One Way Ticket

Author: Melinda Goddard
Publisher: Melinda Goddard
ISBN: 069265254X
Release Date: 2016-06-23
Genre:

One-Way Ticket chronicles the true story of how Melinda and her husband Terry uprooted their fast-paced lives in New Jersey and relocated to Anguilla, an island in the Caribbean that The New York Times has called the "British St. Bart's." Imagine locking your door for the last time, driving to the airport, and flying away to paradise-just the two of you, two bags, and two cats. That's exactly what these corporate executives did in the early 2000s. Each chapter highlights their challenging journey, from the daunting delays and realities of building their villa on the island's turquoise shores, to the exhausting ordeal of selling in New Jersey post-9/11-all while continuing their endeavors in the medical devices and pharmaceuticals industries. The stress and intensity of working and leaving New Jersey shape the backdrop for increasingly tantalizing trips to savor the promising beauty and tranquility of their new home, far away. Theirs is a story of determination and joy, as they realize a dream that has been more fulfilling than they ever thought possible. You really can leave it all behind and not look back. They did. It just took a while.

One Way Ticket

Author: Iona McNaughton
Publisher:
ISBN: 1869436075
Release Date: 2004
Genre: Young adult fiction, New Zealand

Meg was born and raised in Canada but after her mother's death, her New Zealand father longs to return home. Meg is horrified when her grandparents send one-way tickets and her opinion is not taken into account. She starts a new school year in New Zealand full of anger, and the friends she makes suit her mood. Before she realises it she is shop-lifting and wagging school. Her life is chaos and completely out of control. Suggested level: intermediate, junior secondary.

One Way Ticket

Author: Rachel Hargrove
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN: 1544855869
Release Date: 2017-03-24
Genre:

Someone is murdering passengers on the express train to LA. He's killed once already. It's up to Detective Julia Sawyer to stop him before another innocent man dies, but her only clues are a severed ear and a one-way ticket. With limited resources and a serial killer running amok, It's a race against time to find him-and his victims-before the commuter train becomes hell on wheels. The hunt is on, but can she find the killer without a body? An intense, gripping, edge-of-your-seat thriller full of twists. Fans of James Patterson and Robert Dugoni will love this page-turner.

One Way Ticket to Nowhere

Author: Leroy Yerxa
Publisher: Booklassic
ISBN: 9789635252992
Release Date: 2015-06-29
Genre: Fiction

Like a ghost in the night a whole Mono train vanished. And it was up to Jeff Blake to find out where it had gone...

One way Ticket Short Stories With Audio Level 1 Oxford Bookworms Library

Author: Jennifer Bassett
Publisher: Oxford University Press
ISBN: 9780194631907
Release Date: 2014-09-30
Genre: Foreign Language Study

A level 1 Oxford Bookworms Library graded reader. This version includes an audio book: listen to the story as you read. Written for Learners of English by Jennifer Bassett. Tom Walsh had a lot to learn about life. He liked travelling, and he was in no hurry. He liked meeting people, anyone and everyone. He liked the two American girls on the train. They were nice and very friendly. They knew a lot of places. Tom thought they were fun. Tom certainly had a lot to learn about life. This is a collection of short stories about adventures on trains. Strange, wonderful, and frightening things can happen on trains – and all of them happen here.

One Way Ticket

Author: Rita Lowenthal
Publisher: Beaufort Books
ISBN: 0825305497
Release Date: 2007
Genre: Biography & Autobiography

In 1970, at age 13, Josh Lowenthal used heroin for the first time and began an addiction that would be with him for his whole short life. One-Way Ticket follows Josh on his journey from fleeing early rehab programs in the Northeast as a boy to living on the streets of San Francisco, shoplifting and driving a taxicab to support his habit as a young adult. He entered a downward spiral known to be typical for long-term addicts, was in and out of rehab and jail, by turns hopeful and hopeless about his disease.In this memoir, Rita Lowenthal recreates her son's life, and shows how the lives of his family members and friends were permanently altered by his addiction. It was written in the hopes that the parents of addicts will not feel guilty about their children's choices and will instead develop a greater social perspective about their children's plight.

One Way Ticket to Moscow

Author: Sylvia Christmas
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595095490
Release Date: 2000-06
Genre: Fiction

Anna Haskin, recovering from a traumatic divorce and change of social status, goes to Moscow on a complex business mission. For fifty years, five Chagall paintings have been hidden inside the Kremlin Wall. Anna is determined to return to Chicago with the Chagalls and a collection of contemporary Russian art. Anna's task becomes more frightening when she discovers that Yuri, her guide and bodyguard, is an elusive killer and that Dmitri, her lover, is an ex-KGB man and friend of the Moscow police chief. An eccentric, dedicated rabbi and a friendly American journalist help Anna to outsmart her guide and her lover, each of whom are determined to steal the Chagalls for themselves. As a rainstorm rages, Anna, with art in hand, makes her secret getaway on an overnight train from Moscow. Before leaving, she orchestrates a final encounter between the Moscow police, Dmitri, and Yuri. On his way to the final encounter Yuri collides with the police chief's car and is killed. Dmitri is left wet and empty handed in the lobby of a Moscow hotel. At the Russian borer Anna encounters one last adversary, a Jewish patriot she can't outsmart or outrun. Anna returns to Chicago a little poorer but much smarter. AUTHOR BIO: Sylvia was born in Latvia and lived in refugee camps in Germany until 1950 when her family was resettled in rural Indiana. She graduated from college, married, raised two children, and had a variety of occupations. The novel's principal character, Anna, lives out a series of adventures not unlike the author's who also worked in a Chicago art gallery and visited Moscow.

One Way Ticket

Author: Milly Jane Kingsley
Publisher: AuthorHouse
ISBN: 9781496988287
Release Date: 2014-08-15
Genre: Travel

The struggle to escape an emotionally-abusive and controlling husband, Milly went to the ends of the earth, or in this case the Egyptian desert, to create a new life for herself and her daughter. Follow Milly’s adventure in a biography full of unexpected twists and turns. Often humorous and sometimes sad but never predictable, Milly rediscovers herself and takes back control of her life.

One Way Ticket

Author: A. Lamanda
Publisher: iUniverse
ISBN: 9780595343324
Release Date: 2005-05
Genre: Fiction

Brooklyn mobster Jack Saccani has one more job to do for the family before he can start a new life with girlfriend, Miranda Lopez. His last job is to assassinate the former governor of New York who is soon to be appointed Attorney General of the United States. Before Jack can complete his task, two problems stand in his way: he has come to respect the man he must kill and he realizes he will be the only witness to the murder, putting himself in jeopardy with the same mob that hired him.