One Way Ticket

Author: Melinda Goddard
Publisher: Melinda Goddard
ISBN: 069265254X
Release Date: 2016-06-23
Genre:

One-Way Ticket chronicles the true story of how Melinda and her husband Terry uprooted their fast-paced lives in New Jersey and relocated to Anguilla, an island in the Caribbean that The New York Times has called the "British St. Bart's." Imagine locking your door for the last time, driving to the airport, and flying away to paradise-just the two of you, two bags, and two cats. That's exactly what these corporate executives did in the early 2000s. Each chapter highlights their challenging journey, from the daunting delays and realities of building their villa on the island's turquoise shores, to the exhausting ordeal of selling in New Jersey post-9/11-all while continuing their endeavors in the medical devices and pharmaceuticals industries. The stress and intensity of working and leaving New Jersey shape the backdrop for increasingly tantalizing trips to savor the promising beauty and tranquility of their new home, far away. Theirs is a story of determination and joy, as they realize a dream that has been more fulfilling than they ever thought possible. You really can leave it all behind and not look back. They did. It just took a while.

One Way Ticket

Author: Rachel Hargrove
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1544855869
Release Date: 2017-03-24
Genre:

Someone is murdering passengers on the express train to LA. He's killed once already. It's up to Detective Julia Sawyer to stop him before another innocent man dies, but her only clues are a severed ear and a one-way ticket. With limited resources and a serial killer running amok, It's a race against time to find him-and his victims-before the commuter train becomes hell on wheels. The hunt is on, but can she find the killer without a body? An intense, gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller full of twists. Fans of James Patterson and Robert Dugoni will love this page-turner.

One Way Ticket

Author: William G. Tapply
Publisher: Overamstel Uitgevers
ISBN: 9789049981433
Release Date: 2013-08-06
Genre: Fiction

To help an old friend with a gambling problem, Brady confronts the Boston mob Dalton Lancaster could have been a lawyer, but his heart wasn’t in it. He quit Yale after his first year, and used his inheritance to go into the restaurant business, where he might have had some luck if he’d spent more time selling food and less time playing blackjack. As he gambled away his savings, restaurants, and family, his lawyer, Brady Coyne, stuck by him. So when Dalt is beaten up, but not robbed, by three mobsters, Brady can’t help but think his friend is gambling again. But Dalton says he has kicked his vice. The attack wasn’t a message to him—it was to his son. Having inherited his father’s addiction, Robert is in even deeper trouble than his dad ever was. When he fails to square things with his creditors, he’s kidnapped, and Brady is forced to gamble on a long shot: that Robert Lancaster is still alive.

One Way Ticket

Author: Iona McNaughton
Publisher:
ISBN: 1869436075
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Young adult fiction, New Zealand

Meg was born and raised in Canada but after her mother's death, her New Zealand father longs to return home. Meg is horrified when her grandparents send one-way tickets and her opinion is not taken into account. She starts a new school year in New Zealand full of anger, and the friends she makes suit her mood. Before she realises it she is shop-lifting and wagging school. Her life is chaos and completely out of control. Suggested level: intermediate, junior secondary.

One Way Ticket A Gripping Serial Killer Thriller

Author: Rachel Hargrove
Publisher: Rachel Hargrove
ISBN:
Release Date: 2017-03-30
Genre: Fiction

Someone is murdering passengers on the express train to LA. He’s killed once already. It’s up to Detective Julia Sawyer to stop him before another innocent man dies, but her only clues are a severed ear and a one-way ticket. With limited resources and a serial killer running amok, It’s a race against time to find him—and his victims—before the commuter train becomes hell on wheels. The hunt is on, but can she find the killer without a body? An intense, gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller full of twists. Fans of James Patterson and Robert Dugoni will love this page-turner.

One Way Ticket

Author: Rita Lowenthal
Publisher: Beaufort Books
ISBN: 0825305497
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

In 1970, at age 13, Josh Lowenthal used heroin for the first time and began an addiction that would be with him for his whole short life. One-Way Ticket follows Josh on his journey from fleeing early rehab programs in the Northeast as a boy to living on the streets of San Francisco, shoplifting and driving a taxicab to support his habit as a young adult. He entered a downward spiral known to be typical for long-term addicts, was in and out of rehab and jail, by turns hopeful and hopeless about his disease.In this memoir, Rita Lowenthal recreates her son's life, and shows how the lives of his family members and friends were permanently altered by his addiction. It was written in the hopes that the parents of addicts will not feel guilty about their children's choices and will instead develop a greater social perspective about their children's plight.

One Way Ticket

Author: Zinovy Zinik
Publisher: New Directions Publishing
ISBN: 0811217922
Release Date: 1996-11-01
Genre: Fiction


One Way Tickets

Author: Alicia Borinsky
Publisher: Trinity University Press
ISBN: 9781595341136
Release Date: 2012-08-31
Genre: Literary Criticism

In One-Way Tickets, Borinsky offers up a splendid tour across 20th-century literatures, providing a literary travelogue to writers and artists in exile. She describes their challenges in adjusting to new homelands, issues of identity and language, and the brilliant works produced under the discomforts and stresses of belonging nowhere. Speaking with the authority of first-hand experience, Borinsky relates the story of her own family—Eastern European Jews, with one-way tickets to Buenos Aires, refugees from the countries that “spat them out and massacred those who stayed on.” Borinksy herself becomes an exile, fleeing Argentina after the take-over of a bloody military dictatorship. She understood, then, her grandfather’s lessons: “There’s nothing like languages to save your life, open your mind, speed you away from persecution.” As a writer of poetry, fiction, and essays, the author also knows intimately the struggles of writing from between worlds, between languages. In these pages, we encounter Russian Vladimir Nabokov, writing in English in the United States; Argentine writer Julio Cortázar in Paris; Polish writer, Witold Gombrowicz in Buenos Aires; Alejandra Pizarnik, Argentine writer for whom exile is a state of mind; Jorge Luis Borges, labyrinthine traveler in time and space; Isaac Bashevis Singer, a Jewish writer in New York driven from Poland by the Nazis; Latino writers Oscar Hijuelos, Cristina Garcia, and Junot Diaz; and Clarice Lispector, transplanted from Ukraine, to Brazil, to Europe, and the United States. Not surprisingly, these charismatic and artistic people, as well as many others in Borinsky’s nearly encyclopedic associations, inhabit equally intriguing circles. She introduces us to a wide range of friends and lovers, mentors and detractors, compatriots and hosts. We come away with a terrific breadth of knowledge of 20th-century literature and culture in exile—its uneasy obsessions, its difficult peace, its hard-won success.

One Way Ticket to Kansas

Author: Ozzie Tinman
Publisher:
ISBN: 097678730X
Release Date: 2005-04
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

One Way Ticket To Kansas was written to help those suffering from an abusive relationship with a person diagnosed with, or suspected to have, Borderline Personality Disorder. It provides coping techniques, identification of personal issues to address, and information regarding support available. This book is endorsed by multiple experts in the BPD field including Randi Kreger, author of Stop Walking on Eggshells.

One Way Ticket to Nowhere

Author: Leroy Yerxa
Publisher: Booklassic
ISBN: 9789635252992
Release Date: 2015-06-29
Genre: Fiction

Like a ghost in the night a whole Mono train vanished. And it was up to Jeff Blake to find out where it had gone...

One way Ticket Short Stories With Audio Level 1 Oxford Bookworms Library

Author: Jennifer Bassett
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780194631907
Release Date: 2014-09-30
Genre: Foreign Language Study

A level 1 Oxford Bookworms Library graded reader. This version includes an audio book: listen to the story as you read. Written for Learners of English by Jennifer Bassett. Tom Walsh had a lot to learn about life. He liked travelling, and he was in no hurry. He liked meeting people, anyone and everyone. He liked the two American girls on the train. They were nice and very friendly. They knew a lot of places. Tom thought they were fun. Tom certainly had a lot to learn about life. This is a collection of short stories about adventures on trains. Strange, wonderful, and frightening things can happen on trains – and all of them happen here.

One Way Ticket to Berlin

Author: John Meurs
Publisher: Quail Ridge Press
ISBN: 1938879198
Release Date: 2016-06-15
Genre: History

Thanks to the noble men of the Mighty Eighth who had a one way ticket to Berlin in 1944 and their comrades in arms, many people the world over now live in peace and freedom.

One way Ticket

Author: Cindy Wockner
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 0732283469
Release Date: 2006-01-01
Genre: Drug traffic

On April 17 2005, nine young Australians were arrested in Bali on charges of trafficking heroin. Their arrests, so closely following that of Schapelle Corby, shocked Australians, even more shocking was the revelation they could face the death penalty.