Our Rose

Author: Victor Pemberton
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9780755392506
Release Date: 2012-06-21
Genre: Fiction

There are some problems a quick wit cannot overcome... As war descends on London, a young woman struggles to hold her family together in Victor Pemberton's gripping saga Our Rose. Perfect for fans of Harry Bowling and Dilly Court. Growing up just around the corner from Islington's Chapel Market, the second of six children born in the tiny flat above Mr Popov's piano factory, red-headed, big-hearted Rose Humble is used to holding her own in the world. When there's a family problem - her father's arrest for thieving, her mother losing her job at the London Transport Staff Canteen - it is Rose who somehow manages to bring the Humbles through the crisis. But as she grows older and war starts to cast its shadow over all their lives, Rose realises there are some problems a quick wit and a ready tongue cannot solve. And she also comes to see that there are people who are not all they seem... What readers are saying about Our Rose: 'This has to be the best book I have ever bought' 'What impressed me the most about the book was the absolute attention to detail that made you feel like you were there with Rose in wartime London' 'Our Rose was a wonderful story - I loved it from start to finish'

Caroline s War Vale Valhalla

Author: Joy Chambers
Publisher: Hachette UK
ISBN: 9781472225269
Release Date: 2014-08-14
Genre: Fiction

Before Caroline can find peace, the world must go to war... Caroline's War: Vale Valhalla follows the lives of a group of Australians through the years prior to, and during, the Great War. From bestselling author Joy Chambers, this tale is the perfect read for fans of Pam Jenoff and Margaret Leroy. At the novel's heart, is the constant life-long hatred between two mortal enemies and the woman who loves one of these men with an abiding passion yet marries the other: Matthew Craken, flamboyant dilettante; John Conrad Fleet, the steadfast, honest soldier; and Caroline Dere the woman in both their lives. When Matthew is badly injured by John Conrad in a fight over the death of John Conrad's sister, Matthew takes retribution by ensuring he captures Caro for himself. Their story is played out against the searing background of the First World War where ultimately Matthew, John Conrad and Caro find that the power of forgiveness can bring peace. What is being said about Joy Chambers' novels: 'Joy Chambers' research is amazing' 'I look forward to more. Joy Chambers just gets better with each book' 'Brimming with drama and intrigue' - Publishing News

Mother Jones Magazine

Author:
Publisher:
ISBN:
Release Date: 1989-12
Genre:

Mother Jones is an award-winning national magazine widely respected for its groundbreaking investigative reporting and coverage of sustainability and environmental issues.

Forthcoming Books

Author: Rose Arny
Publisher:
ISBN: UOM:39015038905579
Release Date: 1997
Genre: American literature


Library Journal

Author: Melvil Dewey
Publisher:
ISBN: UCSC:32106021024358
Release Date: 1970
Genre: Libraries

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Juniorlibraries, 1954-May 1961). Issued also separately.

VideoHound s Golden Movie Retriever

Author: Jim Craddock
Publisher: Gale / Cengage Learning
ISBN: 0787657557
Release Date: 2001-01-01
Genre: Performing Arts

Describes and rates more than twenty thousand videos, and provides indexes by theme, awards, actors, actresses, and directors.

Time Out Film Guide

Author: John Pym
Publisher: Time Out Publishing
ISBN: 0140246762
Release Date: 1995
Genre: Motion pictures