Sphinx, the pyramids and Cleopatra's nose. There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Dungeon Zenith Vol 1

Author: Joann Sfar
Publisher: NBM
ISBN: 1561634018
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels

Follows the adventures of Herbert the Timorous Duck and his vegetarian dragon friend Marvin as they attempt to defend Dungeon, a mighty castle filled with goblins, monsters, and trolls.

Bandits in the Roman Empire

Author: Thomas Grunewald
Publisher: Routledge
ISBN: 9781134337583
Release Date: 2004-07-31
Genre: History

This wide-ranging and informative survey of 'outsider' groups in the Roman Empire will contribute greatly to our understanding of Roman social history. Examining men such as as Viriatus, Tacfarinus, Maternus and Bulla Felix, who were called latrones after clashing with the imperial authorities, special attention is given to perhaps the best-known 'bandit' of all, Spartacus, and to those who impersonated the emperor Nero after his death. Topics covered include: * Whom did the Romans see as bandits (latrones)? * What did they understand as robbery (lactrocinium)? * How pressing was the threat that the bandits posed? * How did their contemporaries perceive the danger? We are shown that the term latrones was not just used to refer to criminals but was metaphorically and disparagingly applied to failed political rebels, rivals and avengers. The word also came to represent the 'noble brigands', idealising the underdog as a means of criticising the winning side. The author therefore presents 'the bandit' as a literary construct rather than a social type.

Those Barren Leaves

Author: Aldous Huxley
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 9781443428507
Release Date: 2014-01-01
Genre: Fiction

Aldous Huxley is at his satirical best in this ironic portrayal of a group gathered in an Italian palace by Mrs. Aldwinkle, a woman yearning to relive the days of the Renaissance. Through his biting narrative, Huxley strips away the supposed sophistication of each guest—including a struggling poet turned editor; a disabled yet wealthy heiress who is endlessly pursued by an aging philosopher; and a man who embarks on an affair with a novelist, oblivious to the fact that she is recording every detail as material for her next book—until only their superficiality remains. HarperPerennialClassics brings great works of literature to life in digital format, upholding the highest standards in ebook production and celebrating reading in all its forms. Look for more titles in the HarperPerennial Classics collection to build your digital library.

Gladiator Son of Spartacus

Author: Simon Scarrow
Publisher: Penguin UK
ISBN: 9780141338750
Release Date: 2013-02-07
Genre: Juvenile Fiction

FREE from slavery, Marcus is determined to find and save his kidnapped mother. Meanwhile, his master Julius Caesar wants Marcus to help destroy the bands of rebel slaves and their leader Brixus, who plans to unite a slave army and resurrect the cause of Spartacus. But Marcus and Brixus are old allies who share a life-threatening secret. Marcus is torn between his friend and master. Can he convince Brixus now is not the time for a deadly revolt - and ask Caesar to negotiate a slave surrender before more carnage and bloodshed? ** From the #1 bestselling adult author Simon Scarrow - over 1 million copies sold. ** The perfect introduction to Roman history and gladiators for young readers - great for fans of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter. ** Book 3 in the series.

My Thoughts

Author: Charles de Secondat baron de Montesquieu
Publisher:
ISBN: 0865978255
Release Date: 2012
Genre: Philosophy

My Thoughts provides a unique window into the mind of one of the undisputed pioneers of modern thought, the author of the 1748 classic, The Spirit of the Laws. From the publication in 1721 of his first masterpiece, Persian Letters, until his death in 1755, Montesquieu maintained notebooks in which he wrote and dictated ideas on a wide variety of topics. Some of the contents are early drafts of passages that Montesquieu eventually placed in his published works; others are outlines or early versions of projected works that were ultimately lost, unfinished, or abandoned. These notebooks provide important insights into his views on a broad range of topics, including morality, religion, history, law, economics, finance, science, art, and constitutional liberty. Montesquieu called these notebooks Mes Pensées (My Thoughts), and they appear in their entirety in English for the first time in this Liberty Fund edition. Editor and translator Henry C. Clark provides readers with translations of most of the footnotes contained in the 1991 French edition by Louis Desgraves, while adding new notes, a bibliography, and other aids to understanding the text and translation. These features provide the frame for a revealing portrait of one of the most influential figures of the eighteenth century. Henry C. Clark is a Visiting Professor in the Political Economy Project at Dartmouth College. He has written two books and numerous articles, mainly on the French and Scottish Enlightenments. Please note: This title is available as an ebook for purchase on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iTunes.

Asterix the Gaul

Author: Goscinny
Publisher:
ISBN: 0752871870
Release Date: 2006-03-02
Genre:

Gaul was divided into three parts. No, four parts - for one small village of indomitable Gauls still held out against the Roman invaders. rescue him with hair-raising results...

Asterix at the Olympic Games

Author: René Goscinny
Publisher: Asterix
ISBN: 0752891871
Release Date: 2008-02-21
Genre: Humor

The athletes of the ancient world assemble in Athens for the Olympic Games. Asterix and the Gauls enter too, but they're due for a setback. As an artificial stimulant, magic potion is banned. Can our friends win at the Games without it? And what's the special ingredient of the other potion, the one in the cauldron in the shed with the door that doesn't close properly?

Find Asterix

Author: René Goscinny
Publisher:
ISBN: 0340667184
Release Date: 1998
Genre: Adventure stories

Twelve brightly coloured spreads, providing hours of fun and frustration for all ages. 7 yrs+